paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DraXxuS FrostBite Paintballs / DraXxuS FrostBite Paintballs / DraXxuS FrostBite Paintballs

DraXxuS FrostBite Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DraXxuS

Buy DraXxuS FrostBite Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DraXxuS FrostBite Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
NEW DraXxuS FrostBite is a pure Hard-Core Winter Paintball Formulation, made in Canada, the country that invented Ice-Fishing, Snowmobiles, and Hockey. Canada's hostile winters create the ultimate proving-ground for winter paint, and the proof is in: DraXxuS FrostBite delivers the best cold-weather performance ever developed. Perfect for Northern climates and Europe's extended outdoor playing season.

Specifications
DraXxuS FrostBite's SpeedFeed shell is super-glossy, for low-friction high-speed feeding without jamming. NEW DraXxuS FrostBite...simply the best Cold Weather paintball that money can buy!
Product Availability 
The DraXxuS FrostBite Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Jarvis93 Tuesday, February 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus
Severe
Diablo
Proto
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail 2010.
Pure Energy 4500psi air tank.
Dye Rotor + high capacity lid and quick feed.
Standard two piece 14” micro honed proto barrel.



Recommended
Barrels:
No less than 11".
Strengths: Thick, bright gooey fill.
Weaknesses: Do not work well in cold weather, at all.
Review: These paintballs were stored at around 11ºC - 15ºC; which is their optimum storage temperature. On the field it was just above freezing - around 1ºC - 3ºC, and even colder with wind chill. I used a case of these paintballs in the morning session. Because of course; it's colder in the mornings.
Every ball fired seemed to sway, as if there was dimples and imperfections in the spherical shape of the ball. I had 4 barrel bursts out of 2000 balls fired, which, to all you newbie's out there is basically worthless. Also, not all of the balls burst on target.
However, when the balls didn't sway and hit everything apart from the target. And when they didn't break in my barrel. And when they finally decided to splat on impact; the thick, bright, gooey fill was clearly visible. And THAT my fellow paintball associates is the ONLY positive thing about these balls. But, doesn't every brand of paintball that retails for £35 ($55) have a thick, bright fill? I think so.
Conclusion: Stick to proto, even in cold weather conditions.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 16th, 2010 at 5:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

neoh Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other draxxus paint.
Marker Setup: 08 MacDev Droid
Deathstix Barrel Kit
Gangstered Vlocity
DXS 70/45 Stubby
Recommended
Barrels:
.690-.691 bore.
Strengths: Bright fill, bright shell, works well in colder climates.
Weaknesses: Hard to clean off!
Review: I don't have any bad things to say about this product. I've never shot enough of it to justify a negative or positive review. Though from what I have witnessed and heard, this paint is consistent. I've shot no more then 2000 rounds, and had a barrel break (low bore size) - it's hard to imagine how they get so much paint in such a small shell, because it's like ooze, that is hard to get off, and a little more difficult to clean out of a hopper or gun.
Conclusion: If it's around for a good price, pick it up. If it's below 4C - use it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lone snipa Monday, February 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Just getting into paintball, so the only other stuff i've used is tomahawk zero
Marker Setup: pmr 07 with aluminium back cap and clamping feedneck
3000psi 48cu aluminium tank
empire reloader 2
Recommended
Barrels:
i've only used my standard proto barrel and it shot fine
Strengths: It flys straight
Nice and bright
Hard to wipe
Performs fine in cold weather
Weaknesses: None really, just not worth a 10
Review: So i was off for my first walkon, its around 2-5 degrees c so its quite cold. when i came to shooting it (at around 285fps and around 10-11 bps) it was fine, it does what you expect in a winter paintball. as i was using my standard proto barrel and it was firing good i'm guessing that it was quite large bore paint. there was no prroblems, no breaks in my barrel and i shot around a case and a half. only thing that was slightly annoying was that i had a few bounces, not loads, but some. but what can you expect? maybe i'm being to judgemental because i'm new to the sport but its good alround winter paint, and for the price i got it for i cant complain.

