paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Ion Body Kit 2007 / Powerlyte Ion Body Kit 2007 / Powerlyte Ion Body Kit 2007 / Powerlyte Ion Body Kit 2007 / Powerlyte Ion Body Kit 2007

Powerlyte Ion Body Kit 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Ion Body Kit 2007

Paintball Ion Bodies

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Ion Body Kit 2007
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Following the huge success of our 06 ION bodies, the 2007 model is bound to be one of the nicest models available this year. The 07 ION body features extensive, 3D milling over every inch of the aluminum surface.

The milling on this body is more complex than most high-end markers. Along with the amazing looks, the 07 body has a true, bolt-out-back feature. Bolt access is now a painless process with the removal of a single screw. The 07 Bodies will be available in a variety of solid, fade, gloss and dust finishes.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Ion Body Kit 2007 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
monkey7 Monday, December 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion XE,
CP dust red shorty reg,
cp mini on/of asa,
red halo-b w/ rip and v35,
Black Heart board,
freak barrel with dust red all American front,
nxt clamping feed neck dust black,
and a 68/300 low pressure pure energy tank..
Strengths: Looks!!!
Weaknesses: BOB thingy and no instructions.
Review: OK so i bought this body kit for a buddy of mine off of eBay for like 24 bucks because his body kit on his ion, which i also bought on eBay, was old and faded to the point that it looked pink when it was suppose to be red..Now when it arrived i went to his place to help him install it.. to my surprise it didn't even come with instructions but after 40 min to an our i finally got it on..But just today he told me that the rear replacement banjo that the kit comes with is pissing air..i kinda expected this to happen since i noticed the the banjo was to small to even touch the inner body to bob or whatever..i don't know what it could be because i still have to go and check it out since not only am i the captain of my team im also the gun tech i guess/ financial adviser you can say...
Conclusion: dont buy this kit until you ask the right questions or get to test it out on ur ion and make sure everything works..other that that its one of the best body kits I've seen for the ion...i was kinda sick of only finding reds and dynasty body kits..
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Polorboy Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Powerlyte 07 Black/Blue Fade Body
NDZ Firing Can/Breach Combo
NDZ Blue/Black Pro Lock Low Rise Feed Neck
ANS 90* Frame (Milled for APE Keypad)
ANS QEV
Smoke Halo B V35 w/ Rip Drive
Blue Shocktech SuperFly Bolt
Full Freak Kit with AA Front Black
CrossFire 45ci/4500psi LP Tank
Dye Rhino Skin 45ci Tank Cover
Hybrid 45 Grips
Evil Detonator Regulator
Custom Products Micro Razor Blue Drop Foward
Smart Parts On/Off ASA
APE Rampage Board
NDZ Spring Ball Detents
Virtue Blue Laser Eyes
Virtue Clear Power Button (which doesn't do anything anymore because of the APE)
Eclipse Micro Gauge 300psi
Strengths: very well made body
Smooth lines
light weight
easy install
easy to use BOB
Weaknesses: BOB has oring that falls out easily
cannot use stock rear banjo
QEVs difficult install
