paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Identity Crisis Paintball B-5 Bullpup Mod / Identity Crisis Paintball B-5 Bullpup Mod / Identity Crisis Paintball B-5 Bullpup Mod / Identity Crisis Paintball B-5 Bullpup Mod

Identity Crisis Paintball B-5 Bullpup Mod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Identity Crisis Paintball

Buy Identity Crisis Paintball B-5 Bullpup Mod

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Identity Crisis Paintball B-5 Bullpup Mod
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $319

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The B-5 bullpup mod for the A-5 has been developed with intensive player feedback over the course of many years. The B-5 will provide you with a significant tactical advantage over your opponent! If you've never tried a bullpup in paintball, now is your chance! You will be amazed.

The features of the B-5 are:
Includes an Ape rampage board
The B-5 accepts A-5 upgrades such as triggers, low pressure kits, grips, hopper mods, A-5 barrels, flatline, Apex. You name it!
Quick change battery compartment. Replace the battery by removing one pin. Battery is fully field swappable! Don't find yourself suck on the field with a dead battery again.
Field strip the B-5/A-5 by removing only two pins.
APE board is field legal and fire modes are be accessible via the side of the shoulder stock.
No need to worry about a little water or rain as the APE board is waterproof.
At 28 inches in length from the buttplate to the tip of the marker this mod significantly shortens the overall length of the A-5.
The B-5 does not require modification to the A-5. (it is optional)
The B-5 is built out of durable ballastic nylon not cheap plastic.
This B-5 package consists of two receiver halves, a rear buttplate, a APE Rampage Board, New hardened steel Sear Pin, E-sear tripper, a safety, instructions and the required nuts and bolts to assemble the B-5.
Product Availability 
The Identity Crisis Paintball B-5 Bullpup Mod is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Slippy Wednesday, March 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98
BT4, they work about the same but the length is whats key
Marker Setup: Phantom w/ vertical Co2 feed, 15 round mag w/holosight, hammerhead

BT4, CAR stock, E grip, rip clip, Hammerhead

98, Saw stock, EGG2, RAP4 Apex

ICP B-5, w/hammerhead
Strengths: Short w/ a good board
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I saw this thing at D-Day 08 at their tiny little booth, and was hooked on the spot. Since then I saved my nickels to get it. I ended up getting an A-5 that never been cleaned ever and the paint had been worn through but for eighty dollars and fifty cents I wasn't complaining much. I finally got the kit and immediately set upon getting it set up. A little tip: when you install it get a fresh 9v I took mine apart 6 times thinking the sear and solenoid weren't lined up right.

best thing about it is that it cuts the size by 3/4. My B-5 with my 16" Bangstikxx is shorter than my BT-4 with the 8.5"Sharktooth. Big advantage when your playing tight (especially in hyperball) The full-auto is nice but the reactive mode on the gun is quickly becoming my favorite. The length is also a bit of a weakness, It puts the cyclone feed right next to your face and you can't look straight down the marker. Get the X7 loader or the richochet to fix this.

Weaknesses are numerous but can be overcome easily. To start you art stuck with the A-5 and that gas hog they call the cyclone feed, which I'm not a big fan of. But thats my own opinion. 2nd its the back plate needs to be adjustably by like 3 in. Its fine for a guy that is 5'8" but its a little too short for me being 6'3" and finally you have to play remote with this. Now I like playing remote but remotes are finicky and have let me down. The only other weakness is the Price. $599 fully assembled, $325 A-5 not included and $175 A-5 and Electronics not included. If they'd lower the price on the full one by $200 they'd sell a billion of em.
Conclusion: Get It Get It Get It, you will be pulling snapshots off faster and you will like the way it feels.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbucket Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Tippmann X7
Various shrouds for both markers
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
ICP B5 Kit
Palmers Brass Barrel w/Lapco Air Cooled Shroud (modified)
Palmers Male Stabalizer
Cyclone w/TechT Lightning Rod, JCS Jet Click, Wargear Red Paddles, X7 Piston Cylinder
X7 Hopper
Mako Folding Front Foregrip
Opsgear Ump Front Sight
Strengths: Construction and engineering
APE
Fit and finish
Shortens the marker
Extremely customizable
Durability
Customer service
Weaknesses: Price? (Read review)
Cleaning
Review: When I first received this product I was hoping that it was money well spent. Let's face it, $350 could have bought one hell of nice marker. This product surpassed my expectations in every way. Let's start with the strengths:

-Surperior construction and engineering
Once you put this together you will see that a tremendous amount of thought and testing
went into making this product. Over 3 years of R&D went into develepement and it shows.
Search it on milzone.com for the history of this product; very interesting.

-APE Rampage Board
This is bar none the best board for the A5. Out performs the WAS in every way.

-Fit and finish
Once the A5 is seated into the kit it looks seamless. It blends in so well it's hard to tell
It's not part of the kit. Everything performs just as it should. There are actually some
advantages to this kit such as ease of changing the battery for the board.

-Shortens the marker
If you like a tight setup like I do then you will love this kit. I hate using a long barrel, but
accuracy is sometimes sacrificed at this expense. Not no more. I use a 12" Palmers
brass barrel and it only sticks out the front by about 4". It is truely amazing how not only
does this look like a "bullpup", but all the advantages of a real one are incorporated.
Great for snap shooting.

-Extremely customizable
The designers went to great lengths to ensure that the customer would be able to use
nearly all of the upgrades available for the A5. Not to mention they came up with a few
of their own. Namely, the magnetic trigger (which I have ordered and can't wait to get).
There are so many different looks and setups for the user to incorporate.

-Durability
Just google the B5 on youtube to see the torture test. This marker will probably outlast
your A5. Made out the same ballistic material the US Military uses. Great pains went
into ensuring there were no weak points in the design of this kit. Top notch.

-Customer service and support
No matter how good the product, without the support of the manufacturer the product
will fail. No worries here. These guys have their own website and store for all your
replacement parts, upgrades and support. They respond in a very timely matter to
your needs.


Now for what some may see as a weakness:

-Price
This isn't probably for everyone. But for those of you who are planning on putting a kit
of sorts on their A5 this one is by far the best. You get not only a trick looking setup, but
also an extremely functional value also. When you throw in the cost of the APE board
with the kit, this one is right on par with a lot of others.

-Cleaning
I am a real stickler about keeping my stuff clean. All my markers look showroom new.
This will require you more time in this department. The good news is it's well worth it.
This marker is by far the funnest one I've ever used so a little extra time cleaning is well
worth it.

Conclusion: If your in the market for a cool looking mod for the A5 that is far surpassed by it's functionability, GO GET THE B5. You won't be disappointed. You can thank me later.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Secspanther Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann X7
Marker Setup: B5
J&J ceramic 12in
Apex
Tech T Mods
Strengths: Bullpup!
Quick change battery.
Did I mention Bullpup!
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got my B5 kit about 3 months ago. And I love it. It was very easy to put together and works great. I have had no problems at all. Its compact, since its a bullpup it feels light, and of course it looks just awesome. The guys at Identity Crisis did an amazing job on this. As they said it takes virtually every A5 mod that can be put on it. And it can still be field stripped easily. Not to mention 1 quick release pin and you can change the battery. This is an awesome MOD for the A5
Conclusion: I strongly reccomend this product. I know the price looks bad but if you look at what you get its really not bad. You get a E-grip with the APE board! It has a stock and shroud built in. And the look is amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

YDpaintball Thursday, December 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Special Ops MP5 shroud/mag w/Air-thru buttstock on the A5
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-8 / Hammerhead Barrel
Tippmann A5 / various mods / various barrels
Tippmann A5 / ICP B5 Bullpup mod / Tippmann LPK / CP Regulator / APE Rampage / 50mm red dot / folding tac grip
Strengths: Short
Hopper Further back
Well balanced
Durable
Well Designed
Weaknesses: heavy
Frame may not seat together correctly
Hard to add some accessories
Cumbersome to clean
Review: The Good:

Short: Well, that pretty much says it. This mod makes the A5 perfect for CQB style fighting. It is only 20" long so it allows for quick target acquisition. Really gives you that tactical feel.