Conclusion: I would definitly reccomend it, and its good stuff. i dont see why people didnt like it. maybe the wrong bore size?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EmpirePballer25 Monday, October 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxum Custom C from Wanna-Play Paintball - thinner shell, bright fill, more expensive
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
14" Freak Barrel and Insert Kit
Empire Reloader B2 Loader

Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatine Barrel System
Extreme Rage Overdrive Sonic dB Paintball Loader - Smoke
Recommended
Barrels:
A barrel with .687 bore or higher
Strengths: Thick sell and fill
Works well with Flatline Barrel - Not one break or chop!!!!
Weaknesses: None really...
Review: I bought a case of Frostbite because they were the cheapest at $40 at Wanna-Play Paintball Pro shop. The owner said that he had no complaints about them so far, which I was weary about. I decided to buy them anyways because they were the cheapest. So I used them the next day playing woodsball with some old friends. They worked great in my Spyder and I did not have one single break all day. Not even on full auto. My brother in law used the frostbite paintballs with the flatline barrel and astoundedly he did not have one break either. I've had problems before with chopping and barrel breakage with cheaper paintballs with the flatline, but the frostbite seemed to be of small enough bore and shell thickness to shoot flawlessly. They were shot in about 70-80 degree weather even though they are winter formulated. Overall If you can get your hands on a case of these for a decent price, definitely pick them up. Apparently the shop I usually get them from has temporarily changed to supplying RPS Polar Ice for $60, which is ridiculous. Maybe I will get a case for this winter to try them out but for now forget it. Look for my review of RPS Polar Ice in the next month or two!
Conclusion: But it if you can get for cheap!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shreckk - BW Wednesday, April 23rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None in "Winter category"
But I have tested Draxxus Blaze, Nelson Nel-Splat
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
ProTeam - Tippmann 98/A5 Hyper Star Bolt
Red Hot A5 Power Tube w/RT hole and Delrin Bolt
TechT Cyclone Feed Lightening Rod
TechT Cyclone Feed Squishy Paddles
TechT Cyclone QEPH
16" OPSGEAR Barrel
Strengths: I'm looking for it
Weaknesses: Not accurate shots
Can break into the Cyclone or in the barrel
Review: I'm just starting to practice paintball. And I have started with this winter paintball.

And after firing more than 6000 paintballs, I am a bit disappointed.


I see two main problems :

With my new A5, with no upgrades (powertube, paddles, ....) and with a velocity between 280 and 300 fps, I have broken many balls inside the barrels.

So I decide to upgrade my marker. (see all the upgrades in my Marker Setup) and I have reduced my velocity between 260 and 280 fps. And now, no more broken balls.

I have so added an E-grip, and it's ok, still no problem.

OK, then I have checked the precision of my firing, and then..... It's amazing. :-(

Even with a Red Dot, with my marker blocked against a tree (to avoid any movement), it's really not accurate. Many balls hits around the target (above, below, on the left, on the right). I'm really desapointed
Conclusion: With this ball, you can't have a brand new marker with a velocity close to the limit if you want to avoid any broken balls.

And if you solve this problem, you will have problem of accuracy.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jokerjoke Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. Frostbite was the only "winter" paint avalible.
Marker Setup: SP8.
Recommended
Barrels:
none in the cold.
Strengths: Works well in warmer weather.
Weaknesses: Not winter paint designed for Canada.
Frostbite chops in *cold weather.
*Cold weather = -20C.
Review: The Facts:
Date:Sunday March 2, 2008
Location:Canada, Alberta
Temperature: -12C without windchill and it was close to -20c with windchill Thats a bit below 10F
Number of Players: Around 150-200
All guns running compressed air.

All our paint was stored in warm locations until being used on the field.

Me and my 9 friends from our team attended the local Young Guns Paintball, Winter Scenerio. I brought an SP8. My friends also had problems with their various guns, which included a Spyder Fenix, 98 customs, SP1s, SP8s and A5s. We used FROST BITE paint. FROSTBITE IS RATED FOR +10C the box says in very fine print. Well +10 just happens to be spring and fall temperatures where I live. Alberta, Canada gets cold and has real winters that can drop into the -20 to -30 areas. A5s and X7s chopped paint, not only in our group but any gun that had a cyclone shredded paint. My friend bought an A5 to replace his frozen 98 and it helped for about 15 minutes or so before the gun got cold and started chopping.

