paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
punisher32 Monday, November 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker Pump
Different phantom
Marker Setup: E99 avant,Cp barrel,halo b,Nitro tank,spyder xtra bolt, lapco feed neck
04 Vertical Autocoker, Dye sticky grip, Pump conversion kit, 50 round mini hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
It is perfect, maybe a trigger shoe
Strengths: Acurate, low matanence, autotrigger
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is great, it is a well built pump. Plus it is really acurate. A friend let me borrow his phantom ans i have to say that it is a really inpressive gun. Some people might say that 200 is alot of money for a pump, but those people have never uised a phatom. I am getting my own phantom pretty soon, because it is a really reliable gun.
Conclusion: Buy, it is perfect
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HJones Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No pump gun that I've ever used compares to the phantom
Marker Setup: 2004 phantom gravity feed, Brass Eagle laser sight (it's worth the ten dollars), 45 round loader, 9 ounce co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
45 grip frame, laser sight
Strengths: Auto fire, accurate, smooth pump
Weaknesses: Velocity adjustment, stock grip
Review: This gunis one of the most accurate guns i have ever used. If you are a semi-auto player, and want to get better, just buy a phantom and play with that for a couple of months. When you go back to playing semi, you'll be better than ever. If you want to become a pump player and you have a budget between $200-$300 you should get the phantom.
Conclusion: Once you start playing with this gun you won't believe its accuracy. If you buy it, you won't be dissapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chacho Sunday, September 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: its a phantom (VSC) pump and puncture adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
you definatly need a stock, and unless you don't mind having lots of 12 grams everywhere then you should get a 3 or 4 oz c02 tank
Strengths: Hella accurate and incredably light
Weaknesses: Really slow
Review: this gun is great, even though its nothing like an Angle speed.....this gun is great for woods ball because of its overall lightness, and compactness. its also great because you really don't have to worry a whole lot about running out of either paint or co2. i think that, and its great accuracy makes up for its slowness.
Conclusion: I think that its a great gun, and its not incredably expensive, so unless you want a really fast gun, this is well worth it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Sunday, September 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Talon, garbage compared to this.
Marker Setup: Gravity feed Phantom with 12 gram co2 changer and 11" stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
The ridge on the m-16 grip can wear on your hands after a while. It's not so bad if you have gloves on. Regardless, the .45 grip might be worth the extra expense.

Barrel and internals are nearly perfect stock. For an easier pump stroke you can take out the external pump spring. The internal spring moves the bolt back into place even without it.

CCI Detent rings are a cheap upgrade I intend on making.
Strengths: lightweight
Small profile
Accurate
Made with precision
Easy disassembly
Weaknesses: The m-16 grip could be more comfortable
Review: I bought this gun used. On the same day the package arrived, I took it to a local field.

Of course, I should have oiled and disassembled it first, but I went right into play. It is extremely accurate, moderately quiet, and the internals are very smooth in operation.

The pump stroke and spring back are very nice, the return spring was enough to prevent any double feeding. If you break a ball or double feed with this marker, it's your own fault.

Efficiency with 12-gram CO2 cartridges was impressive. Unfortunately, the o-rings in my marker were lacking lubrication and allowed leakage after half a day of playing on the first day. Disassembly and replacement is both cheap and simple.

Field stripping is easy, just two thumb screws and the barrel to take off.



What I really love about this gun is the weight. It is incredibly light, especially with the 12-gram Co2.

To make a comparison, a BE Talon weighs just about the same as this Phantom. The Phantom is twice as long and is almost completely metal construction. The Talon is almost completely plastic. You can snap shoot at close range just as quickly with the Phantom as you could with the little Talon.

