paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, April 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tiger shark, talon, saber, blade
these products do not compare the the pgp
Marker Setup: i use a tippmann custom 98 w/a jj 2 piece barrel and a gas through stock and a remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: this gun is a verry nice marker for the price i have used it for about a year now and i have had no problems with it and have only broken paint when using cheep paint. this gun is also verry accurate and has awesome range i would recomend this pistol for someone who is looking for a back up gun or just something to goof around w/ your friends or to shoot some of them damn birds
Weaknesses: the only thing that i have found about this gun that i dont like is that the velocity adjustment is in a spot on the gun where it is hard to access it
Conclusion: in conclusion this gun is a verry good marker and one of Sheridans best guns and is one of if not the best pistol marker on the market and i would reccomend it to anyone who plays paintball i give this gun a 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle pumps
Marker Setup: Sheridan PGP with 6'' barrel extension
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel extension, if you can find one.
Strengths: Nice, small, compact pistol. Shoots accurate and far. Solid construction. Doesn't look all space age like the PT pistols. Easy to reload. Very durable. I have heard of people using this gun for over 10 years and requiring minimal maintnence. Gets alot of shots from a 12 gram CO2.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. Sometimes it gets annoying because a paintball has to roll in the feed tube to load into the chamber. But that's about it. Not exactly a bad thing.
Conclusion: I LOVE THIS GUN! I am going to keep this one. It rocks! I would reccomend it to anyone who wants to play stock, or wants a solid backup gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Were going back a long time ago. I had 2 PGP's a Brass eagle nightmare ahh and the first Splatmaster. A crossman3357 50.cal six shooter(yes it shot 50.cal paintballs) A MOD 10 full automatic machine pistol that fired special paintball out of cases by a primer. A VM-68 and I still use it somtimes. A PMI Pirahna Pro, and today I use a 2000 Autococker
Marker Setup: Autococker, Terminator barrell and 47 ci CA
Recommended
Upgrades:
The PGP I had, had a co2 extender that made it easy to change the co2. I also had a barrell extention 8' and a stock
Strengths: a very rugged and reliable gun. It server many years of use after being tortured.
compact
good side arm today.
Weaknesses: Its a pump so its for stock class or a side arm.
not many upgrades today.
Conclusion: A classic. I wish more guns were made as rugged as these. I will be getting my 3rd one soon. If I had a choice to use this or a semi stingray or rebel i wauld choose the PGP because it works every time and is reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none I only used my PGP
Marker Setup: just regular PGP
Recommended
Upgrades:
It does not need any upgrades it's fine right out of the box.
Strengths: I don't use it as a side arm but i do play at at my field with it because the field is too small for our regular guns. i love it it is very durable and i have never had a ball break. it is also wicket accurate and gets a lot of shots off with one 12 gram. also if you want to improve your game go to a field and use it, one it makes you a better player and you also get respect from other players to just be using a PGP on the field.
Weaknesses: when you first get it the pump is pretty stiff so you have to break it in. the peice you take off to put the balls in the magizine can be a pain to get off and sometimes when you put 10 balls the first ball will not drop down so you have to push the first ball down but after that they fall down fine.
Conclusion: the PGP is an awsome gun to play stock. if you buy it make sure you are good at paintball or you will be killed at fields. i would buy one if you want to have a little more fun at fields.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
any stockers out there? similar to p68s micro phantoms nightmares nelspots and the sort
Marker Setup: my primary:2001 cocker shocktech front end resprung by yours truly along with custom bolt work by yours truly. freak barrel revy benchy frame trigger job done by me rocket valve done by me bench drop 68 4500 tank and covers.

my back up: polished pgp with steel pump arm and valve work(not done by me this time) polsihed and honed barrel along with ball slots on the side of the top tube, coming soon a converted automag 45 frame to top her off
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrades: available from punishers customs and cooper T and Doc at Docs machine shop. also Yankee customs does great work. i recomend honing the barrel and getting valve work done by one of the mentioned airsmiths. they'll get you up over 40 shots a 12 gram also if you have a older model(pre 2001) get a RVA put in when you get the valve done.
Strengths: sturdy as hell and a great stock class marker, good upgrade path if you know where to look. goes back to the old days of paintball, suprisingly accurate and effiencent. tight and compact and aims pretty naturally for me. i cant really recomend this is your not one of two people:a stock class player in which case you already know about them or own one or B want a back up and dont like PTX or PT PRo or PT enforcers because they are gas hogs
Weaknesses: its not for everyone and some of them are pretty stiff to cock, you can trim the spring to help that if you want.
Conclusion: its not for everyone but if you like stock class its a must own, this or a p68 or a phantom. this is a little more cost effective though
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing can ever compare to the pgp
Recommended
Upgrades:
if can be found; i had a 12" barrel ext.,fast change, stock, silencer, and great grips for mine about 8 years ago.....
Strengths: great sniper gun.
one shot one kill if you hide well.
very tough gun, can't break one.
very cheap for the quality that you get.
always on target.
will last forever!!!!
Weaknesses: hard to find parts for it.
cocking only takes a little getting used too.
stick with RP paint.
Conclusion: i have been playing for over 10 years and i stopped for a few years while i was in the army. i cant seam to find any aftermarket parts for it except for www.cooper-t.com.... they got a few... anyone know where i can find the parts i used to use back in the day??? like barrels, vel. adjusters, stocks, fast changes, etc.???? send a email if you got a sugestion. thanks
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The most similar would have to be the Brass Eagle Talon.
I have to say that the PGP out does the Talon a few times over.
Marker Setup: -Hornet with custom springs
-VL200 ViewLoader
-9oz Brass Eagle Tank
-Homemade Barrel Extension
Recommended
Upgrades:
Duno. I never upgraded one because the ones I use aren't mine I just take care of them. I would like to customize one sometime though.
Strengths: ~"Sturdy, Elegant, Classic, Timeless" Lol. (That's a joke you may get if you live in the Hudson Valley)
~Solid construction won't fall apart on you.
~Small and easily maneuverable.
~Good accuracy and range for such a small gun.
~Good back up and even fun to use as a primary, specially if you're goin' against semis.
~Nice look and weight.
~Good on Co2 as long a seals are in good shape.
Weaknesses: ~Cocking can get stiff/hard if it's not oiled or taken care of.
~Grips are a little uncomfortable.
~If it dies on the field than it's dead the whole game.
~Only holds ten shots at a time.
~Easy to double cock and plug up.
~Hard to change Co2, more so on the older models.
~Small Co2.
~Very easy to lose parts when taking it apart.
~No velocity adjustment.
~Careful or you can pinch your finger good.
Conclusion: I don't personally own one of these guns but I have undertaken the job of cleaning and repairing 20 older used ones for my church's youth group after they bought them about a year ago. So all of my knowledge is coming from my experience with older models, I haven't yet had a chance to play with a new one.
I can only imagine that they continue to improve their guns so new ones should be at least as good if not better than the ones I use.
The PGP's got the gut's to back it's real feel and looks so if you want a nice back up or even a primary weapon than there ya go, I'd say it's worth the money.
I wouldn't recommend these for smaller kids. Some people would think them a good choice because of their size but it takes a bit to cock one of these and young kids often find them frustrating.