We have also used Frostbite in the summer and it works fine.
Conclusion: Using Frostbite in a Canadian winter is just as the name implies, about as painful as getting frostbite in real life. Well at least we know the +10c on the box in the fine print is right on the money, but the fact that Frostbite is marketed as "winter" paint caused alot of pain and suffering for the whole winter scenerio game.

I gave a 2 only because it works in summer but forget cold winter play.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 3rd, 2008 at 10:27 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Donnachaidh Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mrabs, all Nelson, Zap, Draxxuss, Diablo, PMI, RPS, Seconds, ETC
Marker Setup: Sp1 w/ C Series barrel, Ion, A5 W/ Lapco Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
Don't bother, literally
Strengths: None honestly
Weaknesses: Breaks, in:
Electros
Blowbacks
lapco Barrels
Stiffi barrels
Review: Every hopper had several chops. Advertised as "Winter Paint", this stuff chopped in 30* to 60*. No matter how delicate the bolt, or which barrel, I couldn't even practice with it. I'm sure some fanboi with argue the point, but I really did buy a case of this, and it really was that bad.
Conclusion: Don't. Just don't. See Review.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Master_x Saturday, January 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DXS Triumph
Marker Setup: Proto Slg
Cp Barrel (1 piece)
Halo B Hopper w/ rip drive+ v35 board
Hyper 3 reg
Stock Board
30cci Crossfire CF tank
Recommended
Barrels:
Cp, Freak, Dye etc
Strengths: Works almost flawlessly during winter months!
Weaknesses: Dimples on occasions due to thicker less brittle shells
Review: Better Than DXS Triumph, once again only recommended for winter month use, or tippmann/ spyder owners (any non electric markers) although i found that the stock barrels will break most balls for those of you with little experience. This paint also works exceptionally well on Invert Minis and freak barrels.
Conclusion: Not Sure on Price but it is decent paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 19th, 2008 at 8:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

USMIDN Friday, December 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Polar Ice
PMI Marbs
PMI Premiums
Spank
Marker Setup: Shocker NXT
Freak Barrel Kit
Virtue Board
Micro Max-Flo 68/4500
Strengths: Very Consistant, Thick shelled, thick fill
Weaknesses: Ive heard complaints that when they hit, they hurt
Review: Well, I was at the Badlandz at Chicago and the weather was around 30 degrees or so, and it was quite cold because it started to snow/have freezing rain. But the paint still refused to break inside the barrel so it as a very very dependable paint. However one complaint I do have is that the shell on the paint is very oily and slick, so it might leave residue/some oil inside your barrel that might affect your accuracy. Another VERY minor detail is that the shell is so thick, when you hit someone, it hurts like hell before it breaks (but thats their fault, nothing against the paint)
Conclusion: Its good for the money, and it wouldnt chop in your barrel like most of the regular paint would. Its dependable, the fill is thick so people cant wipe, and its accurate until your barrel gets that nasty oily residue build up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB_Brad Thursday, November 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Polar Ice
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 (factory camo)
J+J 14" ceramic barrel + Tippmann Flatline
Cyclone Feeder
Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer
Palmer Stabilizer (mounted below handle)
Tapco Stock
ACI High Pressure Remote coil
9, 12, and 16 oz CO2 tanks
50 ci Worr Gass N2 tank
Tippmann A-5 Stock (backup marker)
Recommended
Barrels:
Smooth bore - OK
Flatline - No No No No No No!!!!!!!!
Strengths: Didn't break in smooth bore barrels
Weaknesses: Fly erratically from the Tippmann Flatline
Review: Used these once last weekend, and due to the cold(er) weather in PA at Wanna Play Paintball, I purchased the winter paintballs to avoid cold weather brittleness. These paintballs are a bit bigger, have a shiny coating and inconsistant seams. They flew fine out of my A5 and Custom 98 with smooth bore barrels, but were horrible with my Custom 98 Flatline barrel. Literally, every shot went curving off to who knows where.... (No consistency whatever!!!!!)

From a quality standpoint, I did not have any breaks, but the weather wasn't that cold, so can't really speak to extreme play.

Based on what I saw, its really just run of the mill paint for winter, nothing special.
Conclusion: Overall, not bad paint, and if it holds up in *really* cold weather may be fine. But do NOT use this in any Tippmann Flatline barrel or you will be severely disappointed. 1 out of 10 for Flatline, 7 out of 10 for smooth bore barrels.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media