paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Stavesacre21 Sunday, January 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreme
PT Enforcer
Marker Setup: Stock Class PGP (Got sick of the whole Semi world)
Used to use a Tricked out Tippman Pro/Carbine
Recommended
Upgrades:
Velocity Adaptor
Quick Changer Adaptor
REGULAR OILING of internals
Lightened Cocking Bolt mod (personal mod)
Strengths: -CO2 usage! I get an average of 30-35 shots outta a 12g!
-Accuracy - more then likely this gun is MORE accurate then my Pro/Carb was
-Feel - Has a great feel for a stock grip
-Look - Could almost pass for a real gun with the magzine being a scope
-VERY VERY durable - hard to come by now days, but YES, I would bet you that
you could NOT break this gun if you tried.
-Price - Cost less then a box of paint! How could you go wrong?!?!
Weaknesses: -Cleaning the barrel - I must admit that when you do get a ball break (few and
far between), it sucks that you have to sit down at a table to clean the barrel.
-Weight - Some people would call this bad, but truthfully, I think it is a decent
weight for such a gun as this. The weight gives it a sturdy feeling, plus, it is
very well balanced, so you don't really notice the weight
-Undercoated barrel - I'm not sure if I just got a gun that was at the end of the
assembly line or something, but in less then a day, the inside of the barrel
turned from sleek black to rusty stain. Still very smooth and polished, but
no longer black.
-Tough to Cock - this really only depends on how long you have used it. You
get used to it very shortly, and all you have to do to lighten the cocking
pressure (as opposed to paying $30 for an aftermarket bolt) is take out the
bolt, take out the spring that goes between the 2 steel balls, and very slowly
take off more and more of the spring until it is the perfect cocking pressure
without much resistance (that is my personal Cocking Bolt mod)
Conclusion: Even thought it might seem that there are just as many bad's as there are good, this gun still kicks butt. Basically, all the bad except weight can be changed, so there really isn't much to complain about. Straight outta the box, this gun rox! Once you own it, you'll see why people have been trusting their PGP's for over 15 years now!

If you are looking for a pump (at all), I would DEFINATLY recommend the PGP!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spitfire II, other custom PGP's, PT Enforcer
The Spitfire was my first gun. A basic bury it in the dirt and dig it up in 4 months, plug in a tank, and it still fires marker. Old reliable. The custom PGP's I've fired had nice little add ons such as a quick ball loader, front quick change, etc. The PT Enforcer was however a non comparison. If I was in a hot situation and I had one 12gram and both the Enforcer and a PGP at my disposal, I'd empty the paint from the PT and load the PGP. The Enforcer is to pistols what Brass Eagle is to paintball, a bad name.
Marker Setup: The PGP I own is fairly stock with only a minor upgrade of a quick change front end and sticky grips from Palmers. The accessories include a neverbefore seen holster from the old days of Paintball and a festoon of ten round test tubes. I plan on having it refurbished with a faster pump and perhaps easier cleaning capabilities.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It's completely fine stock, but perhaps a better way of cleaning the tubes would be nice.
Strengths: Whats good about this gun? What ISN'T good about this gun! It's everything that some guns are not. It's reliable, I've never had a malfunction in the 4yrs of service.
Rarely breaks a ball.
Accurate for the odd feel and imbalance of it.
Indimidation factor is high: Yes, a pistol strapped to your leg scares even the electrics. You know who you are. :-)
FUN: Remember that word? It's often lost in today's flurry of million balls per second guns and inflated egos. Tagging a guy with thousands worth of equipment is more satisfying than MOST things I can think of.
Quality craftsmanship: Another term that really only a FEW companies can really stand beside. This gun is as durable as any marker I've ever seen.
Self sufficient: No massive 10,000psi triple regulated, whale loader fed components. Just 10 paintballs and a 12 gram.
Weaknesses: Well let's face it, once you've blown your cover with a bad shot, you get pinned for quite some time. Yes, it's hard to slug it out with almost any semi, but skills really CAN overcome that unpleasantry.
Tough to clean, watch out when dissecting, millions of little pieces that POP into the carpet and are never seen again.
I'm going to place accuracy here only for the fact that it's probably a mix of user error and the little kick it gives when shot. It takes a few shots (at least for me to zero in on a target)
Range will also fall into this catagory, I find myself arcing shots and dropping them in.
Conclusion: Bottom line: A PGP is a fantastic marker that will hone your skills far beyond modern shoot as fast as possible guns. It's a simple fact. Yeah, maybe you can't go toe to toe in a slugfest with an Angel, but you can certainly have a blast trying to. :-)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 29th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a Phantom. Besides the point that they're both pump, there is a large difference. pretty hard to compare. My Phantom is my main gun. The PGP is my (fun) gun. I play with it as well.
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast changer, Velocity adjuster, and if you want to you can get some comfortable grips.
Strengths: -Nice and heavy,sturdy ( you can drop it from a bridge onto a hobo and only the hobo will break.
-inexpensive.
-pretty, and it's a major "cool factor"
-shoots straight( when barrel is clean)
-fun to customize and put strange upgrades onto.
Weaknesses: -BULKY!
-It's kind of a pain in the ass to clean the barrel if you ever get a ball break.
-without the fast changer it is easy to get shot while changing CO2 cartriges.