Hopper is moved further back out of the sight line: Because of the design of the B5, the trigger is moved up beyond the hopper so the hopper is several inches behind it's normal location. This totally frees up the sight line in front and to the side. It has to be held to really be believed!

Well balanced: Once you bring that thing up to your shoulder, it feels like it is part of you. Very easy to move around, acquire the target and eliminate them.

Durable: This thing is tougher than my grandmother and she is one tough chick! Seriously, the B5 is made out of ballistic nylon. You can run it over with your car and it will still function (well, the A5 part may not...but the B5 part will!!).

Well Designed: The guys from ICP took a long time trying to figure out the best way to make things fit. Well, they did it with this mod! You can add just about any A5 accessory you can think of and it will fit just fine. You can also add a ton of stuff they have just for this gun. Rails, scopes, lights, lasers, tac grip, magazines...all sorts of things. I have seen all sorts of configurations on this thing! I personally have a tac light, scope and grip. This thing is bad arse!

The "not so" Good (ain't nothing bad about the B5!):

A little heavy: Well, when you add all that crap to it, it seems a little weighty. The nice thing is, because of the design, once you shoulder it, it's fine. The weight is distributed nicely so it's not too much of an issue. HOWEVER, if using a gun that weights 1.2 oz is the what you like, then this is NOT the gun for you.

Frame may not seat together correctly: This is a minor thing I've found with mine and heard about others. Sometimes you get a little space here or there when putting the two halves together. There are quick fixes for this so it's not too big a deal.

Hard to add some accessories: Just because of the design it's a little hard to add some of the rails etc. Again, not a big deal. It just requires a little patience.

Cumbersome to strip for cleaning: The A5 is cumbersome to strip on it's own, doing it with the B5 is just plain time consuming! Again, a little patience goes a long way. This is why I now have TWO B5's! When one gets messy (during game day, of course), I just grab the second one!
Conclusion: Overall, I love this thing. It is very easy to get over the few weaknesses. When my team and I first saw them at ION in July 07, we knew we had to have this gun. Well, now the team as about a dozen of them! The YD loves the B5!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Indeed Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really compares
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
B-5 Shroud
APE Rampage board
X-7 Hopper
Strengths: Length
Balance
Looks
Solid
Weaknesses: A little tough to assemble
Price
Review: +This kit is rock solid and has no wiggle
+The battery only requires one push pin to be removed
+If you are using a flatline then your setup will only be 20'' long
+The balance is amazing
+It comes with the best A-5 Board you can get
-If you are not careful when you assemble the marker you may damage wires
-It is rather costly however it is worth it
Conclusion: If you are a woods baller then this is the single best upgrade I have ever seen for a Tippmann A-5
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irish_lush Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Customized and upgraded A-5
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, ICP B-5, Ape Rampage, J&J Ceramic w/Apex Barrel, Custom cut A-5 A2 foregrip, Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby w/remote, SP QEV for cyclone, JCS Jet-Click, SP .45 Grips
Strengths: Shortens A-5
APE Board modded w/longer wires
Pulls up on your target quickly
Weaknesses: Open barrel area can be a paintball catcher
Can't use stock Apex
Review: I've watched the developement of the mod on the web for a while now, and have been extremely excited since I first laid eyes on it. My tax return was a nice surprise, so I decided to order it.

First off, the look of the B-5 is incredible and very functional. The stock A-5 is very long and the B-5 shortens is tremendously.

