paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $198

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
shadowgamer Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann sl68 and aci maverick
Marker Setup: Slate direct feed phantom with 10 round tube, verticle 3.5 oz, in yo face stock and clear sticky grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
don't really need any upgrades all for look or comfort, I wanted the stock to give more stability when shooting. If your not going to play stock class get a 3.5 ounce so you don't have to change every 40 shots
Strengths: -The gun is perfect outta box.
-The stock barrel is great you dont need to change it.
-You will be impressed by how accurate and far this gun can shoot.
-Autotrigger allows 6 balls per second. I can actually bunker guys with cockers
-Great customer support
Weaknesses: M-16 grips, at first i didn't mind them but then I wanted stickies and a stock so that had to go.
-Price is kinda high for a pump
Conclusion: This is a great gun, Mike Casady did a great job making this gun. I consider it as close to perfection as you can get in a pump gun. If you looking for a pump I suggest you check out the Phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: CCI Phanton
-Bottom line feed
-trigger shoe
-12oz CO2 tank
-red dot sight
-45rnd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottom line feed
trigger shoe
small hopper (45rnds-100rnds)
butt plate
Strengths: The phantom is a truly awesome gun for the price. I bought mine slightly used for $125 and it works perfectly. The pump action is smooth and if you have a butt plate it is easy to snap up and fire. I reccommend this gun to anyone learning how to play namely because a pump teaches you how to fire accurately, since you usually only have time to snap one or two shots off.
Weaknesses: The only small problem I had was that I was double feeding the gun, however this was quickly fixed when i learned that if you cock it but it doesnt feed the gas you just trun the gun on its side and pump again (to stop the second ball from loading). Other then that this gun rocks.
Conclusion: If you are new or want to play pump BUY THIS!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gish Tuesday, April 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
In terms of pumps only an older Sl68. Other markers: A variety of Semis
Marker Setup: Black Phantom .45 Grip, Bottomline setup, Gas stock and remote, 14" Nickel barrel, right hand feed body, Adco E-dot.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Out of the box the phantom was very very good. The stock barrel is one of the better out of the box barrels. You could buy one of these and immediatly take it out onto the field and not be disappointed.
Most upgrades are for comfort such as grips/remotes for lightweight setup.
Strengths: So far I have been enjoying my pump quite a bit. The main reason I decided to play pump was for a challange, to save money, and to have a lightweight setup. After seeing other pumps and reading reviews I settled on the Phantom for looks, performance and for being lightweight.

As mentioned out of the box you'll be right on the field.
The craftsmanship is excellent.
Easy to maintain and breakdown for cleaning, just a couple of twists of some screws and you've got it apart.
Lightweight. With my remote setup it's nowhere near the weight of my friends semis. Even with the 12 oz tank it's good.
This pump autotriggers. If your every in a tight spot simply hold the trigger down and pump your arm like mad.
Accuracy. With a little practice you can put a single ball on target from good range in the first shot.
Cheaper to operate. Instead of flinging a case of paint a day you'll probably only use 250 in a full days play. Not to mention only having to fill your co2 maybe once in 3 days of play.
Weaknesses: Well it is a tad pricey. For the same amount you can get an equivelent semi marker.
It does require a break in period. I'm still breaking mine in. For the first while the pump action isn't very smooth, but after 3-4 games it gets better and it should be very nice by the end of the season.
Its a little picky on paint. To play a decent game you need good paint to play with this. With a semi it dosen't matter if your first ball goes a little wild because you can easily fire off another 10 at the target. It's necassary to have good paint with this gun.
Conclusion: If you want to play pump you can't get much better then the Phantom. If your just starting out consider the Phantom. Playing pump improves yours skills and it's cheaper to play with. Not to mention being able to tag out the guy with the $1000 full automatic paint sprayer with a single shot from distance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo pump - Reliable but not a precision piece of equipment
Tracer pump - Great back in the daypump, but needed to be upgraded and wasn't
'94 phantom - Best pump gun way back and the new models are even better
Marker Setup: Phantom - 7 oz tank, butt plate, neoprene cover, trigger shoe, lazer sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
It is the best out of the box gun available. Needs nothing. I'm getting a regulated tank because I want to, not because I need to.
Strengths: Stock Barrel is magnificent.
