paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Hewitt Sunday, February 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used semis before this gun ranging from tigersharks to spyders.
Marker Setup: I have a CCI Phantom black, bottom-line kit, 200 round viewloader hopper, 11 CCI nickel plated ported barrel, and sometimes I use a laser sight.
Strengths: This product has amazing accuracy and dependibility. I haven't had one field problem yet that I couldn't solve in a few minutes. The stock barrel is unlike any others I have ever shot and doesn't need replaced. It is the best pump I have ever shot.
Weaknesses: When I stripped it down to clean the first time I had a little trouble putting it back together but now that I figured it out, everything works great.
Conclusion: If you like playing pump go straight to this gun and you will never have to buy another. It also makes playing much cheaper because I don't got through near as much CO2 and paint as my semi counterparts.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orginal Spyder, Tippman Pro-Lite, Tippman Pro-Carbine, 2001 Autococker
Marker Setup: Phantom Pump, Remote+Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed
Strengths: Accurate as any gun you can find (including cockers)
Lightweight and manuverable
Durable and easy to clean
Can use any paint
Great for SNIPING!
Weaknesses: It's a pump so you have to cock every time, but if you can win with a pump, you can dominate with a nice semi.
Conclusion: Great gun, good for all levels. Simple yet can perform with most guns on the market. A great gun, buy it as soon as you can. When it comes to pumps these things are top of the line.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Your basic gunky rental semis
I own or have owned A pirahna, spyder shutter, 96 autococker, a spyder flash, and now a phantom.
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter, nitro, 12 volt revy, 12 inch J&J ceramic
Spyder Flash, same upgrades
Back bottle phantom with T stock, .45 grips, Millet red dot sight, coil remote, 12 volt revy and a pnuematic assist from Doc's Machine
All markers run on nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
I like what I have. It depends on the game you play. The pnuematic assist is pricey, but the short pump stroke it creates rules. When you autrigger with this feature you don't lose as much fiepower to semis.
Strengths: I was a sceptic. I didn't buy into the legend,but it's true, this marker long ball like a witch. You can pull eliminations at 125 feet. You will NOT be making goggle shots, but you can reach a baller that far away. 100 footers are far more consistant. You can stack balls at 60 to 75 feet. I painted a guy at 85 feet that no one else could to through his cover. I have measued these distances folks, they aren't guesses, only facts.

It's cool. 4 different guys asked to shoot it on the range. They all left drooling and asking where I got it.

It's economical. I shoot less paint. I burn through fewer fills.

Weaknesses: You need game to play with a pump. If you can handle a reduced rate of fire that isn't a problem. I have broken a lot of balls in my barrel because I haven't found a great paint match yet.
Conclusion: Wicked ,wicked, wicked marker. There is a learning curve to pump play, but it makes you a better paintballer. All those guys that write that they are a "sniper" with their semi or electro frame, they are not. What they are is wishing they had the game to play with this SERIOUS piece of equipment. Are you the hunter or the hunted?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder one(its pretty good and its rare to find now), spyder sonix(well worth it, combination of spyder TL and compact, really popular), autococker(ugly looking bucket but pretty good), talon(fun and cheap but not for peeps who want to become good a pb)
Marker Setup: 12gram adapter, adco sure shot, dye 12 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
.45 grip or m-16, 12 in DYE barrel or nickle, adco sureshot sight, a t-stock
Strengths: its recommened fps is at 280 which takes the phantom to its full potential. Very accurate even with the stock barrel. Phantom Stock Barrel is probably the best stock barrel on a gun in the market. 12 in Dye did help increase accuracy but it was barely noticable. If you plan on upgrading to a custom barrel, either get 12in dye, or nickle(i chose dye cuz both are just as accurate as the other and in the end it all comes down to which looks prettier). This gun is well worth its price because your buyin a gun with one of the best(if not the best) accuracies on the market. I
Weaknesses: very few upgrades because everything is already top-notch. Velocity adjust tends to lower itself on its own after a while. The pump feels stiff at first when its new( i don't consider this a bad but where else can i put it) but will break in after a while.
Conclusion: Recommeneded for: snipers, people who play pumps, people who just want an accurate gun
Overall, this is my favorite gun of all the guns thus far because its so damn accurate. Holding it feels so good too, and its such a pretty gun. I highly recommend it even if you play for fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I thought that the autococker was a lot like it, but it is a semi-auto and notoriously finicky, while the phantom can take almost anything.
Marker Setup: I use the phantom with a fourteen inch barrel, vertical air, .45 grip, telescoping t-stock, vertical grip and golden paint job.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend the vertical air (I use a four ouncer and it can usually go several hundred shots at least without refilling), and the t-stock. The breach really depends on whether your doing stock class or not. I also think that if you plan on going all day a nine ouncer with a remote is a good choice.
Strengths: extremely accurate, very lightweight, looks cool
Weaknesses: not much really
Conclusion: this is the best pump ever invented. Where I play I'm the only one with a pump (mainly tippmann 98's, spyders and procarbines as the opposition) and I still kick some major booty. It's not just for snipers too, because you just hold down the trigger and pump and it does rapid fire.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL PLus: Obviously more controlled rapid fire but not nearly as accurate and not nearly same range. I guess the spyder was better for really close quarters fights but a lot of times other people would just get out of my range and then wait. NO MORE with the phantom.
Marker Setup: Of course now I have the phantom and I bought it From Ace Paintball at the store and they already had a .45 grip, bottom line, and 14" barrel on it. I got a 9 oz tank to go with it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The .45 grip is nice and from other reviews i hear the original sucked but i never even saw the original so who knows? all i know is the new one is great.
Strengths: This gun is very accurate and has a great range. Also the gun itself with a 9 oz CO2 tank is VERY light! It also saves you money because although it is fairly expensive (compared to a spyder or something) you barely use any CO2 and paintballs. It is also just fun to play with a pump. It is also great straight out of the box like everyone says. I can't think of anything I'd want to upgrade.
Weaknesses: Its terror if you have to take it apart. The 2 screws holding it together crossthread like nobodys business. Just pray you dont break a ball in the action. It breaks balls easy if you mess up but that would be the only reason it would. But, sometimes in all the action you may break a ball by not pumping it all the way back and then its over for that round. Another thing is the stupid way you have to chrono it. You have to put a special tool down the barrel and adjust a screw. I dont know why they do it that way, but it really isn't that big of a deal.
Conclusion: Like everyone else has said, you don't have to upgrade this. Just buy a 9 oz CO2 (of course depending on how long you play each time) and a hopper and you're set. The only other thing is that it takes a little time getting used to.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 19th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mavericks, Trracers, Tigersharks, Talons, and the like.
Marker Setup: I currently own a silver gravity feed with the factory 45 grips and bottomline.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You've got to have the 45 grips, it makes the gun complete. (Its not that much extra, either.) The stock barrel does not need replacing... the only reason you would want to replace it would be to make it quieter.
Strengths: The gun is awesome. It is VERY reliable, accurate, and light. The gun can be picked up after a few weeks of not playing, quickly oiled, and used again. The most maintenance you have to do is it apart and re-oiling (and you shouldn't need to do this very often). I found the accuracy stunning after having used spyders and autocockers. It would hit what I was shooting at...
Weaknesses: Its a pump. You don't have firepower. You have to learn how to aim before you shoot. You have to move. You have to work. You have to run. You have to not go through 2 hoppers full of paint in one game. You have to think. Some people can't handle this. If you don't think you can, please, do yourself the favor, and not buy this gun; you'll hate it.

