paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Response / Tippmann X-7 Response / Tippmann X-7 Response / Tippmann X-7 Response

Tippmann X-7 Response Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Response

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Response
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $380

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
* Includes Response Trigger - a patented rapid air-assisted firing system that can shoot up to 15 BPS without batteries
* The most customizable marker ever made, with a thousand different looks
* Magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
* Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
* Air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
* Low profile, offset hopper for clear sight line
* Modular shroud with four rails to add sights and scopes
* AR-15 style magazine with built in tool storage
* Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights, or handles
* Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
* Push-pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add-ons
* Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Response is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
GOARMY Sunday, October 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann TPX, Alpha Black, Project salvo
Marker Setup: Folding foregrip
Tacklight
NC Star Red Dot sight
All M-16 mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
Foregrip
Anything to make it look real
Scope if you want
Tacklight
Strengths: Fast rate of fire
Durability is amazing
accurate
pic rails are every where
Weaknesses: Breaks paint a little
Weight is a problem
Review: this gun is AMAZING!!!!!!!!! It is as simple as that. I have had this gun for 16 months and i got to say this is one of the best guns i have ever had or held!!!

I personily can fire 15bps with my X7. So the rate fire is purely shocking on the battle field.

It's durability is also nuthing short of perfect. I personily had this gun out in a tropical strom with 60mph winds and rain that felt like rocks hitting you and this gun never quit on me!!!!

This looks exactly like real gun's so if your into the whole real gun look then this gun is for you by far!

This gun is also spot on accurate. it can hit about 80% of it's shots in the same 2 foot cricle. and understand 2 feet is the human body size. so more often then not you are hitting the oppenent.

The real only problems with this gun is that when it breaks paint it is a little hard to clean it. And the only other problem is that it is pretty heavy. i know that my M-16 style X7 weighs 14lbs. so you have to really chose your type of style.

Conclusion: Overall this gun is AWESOME!!! it is realiable like crazy and you never have to worry. I recermind this gun to anyone and everyone who wants one of the besat markers on the planet! i am only taking down 1 point for it's weight becuase i am into markers under 12lbs. but everything else is way easy to get use to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sir cool0 Sunday, March 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, a-5, model 98, alpha black ,ext triumph ,spider pilot
Marker Setup: x7 responce home made vest winforce barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel!!!!!!!!!
Strengths: Fast, if only looks could kill you can actualy make your own upgrades!!!!
Weaknesses: Accuracy, heavy, bulky, not as good reliability as other tippmanns, not a good sniper rifle
Review: this is a good gun unfortunatly it has faild me twice in 6months wich aint to bad but a 98custom can go years with out ever failing. the looks of this gun are incredible.the upgrades are expencive though but i was able to make some of my own upgrades as of this day i have made 2magazines 3stocks and a hopper cover this is a big gun and heavy gun especialy if you put upgrades on it a good gun if you really like the looks but if all you need is a paintball gun not a millsim looking gun than stick to a 98customA.C.T with a good barrel and a responce trigger aka.(RT) you might want to look at x7og .com
Conclusion: great but i dont think looks are worth the extra money if i ever buy a new gun it would be a 98custom A.C.T platinum with a RT and a good barrel maby with a cyclone feed Witch is far more accurate and more reliable than a x7 it just wouldnt shoot as fast or look as good.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 8th, 2009 at 5:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coyotecorky Thursday, February 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIPPMANN M-98
TIPPMANN A-5
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN X7 RT
G36 FOLDING STOCK
G36 CARRY HANDLE
JJ CERAMIC BARREL
TIPPMANN EXPANSION MAG
TEC T CYCLONE UPGREAD
2 POINT SLING
REMOTE COIL W/QD
Recommended
Upgrades:
CYCLONE UPGREAD
EXPANSION MAG (IF USING CO2)
NEW BARREL
CUSTOMIZE HOW YOU LIKE IT...
Strengths: Very durrable, works in wet areas, very reliable, amazing full auto capabilties, looks very good.
Weaknesses: Sort of heavy.
Review: i got this marker, because i have always been a big fan of tippmann. They have never let me down. First thing, get a new barrel. Any barrel besides the stock will do 100x's better. Next, get an upgrade for the cyclone feeder, because it will break down sooner or later. Better to replace this before it fails on the field (like what happend to me). If you are looking for a mil-sim marker, this one is the best. True there are others that work, but they don't stand behind their product like Tippmann, does.