Very VERY efficient
Consostent velocity
Accurate and quiet
New guns have easy down barrell velocity adjust.
The gun is simple, sweet and beautiful.
The elation that comes from knocking tricked out emag's out of the game with a pump gun that never misfires, jams of fails.
Weaknesses: Its worth the money.
Other players don't respect pumps until you kill them repeatedly.
Because the stock barrell is so excellent not all new barrells are available for the gun.
Conclusion: Bever fails, faulters or flounders.
Adrenaline is sneaking around or pop shotting with a pump in a feild full of blood thirsty paint sprayers.
Skill is using all your assets as a player and not having a 1300 dollar electro crutch with rader enhanced heat seeking paint technology.
Gloating is as simple as not saying a word about anything, but walking around with a clean set of camo and a pump.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Worrptangl Friday, March 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
semi trick 2k1 cocker, shutter, spyder standard, custome phantom VSC
Marker Setup: Regular black gravity right feed phantom w/ vert air kit, drop forward , 12 oz tank and vl 200
Recommended
Upgrades:
45 grip frame w/ Dye stickies (just remove the tails), clear pump, vertical air set up, CCI nickel and very soon the Carbon fiber (approx $75 Mike Cassady said)
Strengths: The accuracy is unmatched anywhere. I can shoot during a period when no one is shooting and first thing is most people can't even hear your shot let alone see you when you are hitting them from the opposite end of the field. It's light as _____!!! You can make this marker very small and take it up front and when you learn how to snap shoot very well your a very dangerous front man.
Gas effieceincy is great. I can play both Sat. and Sun. on one tank, but I don't recommend that if you can get free refills top off.
Weaknesses: Those M16 style grips are so ugly and uncomfortable. The 14 in barrel is just too long.
Conclusion: The 11in is just right if you don't use a sight and the 8in if you do use a sight or which ever. I prefer a shorter barrel which is the 8in, but that's me. I have not noticed and accuracy or distance changes with it. Everyone should own a phantom. Not just a phantom but a Phantom VSC w/ stock and 4oz tank both matching the gun. Go out and buy this SOB you won't be sorry. You'll see your game better after playing with a phantom for a while.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cocker... shocker... phantom
Marker Setup: phantom baby!
14" all american
pimped out stock class phantom
clear accessories (pump, tube)
red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a 45 grip. get a good stock class harness i use ronin gear. get a sight only if you don't move much. sight and snap shooting don't mix at all.
Strengths: This gun is accurate as all of my guns. If play with semi-autos and go to a pump you will see what really makes paintball fun and enjoyable. I get so much more adreniline pumping with my phantom. Having my autococker, i have no adreniline because i know that i can easily clean house. Phantom, with my sight using my friends nitro, was more accurate than any gun i have seen. Cant use nitro stock class though. darn!
Weaknesses: only bad is stock barrel. I know that it is just amazing......... if you get a good paint match. The bore size is a little big. My all american takes care of that issue.
Conclusion: An absolutely fun and amazing gun that brings the spirit out of you. Play pump, or play with your sissy semi. Only reason i use my semis is for tourneys, but everyother time i play, i use the Phantom. BUY A PHANTOM> Best gun you will own without breaking into retirement funds.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hmm Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT excellerator 4.0, talon ghost, blade, potato gun, slingshot, stingray II. The phantom is even a match for the semi excellerator (in woods combat more), less firepower but more range and accuracy.
Marker Setup: JT excellerator 4.0 as it came from the box with a 9 oz. C02 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
rifle stock thing to put on C02 tank
Strengths: Accurate (easily outranges my JT excellerator 4.0)
Reliable
Looks kinda cool (especially with rifle stock type thing)
Doesnt waste paint/C02
Rarely chops (ive never had it chop)
Easy to cock
Not too loud
Weaknesses: Kinda expensive ($198), though you can get it on Ebay for less, still worth the money, id get one but i got an excellerator 4.0 3 months ago.
