paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Jgo Factor Friday, August 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan P68SC -Basically its just a modified/updated version of the PGP
Marker Setup: Sheridan P68SC w/
-Crosman Modified Stock
-Speedloader
-Faast Changer
-Velocity Adjuster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Faast Changer -So that you can replace 12grams faster
Speedloader -So that you can reload faster
Velocity Adjuster -So that you can adjust velocity
Insta-Pierce -So that you don't have to waste 1 shot piercing the 12gram
Strengths: Durable
Low Maintenance
Small Profile
Weaknesses: Paint rubs off over time.
Review: This was my first paintball gun.

Good:
-Its easier to sneak up on people w/this because there is no tank or hopper to get in the way.
-I've spent so little money on paint using this thing."$$$ Money Saver"
-Very Durable & Low Maintenence.I never had to change O-rings or anything. It never failed/jammed on me.
-Once you break it in (the pump stroke & cleaning out any paint thats in the barrel), It'll have great performance.

Bad:
-Because its a pistol, you are going to have limited range.
-Playing in cold weather limits the number of shots you get out of the 12gram.
-You have to "rock & cock" it to reload. I'm used to this so it doesn't bother me.
-It needs a velocity adjuster.
-Change the 12gram plug and the ammo plug ASAP.
Conclusion: It has Sheridan quality backing it up. Great gun, if you can find it for a good price then get one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deadly disaster Monday, June 16th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade
Strengths: Looks good,
Weaknesses: pump is made of plastic. noisey. dosn't come out of holster very well. heavy.
Review: I tried cleaning it (and didn't use the directions). i messed up the safety and it hasn't worked since. It was also annoying carrying the gun in the holdster so i stoped useing it in games. It was getting caught on everything imaginable. I think i over rated the gun. it deserved a one...
Conclusion: Its good if you like seneario games, but other than that it will be a problem in any other type of game.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

surferman09 Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel extension
Strengths: strong
small
accurate
doesnt waste co2
Weaknesses: hard to pump
Review: this is a very strong little gun..best used as a backup but i thought it was the best pistol i ever used.ive heard if u use the gun more often the pump will get worked in and its not as hard btu when i used it it was harder to pump than expected
Conclusion: i recommend to buy this gun..i got mine for 72 dollas on 888paintball and it was definately worth my money..extremely great backup gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Meola Wednesday, May 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP2
PT Enforcer
Marker Setup: Silver Angel Speed
68/4500 Blue Kiss A.I.R
Evil Pipe Bomb barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
I dont have any reccomended upgrades because I only used it as a side arm.
Strengths: Awesome little side arm for tough times
Weaknesses: Short Range
Review: The PGP is a great little sidearm, it provides awesome backup at a low cost. Although the gun is good I found it was only good in up close situations, because it didnt have that great of an effective range. I would highly reccomend this gun to anyone looking for a cheap and great little side arm or for something to shoot the dogs around your place with or something. Overall it is worth purchasing or at least trying; however I would not reccomend it to anyone looking to use it as a main gun.
Conclusion: Awesome Gun, Great Price and a fun extension to any gun collection. I give it a 9 because of these assests, but not a 10 because it doesnt have that great of an effective range, which is key to all guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mac007 Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nel-Spot 007, Splatmaster, other pistols and pumps
Marker Setup: The PGP has a cooper-t bolt, velocity adjuster, PMI rubber grips, a glue on sight rail, lightened hammer, and a lanyard to the feed plug.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A sight rail/rear sight
cooper-t speed demon bolt
velocity adjuster
ca upgrades and other gizmos are available from cooper-t
lightened hammer
a holster
Strengths: Its small and Extremely reliable.
Weaknesses: Short range.
Review: The PGP was my first paintball marker and I still have it today. There's nothing like hearing the "boont" sound it makes when firing - It's pretty quiet. The small magazine and stock class feed make it harder to use in these days of speedball fields. Its a little harder to play stock against semi's in any kind of closed environment these days but you can have some fun if you can close the shooting distance to your opponent unseen.

The PGP II has more features that you would have to buy as upgrades for the PGP. The factory oversprays the inside of the front part of the barrel which can cause some shooting problems - polish it out.
If you like the idea of playing stock this isn't a bad way to get into stock class at a low price. The PGP II though does offer more features though but if plastic isn't your bag then the original rugged PGP is the way to go. These markers are very reliable. All I've dont to my 93 model is lube it and change the bolt o-rings. Chances are even if you pick up an older model from the late 80's it'll still be working.

The cooper-t delrin speed demon bolt makes the marker 100% better to pump. If you don't get one you can trim the bolt detent spring to make it easier to pump.

A velocity adjuster is also one thing you can't live without although you can easily shim the hammer spring with washers to bring the velocity up on cold days.

I put a shoe string through the centre of the feed plug and ran it between the grip frame and body so I wouldn't lose the plug.

A sight rail allows you to put on a red dot site. The PGP used to have a rear sight which means you have to tilt up the marker slightly to aim it properly.