The installation is very easy. ICP says you can either cut the tip off of the A-5 or cut a small section out of the B-5 to fit the receivers in the B-5 setup. I recommend cutting the A-5. If you leave the tip and cut the B-5, you will have the A-5's tip digging into your hand while you hold the marker. The installation manual is extremely easy to follow and breaks everything down step by step. The hardest part of the installation is moving the pins from the trigger assy from the A-5 to the B-5.

It comes with the best A-5 board available with the Rampage. ICP have modded all the boards with longer wires to reach from the trigger to the board stationed in the butt of the gun. The button to change the modes is on the right sight of the butt. It can be a little akward changing modes on the fly, but it's still easier that having it under the trigger.

Many people have claimed the price is a weakness. It is manufactured from MILITARY GRADE BALLISTICS NYLON, so the quality of the materials is definatly worth $350. This stuff is crazy tough. Go to ICP's website to see them drop, smash, throw, and run the B-5 over with an SUV. Yes, they ran it over with a full-size SUV. And it still worked. And it comes with an $80 board.

The grip on the B-5 is a .45 style grip so you can go out and grab almost any grip you want. You can finally put those crazy Hybrid grips on an A-5!!

The barrel shroud is designed to accept all barrels, including the Flatline. It's great if you use a Flatline, if not, you have an area around your barrel that is a cage waiting for paintballs to come flying in. I haven't had it happen to me yet, it just seems like it could be a pain to clean out if it did. Speaking of barrels, the stock Apex is about 1/2" to short use on the B-5. You can go the hard way and take a dremmel to the front of your B-5 to grind out an area for the tip, or you can do what I did and get a 12" barrel and put the Apex tip on it. It really isn't long at all becuase of how short the B-5 is.

Even though, it has nothing to do with the actaul B-5, the guys at ICP are incredible. The cust. service they give is second-to-none. They truly care about each and every one of their customers.
Conclusion: The guys at ICP have really taken their years of research and developement and created the best mod out there for A-5.