I was dashing around for an entire day of paintballing with it, bunkering semi players who couldn't react fast enough as I ran by. The autotrigger is great for this, and I had no problem with double feeding. The light weight also means one handed operation - between pumps, at least - doesn't tire your wrist out.
Conclusion: The Phantom is an unbeatable value, and a precise marker crafted with great attention to detail. This may be the last gun I ever want.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 19th, 2004 at 9:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

silenstalker Monday, September 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have only used this gun, nothing comes close any way.
Marker Setup: Phantom right gravity feed, 30mm red dot, air-through stock, 14 inch barrel, 45 frame w/ dye sticky 3 grips (black), 5 in sight rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball detent helps out
45 frame (preference)
Strengths: Reliable
Accurate
Makes you a more efficient/accurate player
Weaknesses: Prefers large bore paint
No ball detent
Not everyone like the pump play style
Review: I will try to be as unbiased about the gun as possible to give anyone interested in buying a phantom an accurate assesment of its performance.

ACCURACY- The good news. the phantom definiatly lives up to its reputation. IF YOU USE HIGH QUALITY PAINT. The phantom barrel i~ .691 bore and prefers larger bore paint. I have fount through my 50,000 some odd rounds that i have shot through my gun, marbalizers shot amazing. Through no extention of the truth, you can honestly place ball on top of ball at 70 feet. This statement is in no way exagerated. You could literaly hit a quarter with the gun. For this reason, i keep my red dot zeroed at 70 feet. With experience, compensation for ball drop becomes second nature, and utilization of the guns entire range comes into play.
The bad news. When you use crappy paint, the gun will be your worst enemy. Big ball work well, as do super swirls, but i have found that once you break paint in the stock barrel you tend to continue to due so until you clean the barrel. In conclusion, your going to be shooting less so compensate and lay down some extra cash for high qaulity paint.

More to come... in progress.
Conclusion: Get this gun it is well worth the price and will make you a smarter, more focused player. The gun will force you to make your shots count and after making some awesome hits you will realize that everything else is junk compared to the mighty Phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 27th, 2006 at 7:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CrazyTippA5 Thursday, September 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Strengths: Powerful, quiet, holds c02 good
Weaknesses: Pump
Review: It is definataly a great sniping gun if u get the red dot scope and get the pantom blak or camoflouge and it is also very light and very accurate i think it is the best pump gun ever but that is just me so hope you have a great time if u get or have this marker.
Conclusion: I think it is a great sniping gun so if like to use stealth this is the gun to ues if you snipe.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Pillipke Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've never really had any experience with any other pumps/stock class markers
Marker Setup: This gun was so great that I really didn't see anything else to do to it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Like I said before, I personally don't think it needs any upgrades, although I would recommend a ball detent, as it double feeds every now and then. But other than that, I practically took it out of the box, screwed a CO2 tank in, whipped out a hopper of paintballs, and I was good to go.
Strengths: Very nice price
Extremely accurate
Conserves paint/air
Light, simple
Weaknesses: Double feeds
Not as fast as a semi
Review: Well, this gun was the perfect gun for me, to put it simply. I didn't have a great amount of money, and didn't cost much. I had never really played paintball beforehand and this gun really got me into the game. What I did was buy a cheap plastic 50 round hopper (Brass Eagle, much appreciated)for only a few bucks, and that was good for avoiding hopper shots. I took it a bit farther by buying a remote line which I used like once or twice (personally I found it hard to balance the gun without a CO2 tank). After switching to regular shouldering with the tank, I found my game improved a lot. But if you want to continue in the direction of the CO2 tank/remote line, then you could just get a quick changer (which I find to be not-so-quick, so watch out) and a 12-ounce, and you wouldn't have to worry about the line or the tank (wherever you put it). It would also provide a very compact position.

I didn't feel the need to add anything to the gun (except maybe that ball detent...I really need to get that), though it really all comes down to personal preference. For me, I wanted a lightweight, accurate gun that would conserve paint and air, and got exactly that. I'm really happy with the gun, as it performs so well, and I didn't have to put any money into it at all.

