paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs / X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs / X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs

X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount X.O. Industries

Buy X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 46
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Spectrum is Quality Field Paint perfect for team practice.

Boasting a field grade shell, thick fill and straight, accurate shooting! Its one of the many reasons that XO paintballs are Extremely Addictive™
Product Availability 
The X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
NCballer28 Monday, February 14th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
WPN Weapons Grade
Diablo Heat
Visible Impact Rec Grade
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion w/ Q-lock feedneck, Sly 16 inch Carbon fiber Barrel, Firebolt
Ninja 48/3000
Invert Halo Too

Recommended
Barrels:
None
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Just about everything.
Review: Hello, I've recently been testing paints that are around the $30-$45 price range. Yes these are very cheap but they are terrible. They are like rocks, they break on target maybe 3 out of 10 times. They do not fly straight, they are some of them are oblong shape causing jams. The only thing good about these is that I got a case for about $35.
Conclusion: Do not buy this paint unless of course you like your paint to fly all different directions. I give them a 4/10 just for the price.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AdR_EXTi Monday, September 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo
Marballizer
Marker Setup: Tippmann Carver One on CO2 with a Rotor Hopper

(Yes overkill but I didn't have the standard hopper at home, this was my wife's gun)
Recommended
Barrels:
Won't make a difference.
Strengths: Economical
Thick paint
Price
Solid Color (Good/Bad)
Weaknesses: Extremely Hard Shell
Ovalized balls
Protruded seam
Solid Color (Good/Bad)
Review: I bought a case of this paint since I am a returning player after almost a 10 year hiatus. I had no knowledge of the brand since I used to use Diablo or PMI Marballizer paint.

Box = Pretty generic white box with black lettering. Who cares for the box...

Packaging = Standard for a 2000 ball box, four bags all correctly sealed.

Paintball apperance = In the package they looked ok, but after a closer look I couldn't take my eyes away from the incredibly protrudent seam. I mean, it is clearly indicative that they will pose problems just because of that. There weren't many odd shaped or dimpled but that wouldn't be as much a problem as the seam would. The color was green with orange paint. Not really pretty but a hunter green color is great for woodsball games.

Paintball texture = The feel of it was that it had a really hard casing which is both a positive and a negative at the same time. The seam was clearly felt, other than that they felt smooth.

Experience = I tried it at a target 40ft away with a full tank of CO2 and the spray was everywhere. I had never seen so many balls take curves at such a close range. The target was a 2ftx4ft target and some of the balls cleared the target and went their way. I would have expected that to happen at 80ft with a low grade paint but this was just out there. I would have thought that the hard casing would stop ball breaks but one imploded on the barrel. I mean, there is no reason to even practice with these since you'll spend more times cursing and getting frustrated than practicing at all.

I thought I'd give them a try but now I have 1,500 paintballs that are pretty much useless.
Conclusion: All I can say is buy at your own risk. They have a very attractive price but I believe no frustration is worth the savings.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2010 at 3:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

backyard sniper Sunday, June 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BT munitions (shell)
Marker Setup: tippmann a5
super old but insanely good hammerhead barrel
12oz crome-molly co2
liberty stock
military diggi camo vest
Recommended
Barrels:
Any other than stock
Strengths: Color
Weaknesses: Seam
Review: The second i opened the bag and saw these i laughed so hard, cuz they were purple. i really dont know why. but the funniest thing was my younger brothe took one and said 'i wonder what the fill color is' and popped it. well it went all over his face and it was a really thick orange.

Filling our pods and hoppers this stuff has no problems with the shock of running or jumping. but emptying one after the giant big game, half were stuck together because it was raining. like any paintball dont get it wet. my younger brother learned that the hard way.

Overall decent considering that i was more of a "cover the area the guy is at" type of shooting, it worked well.
Conclusion: Its not terrible but take the normal precautions like you would with any cheaper paints. check before you buy
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hexAGA Sunday, May 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil
Marbs
Heat
Anarchy
Marker Setup: PMI Trracer
14" J&J Ceramic barrel
Custom foregrip
Custom 13-round feed tube
Recommended
Barrels:
Smallish bore, ported. Underbore if you can
Strengths: Cheap
No breaks
Weaknesses: Often misshapen
Hard shell
Review: I bought these solely for outlaw purposes as the fields close to me are all Field Paint Only. In Canada, forty dollars for a full case is a better price than you will get at most Walmarts, no matter how terrible the paint.

As far as good-quality paint goes this is worthless. I wouldn't advocate using these on any fields and I'd cringe even when giving this paint to renters. One in four paintballs are egg-shaped and many do not break; as a pump user it is kind of a pain to have to use these.

However, in my situation (jobless and in desperate need of my renegade-ball fix) for 2 cents a ball these could not be better. When playing out back with three or four people you stop caring about the equipment; the whole point of outlaw ball is to do it cheap and dirty, for fun purposes only, and I have to say that these suffice.

