paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha GSX / PMI Piranha GSX / PMI Piranha GSX / PMI Piranha GSX

PMI Piranha GSX Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha GSX

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha GSX
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $180

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Piranha GSX is a basic fish with an E-force Grip, it coms in a player pack and was made for the Sports Authority line of stores. Moderately fast gun for the money.

Features:
Vertical feed
3 Peice Barrel set (12" or 15")
Full Auto
Tournament Lock (switches to semi-auto only)
Semi Auto
3 Round Burst
6 Round Burst
9 Round Burst
12-16 BPS
Drop Forward
Optimized Pressure Chamber
Rised Sight Rail
Vertical Feed
Runs Off Co2 Or HP Air
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha GSX is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Tetra22 Saturday, October 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Most basic mechanicals
Ion
Wdp
SP
Marker Setup: Stock Piranha GSX
24oz co2
VL quantum loader

Stock Tippmann a-5
24oz co2
14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly a nice auto hopper
Clamping feedneck, not a must though.
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Cool looking
Sensitive trigger
Drop forward
Light weight
Weaknesses: This gun really needs a nice hopper
Could use an on/off too
Review: I got this lightly used and it came with a VL Quantum loader. The loader SUCKS. It was the first electric hopper I'd ever used. I didn't care for the gun much because it would chop and jam and whatnot. But when I went the next time, I borrowed my friends Halo, man this gun was amazing then. It never chopped or jammed and I could shoot crazy fast. But you know, I tried a regular old gravity hopper and it actually work ok as long as I didn't shoot super fast and for long periods.
I wish you could adjust the trigger on this gun. It has a lot of wasteful pull in the beginning that makes it rather hard to walk.
The feedneck is a funny size so some hoppers won't fit without some sanding.

I get more head turns and comments when I pull out my WGP cocker, but I definitely get more looks and comments when I start to shoot the GSX. They just say "I quit".
Conclusion: Shoots accurate when you use nice paint. Lightweight. Has a high bps rating. I definetly recommend this gun to beginners and pros alike.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cinotech Monday, May 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Well, i basically use a stock set-up, E-Force grip, Extreme Rage hopper (its lame but its what i got when i first really started to play), and i use a ' stock spyder barrel
Strengths: main strengths:
-accurate
-Doesn't leak to often
-Easy (dis)assembley
Weaknesses: Weaknesses:
-Feedneck
-Battery Life
-Chopping
Review: I'm not sure exactly how long ive been using it (im really bad w/ time frames, so i just put 4 years, even though its probably been longer)

The main down-side i have found is the feedneck, there really isn't a hopper that fits it correctly, so you usually need to sand down the bottom feed on your hopper.

The second main problem i have discovered is it chops a lot if you try to shoot anything above 12 bps. Out of 1 hopper [filled completly] it brakes about 8 balls [if you try to shoot anything close to rapid. if you use burst the first 2 shots usually make it, the third chops.]

The third problem is its batterly life, takes forever to charge while it dies quickly.
I personally recomend just using a standard 9 volt battery, rather than the rechargeable one, it makes for a funner time out.

Now on the + side, i find this gun to be extremly accurate, even with the stock barrel.
as long as you properly lube the o-rings often, it hardly ever leaks.

And the absolute BEST feature in my opinion would have to be its assembley, i find it really annoying on some guns in which you have to spend 20 minutes to dis-assemble clean and assemble again, with this gun its a simple pull of a pin, a quick clean, and your done, 5 minutes max.
Conclusion: I recomend this product for people who want an affordable gun which is lite, accurate and pretty durable [i've certainly gotten my use out of it], but.. (yes there is always a but), it is no fun to spend your day out cleaning your gun from ball-breaks, so as long as you take it reasonably and don't try to show off by pumping out max bps, you will enjoy this gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 26th, 2009 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