Review: This is a great body for the ION. It gives it a finished look and makes the gun look like a million bucks (at least I think so). It is not very expensive considering the cost of other bodies out there either. I got mine for $124 for the fade body. The solid colors are under $100. There are two things that I think they could have done differently and this would have been the perfect body. First is the BOB, it works great, makes it really easy to remove the bolt for cleaning, but there is a very small o-ring that sits inbetween the BOB and the rest of the body. It is not held in by anything, it just sits there. When you take out the BOB you have to watch to make sure you don't lose it. I bought a pack of #5 o-rings because I ruined the first one that came with the gun within a matter of minutes of getting the body. They give you one extra but it did not last long. You have to be careful also when putting the BOB back in. You cannot just stick it in, you have to put it in at an angle and rotate it down to line up with the hole. If you just push it in with the o-ring in place, you will chop the o-ring. There is a small lip on the BOB that helps hold the o-ring in place and inside the body, if the o-ring hits it, it can very easily break it. The other thing that I did not like all that much, though it isn't as big a problem, is the rear banjo fitting. This body is milled a lot on the bottom so the stock rear banjo does not have enough room to fit. They put on a smaller one that is made of brass. You should never have to take it off but if you do, there is a very very small o-ring inside of it and the threads from it can rip the o-ring. Luckily I had an extra one laying around and I was able to replace it. Also the barb fitting on it makes taking the hose on and off very difficult. Though, once you have everything in there, there should be no reason to take it off. To get my QEV in, I have the ANS one, I had to use a metal file and file down the inside of the bottom of the body so that I could screw it all the way down. Other wise it will not fit (unless you use the Smart Parts QEV).
Conclusion: Despite what I said above, it is a great body and once you learn to just be careful when taking out the BOB you can clean the bolt and all the back parts very easily and quickly if you need to. It is a great body and I would highly recommed it to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wallify Tuesday, July 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock body
Marker Setup: ION
Red Q-lock
Firebolt
360 QEV
Kila detents
HALO B w/ victory
68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Red NDZ Frame
Red CP rail
Black CP on/off ASA
Black NDZ S-Treme Trigger
Hybrid Lady Grips
14" Powerlyte Sceptor Kit
Evil Detonator Reg.
07' Powerlyte Body
Strengths: Milling and anno are flawless
Semi BOB functionality
Weaknesses: Weight? but metal does weight more than plastic
Review: I got this body in the mail a few days ago and have to say that I am amazed. Pictured don't do it justice as the milling is beautifly done and the anno is great. It is a bit heavyer than the stock body, but that is to be expected as it is aluminum rather than plastic like the stock shell. Though it didn't come with directions they can be found on the Powerlyte website if you need them and I'm sure the guys over at Powerlyte would be happy to walk you through the install if you call them. The BOB function is a bit more involved than I had hoped, but I like to take my whole marker apart to clean anyway so the BOB wasn't the selling point for me anyway. I am working on a mod to make it easier to do though. Ill post up when its done if it works.
Conclusion: This is a great product with some great quality control and even better customer service. I didn't need it, but its always good to know the guys who sold you something will back it up. I give it a solid 10. If your looking for a body I suggest looking into this one.

