paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Response / Tippmann X-7 Response / Tippmann X-7 Response / Tippmann X-7 Response

Tippmann X-7 Response Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Response

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Response
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $380

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
* Includes Response Trigger - a patented rapid air-assisted firing system that can shoot up to 15 BPS without batteries
* The most customizable marker ever made, with a thousand different looks
* Magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
* Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
* Air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
* Low profile, offset hopper for clear sight line
* Modular shroud with four rails to add sights and scopes
* AR-15 style magazine with built in tool storage
* Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights, or handles
* Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
* Push-pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add-ons
* Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Response is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
moymndz Friday, December 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Spyder MR1
Spyder E-MR1
Marker Setup: X7 w/ Response Trigger, flatline barrel, Core remote line, visible impact paintballs(red/yellow skin from walmart)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock. To steady it when you shoot (especially with response trigger it will rock slightly when you shoot more than one round)
Strengths: Response trigger, ergonomics, upgradeable, easy disassembly/assembly, flatline barrel, very sturdy
Weaknesses: Without remote line=very unbalanced
Review: It is a very good gun. I wasn't sure i wanted to "waste" that much money on my second gun. When i started out I was playing with a spyder mr1. I saved up and went online to look for a better gun. I went all over the place and ended up at ebay. Got the gun and flatline for $380 USD. Look on ebay if you decide to buy it.

Now to the actual marker.

Weight is okay. I run a remote line so the tank does not bother me.
CO2. If you use CO2 it will cause spikes in your fps (aka speed of ball)
At first it was hard to take completely apart. I lived by the manual like a priest does with a bible. Just follow the instructions to take apart to clean inside. (FYI: you have to take off all the screw to take apart and the magwell). It is very easy to assemble like all other markers. I never used the stock barrel. I lswear by the flatline. You need to find your match of paint. Only chops I got were with thin-skinned paintballs with the flatline (with flatline you need thicker skinned paintball or just use the paintballs Tippmann used to test the flatline, RPS and their marbalizers). It is very upgradeable. Very easy on the eyes. Response trigger is...interesting to say the least...I still havent been able to find the "sweet spot" (full auto). It is very light even though it looks heavy. X7og.net is a whole site dedicated to the X7. visit that site it helps in making your decision.


By the way...apart from the gun...this site is "homosexual" for making me capitalize :/
i cant use the "g" word
Conclusion: A great gun with great upgrades. Easy on the eyes and you can find a good deal on ebay. I would wait until after christmas if it is not a christmas present. Ebay sellers aren't going to have many sells after christmas and they will do Buy now or Best offers. Take advantage. It's a good investment. Oh! it takes a beating like no other. Ive found sand, dirt, twigs, etc in mine and it still shoots...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rambo 2 Sunday, August 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Pro
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 w/ Response Trigger
XP5 Foregrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
No need to upgrade, the gun is amazing! Maybe new stocks/foregrips for comfort factors.
Strengths: Amazingly accurate, lightweight, lots of customizing options, A5 Barrel Threads.
Weaknesses: Very few third party companies making add ons.
Review: The X7 is amazing. But what would you expect? It is the newest gun from Tippmann. The X7 is light, and deadly accurate. Plus it takes A5 barrel threads, So there are tons of barrels availiable. But when it comes to stocks, and other accessories, the gun is so new, only Tippmann is making the accessories. But the accessories out now are quite satisfactory.

On the down side, the X7 doesn't REQUIRE top quality balls, but it helps. When a crappy ball breaks, it makes a big mess. It comes out the pours in the gun and into the shroud, which can be a real hassle to clean, and when the barrel is wet, the balls are extremely inaccurate. Also, a lot of A5 barrels wont fit the X7 shrouds.

