paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs / X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs / X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs

X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount X.O. Industries

Buy X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 46
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Spectrum is Quality Field Paint perfect for team practice.

Boasting a field grade shell, thick fill and straight, accurate shooting! Its one of the many reasons that XO paintballs are Extremely Addictive™
Product Availability 
The X.O. Industries Spectrum Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Barbasnoo Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
XO HotBox - not quite as good
XO WhiteBox - not quite as good
Draxxus WhiteBox - same
Marker Setup: Russian Legion Black/Red Shocker NXT - 74 of 200
Russian Legion Virtue Board w/ Destroyka Grips
Full Freak Kit

Virtue Laser Eyes
Nox Kilo Bolt
All The Other Good Private Label Parts (Color Matched)
CP Bullet ASA
Recommended
Barrels:
Any barrel that you can size the paint with. IE; Freak
Strengths: FILL!
Consistent shell
Price
Availibility
Weaknesses: Every now and then you get an odd ball.
Review: Well with me being mostly a local rec player, I don't look for the best most costly paint. So I was mostly using draxxus whitebox and some blaze. Then I started trying paint by xo, and I have never been back. Spectrum for the price 30-35 a case is amazing. I have heard mixed reviews on it, but I have never had a bit if trouble out of it. It has a cosisent size, about a .684, when its cold about a .682. And it has a niiice thick fill. The yellow is especially bright, the others are still pretty good too. I just love using this paint! Breaks pretty well for the most, lime any paint you will every now and then get an odd one and it will bounce, but this stuff does good!
Conclusion: So when saving money is the idea, you cannot go wrong with these, for around 30 a case, it kicks whitebox in the nuggets. Pick some of this stuff up. I can almost guarantee you that you will like it. I would give it a 9 out if 10, but since the fill is totally unwipeable and the price is so good. I give it a 10 out if 10.

Great paint for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Street_Balla_21 Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X.O. Hotbox
X.O. V1
X.O. Whitebox
Marker Setup: Black 08 Bob Long Vice
Black POWER Kodachi Trigger

Smoke Vlocity

Carleton 68ci 4500psi Carbon Fibre Tank
Pure Energy 4500psi Preset Regulator
06 Yellow Empire Tank Cover 68ci
Recommended
Barrels:
Basically .689 usually for the bore sometimes a .691 ive found using my pipe kit
Strengths: Good for the money
Weaknesses: Can bounce sometimes from a far
Review: Alright well at my home field its a X.O. run field so yea ive been shooting laot of X.O. and i really only tested these balls and they did shoot well threw my pmr except i was getting some bounces when shooting long range but i didnt have to worry about chops and it has decent marking ability.
Conclusion: I would have to give it a 7 because its alright for its price but your better off just paying a little more for like V1
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EgoMaster5 Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI, Spank, Zap, Xball bronze/silver
Marker Setup: 07 ego, tippman 98
Strengths: Shoot straight and dont break in my guns... and its cheap
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Overall i found it to be a very good ball, comes in sealed bags and all the balls seemed to be round and shot straight .... ................. ............ ....................... ............. ..... ............. ....... ........ ....... ...... ... .............. .............. .......... ........ ...... .... stupid 50 wo rd minimum haha j j j j k ka ljas ja sfjsda asf sfja safi aa fajdflja eaflsdj j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j j k k k l p o i i h g ft f f d d r e g n nb n m , , k k gi k , kjh uy oh h h kh
Conclusion: Was a good paint and would buy again
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

50S HOT Friday, December 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Monster Ball
Bonus Ball
Marker Setup: Aims Autococker Crow Body
SM-1 Barrel Kit
PMI 68/3000 HP
Halo Frontman
Deviant Delrin Bolt
Recommended
Barrels:
Not sure, something other than a Sanchez Machine or Dye.
Strengths: Didn't break in the gun
Weaknesses: Not round
Could not shoot two in the same spot
Review: I had to buy these because my field went to field paint only. Paid $40.00 for 2000 would of had to pay $50.00 + for Evil or $60.00 for Marbs.
The paint was all over the place. I use a Sanchez Machine barrell in my Cocker with a 696 back. When I tested the paint for the proper back, some rolled through some would hardly come out after blowing as hard as I could.
I couldn't get two balls to hit the same place. Missed shots all day long due to curving paint. Paint is not round or consistant.
Went home thinking it was the gun. Ran over 100 rounds of Visible Impact from Wal Mart. They shot like a dream compared to Spectrum.
Not happy with this paint maybe I got a bad case, not going to waste the money again though.
Conclusion: Would not buy again unless it was really a great price. $40.00 is not a great price. Not round, flys all over the place.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Topsy Kretts Tuesday, December 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Stingers - Too brittle for field use
Draxxus Blitz and Frostbite - Too hard to safely shoot at opponents
Nelson NelSplat - Too brittle, and Too hard