Conclusion: I really love my little PGP. It's an all around fun gun to have. And it may not seem like it but you can put a whole lot of wacky upgrades onto it. If you end up buying one and you don't like how hard it is to play against semi's than just play with it in the backyard or turn it into a cool project or something.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman pump
Marker Setup: I use a custom 98 w/ 14 inch terminator barrel. this gun is an amazing snipers rifle. I use the pgp for a backup. the pgp has an effective range of about 80 yrds for the 1st 20 shots.
Recommended
Upgrades:
send this gun into a website and have a pro shave it. Then buy a red dot sight or get a laser sight put on the barrel. This helps immensely for one handed shots. Also great for running shots
Strengths: -very accurate
-CO2 is cheap
-paintballs rarely break
-great night sight
-easy to customize
Weaknesses: -it is a pistol
-1st 20 shots are accurate. then your shots go all over the place
-very heavy
Conclusion: Overall this gun is great for a backup. Even for close range sniping. Upgrade your gun immediately and you will notice a great change. Paint jobs on this gun look amazing. Get this gun, for $100 this is a quality metal piece
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A brass eagle tigershark, but that's not saying much...
Marker Setup: Phirana vtl with remote line. soon to be upgraded. my PGP is just the same as they day I got it
Recommended
Upgrades:
are there anyavalable ? i didn't think so. probibly 'cause it doesn't need 'em.
Strengths: Nothing you can do to this gun can hurt it. it just WON'T QUIT. You could beat it against a rock and it won't even get a scratch. I've run mine into trees, dropped it on rocks, hid underwater with it ( it came out of the water ready to fire, rec.ball, obviously ) and it still wrks as well as the day I got it. more accurate than most stock semis
Weaknesses: reload time is very slow, even with 10 round tubes. also the fatal "hisss" when you change air powerlets lets EVERYONE know you're a sitting duck.
Conclusion: Great backup gun. Great accuracy. Has outlasted my last 3 semi-autos. It would be able to compete with semis if it had a remote line and a 45 round hopper. This marker is everything it's supposed to be.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper 2 .
Marker Setup: PGP
Stripped Brass
Velocity Adjuster
Cooper-T Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stripped polish brass really makes the gun stand out .
The new bolt really loosens up the amount of force to pump the gun .
The Velocity Adjuster is just a smart upgrade with any gun.
Quick Changers (or fassst changers) for the Co2 is also needed for quick change of the Co2.
Barrel Honing
Speed changer (for the paint)
Strengths: Surprizingly far range, great accuracy . Very well built, backed by a 10+ year history of existance. Easy on most paint as long as its not too large of a bore. Pump play is great fun, its a whole new outlook on the game.
Weaknesses: Dislikes overly big paint, no 'wire nubbin' or ball detent, small paint rolls out (Shoots great with RP Premium.) Stock it does not come with a Velocity Adjuster, some stock PGP's require a tighter spring to get the velocity in the 250-300 range.
Conclusion: Its a great gun, most of the bad points can be fixed or avoided easily. Its been around for 10+ years, so you can pick a used one up here and there. You really need to check one out .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: I have the PMI for those who do not know its the much older PGP. The barrel extends further...any way the gun after 10 years of use still can hit your butt from accross the field or woods. It s heavy yes but that makes it feel more powerful.
Weaknesses: To pump the gun it takes alot of energy yes I know that sucks
Conclusion: If your playing a bunch of dweebs with just Brass Eagle Blades or Talons its a blast to see them run with even this gun. I use it as a back up for my heavely up graded Tippmann 98. Sometimes I just use the PMI(PGP) for a straight shot because I can just stick the thing though any brush and fire.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splat Master
Marker Setup: I have a few guns but this is the one I use more than the others.
Black Micromag (old style)
Armson Elbow
VL 2000
Nickel, Black Coated, BOA Snake Bite Barrel (excellent)
Drop Down With Bottom Line and Palmer's Stabilizer With QD
ANS Venturi Bolt (don't use the foamie)
ANS Phase Two Bolt
Trigger Work
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: The PGP is a solid well made gun. It makes a great backup or if your playing stock it makes a great front line marker. I have that this gun shoots fairly accurate but I do a lot of pistol shooting and that helps my aim and control.
If you like to play in the woods the PGP is easy to hide.
Weaknesses: The co2 cartridge is hard to remove if it is not empy.
Conclusion: If your playing against other pumps or you need a good backup give the PGP a try. I think you will like it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, October 19th, 2001
Strengths: Solid construction and design. Accurate and consistent. Very reliable. Perfect back-up weapon.
Weaknesses: Heavy. Slow fire rate due to pump. Older snub-nose versions not quite as accurate.
Conclusion: The PGP is a great buy and a classic. It feels like a real quality piece and behaves like one, as well. Can take a huge amount of abuse and still function perfectly. There's no better backup marker you can purchase overall - some fire faster and have larger capacity, but the PGP will almost never fail and it shoots straighter than any other pistol I've had. Old school gunmetal finish is an aesthetic bonus. Highly recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 10th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: VEry Rough, A Tank
Look like a real gun
Weaknesses: Need 2 hand to pump it
CAn only shot at 1 shot per second
Heavy
CAnnot really aim beyond 30 feet
Conclusion: VEry rough gun , bet it dont have enough fire power vs any semi auto gun , good for backup
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media