Like I said before, the gun performs really well. Any mistake that occurs is 99% of the time strictly user error. When this gun chops, it is a pain, although it shoots REMARKABLY well after one (only a slight, slight curve). That first chop, however makes it prone to do it again...and it's the second, third, and fourth ones occuring that usually screw you over...but that's usually fixed with a good squeegie (keep one handy!).
Conclusion: Overall I would say this is about the best pump, based on my opinions of others via reviews and such. Very very good even without considering it was only $200. If you're going for affordable, accurate, and lightweight, then I recommend looking into this gun further.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 20th, 2004 at 10:50 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

l337pumper Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None compare
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get what you want the first time, although you can change it to any style of play.
Strengths: Light, small, has an auto trigger, looks great
Weaknesses: Pump handle is not undercocking
Review: This gun is a top-of-the-line quality pump action marker. It is hand assembled and you can customize it to whatever you like. Pump play is rare, but when you see a pump player, you know they're either really good, or really bad ^__^

I have played with my Phantom a good four or five times, and I must admit that the challenge factor of the game sky-rockets when you can't throw paint by the case at people just for fun. Nothing like down-grading in technology to realize how sucky you are, right? ;)

This gun will shoot exactly where you aim it. The stock barrel is honed nicely but it isn't any more accurate then lets say a Kingman Spyder or Tippmann M98c, but it appears that way because everything is slowing down when you take the time to aim, so it looks like it can hit something alot easier. Aiming is a rare skill, because now-a-days people only care about how much they can flick their fingers at the trigger.

The only weird thing about this gun is that you have to stick the velocity rod down the barrel to change your FPS. I lost mine and i have to unscrew the barrel and use a screw driver now. :(

Also, the pump stroke is not very smooth when you first get it, but if you take off the spring and just play with it a few times, it'll be as smooth as silk (like mine)
Conclusion: This is the greatest pump in terms of price, quality, and feel. If you have a ton of money to waste, go ahead and get a E.Carter or a CCMJ2, but don't excpect the performance to go up alot, because this is as good as it gets!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jazzvaulter Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year47 of 49 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman SL68-II (not even close)
Tippman 98 Custom Flatline (a little bit more range, but way less accurate)
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom w/remote through stock- everything annoed woodland
68/3000 fiberwrapped HPA
Red dot sight (yes, it does help)
40 round hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really needed- not many things available.
Barrels for this are really rare to find- stock one is awesome, though, so don't worry about it
You could get the vert air / 12 gram changers and top feed to make it stock class legal
Stocks are nice- remote line helps ballance the marker- it's very light.
Strengths: See the Actual review.
Weaknesses: The velocity adjustment.
Review: ACCURATE- most accurate gun I have seen (as good or better than my friend's $1800 autococker). It's accurate enough to use a red dot sight as an actual indicator of where the ball is going to go.

CONSISTENT- this goes right in hand with accuracy. The more consistent a gun is, the more accurate it is going to be. The gun is great at the chrono. Adjusting it is a pain, but once it is dialed in it doesn't fluctuate at all- my field limit is 290 and I hit 290, 289, 290, 290.

FAST- it's a relative term. It won't do crazy 15-20 balls per second rates, but with the autotrigger and the very smooth pump stroke (use a little grease in there and it works like magic) you can just move the pump arm back and forth while holding the trigger to get 4-5 balls per second (which is enough for cover fire anyways if you're just playing woodsball).

QUIET- I've snuck up on groups of people from behind and from twenty feet away shot two or three of them without the others noticing except when they hear the "OUCH" shouts from the people next to them. I also built a silencer, and now it's quiet enough where you only hear the gun a tiny tiny bit- the loudest sound is the paintball whooshing through the air (don't, in general, try to do this. silencers are mostly illegal unless you have a permit to make them).