Thanks Powerlyte for another awesome product!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mahamoti Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion body only
Marker Setup: Ion
SP Q-lock feedneck
CP On/off ASA
SP 360 QEV
TechT L7 bolt
Freak kit w/14" AA tip
Critical RPM trigger
Tboard verD w/Pulse RF
DXS Pulse w/Bone pack
Crossfire HP 68/4500
Strengths: BOB feature. All-aluminum construction. Gorgeous milling and anodizing.
Weaknesses: New donut o-ring seal could have been done differently.
Review: Got my Powerlyte 07 body (black/red fade) in the mail today, and wow was I impressed! The finish of this product is remarkable, especially compared to the plastic and rubber of the stock Ion body.

Had it assembled and ready to go in less than 30mins, no instructions needed... it really is that easy. Rear donut is replaced by new back cap, body bolts on like stock. The fit was perfect, no alignment problems whatsoever.

The BOB feature is simple to use: Remove the rear screw, loosen the middle screw, pull out the back cap, unscrew the firing chamber. More complicated than the true BOB feature of the Lucky 5.1 or the setup of high-end markers, but compared to total disassembly of the Ion, it's a breeze. No more worrying about pinched eye wires or breaking your battery terminals removing the stock board, just to clean and re-lube your bolt.

As simple as this body makes it to get at the bolt, it could have been made better. The o-ring seal on the back cap is poorly designed, and could have been done with a channel cut around the cap, bordered on the front and back with two large o-rings (for an example of this, see the design of the Foehn body kit). As long as you properly lube the small o-ring and take care when inserting the back cap though, you'll have no problems.
Conclusion: Anyone looking to greatly reduce their headaches cleaning and lubing their Ion should think about this body. It's priced well below similar kits on the market, looks great, and does it's job well. I'm giving this a 9/10; the only thing holding Powerlyte back from a "perfect 10" here is the design of the back cap.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

joeballer Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only used the stock body
Marker Setup: Blue Powerlyte 2007 Body
Blue FBM Fierce Frame
Tboard w/ APE Pad
Blue Hybrid Grips
QEV
Modded stock bolt
Progressive Barrel
Blue locking feedneck
Strengths: Milling
Anodizing
Looks
Its not plastic
Weaknesses: No instructions.
Bad semi-Bob design.
Bad website, with no instructions.
Review: IMO, this is one of the better looking bodies out there for the Ion. I bought mine strictly for looks, and it delivered nicely. You can get them shipped to your door on ebay for less than $80. I bought the solid blue color, as the faded ones didn't look as nice.

DO NOT BUY IT FOR THE BOB SYSTEM.

With that said, I will explain why. First, it comes with absolutely no instructions. I was able to figure it out, but I also emailed Powerlyte for instructions. They responded within one day, and I did everything right. It comes with its own banjo fitting that replaced the rear stock one. It also replaces your stock donut with their back cap.

There are two main flaws with the BOB system.

1. O-ring. There is a small oring that goes between the backcap, and body connection, which allows air into the marker. This has a tendency to get pinched, even when lubed with DOW 33. It also tends to fall out of place, so I find it easier to turn the gun upside down to change it.

2. Tools needed. You need to first remove the rear grip screw and loosen the front grip screw. THEN you need to screw your rear screw into the back of the rear cap. There is not enough surface area to get a grip on it. Stupid design, IMO. THEN, after all that, you still have to pull the cap out, WITHOUT losing the oring I talked about earlier. After all that, you STILL have to stick a socket down in there to unscrew the firing can to get to the bolt. It is almost just as cumbersome to get to the bolt the traditional way.
Conclusion: Very nice finish and looks. Makes the Ion look a lot more high end. Buy it for looks, and NOT the BOB functionality. It only adds a negligible amount of weight, so that isn't a concern, unless you are a younger player.

All things considered, it is a good buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

zapp Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha Eforce EXT 2k4
Spider Imagine
Marker Setup: Stock Ion with an SP Firebolt, SP 360 QEV and clamping feedneck.
Run non-siphoned CO2 with a coiled remote
Strengths: Easy access to the bolt.
Looks good.
Weaknesses: Heavy
May need frame modification for QEVs
Review: I found a new one on e-bay for $65, so I decided to try it. I was also looking at the DeadlyWind Negative Ion body, but opted for this one b/c of the Olive color option (I play woodsball) and lower price.

The box it came in was well-padded. The body I ordered was the Olive Green. On the Powerlyte web page, there is a picture with all the colors on it, but it is hard to see the finish- the Olive I have is a matte (dust) finish. If you order from Powerlyte, it looks like Black and Olive are the only options for "dust" finish. I took it out and inspected it- looks very nice, good milling, finish, but it is much heavier than expected. There is an interesting threaded hole in the back of the new donut- more on this later. There is also an extra O-ring for the new donut and a mystery screw that I still don't know what it is for (???).

There were no instructions included (!), but it seemed simple enough to put in, so I went ahead. Took the Ion apart as usual, removing the eyes wires, QEV and rear banjo and then took the old body off. The hardest part was taking off the clip ring to take the original donut off.

The 07 body comes with a rear 90 deg swivel air fitting already attached, so after removing the original rear banjo, I put the hose on the barb connection of the new fitting, greased the donut O-rings and slid the internals (now w/o the old donut) in and attached the QEV, then put the body on the frame.

At this point, I looked for clearance, and noticed quite a gap between the body and the frame- my QEV was hitting on my frame, which did not happen w/ the original body. I pulled it apart, took out my Dremmel and milled away 2 mm of my frame to give the QEV more clearance. Put it back together and it fitted nicely.