If you can find and install a lighter hammer the number of shots will go up dramatically, doubling. A friend and I found that we got over 60 shots after installing lightened hammers.
Conclusion: A good solid reliable marker well worth purchasing. Upgrades improve performance considerably but are harder to find. The PGP II has many good features and is worth a look but I like my original because of the plastic used on the PGP II.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amhildreth Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PMI1-DF, NSG Splatmaster
Marker Setup: Cooper-T EZ Pull bolt, rear VA, oversized CO2 change knob
Recommended
Upgrades:
CO2 speed-changer, rear velocity adjuster, speed-loader
Strengths: The older PGP is very well built. The brass and metal construction make for a very solid-feeling shooter. Very accurate for such a small barrel. Compact size. Fairly conservative on CO2 (25-30 shots before dropoff). Great for tight situations, with no hopper to take a hit on or bump. Very little ball breakage, and if you do bust one inside, it's easy to squeegee out. Many aftermarket parts and mods still available to suit your style of play. Holsters easily. Short pump-stroke. Paints chambers with only a slight rearward tilt. Barrel is easy to polish for increased accuracy. It feels like yer shootin' somethin', son!
Weaknesses: without aftermarket speed-changer, 12 gram changes take too long while under fire. Stock bolt makes for stiff cocking until broken in properly. Needs a rear velocity adjuster, unless you enjoy clipping/shimming springs. Stock feeder-tube cap not quick to use, and easy to lose on the field. Valve system can only be removed with special Sheridan valve tool, and can be pretty complicated to reassemble once removed. Efficiency not as good as some markers, due to increased internal air path. Short pump stroke is cumbersome for some users. Marker is heavier compared to others in its size class. With no spring-assist, marker must be tipped back while cocking to chamber a ball. Most need to have the barrel polished for maximum accuracy. Field stripping for cleaning takes more time than other markers.
Conclusion: Built like a small tank, but much easier to carry. The PGP can take extended periods of abuse, and still throw paint like a champ. It's great for any type of game, fits right in with stock-class rules, and works well for speedball applications by helping to improve snapshooting and bunkering. As long as you clean it out at the end of the day and drop some oil in it, this is one of the few markers available that will be a dependable field friend for as long as you play. I've had mine for 7 years, and I'd never give it up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

S-LifeguardHP Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
traccer, amp illusion, sniper 2 ,carter comp, talon
Marker Setup: AMP Illusion, palmer stabilizer, thats all I need and my trusty pgp
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you have big bucks send it in to palmer's pro shop to give it a complete make-over
Strengths: We had a rain storm last night that created tons of mud for our rec game today. Naturally my AMP pump got jammed in these slippery muddy conditions and I was forced to turn to my PGP as my primary. THIS THING NEVER JAMMED OR GAVE UP! Even when caked with the mud, the gun continued to function flawlessly. I am convinced this thing could take a direct hit from tank cannon and still perform. Its also very accurate, but suffers greatly when it comes to range. its light weight ( as primary) ad you sprint amazing distances, so range really isnt a problem when your 20 ft away! I even played with my cocker and I still managed to get more kills with my pgp. this thing more than pays for its self when you see the look on the guys face you just bunkered!
Weaknesses: the pump is rough and short so sometimes you pinch your finger
the co2 changer is not exactly quick
range suffers (30 maybe 50 ft at max)
Conclusion: you cantg o wrong with this as your back-up, or if you have big balls you cant go wrong either if you use it as a primary. either way this thing is well worth its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BOBO Saturday, December 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom stock class ( twice the cost )
Marker Setup: Micromag Lvl 10 ( power feed left), Crossfire 47CI 3000 tank 9 V revy.

What I tested is PFR Lvl 10 with SP AA barrel. Bulldog N2 tank 12V revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Co2 qwik change. or remote setup.
Strengths: Reliability , accurate, respectable air usage. Small ,extreemly well built this aint your mommas plastic pos. Its a well respected classic paintball marker.
Weaknesses: the only bad thing that I can think of is that more people dont use them.Some people are saying its heavy ( weenies). The extreemy short pump stroke can take a bit of getting used to.
Conclusion: Okay right off the bat they are a great gun thats the very basic bottom line, few markers can claim to be as well built. I have used mine outdoors & in ( perfect for indoor). I personally had a blast with it indoors . IA brand new marker will take some working in. The gun is extreemly tight right out of the box so you gotta work the pump action a bunch to get it to flow like butter. If you run across a used one that it broke in grab it. The PGP has got too be the most venerable paintball marker ever built.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

V. Marshall Wednesday, November 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PTXtreme
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, response trigger, Lapco Bigshot Barrel
Strengths: It shoots pretty straight, and had some good range. These are the 2 most important things one will need.
Weaknesses: It was really heavy, and the rock and cock feed is just inconvientient. I need 2 hands to cock and fire, which just doesn't work for me, it kinda makes me forget that it is supposed to be a sidearm. Also the co2 was really had to load, I needed a wrench to unscrew it., but I have never needed to change it during a game so I wouldn't count it against it.
Conclusion: This was a pretty good marker teh only thing I have to count against it is the pump fire. Other than that I would really reccomend it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pgp... Saturday, September 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: sheridan pgp
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really
Strengths: this gun is so efficient. It can be used as a primary gun or secondary. its accuracy is unbelievable. the design is perfect, and it is durable like a mofo.you can abuse this thing like no tommorow and it will still work.
Weaknesses: there are two bad things about this gun. one of them is it weighs a good amount to be used as a secondary sidearm. also the c02 is pretty hard to change during a game because you have t0 unscrew the chamber each time.
Conclusion: this gun is well worth the money you pay for it. most defintely one of sheridan's best.despite what other people say it is very good.there is defintely more good things about this gun then bad
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media