I never thought I'd give anything a 10, but the B-5 has really blown my expectations about paintball products away.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeep Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a5, opsgear UMP shroud and mag, egrip with a APE rampage board, remote
A5 opsgear SAW shroud, SAW mag, tapco SAW stock and SP barrel, Egrip with APE rampage board, remote
ION Milsim body, agitating hopper, stock and 20" SP barrel, remote
Marker Setup: B5 kit and A5 , flatline barrel, remote
Strengths: Strong, water resistant, cost effective, very tight profile, milsim, hi performance with minimum outlay
Weaknesses: Those with long arms may find it a little TO tight. Use caution in assembly
Review: If you are about to go milsim and have a vanilla A5, hands down this is money well spent. In the shroud is includeds a APE RAMPAGE board and a E trigger. Considering to cost of the alternatives, which I have done, It is some of the best money I have spent in paintball gear. USe some caution when assembling your A5 into the shroud, I originally cut the shroud out for the fore piece of the A5, three weeks later I cut the fore pice out with a dremel and then a hack saw (A5s are tough) which worked a little better. I do not think my A5 will ever come out of this shroud again except for season end cleaning. If you have problems the MILSIM forums and ICP have lots of FAQs to help out.. The performance of the included APE board was such that I retro fitted ALL of my other markers with it.
Conclusion: You will not regret buying this product, It is easily worth its price of $350
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agentM192 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A5
Special Ops A5A2 Kit
SO Shorty Shroud
14" Sly CF Barrel
Response Trigger
Some $12 Daisy Sight
Lapco Offset Sight Rail
Strengths: Very durable.
Makes the marker a ton shorter and compact.
Looks sick.
Superb Quality,
Weaknesses: Wires can get pinched.
The butt plate makes you shoulder the marker lower.
Price!
Review: I absoloutley love this. I just get it for my birthday along with a JCS Dual Trigger and an X7 hopper. It is just a pure pleasure to shoot. The APE board is amazing too with it's push-button mode changing and user-friendly feel. The Bullpup body puts the wieght of the A5 back towards the rear so that's nice. It also makes it super compact. Shooting with one hand is also a ton easier for you run n' gunners.
Conclusion: Overall this is a superb product. Although a tad pricey, I recommend it 100%.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rhenning Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own and use three other tippmann a5 and love them. It is the same gun only put in a body kit. The A5 is put into the body of the B5 with only a few alterations. The B5 takes the A5 to its limits and and the modification makes it the one that I will use as my primary paintball gun.
Marker Setup: I have the B5 bull pup. One quick thing, if you get the b5 and you want accessories, get everything right away. Only reason I Say that is because most of the accessories have to be put on or assembled when the gun is apart. I got The 2" right,left and bottom accessorie rail along with the 6" accessorie rail for the top. The rails fit tight and straight and tighten up with no play in them what so ever. I have the rear sling swivel which moves as needed. One of the parts that I really like and will push is the tactical folding foregrip. The foregrip folds and locks in tight when opened. It has no wiggle when opened or closed. Looks of the B5 are authentic because most of the parts are actually used by military or police forces. Its is almost like they made the gun to fit a lot of the parts and all that did was make it easier and more cost effective for the extra parts like the rails, grips and sling swivel. They have a couple of grips but the one that I really like is the wrap around grip. The grip fits good on the handle and very comfortable on the hand. I run with the flatline barrel on it because it keeps the size small and tight, good for cqc. I have a laser sight on the right side and works extremely well.
Strengths: Material for gun is strong and the board is super easy to change and operate.
Weaknesses: Gun needs to be disassembled everytime you want to put a new accessories on it.
Review: The assembly instructions that you get with the B5 are very well written and the gun assembles easily as long as follow the instructions. The electronic board is water resistant and very easy to operate and change as you need it. There is many different barrel types you can use but I really like the flatline. All of the rails are placed in good spots and sit solid. Once you have everything put together it is very solid. Solid is a word I use a lot because the gun is just that, solid. I had one small rattle in the handle . The rattle is the solinoid rod. I asked them and they are checking on it. It does not rattle enough to give me away and you really have to shake it hard to get it to rattle. They at first thought it might be the original nut on the A5 for the foregrip. I tightened up the nut with a bolt and could still here the rattle. I have fired over 800 shots through it with no ball breaks or problems with the gun. I have heard that the B5 does not fit well over newer A5 But I bought a brand spanking new A5 and it fits like a glove
Conclusion: LOVE the gun. I have eight other guns and will probably end up using this one most of the time. It is solid works well and easy to use. The tech support is one of the best that I have dealt with and they really work with you. If any one asks I will recommend the B5 without hesitation.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Booters(wolf) Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, Custom 98, Sp-8, Spyders, automags,
This Is absolutely a Mil-sim marker, its body is unlike any other marker I have used, Closest thing to this is a small machine gun its great for corners
Marker Setup: B-5
14" J&J ceramics
Lapco machine gun cooling shroud
x-7 hopper for cyclone
Sp-8 with stock and longbarrel kit
Rickochet apache hopper
Mac-Dev 68 ci 4500 psi
Strengths: Solid, very small profile......lots see review
Weaknesses: None
Review: Pros - Tight profile, APE board = very fast rate of fire, built off of an a-5, Modable to the max.

Cons - A lot of people will see me with this gun at ok d-day and want to buy it. I won't be one of the few unique people any more.

Bottom line if you like tippmann and you want a gun that no one else has then get it. if you like being able to duck behind a bunker and have the snap shooting of a snub barrel but the accuracy of a 16" barrel get this gun.


Edit: Test fire- worked flawlessly very tight very fast enough said, because if you want to read Ape board and A-5 review you can.
Conclusion: Buy it buy it buy it you won't be sorry, just look at the support on their website, you post a question the answer is there in a matter of minutes. the manual they made has pictures wow what a thought. www.Identitycrisispaintball.com
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 1st, 2007 at 8:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media