loniodo Saturday, February 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha GTI Field Marker
Marker Setup: Piranha GSX E-Force (Shocktech Piranha Superfly Bolt Bolt,Shocktech Piranha Clamping Feed Neck,Spyder Galaxy V 2 Piece Spyder Barrel - 14 Inch)
Tippmann A-4 (J & J Ceramic Barrel - 16 Inch, Offset rail, red/green dot 10x scope, x7 hopper, m4 stock, m4 barrel shroud)
Proto Matrix Rail 09 (just got it nothing has been added)
Velocity Jr w/board)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel
Strengths: Good entry level marker. Its a low end electro what more do you want.
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: I started playing in 05 and that christmas I got this marker in a player package from Sports Authority ( I know not a good place to get a marker) but money wasn't there to get a good one. Plus it was all SA gift cards so it was pretty much free. So in 06 I started playing with this marker at a field in Tampa. I liked it, I ate up the other teams, but they all had rentals, a few had Walmart specials. Eventually at my next base I got to try it out more in woodsball and really didn't like getting it muddy, so I got an A-5 for that. Then the base did a 3 man and well we won, but it was only 5 teams and lets say, my hopper broke due to the feedneck not holding on to it very well. So I lost a Halo Backman and ruined my feedneck. So after that I ended up upgrading the bolt, feedneck and barrel. I want to go with the new SD T-board but I just bought a 09 PMR so the fish might be my back up and eventually I'll get the t-board.
Conclusion: If you can find this marker its good for its price, its fun to get and upgrade, but if your going against Higher Low-end electros don't unless you really upgraded this alot, and then I don't think it will hold its own.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 8th, 2009 at 11:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballmoto20 Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
proto matrix rail
Marker Setup: stryker carbon barrel
Halo b rip drive with V35 board
3000 psi HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber (If you want to)
air line
new bolt (if you have enough money)
Electric hopper
HPA tank
Strengths: Very accurate
light weight
works on CO2 and HPA
Weaknesses: Jams with really cheap balls
Battery doesn't last very long
Review: This is a very good gun for beginners and intermidiate players. It works well in speed ball and scenario but mostly speed ball. Just make sure you get a electric hopper, if you use gravity feed it will jam way to easy and break balls alot. Also, a HPA tank will help you in alot of places greatly
Conclusion: This is a very good gun over all and will work for anybody who just wants to have fun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hawkfeind Saturday, December 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot ACS w/ Evolution 2 hopper w/ Z board
-SD t-board w/ eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
-electro hopper
if you want:
-SD t board (if u want to shoot faster)
-SD eyes (if you dont want to chop)
-ACS bolt (this or eyes I recommend eyes)
Strengths: Accurate
pretty fast
looks pretty cool
i like the trigger
Weaknesses: Only kinda fast
Review: My cousin got this gun it was pretty nice it couldn't keep up with my fast fingers but it still was faster than a mechanical gun. Anyways it had awsome accuracy and thats all that really matters so this gun is pretty nice.

P.S. Accuracy is the most important part of a gun.
Conclusion: This is a pretty good gun. pretty fast but cant keep up with my fingers but then again not alot of people can shoot as fast as me but alot of people can But this gun has great accuracy anf thats mostly all that matters.

I would reccomend this gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redz22 Monday, December 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vs3, Ion
Marker Setup: Vs3, pmi 72/3000, t-board, wdp loc soc, cp reg, freak barrel, Trinity VS reg adapter, Bloodline push button asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, board,
Strengths: Light, cheap
Weaknesses: Slow
Review: I got this and I was very happy because it was my first electric gun. It's light weight and has more mechanical noise that "pow" noise. More of a "pop" noise than a "bang" noise.

First Impressions:
Well, it comes in your normal cardboard box with a 2 barrel fronts, 1 barrel back, gravity feed hopper, barrel plug, 9oz CO2 tank, PMI mask, manuel, and the gun. It has a spare parts bag and a players card. The parts kit come with the velocity springs, players card, o-rings, allen wrenches, and a valve pin with attached cup seal. This gun it pretty light. You can compare it to a Ions weight. The barrel fronts make that overall barrel lenth to 13" or 15". I thought the barrel sizes were wierd.

