paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Chest Protector 2007 / Proto Chest Protector 2007 / Proto Chest Protector 2007 / Proto Chest Protector 2007

Proto Chest Protector 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Chest Protector 2007

Paintball Chest and Neck Protectors

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Chest Protector 2007
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Chest Protector has it all - front, back, shoulder and side compression padding in places where it counts. Cut-through vented padding, vented underarms and a sweat-absorbing Lycra main body help to keep you cool. Micro-injection logos for flair and a tight fit for comfortable play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Chest Protector 2007 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
KINGLERMAN Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, first chest protector
Marker Setup: Infinity legend + Worlock board
68 Cu Max flo
Dye rotor
Ropes of paint? No, they're not part of the set up.
Strengths: Tight
durable
easy to move
Weaknesses: logo at the tops came off straight away
No side, lower abdomen protection
Review: It looks great, it feels great. Hell it even plays great, but I am personally not sure that this is the best option for paintballers everywhere. Personally I prefer the eclipse distortion armor (which will be my next purchase) as it has the sleeves and superior padding. However, this does its job, I have gotten sound key bounces thanks to this vest and because of it won't knock it. I play in Thailand where its 35+degrees every day (around 90-100*f for you yanks).

And even though this is a very tight fitting piece of equipment it doesn't feel like your wearing anything at all after a while. Its extremely comfortable and I wouldn't be surprised if you find yourself wearing it for other reasons than paint ball(I know a guy who wore it to thailands national water fight festival (songkran) to keep the heat in while the water fight was going on. Worked well.

Personally I didn't get it for the padding to protect me from hit, maybe thats what your looking for it, if it is don't get this. In fact Don't play paintball, I guarantee your safety from paintball injuries at home.
Conclusion: Excellent piece of work, tight comfortable and looks great.
Pity about the proto logo falling off straight away, because of this and a few other small flaws I am gonna knock its rating down.... Sorry proto but, wtf is up with your craftsmanship.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

solidius89 Tuesday, November 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5; SP 360qev Dye 12'' boomstick; pmi front handle; e-grip w/JCS Dual Trigger w/pen spring mod; polished internals; modded internals w/lightened springs, sanded front and rear bolt, lightened valve spring, new valve pin
Strengths: Full coverage
Breathable
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Tends to ride up a little towards the neck
Review: I bought this for reffing PSP and local tourneys. This thing is great for me, when I am reffing. Running through lanes of paint isn't to enjoyable, but it is part of the job. This product takes out some of the stingers that would affect a player, to allow me to do my job to the full extent. When I am out there I almost don't realize I am still wearing it. And with the mesh in it, it does not heat you up more at all.
Note: This is not a tournament legal product, you can not wear them under psp rulings.
Conclusion: Great product. Great for reffing. Saved my life (not literally) on a couple of occasions.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

noshy Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: sft shocker
nerve board
lucky barrel
halo b
3000/68 pure energy bottle
Strengths: PROTECTION
comfort
weight
ventalation
Weaknesses: Err
Review: AWESOME, had loads of bounces, team agrees its great, comfortable never had any problems, recomended for everyone of any sex and age that plays paintball. as far as i know its the only tourney legal armour and its awesome. i dont sweat much in it and it feels so nice and light.
Conclusion: Buy it now
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C_losjoker Friday, July 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, first chest protector.
Marker Setup: ion, autococker, spyder, tipman, pulse.
Strengths: Design
Easy to move
Breath easy, fit
Weaknesses: Needs sleeves
Padding to weak or soft
Review: The Good:
Design on this is very good, easy to move. very light weight(maybe to light), cant even tell the difference betweend wearing this, t shirt or even a big shirt. like the fact that its form fitting and it breaths, so you dont keep the botty heat in or fog up your goggles. had no problems with either.

