paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $209

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Ace-o-Spades Tuesday, August 16th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon (lol)
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom (stock class)
Daisy 4x20 scope
Remote line to HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
For sure get a set of ball detents, a couple bucks it saves you many, many rollouts
Maybe the nickel barrel but it's not necessary
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: First Impressions:
I purchased the stock class CCI Phantom from White Wolf Airsmithing (it's about 20 bucks cheaper there than the CCI website), and a month later (shipping was a NIGHTMARE, USPS lost the package!) I finally got it in the mail. I took it out of the box, and was slightly taken aback. I mean, this marker is absolutely gorgeous! The look and feel is so smooth and well-crafted, I just know it's going to last a long time.
I put it on my lap and looked around PBreview's website for a while, and completely forgot it was on my lap, it was so light. The Phantom is one of the lightest markers I've held. It's also well balanced in my hands, the center of gravity is right on the trigger guard with CO2 and paint in it, perfect in my opinion.


Strengths:
Never in my experience playing paintball have I had to take wind into account of my shots (barring extreme winds, of course). None of my other markers simply have the accuracy and consistency to warrant it. I used to be able to rely on the much wider spread of my shots with semi-auto markers to counteract the effects of the wind. However, the Phantom is accurate and consistent enough that it will drift to the exact same spot every time. The Phantom is honestly the most accurate marker I've ever shot. Sure, high-end marker setups with enormous amounts of cash put into barrel systems and regulators probably shoot just as accurate (I've never truly tested the accuracy of such markers), but for under 200 dollars, you can't do better than the Phantom. Some say that scopes are useless for paintball, but I say nay. Properly tuned and adjusted, my Daisy scope is right on the money from 75 feet out, reliably enough so that I can use it to great effect whenever I want.
It's rather quiet, as well. I made a suppressor out of PVC and with it on, the noise it makes is comparable to a loud fart.
As I said before, it looks cool as hell, especially with the scope on it. You will definitely get looks from other players when you enter the field.
It's really easy to disassemble, as well. Two thumbscrews secure the marker together, and the trigger assembly comes off when they are taken out. Oiling the marker is as simple as unscrew, wipe, oil, screw back in. CCI kept to the KISS method (Keep It Simple, Stupid); I love the simplicity of the design.


Weaknesses:
The only thing I could think of as a weakness was the fact that it doesn't come standard with a ball detent, which keeps the loaded ball from rolling out of the chamber. I read some reviews here before purchasing and saw that people suggested buying some, and I'm really glad I did. I would say they are a requirement for this marker.
Other than that, the Phantom is absolutely flawless.
Conclusion: I'm definitely giving the CCI Phantom a ten, I have never seen such accuracy and consistency out of the box before. An all-around well-crafted marker, I'm looking forward to years of use.

*Note: Notice how the Product Rating section says "10 - Best," not "10 - Perfect." Don't not give a product a 10 just because "nothing's perfect." Absolute perfection is not what a potential buyer is looking for, so don't rate things as if that's the case.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

YonderNorthWest Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom with flat-line, gravity hopper and car stock (huge disappointment)
98 custom with 14 inch JJ ceramic barrel, gravity hopper and car stock (decent but not great)
Marker Setup: Stock class Phantom with M16 grip,10" barrel, an adjustable T-stock, an open sight and an upgraded trigger surface
Recommended
Upgrades:
The T-stock and open sight greatly improved my ability to put my balls where i wanted them (no pun intended). For any other hunters or shooters on here, you already know that having a third point of contact on your weapon greatly increases your accuracy, and the concept holds true to this marker. The open sight not only gave me something consistent to aim with, but also quickened my ADS (Aiming Down Sight) target acquisition.
Strengths: Accuracy
Weight
Small Profile
Simplicity
Paint Consumption
Pump-Intimidation
Customer Service
Weaknesses: Fire Rate (pump)
Price
Cold Weather Performance (Co2)
Gravity Fed Pump
Review: I hadn't even thought of playing with a pump gun until i was in a shop buying a pair of I-4s to replace my awful mask and saw a Phantom hanging on the wall. I picked it up and it was love at first touch. It was light, sleek and sexy. The only problem was the price tag. The store wanted 300 some dollars and i only had about $250 to spend. I went online to do some research and discovered that the factory where they were built was only a few miles away from where I lived. I contacted the owner via e-mail and he was incredibly helpful.

I bought the standard, stock-class setup and headed out to the field to try it out. To be honest, my first performance with the pump was less than spectacular. I didn't know the strengths of my marker or how to properly utilize them on the field. The result was all of my buddies laughing at me as I tried to play with my pump like I had with my semi-auto marker. I was also lacking any kind of sight which made it difficult (for me anyways) to hit anything. The lack of a stock also made it feel like I was two-handing some kind of freak-hand-cannon. Let's just say I didn't know what I was doing and needed to head back to the drawing board.