But the X7/A5 stock barrel is a very accurate barrel, so there is no need to upgrade right away. And the accessories the Tippmann make the gun extremely pretty.
Conclusion: The Tippmann X7 is a great gun. If you are looking for a MILSIM gun, the X7 is the way to go. This gun is and will be the most customizable gun. Plus its a Tippmann, and you can count on Tippmann. I give it a 10, because nothing is perfect, other than the X7.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

CmW SNYP3R 652 Friday, June 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A5
98C
Sp-8
Ion
Marker Setup: X-7
Response Trigger Kit
M16 Shroud
Carstock
M16 Carrying Handle
M16 Front Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger
Barrel
Strengths: Light
RT = 20 BPS +
Clear Aiming Sights
Manueverable
Looks
Most Customizable Gun Ever
Weaknesses: Flimsy Clip
Really Loud (Not Good for Stealth)
Aim Adjuster (Don't see the Point)
Review: Prologue (Intro):

When I went to the store to purchase my X7, I was very anxious & excited to see what it was like, and of course, I held it and checked it out, but the real decision came after when the employee asked me if I was just gonna get Basic, or if I wanted the RT Version? Of course I chose the RT version and I just want to say that it was far beyond my original expectations!

Review:

Actual Gun:

The gun itself is very stylish, light and durable, plus, it has a good feel to it. The clip is easy to remove, the gun isn't too bad for maintenance, and has a wire on the side to slow down or speed up the response trigger, so that you don't waste too many paintballs.

Performance:

The day I got it I went paintballing, and the gun pretty much spoke for itself. When I first shot it, it scared the **** out of me, because it was loud, and fast, making it look extremely intimidating to opponents. The accuracy was also good, going straight and hard for good amount of time, before angling back down, making it easy to eliminate opponents. It was very maneuverable around corners and on window sills.

Pricing:

The X7 RT (preinstalled) for me was 455$ CDN, it's price is somewhat high and the upgrades are too, making it pretty difficult to customize it in your own way, without exceeding approx. 600$ CDN. It's gonna be hard to imagine what the price of a fully customized X7 E-Grip.

Design:

The X7 was obviously based on the AR-15, but uses a new magnesium reciever making it light and more durable, the clip allows field stripping / maintenance, so you can fix a problem and then get right back into the fight. The new picatinny rail allows easy sight & scope add-ons, as well as the push-pin system on the gun and the modular shroud.

Loader:

The new X7 loader is really good, because of it's ridgeline type of design, it can reflect paintballs off of it, it is offset for clear aiming sight capabilities. The cyclone feed is one of the very good and new upgrades due to it's capabilities (enhanced performance), being able to shoot up to 20 BPS without batteries & with RT lets just say the opponents will have their hands full.

Overall:

The gun is good, i like it very much, it was well designed and thought out, it is very customizable (but at a somewhat bad price), and it is light weight and manueverable, therefore I would give it (10 - Pricing (0.3)) 9.7, rounded up to 10.
Conclusion: If your getting a new paintball gun soon, make it the X7, because when **** hits the fan, its the kind of gun you'll want to be with. Just, if you do get it, try to stop your temptation of wanting to go Insane with it, because I tell you now it is very tempting to shoot it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

faulkn22 Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 (X-7's predecessor)
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
-Polished Internals
-Response Trigger
-TASCO Red Dot
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger. Red Dot. Air Thru Stock. Apex or Flatline Barrel. A nice paint job.
Strengths: Solid. Reliable. Ergonomic. Fast. Durable. Mil-Sim.
Weaknesses: Cumbersome.
Review: I purchased my Tippmann X-7 with factory installed Response Trigger on ebay for 280 (it is the best price I have seen anywhere). I only had another 60 dollars, so I purchased a Tasco Red Dot and a "Gripod" (If a grip and a bipod had a baby, it would be a gripod). So far, only the X-7 and scope have arrived. Anyways, I couldn't resist taking the X-7 out for some test firing.

At first, I didn't want to use the old paint from a previous event that I had laying around. I believe it was Spank. Anyways, I was worried about chopping a ball on day 1. Reluctanty, I loaded up a hopper of the Spank and fired 1 ball at a time, without using the "auto" on the Respose Trigger. I was firing at a basketball from 100 feet. I was hitting 9 out of 10, and this was from a standing position. I then decided to use the "auto" on the response trigger, and was still able to hit 8/10. I have to say that I am extremely impressed with the performance of the marker itself. I am also impressed with the stock barrel (stock barrels always have throw a curveball from time to time), although I will be getting a Flatline or Apex barrel ASAP. I love the response trigger as well. I had read about people having problems with the trigger pull being too heavy, but I didn' think it was heavy at all.

So now I will break the X-7 down into a few catagories and grade them.