The Bad:
ok weakness, i think it should have sleeves at least quarter or little longer. although you are able to move very easy in it. the patting is still a little to weak, i have gotten shot square on both the chest and back. both still hurt pretty good, the pain is no big deal to me, that is not what i bought it for. I really bought it for because i like playing the game. but showing up at the office or to customer with welts or bruises dont really look to good. I bought it to try and prevent the welts, but that has not been accomplished by this product.
Conclusion: I am giving this a 5 becuase of the design and mobility. but for doing its actual purpose it lacks on that half of the job. oh and whats up with nobody having wash and care on any of their products.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

lime Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Maddog custom ion
tippman triumph sl hopper
crossfire nitrogen tank
Strengths: Hugs onto you well, not to wam, decent protection
Weaknesses: Not enough padding in the underarm/side
Review: I would suggest this product over any other chest protctor, ive found that its a much better design than its counterparts. Great padding on every area except it could use more on the underarm or side area, also it would be nice if the main padding went down more. The padding isnt too warm either, the lower area has a kind of mesh, which still holds well, but doesnt heat you up after alot of running.
Conclusion: I would recomend this product ive had great experiances with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rcabrera Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 2006
Empire Reloader B
Powerlyte Scepter barrel kit
Strengths: Comfortable, cool, doesn't restrict your movement.
Weaknesses: No shoulder padding, side padding, or lower abdomen padding.
Review: If you're looking for lots of padding, this product is not for you. But if you're looking for some padding, full mobility, and still keeping cool, then this product may be for you.

When I put this on, I don't even remember that I'm wearing it. It fits snug, and doesn't impair my mobility in the slightest bit. The tradeoff is that there is no upper-arm/shoulder padding like you get in the GroundPounder vest.

The padding thickness is definitely sufficient protection. It's a chest protector, so it protects your chest (and back). Chest and back bounces are common.

But be aware that there is very little padding on the sides: just a small patch on the lower rib. Since your jersey is vented on your sides also, this means that your sides will probably have no protection. This is great for keeping you cool though; the breezes just blow right through the sides of your jersey and this chest protector.

Also, there is no padding in the lower abdomen. If you're wearing a harness, you don't need any there. But if you're not wearing a harness, well, this chest protector is designed for wearing a harness.

It's also super long, so you don't have to worry about it coming untucked or anything. Be aware that this is a tight-fitting product; if you have issues with that (such as an "un-athletic build") then I don't know how comfortable it will be for you.

Wash it as "delicate" and drip dry. It will last.
Conclusion: I love it. It provides great chest and back protection, yet it stays cool and it doesn't impair my mobility at all.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 27th, 2007 at 10:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Atran1234 Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: DM6 staright out of the box
Strengths: Looks kind of cool.
Very comfortable
Weaknesses: This thing is really weak. The material it is made of isn't particularly durable.
Review: I bought this vest because I was looking for some chest protectiona nd thought this would make me look like Batman. When I finally got it, I was extremely disappointed in the durability of this item. The material is very light and the cushioning is a extremely soft foam. While this is very comfortable, the foam is so soft that it doesn't feel like you're being protected anymore than just wearing a sweatshirt. The nylon body (I think nylon) is also very fragile. It is vented to keep you cool but in just pulling off the shirt I could feel how it was starting to strain. I'm actually concerned about how this vest would hold up after more than 2 or so washings.
Conclusion: I just expected more...looks great though.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

HardRoc86 Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline or 16" Sniper, Expansion Chamber, Superfly bolt, Vortex Mod, E-Grip w/ WAS, QEV...yeah thats right you can drool now...lol
Strengths: Check out the body for full list
Weaknesses: Check out Body for full list
Review: STRENGTHS:
Good Back Protection
Good Center Mass Protection
Good Shoulder Protection
Light Weight
Flexiable
Good Looking!
Cool yet Warm at the Same time

WEAKNESSES:
Needs some more work under the arms, but there is padding just it could use a little more in that area

Well, i have used this armor for about 2 months now and i have never had a single problem with it. I never get to hot while running around, and i also never have and issue with it getting in the way and feeling uncomfortable. Thats whats nice about this is that it is supposed to be skin tight to make you feel like you have nothing on at all. Also another great thing is that i have had many ball bounces off of this stuff with out one break...right there is enough reason to have it, lol, stay in for just a little bit longer to take out some people hell yeah!
Conclusion: I give this a 9 because i have seen other products like this but all seem to fall short of the styling, functionality, comfort, and of course protection(just needs some work under the arms) that this one can afford. You can also search around to find a better deal then 55 i got mine for 43.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 7th, 2007 at 7:43 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media