This marker works, rain or shine, mud, sticks, snow, and who knows what else inside. Very hard to stop. Military grade stuff here. Keeps me alive. Kind of big, depending on your set up. There are lots of cosmetics for this, and they are all easy to install. Comes with picatinny rails already, so you don't need to upgrade the rails. Mount sights, scopes, lights, lasers, whatever. Awsome gun!!
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to anyone that wants a dependable, marker, and mainly plays woodsball/senario paintball. I absolutly love mine, and has used it ALOT, for over 2 years now, and that is my ocupation. There is alot of arguments about A5's vs. X7's, and in my opinion, the X7 comes out on top. Much more simpler model, and is easier to mount accesories to it. A+ product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 19th, 2009 at 4:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mako426 Thursday, October 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E-frames?
Marker Setup: X7 Basic
Double Finger Trigger
Hairpin Kit
FLATLINE Barrel
1-point tactical sling
45/4500 Carbon Fiber

Spyder Xtra
Boo Yaah eLCD Frame
Clamping Feedneck
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Fasta 18v LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: See Review Body
Weaknesses: See Review Body
Review: I'm reviewing the trigger itself, and not the marker as a whole.

I purchased my X7 awhile back and decided to try the Response Trigger Upgrade.

Picked up the kit at my local store for $65 and went about installing it. Really wish tippmann would make their instructions easier to read. They've got each step in 4 diff. languages and THEN they go to the next step. Anyways..

The installation consisted of removing the trigger assembly, bottom line and disassembling the reciever. It helps to know your gun by disassembling and reassembling a few times beforehand.

The pneumatic cylinder installs in the grip, right behind the trigger. Then you install an air line from the screw hole (just above the cyclone air line) to an adapter. The adapter mounts in one of the receiver bolt-through holes. The adapter connects the external air line to the pneumatic cylinder via some brass fittings. Take your time, brass fittings will strip easily!

After installation I gassed up the maker and went about tuning the trigger. An adjustable screw on the side of the air line allowed for the rate of fire to be increased or decreased.

I noticed that when slightly pulling the trigger, I could fire off one shot. Then if I pulled and held the trigger back further, I would get the 'response' effect (simulating full-auto)

The issue I have with this upgrade is probably only with the X7. I've tested the trigger on the 98 and the A5 and I have to say, both of those trigger pulls are shorter and more solid. The X7 sadly feels 'mushy' and long. (The stock trigger feels less 'mushy' but the trigger travel is still just as long.

This is amplified with the response trigger. Because of the long trigger pull, the 'sweet spot' (where you get full auto) is larger, which means the 'single-shot' spot is much more sensitive. I had a few instances where I only wanted to fire one shot but fired a burst of two or three shots. Not really what I wanted.

Also, because of the long trigger pull, the response effect (where the trigger is forced back to the starting position) was very annoying. It wouldn't be so bad if the trigger travel were shorter like on the A5 or 98. I guess I would get used to it but I still think I would have found it rather annoying.

Key Strengths:

- Works like it's supposed to
- Somewhat easy installation
- No batteries
- Inexpensive

Key Weaknesses:

- (probably only with the X7) long trigger travel on the X7 makes the response trigger annoying
- Instructions are hard to read - would be difficult for someone who was new to working on paintball markers
- Brass fittings - would have liked some sort of plating and/or flat black.

Personally, I just ordered a double-finger trigger and a hairpin trigger kit from TechT so I can get the desired short trigger pull that I want. Cost me just $40.
Conclusion: I would recommend this trigger to someone who wants a higher rate of fire, without batteries and who wouldn't mind having their finger thrown back and forth by the trigger. Because of the poor design of the X7 trigger, the Response upgrade suffers. If you just looking for an easy upgrade for faster rate of fire, look into the e-grip with double trigger. Keep in mind though, it's a woodsball marker, not a speedball marker :)
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

