paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Fuzzy Stick / Dye Fuzzy Stick / Dye Fuzzy Stick / Dye Fuzzy Stick

Dye Fuzzy Stick Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Fuzzy Stick

Paintball Squeegees

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Fuzzy Stick
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 5
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $4

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Barrel swab.
Product Availability 
The Dye Fuzzy Stick is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
slowerpig81 Friday, February 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann rubber pull thru
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
APE Rampage Board
Cyclone feed system
Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA Tank
-or-
SC Black CCI Phantom
14" stock barrel
Rear Bucket changer
Stock class stick feed
Custom ghost ring
Strengths: Gets barrel CLEAN!
Weaknesses: Very fat (hard to push/pull through)
rubber tubing badly installed (see review)
Review: I got this swab in the Spec Ops Christmas Stocking. It cleans your barrel almost perfectly, and is JUST long enough to go through my 14" phantom barrel.

It is supposed to be flexible, but after using it bent in my pocket for a few games, the rubber tubing in the middle started to split. It continued to split until I was forced to wrap the middle in duct tape to stop it from separating. The wood sticks were too close to each other and left the rubber no room to bend. If this wasn't so cheaply made, it would have still been fine.

EDIT: after getting another one, I pulled the rubber tubing off of the dowels and re-glued them with epoxy. I also made sure that they were about half an inch apart to permit bending without breaking. If you get one of these, do this and you will be happier with your purchase.
Conclusion: This really does clean your barrel well, but mine split in the middle, so it failed to provide the "flexible" feature for more than a few games.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 16th, 2008 at 12:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBOverlord Friday, November 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost any squeegee you can think of, really.
Marker Setup: Red and Black 06 Ego
Tadao M7 Board
Ultralite barrel
Strengths: Gets the job done
Weaknesses: Too thick
Leaves fuzz in the barrel
Gets stuck
Review: I had purchased this about a year ago while at my local proshop. I had an upcoming tourney so I was stocking up on small necessities, including a decent amount of squeegees.

This looked decent enough - I wasn't necessarily thrilled at the wooden structure, but there was rubber connecting the two ends so it could still bend just fine. I purchased a few other squeegees, primarily pull-throughs, which always seem to do the best job. However, I put faith in this as well, hoping it may serve as a good field squeegee.

Upon getting home, I went to work maintaining my marker. The barrel, while no paint was in it, still looked a bit dirty. I decided to test out my new Dye Fuzzy Stick.

First and foremost, let me say that this thing really does what paintballers want. It gets your barrel spotless. Unfortunately, it does it at the expense of about 2 to 3 minutes.

If you have a 14-18 inch ONE-piece barrel, this squeegee is not for you. After pushing the squeegee through the back of your barrel, you'll naturally grab the front of the squeegee protruding from the opposite end and attempt to yank it out. This is where you'll run into problems. If you actually manage to get a firm grasp on the small part of this squeegee protruding from your barrel, upon pulling it, the rubber in the middle will disconnect and leave you with two pieced of a squeegee, one part still stuck awkwardly in the middle of your barrel.

The fuzzy stick is actually so wide and has so much fuzz that it will have a problem both entering and exiting your barrel. With my Ultralite I had to disconnect both sides every time I went to squeegee with this thing. With my Freak barrel, I had to disconnect, and then the fuzzy stick would pull out my insert. It was an extreme annoyance, and I quickly resorted back to my pull-throughs.

The only time you should think to use this is when you have a large wait between games and your barrel has broken a copious amount of paint. With that in mind, it's true that this squeegee will get your barrel extremely clean (even if it does leave some fuzz occasionally), and if that's your only goal, then this squeegee is definitely for you. Just please, please don't use it on the field.
Conclusion: Overall, I wasn't too impressed. The finished product is great, but the process of cleaning your barrel shouldn't be as much of a chore as this squeegee makes it. If Dye had attached a 2-inch fuzzy stick to the end of a pull-through, I couldn't praise it more. It polishes your barrel and leaves you ready to hop back in the game, but with the expense of time.

My recommendation to you really just depends on how much of a gap you have between games, and how much patience you have towards a 3-minute squeegeeing process.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sand_man Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
a PMI jerk squeegee, that's all
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II w/ custom body~ stock internals
SP progressive barrel 14"
Strengths: Fuzzy:)
Long enough to work w/ my barrel
Gets the job done
Weaknesses: I'm afraid of the rubber thing coming apart
Review: Ok, I picked this thing up at the paintball shop while looking to pick my friend up a tank and such. 4 bucks, meh why not? I used it, cleaned the barrel effectively, got everything out of it, looked spotless and fired better afterwards. However; I am afriad of the rubber connecter doodad coming apart and leaving me with half a swab in my barrel. Other than that, great product
Conclusion: Pick it up, I prefer it over a jerk squeegee
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ikey Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
redz, PMI
Marker Setup: stock karnivor, pm6
Strengths: Very fuzzy, durable, cleans very well
Weaknesses: So poofy that stuff gets stuck in it
Review: this is by far the best squeegee i have used. i used to use PMIs, which fell apart very quickly. my freinds and i then used redz, which were great but over time began to loose their thickness and got thin and didnt clean as well. the fuzyy stick is SOOO fuzzy, it stays poofy over time and cleans the barrey very well. i was hesitant because it was made of wood, but so far it had been very durable and has lasted longer than any otehr squeegee i have owned.

i nenver seemed to encounted any of the problems the guy below me had. however, its so fuzzy that if you play in door on wood chips, the chips are going to get stuck in it. no biggie, still works, but cleaning it athome can be a pain.
Conclusion: So far, thisis the best squeegee i have used. does its job, i guess it could be made of something otehr than wood? i dunno. i sapose there is always room for improvement. but very good squeegee.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

af895 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dozens of different types of pull through swabs, squeegees, double swabs etc.
Marker Setup: Palmer Pursuit Shop Blazer ser#: BZ2581, Right-hand feed neck
12" double-ported PPS Brass barrel, matched with sight bead, brass finish
vertical male stabilizer (a PPS high-pressure regulator)
Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA bottle
Strengths: "Fuzzy" sections absorb a lot of paint and tend to clean well.
Weaknesses: Short length limits markers and barrels it can be used in, BREAKS!
Review: I bought this with high hopes.

The first problem I ran into was it isn't long enough to be used in my marker. I shoot a PPS Blazer - think "Autococker-ish" - which has a removable bolt making for fast cleaning.

Shove the Dye fuzzy stick into the breech down the barrel - it's not long enough to stick out the muzzle! OK... I figured I could live with this and just carry a "poking stick" with me to get enough of it out of the muzzle to pull it out.

With a "pop!" I'm left with HALF a fuzzy stick in my barrel. Great. The rubber section connecting the two wooden dowels came off one of the sticks.

Dye: make the darn thing longer and please make it less prone to popping apart.

Conclusion: Do you really need this type of swab? Will it WORK in your marker? I only use a 12" barrel and it wasn't long enough on mine.

I'd recommend a "cord-type" pull-through instead - something like the Dye Jerk-Squeegee or, if you're on a tight budget, the Extreme Rage Swyper.

Would have given it an "above average" for cleaning ability but docked marks for being unreasonably short and prone to seperation.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 31st, 2006 at 8:42 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media