Conclusion: Best pump ive ever used!!! I didnt realize that it could take on semis and win, but i would not suggest getting into a long ranged firefight against this beast (unless you want to waste alot of paint). Easy to cock, uses much less paint than a semi, uses C02 efficiently. I think im gonna buy one meself someday. Buy it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Sniper 2
-Hornet
-Pirahna
Marker Setup: 99' Evolution
14" Freak Barrel(Freak Front, Aluminum Back)
45ci 4500psi Apocalypse 2k
12v Revolution
Black Ice regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
-get the 45 grip from CCI, it is REALLY nice
-11" nickel plated barrel from CCI or just get it with the standard 11" barrel with muzzel break
-vertical asa from CCI so you can attach some sort of fore grip(if you like fore grips on your guns)
-get different body styles and gun parts so you can switch it up to play stock or change bottle set-up
Strengths: -VERY light
-accurate
-quiet
-takes about ten seconds to switch bodies(to play stock class)
-VERY easy to maintain(very simple design)
Weaknesses: -Hardly any aftermarket companies make upgrades for it, but who cares. This thing is sweet as can be out of the box. The only downside to this is that you can't put your favorite barrel on it. I dont know if Smart Parts would do it, but this thing would be killer with a Freak. Worth calling about.
Conclusion: -This is an awesome pump gun. It is light, easily maintained, and easily transfered to stock class set-up. A great gun, well worth the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

xrancid_milkx Wednesday, February 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
First Pump
Marker Setup: My other marker is a Spyder TL Plus with a 16" Tru-Flight Barrel, A-N-S inline regulator, Dye Sticky Grip, 20 oz. tank, and a 9v. Hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This Marker could use a bottom line if you didn't get one.
Strengths: This gun is godly. I love it. I have even abandoned my semi-auto. Its extremely accurate and reliable. If you have any problems with your phantom (which I think will never happen) you could call or e-mail Mike Casady who made the gun, he will take care of it. There are many different set-ups of the phantom too. Mine is a urban camo color gravity feed, bottom line, and a M-16 grip. I would recommend this gun to everybody, it has improved my game so much. And the look you get when you hit someone with a high end electro is priceless.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing that I found about this marker (and believe me it took me a while to think of it) is that the M-16 grip can get a little uncomfortable after a whole day of play. It rarely bugs me. To fix this all you have to do is get the 45 grip instead.
Conclusion: I feel this is a very good gun to get. It improves your game so much. You have to make each shot count and that improves your accuracy. Oh yeah, when you first get the gun, it might not perform up to its name, TRUST ME, its just breaking in. After one day of play it will be godly. Its stock barrel is the best stock barrel I have ever seen. But if you want a better one CCI offers and nickel plated barrel that performs a little bit better but in my opinion its unnecessary.
Get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tripnotemple Wednesday, February 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann sl-68
tippmann M-98
Marker Setup: tippmann model 98c
flatline barrel
polished/fully upgraded internals
reactive trigger upgrade
custom drop foward
tippmann expansion chamber
rear cocking/ velocity adjust
laser sight/ 4x scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
not much.... if you're using co2 then I would recommend an xpansion chamber.
Strengths: -This marker is good to go straight out of the box... the stock barrel doesn't need to be replaced with an aftermarket barrel, the stock barrel would perform about as good.
-the pump action is short and tight as compared to other markers, which means after using it all day you're arm won't be too tired out.
-it's very simple to fix if any problems arise.
-I was suprised when I first recieved the marker in the mail from CCI.... it was a lot smaller than I thought it would be. It's a good thing though. It's very light, and easy to handle.
-accuracy.... probably what most of you are wondering. Well, as far as pump guns go, it's great. the only problem I had were due to velocity spikes... but that only changed the distance the ball went. I had no problems with ball curvature. I guess what I can sasy is you get what you pay for. I had the phantom, the sl-68 and my flatline ou in the yard aiming at a 5" wide fence post from about 120 feet away. I shot 10 marblizers with a full 12 ounce tank for each marker. the 68 had the widest spread with about 6 inches to either side, while the phantom had only about an inch or so either way. the tippmann 98 had the tightest grouping with all balls hitting the post.
Weaknesses: -it's not as rugged as say... the sl-68.... I was afraid of dropping it, even though when I did, there was no harm done.
-velocity adjustment is a pain... you have to put the tool down the barrel to adjust it... the good thing is once the velocity is set, you'll never have to touch it again.
Conclusion: if you know you want a pump, then this is basically the best marker you can buy. each one is custom deisgned so you can get it to your exact specs. the accuacy is great, there arent' many aftermarket parts but you don't need anything except maybe a sight... it's light, and it'll give you snipers or pump players the response and range you're looking for.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media