Marker Setup: Standard Rental Tippman M98 and Many High end Tournament level guns Such as an Planet Eclipse Ego 7, Dye Matrix 7, Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker, as well as a few Bob Long Intimidators. Mixed and matched with several loaders such as the Draxxus Pulse, Halo B/Empire Reloader B, and the Viewloader Velocity.
Recommended
Barrels:
Standard Barrel Bore size of .689 will work perfectly Particular Brand of Barrels is irrelevant. Balls do not Jam in the barrel, nor do they fall through.
Strengths: Straight shooting
Precisely cut seams
Great selection of shell and fill colors
Weaknesses: Hard to find at fields/proshops, newer company, more stores need to carry and supply
Review: Having recently used, and continued using XO brand paintballs, it is about time I write an objective view on them. Having shot and used many other brands in the past, it is always exciting to try and test out new brands of paint, to see if another company can re-invent the wheel. The XO brand of paintballs comes as close as anyone can. Having shot their basic field paint line, and a few other premium lines from XO, its safe to say that there is nothing basic about their Spectrum Paintballs. The paintballs come in a matte shell color, and a variety of bright fills like orange, pink, yellow and even white which are very easy to spot when they break on target. The shell integrity is top notch, shooting straight without barrel breaks, or breaks in the marker. This is an absolute Godsend for anyone who has ever worked at a field, and has had to clean markers which are chopping paint. The paint shot straight and consistent bag, after bag, after bag through many Rental class Tippman M98s, and other popular gas blowback markers like Spyders. The fill is non-staining and easy to clean up.

Shooting the Spectrum paintballs through some markers which are specifically used in speedball games, set up to shoot at high velocities, and very high rates of fire. The paintballs would feed through the loaders with no problems at all, at very fast speeds, into the markers shooting upwards of 10 to 15 bps (balls per second) When shooting streams of paint, the brighter blue shells of the Spectrum paintballs made it easy to know the flight path and trajectories of paintballs, and made hitting targets at standard field lengths very easy, and consistent.

Another neat little feature of Spectrum paintballs, is that they come in a Winter brand, at no extra cost. The winter brand is designated by a clever little Snowflake on the side of the box which makes it very easy to recognize. The only other 'winter' paint that I have seen is Draxxus Frostbite, which is nearly twice the cost, and does not have the same accuracy groupings as the Spectrum paintballs. Its quite perplexing on how Procaps feels they need to charge more for a 'winter' formula, when it is apparent there really isnt that much of a cost difference if XO can make a 'winter' formula and keep the price exactly the same.
Conclusion: I recommend using this paint, above all else. It has all the qualities that any serious paintballer seeks in their paintballs, and more importantly the quality is consistent. Each time i have purchased spectrum paintballs, they would be different in shell color and fill color, but shooting them they would be exactly the same. It is very hard in this day and age to find a high quality paintball which shoots consistently straight and breaks well
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dbal Tuesday, December 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bonus Balls
Visible Impact
Chronic
various others
Marker Setup: Icd Promaster
CCM Clamping Feedneck
XSV Velocity
Powerlyte Scepter
Recommended
Barrels:
The biggest bore you can find.
Strengths: Breaks on target
Good Fill
Weaknesses: Horrible Seam
Not Round
Barrel Breaks
Can't hit anything
Review: My field switched to these a couple of weeks ago and I have not been happy with them at all. The seam is horrible and, along with its football shape, causes constant barrel breaks. That was with paint that was only about 3 weeks old.

In a day I went through about a case and a half and probably had 15 barrel breaks with my biggest bore in. I can't even count how many easy kills I lost because of either breaks or terrible accuracy.
Conclusion: Buy something else
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cam.33357 Sunday, November 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hotbox
Chronic
V-1
Marbilizer
Marker Setup: Proto rail olive
68/45 PMI TANK
Recommended
Barrels:
.687 - .689
Strengths: Shoots Straight - long ball heven
No barrel breaks
Nice fill
Weaknesses: Some dull shell colors
Review: Shot this paint a bunch this year, so far i haven't had any bad stuff, groups weithin a foot @ 70 feet. Compaired to the Chronic that I bought this stuff is the best bang for the buck. The dull shell colors are the worst part of it but for the price I can handle it. The fill in my first few cases was okay, but the last stuff is nice and thick, not sure why the change.
Conclusion: Good paint, great price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rodregan Monday, November 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Re-ball - better because less bruising.