The new donut/end plug has an o-ring on the underside where it matches to the incoming air fitting- I greased this lightly so it wouldn't get pulled off, then slid it into place and screwed everything down. I aired it up, checked for leaks and then put a hopper of paint over my chronograph. No change in FPS or shot consistency from the original body, so it appears the new donut and air fitting are working good.

Now the real test- how easy is it to take my bolt out? I take off the rear frame screw and try to take off the end, but there is too little material to get a good grip! Then I put the frame screw I took out into that threaded hole in the back- still very tight, but I can move it a little. I loosen the front frame screw a bit, and then the rear plug comes right out.

So, to remove the bolt- loosen the front frame screw, remove the rear frame screw and put it in the "donut hole" to use as a handle to pull the donut out. A side observation- by putting the removed frame screw in the hole, you also won't loose it as easily. I then used the same open-ended 5/8 wrench I use to adjust the regulator to remove the entire fire chamber and bolt. Took me about 30 seconds, 2 tools.

Putting everything back in is just as easy. This make my Ion ALMOST as easy to take apart as my Piranha... Almost. I really like being able to take it apart without any tools. Too bad it doesn't shoot as nice as the Ion.

EDIT: The instructions are now on Powerlyte's web page http://fondesigns.com/powerlyte/IonCard.pdf
Conclusion: PROS
Finally- an affordable, easy, functional BOB!
Nice milling and finish- looks good!
Good color selection.

CONS
Heavy! It could be a LOT lighter by milling off all the excess on the new back/donut. The company name is PowerLYTE.. shouldn't it be... light?
Bottom space a little thinner than stock, may need to do frame milling for QEVs to fit.
Still not as easy to take apart as a Piranha... but that's Smart Part's fault...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 25th, 2007 at 5:07 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fartanspartan Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech Ion BOB Body
Marker Setup: Ion w/ teardrop, Halo B with Rip, DOP Drop Foward, Killa Detents, CP Reg, Firebolt soon to be L7, 07 Powerlyte Ion Body, Lucky Stage 2, Virtue Eyes-red
Strengths: Desgin,and just everything it is meant for
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I received my body today before school and right when i got back i came home and torn my ion apart and began assembling my ioin with my new body. The first thing i tried to do and make sure of is that the body and the backcap would work with the stage 2 and luckly it did. My shocktech body didnt.

The one thing i liked about this body is the banjo that came on the body didnt have a hose connected to it already, all i had to do is connect the stock hose to it. after connecting the hose i put the board in the frame and bolted everyything down and it looks amazing!!
Conclusion: I would recommend this body to anyone with a ion that wants a BOB. Looks great doesnt add to much weight either.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr_T28 Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Body
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Powerlyte 07 Body
FBM Frame
Redz Blade Trigger
CP Reg
Q-Lock Feedneck
Freak Barrel
SP 360 QEV
SP Firebolt
Empire Vegas Lady Grips
Kila Reaction Detents
S-Rail with Dovetail Adaptor
72/4500 Pure Energy Stubby
Strengths: Beautifully designed, NOT PLASTIC!! BOB design.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Well i just received my Powerlyte 07 body today. First thing i thought was WOW..its beautiful. I hurried and took off my stock body and started putting the new one on. You have to take off the rear donut (which is loads of fun!! end sarcasm) the BOB part grips onto the o-rings on the hex. I did notice it came with a small brass fitting where the rear banjo goes. Without thinking, i took that off and hooked the the board like the stock body. It didn't fit and i started to get the feeling i got played. So i called powerlyte and talked to Paul. He said the brass fitting was a smaller replacement for the rear banjo. So i took off the banjo and hooked the tube to the brass fitting. Hooked everything up and when i was done, my new body was on. It looks AMAZING!! I'm guessing the BOB works when you unscrew the last screw, pull out the back part and use a hex to unscrew the firing can. Good enough for me.
Conclusion: Get this body!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 5th, 2007 at 12:27 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media