What I did know was that I needed to make some modifications to my marker but I wasn't quite sure how so I went to the maker's website. That's where I found the T-stock, open sight and trigger modification. I rang up the owner, bought all three and threw them on my marker. I couldn't wait for round two.

The next game I went to was a scenario big game. During the opening hours of the day we played some small, single map games. I was a little worried that my pump would be under powered in the large fire fights that would inevitably happen during these short games. I couldn't have been more wrong. The surprising accuracy of the Phantom made it unnecessary to fire more than one shot at any target. For the first time I was experiencing the one-shot-kill, and I liked it. Not only was I playing very well, but I was being recognized for it. People would come up to me after a game and praise me just because I was using a pump. I had similar results during the scenario big game, and was also pleased with the prone mobility the Phantom gave me. By the end of the day I was very pleased with my marker setup.
Conclusion: This marker has been nothing but a pleasure since I made the last modifications to it. I would recommend this marker to anyone and everyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slowerpig81 Sunday, November 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used other pumps.
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Cyclone feed system
Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA Tank
-or-
SC or OC Black CCI Phantom
14" stock barrel
Rear Bucket changer/3.5oz
Stock class stick feed/Winchester 50rnd hopper
Daisy electronic point sight
-or-
Tippmann Pro/Carbine
Drop Forward (Tippmann)
A-5 stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the .45 grip-better and more durable, lets you mount a bottomline or stock
Stock, I prefer L-stock, but any is good, it helps with pumping and ATing.
Undercocking kit, the Rainman kit is best, but get what you like.
Ghost ring, if you want a sight
Other breeches for OC play, and a 3.5 oz or 13 ci. HPA for winter
Detent rings to prevent rollouts
Trigger shoe for comfort
Strengths: Light, Stock barrel, consistent, simple to maintain, modularity, quiet
Weaknesses: Pump handle-adds friction to pump stroke, only one arm
see review for some more.
Review: So, I decided to put this review in the RSC Phantom group, I don't really like how they are separated, since all phantoms are the same internally, just different options available. The RSC was the first config that I used, and I have the most play with that config.

The Phantom was my first pump gun, also started with stock class trying to save paint and improve my game. Some of the most important things stood out from my Tippmann, like quality and craftsmanship. Every Phantom is hand assembled my Mike Casady of CCI, and he has been doing a great job since 1988. The stock barrel is all I will ever need, its quality is awesome, and it's price is too good. I have a 14" barrel, and it's really preference between it and the 11", both are accurate, quiet and efficient.

The consistency of the Phantom, after a break in period of about 500 shots, is amazing and a testament to the quality, even on unregulated CO2 and 12 grams. You will probably get more than 30 shots per 12 gram on a normal day, even more than 40. Shoot slowly, and you will be quite efficient.

The ergonomics of the Phantom are not perfect, but it is plenty comfortable, expecially with a stock. The stocks that CCI makes are great. I use an L-stock, and it makes pumping much easier, since you can push against your shoulder. Using the auto-trigger, a feature of the nelson valve, is possible with a stock. Without one, it is quite inaccurate, as the gun is getting jerked around by pumping.

The stock pump handle may make barrel sighting a little harder, but you can get an undercocking kit if you want. I don't have one myself. There is a 3/8" Dovetail on the SC feed block, and you can purchase a 2.5" or 5" long dovetail sight rail from CCI for about $5 that mounts onto the air adapter when a stock class feed is not being used. CCI's ghost ring is nice, it makes that first shot easier to get off.

The modularity of the marker is great. There are so many options for air, feed, stocks, and barrel and pump length. The Phantom can be made into a pistol that is about 10 or so inches long by getting a 6" barrel and short pump handle, and using a dropout 12 gram changer. It also gives the Phantom a nice straight, single tube look.

The 12 gram bucket changer that CCI makes is though of as the best, and it screws into any ASA, and is therefore used on many other guns. It is easy to turn and puncture the cartridge without wasting gas. The ASAs on the Phantom are ported to that when unscrewing a tank, the gas vents out of the port instead of the threads, saving your o-ring.

The finishes on the Phantom are great. There are many anodizing options that CCI offers and you can get many different colors and patterns. You can also get colored transparent plastic hardware, to match your anno.

The maintenance is quite easy. Put a drop of oil in the air source to lube the valve, and keep the bolt and hammer lightly lubed. To disassemble, just unscrew the two thumbscrews. Quite easy.
To adjust the velocity, you must turn what is known as the tuned port compensator (TPC), which is inside the bolt. It is the seat for the main spring, and turning it in or out adjusts the compression on the spring, changing the velocity. You must stick a rod down the barrel or remove it to adjust, using a slotted screwdriver. A rod is supplied with the Phantom. This is not the easiest way, but short of a reg, is part of the Nelson valve system. You can get a CCI spring kit that has a weaker and stronger spring for extreme temps. One complaint about the TPC, it has to be screwed in enough to prevent the bolt and hammer from kinking, this is when they join at an angle, and it causes friction in the breech, making the pump stroke stiffer, and wearing off the nickel plating on the internals faster. You can still operate it, but sometimes you have to switch springs.