Performance - I shot 1000 rounds of old paint for this markers first trip out, and it still didn't break any balls. After taking the time to hone in the red dot, I went pretty hard on the marker, running through four or five hoppers in the matter of a minute or two. No breaks, and very few curveballs. The performance has to get a grade of 10, because I had no problems at all with velocity or breaks.

Size - The marker is a 1:1 scale replica of the AR-15 (without the cyclone/hopper of course). I think that it is the perfect size. Some say that it is too heavy, but that makes it that much more mil-sim for me. Size gets a 10.

Ergonomics - I'm a fan of the magazine storage compartment. I love having access to allen wrenches, lube, o-rings,etc when I'm out on the field. Having gun issues? Retreat back 100 yards, field strip/fix, and get back to the front line. I also love the fact that this marker is stacked with rails. I am using the top rail for my red dot, and the front/bottom rail for the gripod. The gripod will be great ergonomically, because the bipod hides inside of the grip, and is unveiled with the bush of a button. This gun was built with ergonomics in mind, it scores 10 in this category too.

Noise - This will be the first score below a 10. It has to be. With the stock barrel, the X-7 (along with the Tippmann family) is quite loud. This can be fixed through the use of aftermarket barrels (lots of porting) and through the use of low pressure kits. I haven't seen a low pressure kit for the X-7 yet (I don't think those will come around until next yer). For noise, I give the X-7 a 7.

Price - MSRP of 329.99 seems a little steep for me, but I purchased mine with a response trigger for 280. If you are counting the MSRP price, the score would be 8, if you count my ebay price, the score is 10.

Materials - The X-7 receiver is made from magnesium, which is very light, but very durable. The magazine is plastic unfortunately, and is the only cheap part to the marker. I have to give the materials a 9, with a better quality magazine, it would be 10.

Hopper - I like this new hopper that they have changed since the A-5. You had to use offset rails to have scopes on the A-5 because the hopper was in the field of view. This hopper is offset to the right, is less taller, and longer. It fits over 200 paintballs (I counted 204). The only problem with the hopper is when you are shooting downhill and are running low on hopper ammunition. Some paint has a tendency to slide to the front of the hopper and not fall into the cyclone. The X-7 hopper is better than the A-5, so I am happy to see it get re-engineered, but it still needs a little work. It gets a 9.

Average these out and you get a 9.1. That is the score I would give the X-7 if I were allowed to (I don't see why they don't give that option). Overall, Tippmann X-7 gets a 9 (Which is good, because nothing is EVER perfect.)

Conclusion: The Tippmann X-7 is a great Mil-sim marker for a reasonable price. It can be modded into a 1000 different variations, from dagger positions, to heavy gunners. It is reliable, rugged, and 1:1 scale with the vicious AR-15. Tippmann is a quality, American made product that I am proud to own/use. I will update this review as I use the X-7 more during this SPPL season.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Conndawg Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested38 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5. The A-5 and X-7 are both very similar with the exception of a few performance and cosmetic changes.
Marker Setup: I've owned several ranging from old Stingrays to Alias Intimidators.

Recommended
Upgrades:
The great thing about this gun is that there "will be" no end to the upgrades and accessories you can put on this marker. At the field I tested an X-7 with a response trigger, commando Air-thu stock + remote line, G36 foregrip & carrying handle (not available to everyone yet), M4 front sights, with a millitary red-dot sight. The barrel we used was a black 16" All American and we were running compressed air.
Strengths: -Upgrades are limitless.
- 20+ BPS with e-grip.
- HPA or Co2.
Weaknesses: -Eratic velocity spikes on Co2
-No low pressure kits available yet.-LOUD!
Review: Intro
I've been playing paintball for several years now. I play tournaments mostly in provincial circuits but like most of us who have played for a long time we pretty much all started out in the woods. It's nice to get away from the air ball field with the 15 bps ramping and one minute average games and just go back to paintball's original roots.

As we all know, paintball is starting to become more and more popular with the Milsim/scenario type games than speedball and doesn't seem to be letting up. It's not a bad thing, in fact you might see in the near future full out scenario tournaments on a national scale! People are becoming more and more attracted to the realistic element of paintball than the tournament type play, the X-7 is every scenario player's dream.

