paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007

Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter is simply the most revolutionary barrel design ever created and the last barrel you will ever need. The patented features of the Scepter solve every major problem ever associated with a paintball gun barrel.

Features like a front load, compression lock sleeve which eliminates any chance of the sleeve turning or shifting while firing, a self-align system which precisely aligns the bore of the sleeve with the bore of the muzzle, providing a perfectly straight flight line for the ball to travel, color coded inserts to match any size paint, and mirror honed bores for consistency, accuracy and range.

Choose below which bore size, tip length and color option you would like.

Avilable bore Sizes: .680" .684", .686", .688", .690" and .692" and .696"

Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System 2007 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Night.Hawk Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster Black w/ Silver Accents
ICDU Low Pressure Cylinder
07 Powerlyte Scepter Black Back/Silver Tip
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
CCM No-Pro Heli-Clamp Feedneck Silver with Black Clamp
Evil Detonator Reg
Pure Energy 48ci/3000psi
NDZ ASA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high quality that fit (I use toxic and weapons grade)
Strengths: Accurate
Not loud
LIGHT
GREAT LOOKS
Self Cleaning
Weaknesses: None
Review: The Scepter barrel is without a doubt one of the best barrel systems out there. If you don't believe me, check the ultimate barrel test on pbnation.com

At about 20-30 yards, I was getting dead on accuracy shot after shot on my Promaster. It looks great and it cleans itself if you chop (which i did accidentally because too many paintballs on barrel after taking out bolt in between games>.<) after about 3-4 shots its clean and back to perfect accuracy

As for sound, I can't really tell cuz my gun is louder than most other guns but it did soften the sound quite a bit compared to stock barrel(DM'S, Timmys, egos)

Conclusion: Great Barrel if you can afford it. Its better than the Freak and any other barrel kit out there. Customer service is great to. I had a defect on one of the bores and they sent one out no questions asked
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 7th, 2007 at 9:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rcabrera Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire 10-piece (older version: back in 2004)
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 2006
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything spherical. Oblate spheroids do not qualify. Marballizers shoot well through this, and Evils are dreamy.
Strengths: Matches bore size to paint which increases accuracy and air efficiency.
Weaknesses: Overall barrel length a bit longer than I prefer (using their shortest tip).
Review: The first thing I have to say is Customer Service. Powerlyte's customer service has impressed me. Let me tell you my experience thus far:

Three days after placing my order through Powerlyte's web site, the package arrived via USPS Priority Mail. I didn't ask for fast shipping, it's just the way they ship it normally.

Opening the package for the first time, I see a couple of problems. First, the plastic case looks like it got abused by the postal workers and it has a crack on one edge, and a clasp has fallen off. In addition, I ordered Black Dust, but the tip was Black Gloss (the rear was Black Dust). Everything else looks good.

I call up Powerlyte's Customer Service and they tell me that the Black Dust tips are out of stock, and they're shipping me one as soon as they arrive, but that they sent me the Black Gloss tip so I can get started using it right away. Nice. Also, they'll ship me a new case.

A couple days later I finally get some time to try it on my marker. But there's a problem with the threading on the rear; it won't thread in to my marker. The threads are too flat to grip. I call up Customer Service again, and they seem quite embarrassed that this got past their QA, and they ship me a replacement that day, which I receive two days later. Just in time for my weekend game.

Now on to the product itself.

You select an aluminum insert with the desired bore size, drop it into the rear, then screw in the tip, which holds the insert in place. There is an o-ring between the tip and the rear. There are no other o-rings needed for this kit.

As the temperatures change during a day of play, the paintballs' size may vary slightly. It's very easy to swap out inserts quickly between games.

Consistent accuracy is achieved by selecting the correct insert. Once I had the correct insert for my paint, ball on ball was the name of the game.

The kit cleans out very easily as well. After a ball break in the breach, the kit would shoot about 3-4 curves and then start stabilizing again. One quick pull-through squeegee cleans it out perfectly.

I'm still waiting to see if Powerlyte comes through with the Dust Black tip and new case they said they would send to me, and I'll update this review then. But so far the experience has been positive.

EDIT: A day after I posted this review I received the new case and new Dust Black tip. I am one satisfied customer.
Conclusion: Highly recommended for performance and, especially, for stellar customer service.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 27th, 2007 at 10:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattdoc Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick
Marker Setup: ANS X5 (mech cocker)
Dye boomstick / Powerlyte Scepter
Strengths: Barrel kit = changeable bore sizes.
Weaknesses: Hard to take off autococker.
Review: Got a Scepter kit for my ANS X5 mechanical cocker. The kit works great; always having a good paint/barrel match is key with a closed bolt gun even moreso than an open bolt since the balls will roll out if the barrel is too big.

Accuracy is great, except after breaks. I don't know why I was breaking paint yesterday, but I was. I don't think it was the barrel, most likely it was the paint - it may have been old, I don't know.