OTHER REMARKS- This gun is good enought that when my friends with brand new impulses and autockers went to play speedball, I could go with them and still get as many or more kills than s. Granted, any pro speedball player with a fast gun and brains would smack the heck out of me, and I did get nastily bunkered a couple times, but with my friends playing againts little kids it was fine (by the way- some of the kids had timmies). It's so easy to pick people off if they don't pay attention- that accuracy just makes it point and shoot. The upside of using a Phantom is also that if you ever decide to move to high-end electro type guns you will be much more analytical about your situations and will have a better sense of strategy (hopefully). If you keep it up well (clean it out every once and a while, grease it a little bit under the bolt) it will be a great gun for a long time. You also save a TON of money on paint- I use at max 500 rounds a day.
Conclusion: Awesome gun. If you're looking for something that will be a reliable, accurate, non-costly weapon that will serve you well look no furthur.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 8th, 2004 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

Jinks Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Tigershark, Tippmann SL68 II
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom with a 14 inch barrel, Vertical CO2 adapter, Dye grips, and a hopper feed port.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel isn't necessary, but 12 inches is the optimal length for accuracy (or so I've been hearing). If you have a vertical adapter, I'd recommend a stock. You can get them from phantomonline.com for $40 - $60 depending on your setup. If you don't like autotriggering, you can remove the pump spring altogether, which also aids in reassembly. A red dot sight is good to have, but not necessary. Most of my sniping kills were done without it, but seeing as I do use it occasionally and it doesn't get in the way, I keep it on my gun for those moments when it comes in handy. Also, a 50 round hopper is very nice. I always play with only 50 rounds, and having a big VL200 makes noise and gets in the way (plus it's another target).
Strengths: This is the most accurate marker ever; also reliable and extremely gas efficient.
Weaknesses: In the event that a ball is chopped (very, very rare), sniping won't happen.
Review: The phantom has been around for a long time, and CCI hasn't made very many changes since the first markers were introduced. It is a very inexpensive gun with a starting price of about $175. There used to be a problem with the front and rear screws with the original phantoms; they always came loose and you ran the risk of the gun literally falling apart in your hands on the field. CCI fixed this by putting o-rings on the screws to ensure a snug fit. Now the gun is flawless. Cleaning is very simple, and once you get the hang of it, so is reassembly. I won't get into the details, but the simplicity of the gun can make putting things back together frustrating until you've worked with it for a few weeks. Make sure you keep an eye on the plastic ring on the end of your cocking handle bar! Anyway, 5 friends of mine and I purchased phantoms together because we wanted to try something different, and we've been playing twice a week for 6 weeks now. I have a 12 ounce tank and fill it after playing about 17 or 18 games, and we fill our hoppers with only 50 rounds, only about half of which we use. The gun uses gas or liquid and operates the same with either. None of us have had a single problem save for when a ball gets chopped, which makes the paintballs drop down after shooting. Chopping only really occurs when autotriggering (pumping constantly with the trigger held down). When I chopped a ball, I took off the barrel and ran a squeegee through it, put the barrel back on and kept playing just fine. A friend of mine chopped a ball real bad one game and paint got up in the elbow. I covered him and he field stripped his gun, cleaned it, oiled it, and had it in working order again in a few minutes and we went on to win the game (try that with a 'mag or 'cocker). A word of warning: There is no mechanism to prevent you from double loading. If you don't know how to tell if the gun is loaded by feeling the trigger, this might be a problem. My advice is to just keep it unloaded until you really need to fire; otherwise, you run the risk of chopping, or shooting 2 balls at once, neither of which will hit your target. Also, in becoming familiar with the phantom, be sure to pull back pretty hard on the pump handle at first. Sometimes a ball will load into the chamber but the gun will not cock. To solve this, you could double load, or turn the gun upside down (to prevent double loading) and cock again. Once you're familiar with using the Phantom, this isn't a problem. This gun isn't for speedball players, it's definitely for people who like to play with strategy out in the woods and away from all the bunkers. If that's the way you like to play, then I'd venture to say that this is the perfect paintball gun.
Conclusion: Accurate, reliable, simple, inexpensive, and conservative on gas. I recommend this gun to anyone looking to improve their game by learning how to play with a pump because of these reasons. And if you've ever seen the Phantom, admit it, it's just plain sexy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media