If you are looking to buy one used then make sure you get any tools that go with it and that you know what series it is. Like I said I don't know about the new ones but I do know that there were at least two series PGP made before. The P and PA series PGP. I recommend the PA over the P because they have totally different internals and those of the PA are way better.

Have fun and play fair and if you have a question ASK it.
Clayin
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Smart Parts 2002 All American
20 oz CO2 with Smart Parts on/off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
there aren't many, a few 10 round loaders
Strengths: small
fairly accurate
great on CO2
Weaknesses: a pump wont get you too far in a game
only holds 10 rounds (not that bad)
sometimes you have to pump it more than once to fire
price is a little high for a pump (some places)
Conclusion: a semi would be a better back up. I smoked a kid who used a PGP
not that bad though
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Raptor SE w/expansion chamber, macroline, T-stock, 24-oz tank
Pure stock PGP
Recommended
Upgrades:
None whatsoever
Strengths: 1) Tried and true design; a true Old School classic marker. It's the '57 Chevy of paintball markers
2) Heft and feel: it's heavy, yet well-balanced. It feels just right in your hand.
3) Built like a tank; it's all-metal, and as close to indestructible as you can get in a marker.
4) Cool; it gets noticed a lot.
5) Incredibly fun to play with; stock class forces you to play with your head instead of your trigger finger. After a few games you note a real improvement in your skills, as you learn from mistakes that a semi's firepower would have rescued you from.
6) Gives you an excuse to wear a tactical holster and web belt.
7) Allows you to pull attitude at people: "You NEED that e-gun?" Of course, often they don't, but there's no glory in nailing a guy using a PGP with your Angel, whereas the other way around..:)
8) Incredibly handy in close quarters; my main marker is a BE Raptor with a T-stock, which can get in the way in a tiny bunker. The PGP is so small you hardly notice it.
9) Surprisingly accurate.
10) Did I mention how fun it is to play with? A game of speedball with everyone armed with PGP's would be a gas... No hosing, just sheer shooting and tactical skill, and actual speed.
Weaknesses: 1) It is a stock class marker and some people will not be able to get over this. It holds 10 shots, is pump-action, and 12-gram-fed. If you live to shoot 400 rounds a game, you might find the PGP hard to adapt to.

2) Modern, small-bore paint sometimes rolls out the barrel.

Aside from this, the PGP has no flaws in my opinion. It's the best $80 I ever spent on paintball. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Conclusion: If at all possible, get one of the older snub-nosed PGPs rather than the PGP2; the PGP2 is apparently not bad, but it just isn't a classic PGP!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
palmer pug- pgp2- all other stock class guns
Marker Setup: i have a model 98 with an air america regulator, smart parts gas thru stock, all american barrel, pro-connect, 12 revolution, star fire bolt, dye stickies, and the pgp with agd grips and cooper-t velocity adjuster plug.
Recommended
Upgrades:
cooper-t rear end velocity adjustion plug, pmi or agd rubber grips, spring feeding for the balls, a HOLSTER, and an aftermarket bolt so pump pressure is not a problem for you whimps
Strengths: this gun i awsome. it is accurate
has a great weight- less than my 45 auto
dosnt break balls
looks nice
cheap
very well made
good velocity
user friendly-not like an electro.
my personal pumping pressure is light and easy
Weaknesses: the stock grips suck- get new ones
when takeing off the trigger frame the ball-berring and spring for the safty shoot out. they are VERY SMALL and you will lose them!!!
hard to change co2 fast
barrel needs to be honed by a custom shop.
thats it
Conclusion: you need to get new grips and i would reccomend the cooper-t rear velocity adjuster plug,(this is not a add). palmers custom shop can do some nice body work on it. also this gun is a great cheap gun (got mine for 56.00) and will be the differance from winning and loseing
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media