Removing this barrel is sometimes impossible. The back of the barrel is shorter than my front block components, so I can't grab around it. I can only grab the sides with my fingers. If it is slippery or my hand is from paint spray, I can't get it off. This is only a problem during games, since between games I can use something to clean it and my hands to get a grip again. If you don't have an autococker, this will not be an issue.

I have the 7-bore kit, and I'm glad I did when I played two days ago - I had to use the .680 insert for the paint I bought.
Conclusion: If you want a barrel kit (and who wouldn't?), this is a great way to go. It costs a bit less than a Freak and works great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skaarman Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline, hammer head, cp, armson,thunder pig
Marker Setup: Ion, Blackcell body mods, q-loader, red dot tactical sight, 73/3000, special ops vest
Recommended
Paintballs:
almost any !!BUT NOT OLD ONES!!
Strengths: ACCURATE, QUITE, Well Built, looks good
Weaknesses: Diffrent bore size tip (typical of barrel kits) causes cleaning problems with squeegees.
Review: This is the first barrel kit i have used it suprised me at just how accurate the barrel could actually shoot. (30 yards had a grouping of just under 6 inches with sight). After about 100 balls i broke one do to the cheapness of paint (walmart BIG BALLS~dont buy them no matter what~) shot about 5 times and pretty much cleared its self out but had a problem with breaks from then on for about 200 balls.
I got some paint from one of my friends (Nelson ?cant remember what called?) and shoot a perfect 500 with out a break with the barrel clean.

Conclusion: If you dont have a kit and would like one buy this it locks in all bore sizers and just looks cool on all guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

oofox99 Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first barrel kit.
Marker Setup: Midnight E*Tek Ego
Smoke Halo V35
Crossfire 68/4500
Powerlyte Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything works...as long as you use the correct bore size.
Strengths: Price
Light
Accuracy
Self Cleaning
Weaknesses: None...maybe just the current available backs but that is only my personal preference.
Review: I did a lot of research before I chose this barrel kit and I was also looking for something that was under $150 and looked good on my E*Tek. I ordered this barrel kit on a Monday morning and it arrived by Thursday night. When I got the package I opened it and it came with a nice case that had fittings for the 7 backs, 2 extra barrel fronts and the back. I was really impressed because the finish (dust black) matched my E*Tek and the insides of the entire barrel system had a very nice mirror finish.

So Friday was the big day to use the kit for the first time and I was using premium paint first and then toxic paint. I tried matching the bore with the paint and the first game I played I had barrel breaks and the paintballs would curve maybe 15-20 feet in front of me. Even though I had some barrel breaks the barrel is self cleaning and I was still able to shoot through the breaks! It was a lil embarrassing at first but then I realized I was using the wrong back. So I switched it out and the whole night I was shooting wonders. Ever since then I still have a great time using this barrel.

The accuracy of the barrel is very good. I purchased a 12" front first and next is going to be a 14" front. As you know the longer the barrel the longer the paintball is guided to it's target. The set up and break down of the barrel system is very fast and easy; select the correct bore size and drop it in the back, twist the front and the back together and your set.

The most satisfying thing that I noticed was the price. Very good and reasonable for a kit and for someone who is on a budget. I bought the 5 piece kit and it totalled out to under $150. I lied to my g.f. about buying the kit for less than $100 but hopefully she doesn't read this or else. I'm definitely going to buy the rest of the backs and another front in the future...great job powerlyte!
Conclusion: I recommend this kit to anyone and everyone who is looking for a barrel kit. The Powerlyte barrel system is by far a great investment for you and your marker. A good looking barrel kit and the entire 7 piece kit totallying out to under $150 w/ free shipping is a steal. Thank you Powerlyte!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mancos Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
DXS Pulse
88/50 Evil Scion
07 Scepter
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any its a kit
Strengths: Its a kit
cheaper kit 130 with 7 inserts
great quality
Weaknesses: None really
The red tip is kinda purpley
Review: I love this kit the quality is great and the servive is great i ordered it on wed. and got it on fri. the inserts are good because they dont slide or move in the barrel

price this is a great price for what your getting you get a tip a back and 7 inserts for 130 and it IS better than a freak kit or AA kit