Performance Review
Now, bear in mind this is considered a low end mechanical gun. By no means does it compare to todays electronic Shockers, Egos, Timmys etc. This gun is made for scenario/rec paintball.

With this in mind right out of the box it dominates most others in its price range with the RT trigger. It is able to rip off 12+ BPS with the right adjustments and has the looks scenario players are looking for.

Like I said earlier, you MUST run this gun off HPA if you want any hope of having high performance results. This is because this gun has no regulators or expansion devices (yet) installed or available. This problem can be fixed easily by simply using HPA along with a Max flo or if you're like a lot of remote line users and put your tank in military backpack or buttpack and if you know what you're doing go from the tank to a regulator then to the remote line inside the backpack. With Co2, its not very reliable either with consistency or ball breakage, especially outside with changing temperature. Co2 is an expanding gas that is VERY temperature sensitive. The pressure is always changing inside the tank and is what causes those crazy velocity spikes. Having too much pressure is a factor to ball breakage amongst 100's of others. Plus Co2 is dirty as hell so yeah nutshell, get HPA.

Significant improvements were Incorporated into the X-7 from the A-5 design. First off lighter internals allow higher rates of fire. Second, the gas thu-stock line built into the gun is great for milsim players. Before the remote line would hang around your arm and gets in the way. Now its right at your shoulder, out of sight and away from your body. If you put your tank in a backpack all you see is 6 inches of line, thats it. Third, Its able to fire 20+ balls per second with the e-grip coming out this spring and about 12 with a response trigger. Not only that, but it achieves this 12 BPS penumatically with no electronics. This has huge benefits not having to buy or replace 9 volts or go through bricks of AA batteries like I do every month for my loader and gun.

However, since its all pneumatically controlled it means more air consumption. The feed system uses a pneumatic ram much like one on an autococker to turn the propeller. Another is the Response Trigger which is another pneumatic valve that uses air to push your finger foward simulating an automatic effect. Anyway, from a typical 68 CI 4500 PSI tank we were able to cycle the gun 968 times at 10 BPS. This might sound really good, but we're talking about one of the bigger tanks sold in the industry. If you consider many Intimidators get around 1,500 cycles. But hey, my old 2k1 Matrix only got about 600 so it all depends on who you ask. Personally, most scenario gamers are fairly conservative on paint anyway or bring a second tank, for that very reason. So its decent on air, but not fantastic.

Performance
Now, unlike those really bad videos of people shooting trash cans at 40 ft away holding the gun in the standing position unrested (which really makes me laugh) we got this thing in a vice with a sighted dot scope to accurately measure its TRUE accuracy.

Stock Barrel 30 ft 1 BPS using Draxxus Blaze
20 rounds
On average we got a 15 inch diameter grouping.


All American 16 inch barrel 33ft 1 BPS using same paint
20 rounds
On average we got a 8 inch diameter group

So as you can see a good barrel does help a lot. I'm surprised we got that good of a grouping from this gun. Remember we're testing this with the G36 attachments and gas thru-stock. We also did 3 shot bursts, but the wake of the balls going behind each other throw off flight path of the balls and wouldn't be fair to put it in our review.
Conclusion: Overall, for a high end mechanical gun it performs VERY well. We didn't chop a single ball when we tested it and it worked like a dream. Its just a fun gun to shoot, it looks damn near the same as a real HK G36 minus the hopper. I'll tell you this much, I've already put an order in for one myself for the next big game coming up this summer. Its a good change for us tournament guys to do something different now and then and get away from the 1 minute games.

I highly recommend this gun to anyone looking for reliability and looks for woodsball play. Trust me, you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 at 12:50 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

ddman033 Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a-5, tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: i shot the x-7 with an apex barrel -response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
i wouldnt recommend anything.
maybe an apex barrel...
Strengths: The Gun is accurate, styling, and really light.
Weaknesses: A little bit bulky, but not much.
Review: the gun itself is just bad ass, when i first shot the gun it impressed me. I havent been paintballing for a long time, but i do know this gun is perfect for woodsball, the RT works perfect.

- Bone stick is really good, but i do recommend a BT Apex Barrel,

FYI- the Apex works really good.
Conclusion: I think this gun deserves a 10 star rating,like I said.there is only one small problem. ( bulkey)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 27th, 2007 at 3:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media