All brands of paint balls - better because they generally break.
Marker Setup: Ripper, Ego, E-Matrix, Nova, Shocker, an A-5, and an 06 PM.
Recommended
Barrels:
No barrel at all, unless you leave a barrel sock on while firing.
Strengths: They do not break in your gun, and mess your gun up.
Weaknesses: They do not break, so you lose every game.
Review: We took 20 cases of Spectrum to practice last weekend, since our regular paint had not arrived. Before this weekend, we had thought paint that was too brittle to leave your gun, or too large or out of round to feed, was the worst. But the Spectrum we had last week end set the new standard for the "worst paint ever". Most of it would not break. The team we were practicing against laughed at first, but as they continue to be pelted with pod shattering, bruising, non-breaking paint, they stopped laughing.

The owner of the field said he stopped selling this paint some time ago because of the complaints of injuries this paint caused.

We had to go buy some Formula 13 at full retail just to finish the practice.
Conclusion: This paint is the worst ever.

It is worse than worthless, because so much of it does not break, and it is dangerous.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bushmanNo1 Wednesday, September 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto
Pmi
rps
Marker Setup: 06 Black magic E2 WorrFrame, Eclipse QEV's, Orracle tickler Halo B 68/4500
06 Kaner barrel set
Karnivor, E2, Kaner kit,
PM6 dye ultralite
Also used titanium longbow and dye ultralite barrels and a deadly wind carbon fibur barrel with freak inserts.
Recommended
Barrels:
Best results with this paint was a Kaner system.
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Inaccurate after 40 feet
oblong in shape
poor quality
Review: I noticed this paint showing up at the local pb stores so I thought I would try it. Let me state that I play woodsball 100%. So accuracy and distance are very important. So I went to my field and my son and I played with the paint all day. The first thing I noticed was when I had a clear shot on an opponent about 50-60 feet away, I would take the shot and miss. I would then get stuck in a fire fight and get hit even after unleashing 20-50 paintballs at the offender. I thought it might have been my barrel or the paint to barrel size match. I rechecked everything and played a few more games with the same frustrating results. So I took gun barrels and paint to the range.

What I found was that the paint would fly straight for about 40-50 feet then curve off in random direction left right up down and even corkscrew (I've never seen a paintball do that). I shot over a case of paint. I used an old longbow titanium barrel, a dye ultalite barrel and a kaner barrel all sized to the paint. The best results were with the kaner. However I could only get about 10 more feet of accuracy.

This was pitiful.

Well I thought it might have been a bad box so later on I went to another pb store and bought another case. When I shot a bag out of this case the results were similar. But this time I was getting breaks about every thirty or forty balls. When I examined the balls I noticed that some were distended they were not round but oblong in shape. I figure that these were lodging in the barrel and breaking.

I then had a third experience with this paint. I went on vacation and went to a local field. They only permitted their paint. Guess what their paint was? You got it.
They also had signs declaring that they would kick you off the field if they caught you using another type of paint. So as much as I hated it I had to buy another case.

After playing a few games and just getting frustrated I looked around at the other local players they all had bags of the same paint. But as I continued to watch they kept going back to their vehicles between games. I soon realized they were filling up with their own paint. So I asked them what the deal was and was told by everyone including the ref's (who overlooked this discression) that this paint sucked and they didnt like putting it in their guns.

I hope I do not have any more experience with this paint.

I almost forgot I found in one case that the paint was actualy stuck together and I had to hand sort it before I could use it. Paintballs stuck together sure messes up a Halo. I believe I ended up throwing about 200 balls away.

Thge last bags of paint I have are useless I cant ever use them for target practice.
Conclusion: I would reccommend Monster ball over this paint. If you dont have to shoot over 30 feet or like getting tagged then this paint might work for you. Or if you are playing against me I would reccomend this paint. But if you want accuracy, distance and consistency in your paint dont by this junk.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 12th, 2007 at 10:17 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbkidion Friday, August 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alot ive shot just about every kind of paint.
Marker Setup: proto rail olive/ scythe trigger
empire reloader b w/ hybrid shell
72/CI 3000/PSI AIR TANK
Recommended
Barrels:
Around 683 i havent got my ronin katana yet ill update when i get some good sizes
Strengths: Shoots great
Flys about as good as possible with a poor barrel match
Well shaped
Weaknesses: Weakness is the fill its kind of thin and hard to see(white).
Review: I shoot this paint locally for 45 bux a case its usually very fresh and its been shooting great though i had some barrel breaks but honestly can you do much better with a 693 bored barrel? I will be shsoting it with a decent bore barrel very soon so i will be updating my review very quick.
Conclusion: Great paint for what i pay for it out of pocket if you can get it for the price i pay pick it up and give it a try.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media