freehunter22 Wednesday, August 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c, a5, t8, bt4, ion, etek ego
Marker Setup: x7 rt with 12in j&j ceramic barrel m4 stock m4 front and rear sights
Strengths: Accuracy, upgradability,
Weaknesses: To big, chops paint in cyclone feed
no low pressure kit
Review: ya so i bought this marker earlier this year. its a very good marker. i love this thing a lot but some times i feel like i bought another A5 because it shoots and has a cyclone feed like it well the cyclone feeds faster and stronger. on the a5 the cyclone feed has worn out on me multiple times this year of playing paintball, yet the x7 has not worn out at all...
on the a5 vs. x7 looks: the x7 looks better with upgrades. if i put an m4 a1 look on the a5 and x7... the x7 would look amazingly awesome but the a5 would look sorta weird
and you cant put a low pressure kit on it YET!
Conclusion: its okay for upgrades but for the $$ no...
i would just buy an A5 and upgrade the feed parts
but the x7 is really nice for scenario and woods ball
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer813 Thursday, May 22nd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
view loader triad
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: I use a tippmann x7 with a response trigger and a flatline barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline, air through butt stock and magizine
Strengths: Accuracy
durability
speed
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have only had this gun for three months
It is a great gun, with great speed accuracy and durability the only weakness is it waste CO2 very quickly, but if you go to a field such as the one i play on the co2 is free so thats not a problem for me. Great for play at fields and for targrt shooting. AWESOME GUN!!!!!
Conclusion: BUY THE RESPONSE TRIGGER ITS ONLY $50 and its worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jhiggzy james13 Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom bt delta elite x7 basic jt tac5 tiberius tag8
Marker Setup: Tippmann x7 w/ g36c custom kit w/airsoft replica g36 transparent double mag response trigger w/ 1/8 air hose j&j 14 barrel nsa red dot scope pcs tact sling pressure laser and flash light attachment 48& 72 pure energy hpa w/ spyder quick shutoff remote squishy paddles vortex mod polished internals tag8 w/5 mags
Recommended
Upgrades:
Resp trig j&j barrel any 1
Strengths: The precise accuracy between 50 and 100 feet lightweight construction many customizations and reliability
Weaknesses: Air hog shrouds are on the cheap side hopper looks great but balls get stuck
Review: First of all in my short paintball career ive shot most of the top name guns in woodsball from begginer jt tac5 spyder mr1 pcs to tac amo ak47 bt delta elite and a5 and i must say i am truly impressed with the x7 this will be indept so bare with me . Im not new to guns or the sport of paintball but this is my first year of truly caring because of the advancement of the woodsball aspect of paintball respect to speedball but thats futuristic paintball and i know im gonna get flack for this but ( i hate when i see speedball guns at woodsball fields i just cring lololol) alright back to the subject the x7 yes the x7 im not a conformist in anyway but after hearing all the hype about tippmann and all the tipp heads i thought { u groupies} and one of my best friends had an x7 and a5 and i tested them and thought good but not the second coming until more knowledge of the performance of a paintball marker goes esp at a skirmish outting and my tac5 went down and i used my boys x7 w, c02 in the winter by the way at the time i didnt know co2 and the x7 dont mix but i was impressed now i wasnt convinced until doing some reasearch on youtube and saw this one unforgettable video this guy had a tipp a5 w/ resp trig and he shot that thing under water not just once but continuosly now mind u shooting from mud rain and lil snow yeah but underwater sheeeeeeeet lol i was sold tippmann here i come now mind u i own a couple of smith and wesson guns and i can call tippmann the s&w of paintball an american standard some say oh the a5 is more sturdy the x7 is cheap its made from plastic well im here to inform u that the weapons that are made for the military are made from polymer a light weight durable material one of the first weapons to go plastic was the glock in the mid 90s so yes it makes since for this material to be used on the x7 its the future and on the down side some of the custom parts are cheap but for the most part bearable on the performance side i suggest any paint as long as u upgrade ya barrel compressed air is a must i ve shot around 2 and half cases of paint before i decided to past judgement out of 5000 balls two broke and it was outside the barrell no cleaning has been necessary except routine oiling the cyclone feed system is great bye bye electro hoppers only up and downside is hopper looks great but not airodynamic enough u have to shake it sometimes so the balls drop in but no prob i use a bt delta elite hopper response trigger is the icing on the cake when i first started i always wanted that rambo look and feeling and with the tippmann name reliability and performance u cant lose now last but not least yes you will save money on batteries for your hopper and trigger use but trust me you will spend a lil more on air refills the x7 will gulp it to the fullest and as u get lower in air pressure you will be doing the single pump dance meaning click aim and fire the air system installed inside the x7 in ingenius but at some cost more air consumption but still briliant batteries are expensive and the field dont replenish them for you like a refill of air so this by far that alone makes this the winner by far and for the lil reasons of nuthins perfect is why a 10 wasnt given
Conclusion: I give it a 9 i have no complaint only extra upgrade i suggest is squishy paddles u never know how long the paints been sittin
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 31st, 2008 at 9:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mapexman115 Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98
Tippmann 98 Custom (also with, RT, Cyclone Feed, Flatline, and Q-Loader)
Tippmann A-5 (same as 98C, sans Q-Loader)
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
- Response Trigger
- Flatline Barrel
- UTG Quick-Aim Red Dot sight
- Commando Air-Thru Stock
- PMI 72/3000 HPA tank with Remote Coil
- Offset feed neck adapter for X-7 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
The set-up I've got works pretty well for me.
Sound suppression of some sort is a must for anyone wanting to play stealth with an X-7.
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
Versatile
Doesn't Chop Paint - ever.
Intimidating
Customizable ergonomics
Weaknesses: Can be bulky, depending on setup
Hopper interferes with left-handed sightlines
Review: I've only gotten into paintball seriously this year, but I've already tried out over 10 different marker models, and I like this one the best.