The only reason you would be buying these is for their price, and I can't say they aren't cheap. Better than buying a case at Canadian Tire, where you have no idea of the paint's age and no chance to check it for breaks before you purchase it. Other than that, there are no real redeeming factors to this. They won't chop or break for the sole reason that they hardly break upon a hit anyway. Play if you don't mind some bruises. At least these won't break in your cyclone feed like the Camotacs that XO also sell.
Conclusion: Use this for outlaw ball only. It's totally pointless to buy high-grade paint when you're playing out back. The whole point of outlaw is to have fun anyway, not to win. Buy the cheapest, most horrible paint you can get and hope it matches your barrel to some degree.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sean305 Monday, March 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Formula 13 and higher end balls.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
HE E-grip
Flatline
Full Tech T upgrade (squishy paddles, vortex mod, QEPH, Lightning rod, )
X7 hopper, or 50 rnd tac cap
Crossfire 68/4500 grip bottle
Phat expansion chamber
Recommended
Barrels:
Flatline
Strengths: Cheap $31/case
Accurate
No breaks/jams
Hard shell thick bright fill

Weaknesses: None.
Review: In all honesty the paint performed damn good. I bought 3 additional cases to go play at a field in Tampa this weekend. I compare the Spectrum to Formula 13. The ball is extremely accurate with a thick bright fill, BUT at a FRACTION of the cost ($31 USD). The ball is very round and has a nice hard shell which I like and no sign of the seam sticking out from the ball. I thought they would bounce off a target but they didnt. only bounced when i tested them dropping them on the floor. I tested the ball against a full suited up mannequin and all the balls broke. I even tested it against a empty 2L coke bottle held in a vice grip and it broke every time. I was very weary of buying these "white box" paintballs when it came to breaks and deformed balls but my shop said XO is a sister company to RPS so i tried them out and they definitely was very happy and surprised to how well they performed.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend them as they perform like a premium priced paintball for half the cost.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 15th, 2010 at 10:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yankeeshortfan2 Friday, March 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much EVERYTHING
Marker Setup: Etek3
Cure 3 Bolt
Freak Barrel Kit/Stock Barrel
88ci/4500 Crossfire HPA Tank
Evo2 Hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
Between freak and stock, neither did any better or worse than the other
Strengths: See Body
Weaknesses: See Body
Review: Id use them again if I were in a pinch or the price dropped dramatically, other than that I can find something better to use. Nothing great but nothing good either. Accurate when they didnt break though!

Strengths ~ Great fill, hard to wipe, easy to see
Dimples were non existent
Flew straight
Seems very very small, great


Weaknesses ~ Break A LOT more than I would have liked to seen for the price
$48 for a case is too much for the quality
Conclusion: Like I said, only if the price dropped or if I were in a pinch to find a decent ball
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Thursday, January 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WPN Weapons Grade. Diablo Recsport. Big ball. PMI Premium.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom with flatline or stock barrel.
Recommended
Barrels:
Any short, straight barrel should be fine.
Strengths: Cheap, doesn't break in the gun.
Weaknesses: Doesn't break, doesn't land on target enough to be noticed.
Review: I used this paint for the first time last week. I started out the day using the flatline and this paint was all over the place. Other rec paints I have used seem to work okay with the flatline, but this one was all over the place. I quickly switched to the straight barrel and this paint worked out okay. Now on the field this is a pretty average rec paint, some of the balls curve somewhat and bounces are pretty common, especially in medium to long range. I can't say it's as good as some of the other cheap rec paints I've used when they were in their prime. But this will probably do if you have no other choices since it seems like rec paints come and go in terms of quality every year or two.
Conclusion: Basically the price is right and while this paint won't exactly work wonders, it's usable. It's an okay choice if there are no alternatives. But it's not really exemplary in any way.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrpeanut49 Sunday, January 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All of the basics
Marker Setup: Proto pm7
cp rake trigger
ul frame
dye ul barrel
vlocity hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
Smaller bore
Strengths: Very brittle
Awesome fill
Weaknesses: Occasional bag break or deformed paintball
Review: I got a case of this at my local field because i was on a budget and it was the cheapest. I was impressed. very brittle, and the best part was the very thick, gold fill. there was the occasional deformed paintball out of 4 cases but for the most part these are great. I will say don't use these with tippmanns because they are too brittle for them. this could've been a fluke, because other reviews say differently and batches of paintballs vary, but I thought they were very good.
Conclusion: Great paintballs for a good price. 8.5
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stondroopy Monday, November 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil, marbs, GAP, rps, others etc
Marker Setup: Mini with a pepperstick and halo
Recommended
Barrels:
anything with .693 bore
Strengths: I would say price, but consistency cancels that out
Weaknesses: Oblong . Overly oily and inconsistant in size. Shell color rubbed of on my hands
Review: The big thing these have going are the price. I paid 35 dollars plus tax from my local PB shop.
I wasnt expecting much for 35 bucks and I didnt get much. About 1out 7 shots goes where you intend it to go. The balls are noticeably out of round and extremely oily I mean more then normal.
The fill isnt bad, I had an orange fill and it was decent. Shooting these was pretty bad, at best I was getting 2-3 foot grouping at 40 feet. For the most part anything past 20 feet was spray and pray. Being a conservative shooter with these isnt an option due to the unpredictable flight path forcing 7-10 shots instead of 2-3. If I had a chance to clean The Paintballs (wipe some of the excess oils) I may have had better luck.
The shell is pretty good for woodsball (a lil on the thick side). This and the fill are really the only thing it had going for it.
Conclusion: Maybe I got a bad batch or I was sold old stock but from what I shot I can not recommend these. The price is great until you shoot em. Id rather pay another 10 dollars for something that shoots straight and in the end would be less of a waste. Im giving it a 3 for a decent fill
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sammynacpb Thursday, October 22nd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brown box- Will not break....
formula 13- Great , way better than spectrum.
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 09 Basic
Invert Halo too loader
48/3000 CP tank
Stock barrel.
Recommended
Barrels:
It barrel breaks and breaks in your gun,
Strengths: No strengths.........crappy fill.
cheap.
Weaknesses: Crap fill
Too brittle if too fresh
Review: This usually is a very reliable paint but yesterday evening using my new proto slg i was upset that a ball broke in my gun at high rates of fire. i was using a high speed mode on my halo too and using the eyes in my slg. yet it still broke in my marker. i am very upset with the performance of this paint as i was hoping it wouldnt barrel break.
Conclusion: Do not buy it if it is fresh cuz it will break in your markers.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media