accuracy it is a kit so just get a good bore to paintball match and your set

quality the quality is great the inserts and the barrel doesnt bend or chip

color i got the red tip and the red kinda sucks its more like a maroon then red but its still a great barrel
Conclusion: If you are getting a new barrel dont get a cheap one or an overly expensive one just buy this one its a great barrel for the price!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hungolian Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Freak all American
Marker Setup: System X vengeance 4.0 Autococker, ANS bolt, full oracle front, Powerlyte Scepter barrel. Tippman X7, Sm1 barrel, Lapco suppressor shroud, madbull grenade launcher
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, this thing even shoots Players Choice with accuracy
Strengths: Easy Assembly
Accurate
Semi-quiet
Nice little box to put everything in
Weaknesses: Price is a little steep but not too bad for what you get
Review: Awesome stuff shoots any paint gooood easy drop in
the insert does not turn or twist, stays put, no o-rings needed,
nice little kit i prefer it over the Freaks, because everyone and their moms have freak barrels, pull this baby out and everyone is like what is that? oohhh it looks soo plane but shoots so goooood, yea good stuff
Conclusion: Awesome little kit
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Red Eye Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, Armson Stealth, SP Teardrop, SP Progressive, BT Apex,
Marker Setup: 2006 Smart Parts Ion, clamping feed neck, Egg 2 w/Zboard, Crossfire 45/45 high output, Powerlyte Sceptor, Shocktech Spyder/Impulse adapter, CP Sling trigger(nice), Skull and Crossbones drop forward, Smart Parts on/off valve, Virtue: EZ-on, board, eyes,membrane and adapter, Warrior Paintball SL red body, Warrior Paintball red foregrip
Recommended
Paintballs:
This kit will handle anything.
Strengths: Versatility
Accurate
Quiet
Case
Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: I ordered this kit and several other things on Wednesday from Hot Shot Paintball. However, Powerlyte ships directly from the manufacturer. Hot Shot is still processing my order, but the barrel kit arrived on Friday(fast). First the basics, the Sceptor is a 2-piece barrel with changeable inserts that lock into place with compression to prevent any turning or slippage while firing. The kits are available with all or a few inserts to fit any budget, and come in 3 sizes.


There are several things to be noted when chossing a barrel, either single, two-piece, or kit.

1. Accuracy
This barrel, due to the variable bore sizes, allows the owner to customize the barrel to the exact size of the paintball being used, allowing for unparalleled air efficiency. This makes the barrel uncannily accurate with whatever type of paint you're using. It even rivals the consistency of "rifled" barrels.

2. Length
Although not usually considered first, the length of a barrel can be detrimental to success. Whether it's a backman looking for the little extra length to peek around a can and reach out to touch somebody, or a frontman seeking the compactness and lethality of a dagger, Powerlyte has delivered. With the choice of 12, 14, or 16 inch barrels, everyone is happy. I ordered mine in 14in. because I play everything, but extra fronts can be purchased for $40 each.

3. Versatility
If you've read the rest of the review then this is obvious, but if you're skimming like most everyone I'll go into a short summary. Modifiable kits, various sizes of inserts, different lengths, and it is accurate all the time. Only bad paint can screw this barrel up.

4. Price
It seems almost everyone has a Freak kit these days, but I believe Powerlyte has hit upon a brilliant idea. An effective, affordable barrel kit. Obviously Empire thought so, because their revolver is EXACTLY the same thing, but for $130 and only 5 inserts they're asking a little much. Powerlyte's is cheaper(for the same kit), and their 7 bore kit is the same price as Empire's. I'm not downing Empire, I love Empire, but why spend more on a product to have their logo. Beside's Powerlyte holds the patent on the design.
Conclusion: This is an overwhelmingly satisfying barrel. It covers everything I see as important in a barrel. Awesome job Powerlyte, a perfect product. (not God perfect, but as near to perfect as I've seen on Earth) 10 for 10. Powerlyte takes home the gold.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

djprecision Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, scepter 06, sm1, all american
Marker Setup: 04 cocker e2, evolution , 45-68, sm1 kit, scepter 07
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paint since its a kit
Strengths: Very light, not to loud, cleans breaks very well, ease of use locking inserts
Weaknesses: None that i can see
Review: i got the kit in the mail maybe a week ago... 1st things first powerlyte has the best customer service of any company i have ever delt with paintball related they well answer any question and help you out with any problem.

now for the review of the barrel...

case- the case kit comes with has a kinda cool shape to it its kinda triangular in a way it holds 7 inserts and three front and backs... its a case to carry your barrels it does its job its made well and your barrels or inserts wont get damaged.

first impression- since i had to 06 its pretty much the same thing just the inserts are now 4 inches and the barrel has a little more porting. its very light compared to my sm1 barrel i think the craftsmanship on the sm1 is a little better but you cant take nothing away from the scepter

test- when you but the barrel together its real easy just but the insert you want in and screw in teh front and it locks the barrel inside and a really smooth finish i mean smooth and it aligns perfect and its real light especially compared to the sm1. i shot some paintballs in the back yard some all stars and some cheap shrapnel paint and it shot both really well i even had a barrel break with the shrapnel since this paint sucks and it cleaned it out in 2 to 3 shots. the scepter is also a little quiter than my sm1 as far as accuracy i think there about the same with good paint to barrel match the scepter is alot easier to put together and take apart alot lighter and a little quieter. Overall this is probably my favorite barrel there nothing more you can ask for in a barrel and it priced not to high. im gonna test it on the field this weekend hopefully and add some more to my review.
Conclusion: If your looking for a barrel i highly recomend this barrel it shoots great, cleans breaks , is light and quiet what more can you want and now they got different colors to match your gun. shoots straight, is light and accurate and great customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media