At first, the cost of the X-7 was a concern, but as I looked around at what other players were using and how much some of them were dropping on their speedball rigs, and doing some online research, I went ahead and took the plunge. (got the X-7 basic for $265 new, free shipping - best deal I've ever had on there)

I never bothered to fire the marker in its stock configuration. Given that the stock barrel was the same as the A-5's, I didn't see any reason to repeat that particular experience. The first upgrade I bought was the Flatline Barrel and a CARR 4-position stock, followed by the feed neck (this was so I could see to aim the bloody thing. Side Note: If anyone knows where I can find a mounting system to attach the Q-Loader to the X-7 without having to alter the receiver, let me know.) I've out-shot everyone on accuracy who's challenged me so far.

Installing the Response Trigger was a learning experience. i.e. I learned that I didn't know how to modify a paintball gun, so I had a pro-shop fix what I had messed up. Since then, the RT has performed flawlessly. Figuring out the sweet spot on a response trigger was harder than I thought it'd be, but I've got it down now. I've found that it works best as a 2-3 round burst.

I like the stock magazine for its toolkit, but I wish the shorter magazines also shared this feature. The stock mag can get in the way in the woods if you're not careful.

The Air-Thru stock is a life-saver. The X-7 was designed with this upgrade in mind, which means that, unlike the A-5, the gas lines are internal throughout the gun as well as the stock. This is one of my favorite features on the X-7.
Conclusion: Buy it. You won't regret it. Try out a few configurations and figure out what works best for you. Figure out your individual ergonomics first, then worry about the aesthetic qualities of the marker. The X-7 has plenty of shrouds and different potential functions, pick one. (or pick several. Use your imagination, because now you can!)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RickoftheEld Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: X-7 w/ response, red hot bolt, 10" & 14" barrles, Pure Energy 4500psi 38cu
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger
better bolt
barrel
Strengths: Light weight and powerfull
Impresive in a firefight
Weaknesses: Only in cold weather breaks balls
Review: I feel that this marker is by far the woods ball players best tool. It is verseital and can be configured for all types of action. I have been playing for many years, since 94', and have had many markers. This marker is great in all types of conditions. With the right type of paint ball it can be used all year long. The only problem I have found is in cold weather. In cold weather you get ball breaking with cheeper paint balls. Go for the good ones and the marker will will do great. The X-7 puts the paint out there very fast with the responce triger, as well as acuratly. this marker can be found for much less than the suggested retail price. I got mine for $225.00 when they first came out and upgraded it myself.
The X-7 can be used by the beginner all the way up to the allstar with ease and comfort..
Conclusion: I would highly recomend this marker to all woods ball players. it is tough and has many ways to modify it to your own style of play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PistolPete93 Tuesday, February 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A5
98c
model 98
spyder pilot, ton of others
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 w/ response trigger
trinity full metal wire stock
red dot sight
sling
remote line
48 cu 3000 psi hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a good tank
flatline
rail riser if you have a stock(i need 1)
remote line
Strengths: Accurate
looks awsome
nice feel
strong
Weaknesses: Gas hog
cyclone broke down on me
some people say its too big
Review: I bought this gun aug 1 2007, i was deciding between an a5 or x7, i chose the x7 because too many people i see have an a5. every one told me they are the same thing but that is obviosly wrong. i could go on forever about that. when i got home from the fox paintball store, i took it to my back yard(aka woods) and shot it. it was dead on accurate. the rt was great. when i took it to fox paintball for real, i hit the sweet spot so often, the employees kept yellin at me( see my fox paintball review IL) shoots super fast, as fast as speed ball guns, some guy thought i was shootin on full auto. had a great time with it, got a TON of people out in Xball ( yeah, i was playin speedball) even when one guys foot was stivkin out behind the big X, it was that accurate. great gun a little high price. but it wasnt a problem for me , meh, so 10/10 because ive never seen a more custamizable woodsball gun
oh yeah forgot to say the cyclone broke a couple months a go but i got the plasic part replaced with a metal one, so it will never happen again, so 9/10
Conclusion: Totally recommend it to experienced players like me, if the price is not a problem
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media