First Shots:
Well, I got pai 5 more buck for a 20oz tank and got it filled, grabbed a bag of paint, and went home. It was raining out but I shot under my carport so that doesn't really matter. Gassing it up is a little difficult because it doesn't come with an on/off but you can buy one later. I turned it on, filled the hopper and went out side. Oh, wait, I forgot something, you have to cock the gun before you air it up or it will leak. So make sure you do that first. I started shooting to find out that this thing has more mechanical noise of the hammer hitting the valve than an air pop noise. People put these guns down for being spyder clones. Well, this thing is a little bit quieter than spyders, about as quiet as my vs3, which is as quiet as a ion almost. This thing has ok accuracy. Sometimes you get some "wingers" but nothing much. My friend used it for a day and said "Wow, this is good. I need to think about getting one."

Overall:
Overall, this gun is a very good begginer gun. The trigger sensitivity is very good. It has the most sensitve trigger I have felt. The cocking bolt thing in the back of the gun is made of metal so you might want to watch that so you don't get hit in the eye or nose. My friend got hit in the nose with his plastic pin and it almost broke his nose. You don't have to get this gun, but don't get an Ion. These things are much more reliable and the trigger is more sensitive.
Conclusion: See review.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NaturalViolence Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: PMI Pirahna GSX
Viewloader Revolution with X Board inside
Spyder Smart Parts All American 14 inch black polished barrel
Shocker clamp feedneck
48ci/3000psi Compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
An electric hopper, HPA tank, any barrel with rifling, and a different feedneck

Strengths: In body paragraph.
Weaknesses: In body paragraph.
Review: Strengths:
-Fast Full Auto
-Spyder parts fit it (except for the feedneck, shocker feednecks fit it)
-Has burst 3, 6, and 9
-Never chops (unless you are using a gravity hopper)
-The trigger is super sensitive and is double finger(even more sensitive than the rocker trigger 2.0!)
-Great accuracy
-No recoil
Weaknesses:
-Has a straight feedneck (makes it impossible to mount a scope on it, just like all speedball guns)
-Has no rail (just like all speedball guns)
-Has no accessories that the company sells, All Spyder parts fit this gun so that doesn't matter!
-Low battery life with lithium ions(probably due to the extremely fast full auto) , switch to a regular battery instead of the lithium ion, they last longer
-No hopper in the world fits it's feedneck, I have tried many, get a shocker clamp feedneck immediately, they fit it

-Immediately replace the feedneck (nothing fits it), use HPA with this gun, (you should use HPA with all guns anyways)and get an electric hopper (you should also do that with any gun)
-Use it with burst instead of auto, it saves ammo and makes it practically impossible to clog

Conclusion: Buy it! It's great!

P.S I will post a picture of mine soon.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 22nd, 2007 at 11:00 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

jack_190 Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder ImAgine LED and LCD
32 Degrees Icon LE
PMI piranha EVO (GSX not as nice because EVO has eyes and LCD display)
Marker Setup: GSX
Viewloader Revolution II
smart parts freak
20 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electro hopper
the gun doesn't really need a new barrel but it can only help :D
Strengths: 17 BPS!!
accurate with stock barrel
light weight
Barely chops
Weaknesses: E-force grip has like no upgrades...
revvy needed to be sanded
Review: Ok so when i first got my GSX i got it at MC sports and it was very light weight outta the box no part changes or anything! I noticed when buying that the barrel on display was unnaturally short but on the box it said 15" but as soon as i opened i discovered it was a 3 piece barrel set. I decided not to chrage the battery (22 HOUR CHARGE!!!) and just put in an energizer. i shot off about 100 rounds with the stock hopper and only chopped one ball, which i quickly cleaned with the swab supplied :D. i brought out my revvy and attempted to put iton but it was snug to the point of cracking, so i sanded my hopper a bit at the feed nck and everything was cool. once i had the loader on i was able to do 13 BPS without any breaks for 210 balls !! I noticed the trigger pull was rathr light but a pretty good travel befor it hit the contact point. once i screwed in the freak from my old spyder the gunshot extremely straight (good up.)!
Conclusion: Overall it is a gret marker for intermediate players, it is rather fast quite well constructed and light! i would give it a 9.5 but that is not and option!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media