Note: Don't mess with the bolt/velocity until you read the manual. It has its limits, you CAN break it.
Conclusion: Its great. I would rather use it than any impulse/cocker/mag/spyder out there. Maybe thats just me and my need for adventure... but i doubt it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 15th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper III- just as good as a phantom, I like the phantom better, buts its too close to matter.
Marker Setup: Tl+, remote, SP AA, Diamond Labs Gas through stock, S.O.G. trigger job, nitro comin soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
its great as it is. Scope or sight will help with those 1 shot kills though.
Strengths: Accurate as hell, a friend and i with phantoms flanked and shot out half of the other team (kids with cockers, mags, and some impulses). Probably the most accurate paintball gun I've ever used.
Weaknesses: Its a pump. But the accuracy more than makes up for that.
Conclusion: The Phantom is a great gun for all paintball snipers out there. 1 shot goggle kills are easily attained with this gun from almost any range.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 15th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammer Plus
ACI maverick
The Phantom will outshoot, out perform, and just put any other pump to shame. Mike Cassady has a talent and a gift for making the best out of the box and quite possibly the best marker there is.
Marker Setup: I have .45 Phantom with a cheap scope with an infra-red piece mounted on it. (it looks strange) I also have the 14 inch barrel. I plan on getting the nikle plated barrel sometime soon. I bought the marker in black because I am going to guillie it anyway.
Recommended
Upgrades:
the CCI Nickel PLated barrel and that's about it
Strengths: Everything! Great marker out of the box, no need to worry about the over priced and overrated after market garbage, great accuracy, relativly quiet (with my silenc.....errrr....I mean barrel extension it is barely audible), it is light, very customizable, and comes with the great and personalized service of Good ole Mike!
Weaknesses: To say anything bad about this marker is sacreligous and that individual needs to be shot to death by Brass Eagle Talons.
Conclusion: Great marker. It can hang on the front lines of a speedball field or the backwoods of BFE. Its all around one of the paintball sniper's best friends and the unsuspecting prey's worst nightmare. One shot, one kill.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a sniper, a mavrick, a hornet, a sterling and a pgp and the phantom beat them all except in pumping which belonged to the sniper but that was the only good thing about that gun
Marker Setup: I have a vertical bottle adaptor that i use to hold my wgp reg on with a cp flame drop forward and a 68ci 45000 psi bulldog 2 and a all american barrel and a richochet 2k, Also i have a docs machine pneumatic assist which makes the gun smemi and i got a trigger jobq my entire gun is black
Recommended
Upgrades:
vertical bottle adaptor, All American barrel, Regulator, Fiberwrapped tank (47ci or 68ci), Drop forward and a ricohet 2k, and a pneumatic assist with trigger job
Strengths: What isn't good about this gun it shoots about 10 ft fewer then a cock.....er (joke between me and someone else) it's probably just as or more accurate then a cocker and with a pneumatic assist and a trigger job it is a cocker but rarer and cooler
Weaknesses: anything i knew about paintball guns before i got this gun was thrown out the window
Conclusion: here i'll sum it up in one word "perfect"



(is there anyway to put a 15 in the rating)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media