Now to the pump. It is guided by the barrel, and so with use makes the barrel dull and you can tell where the pump is, as well as making a lot of friction. The pump has only one arm, so it has a little slop. You also may need to modify the pump for different barrels, or get an undercocking kit.

I sometimes get double feeds, this is when two balls fall into the breech in one pump stroke. This causes a reduced velocity on the shot, since the same amount of air has to shoot two balls, but rarely results in a break. I'm going to install a home made detent to prevent this.
Conclusion: The Phantom is a great mid level pump and a very user friendly marker. It will last for a long time and has many options for changing it after purchase without modification, since it really doesn't need much. The plastic parts and lack or fancy milling keep cost down for people like me, as well as keeping it light. It's a great marker for people wanting a quality pump that can fit most playing styles.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OldSchoolPumper Tuesday, September 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black Stock Class Phantom
Pro Star Custom Stalk
Crossman Red Dot Sight
or AIM 3-9 x 40x Sniper Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
A stock is all you really need, it helps with pumping and consistent accuracy. Some kind of scope is nice if you are not too good with "snap shooting".
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Low profile
Easy to pump
Maneuverable
Gets you attention
Perfect for snipers
Weaknesses: Harder to keep peoples' heads down, that might be a good thing though, more targets
Review: This is an awesome gun. I've played a lot with it in the short time I've had it and i am proud to say this is the best purchase I've ever made.
1. It saves you a crap load of money on paint.
2. You get lots of attention from the pros, and the noobs.
3. It looks awesome.
4. You will learn the best tactics with this gun because the lack of BPS forces you to learn new strategies to get the kill.
5. And, you will kick more @$$ than ever before.
Conclusion: If you are a noob looking for a gun, or a pro, buy this gun because it has never miss for me, and saves you money. This gun cannot be described in words, it is too... :) I rate this a 10 because it is as close as you can get to being perfect.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gotpaint92 Thursday, January 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP - So many levels below the phantom

SL-68II- once again, not even close
Marker Setup: HSC Phantom
12g changer
15 round feedstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
As far as upgrading this marker...there isn't any thing that you NEED to have other than detent rings. I've heard good things about the 86 grip from CCM, some might say a new barrel. I would recomend getting different bodies, pumphandles, and grips to play around with. It's very easy to switch around, I recommend taking advantage of that.
Strengths: Smooth pump stroke
Durable
Reliable
Efficient
Easy to maintain
Accurate
Light
Weaknesses: I really can't think of anything.
Review: I started playing pump paintball a year ago with a PGP, after a month or so I upgraded to a CCI Phantom and I picked up a SL-68II for a loaner. The Phantom without a doubt blows them both out of the water.

PUMP STROKE- Compared to the SL-68II and the PGP, the pump stoke is easy and buttery smooth. I have no return spring in my phantom so that may contribute, I've heard from some people that the return spring can cut down on the smoothness of the pump stroke. If you find that's a problem Wevo sells return springs that are 1/2 the strength of the stock ones.

DURABILITY- I think I failed to mention the fact that the Phantom I bought is 15 years old. I think that speaks for itself, this gun has all the original parts that it came with from the factory and it works flawlessly. Even the anno is still in almost perfect shape.

RELIABLITY- Did I mention the fact that this marker is 15 years old? I've never had it break down on me. It's a simple design...very little to go wrong with it.

EFFICIENCY- This is where the marker really shines. I get an insane number of shots out of a single 12g. I have gotten upwords of 60 shots at a reasonable velocity. Back-Bottle kit = super efficiency.

EASE OF MAINTAINENCE- I had some crap in the barrel and I was breaking paint like mad. The paint worked it's way into the gun and swabbing out the barrel just wasn't helping anymore. I had less than 5 minutes until the next game, I was able to completely field strip it, put it back together, and refill my tubes before they called the game warning. Completely cleaning and oiling everything (bolt, hammer, valve, etc) takes less than 10 minutes, unscrewing 2 thumb-screws and the valve face.

ACCURACY- It's as accurate as anything out there, don't be fooled by someone saying pumps are more accurate then semi's. Pumps just force you to aim.

LIGHT- Any stock-class phantom is going to be super light. Aluminum body, acrylic/delrin pump handle and feed block, plastic or aluminum body. My phantom weighs in at about 2 pounds with paint and 12g. No tank and hopper to bulk up the marker, I love playing with this marker it lets me make fast moves and play super tight.
Conclusion: If you are looking to get into pump paintball this is the marker for you. It's very simple to maintain, easy to switch between stock-class, modified stock class, and open class, which is great...it's like having three pumps in one. Are there better pumps? Yes, but you won't find a better value for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Monday, July 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 'Cocker converted to Sniper, well upgraded Hammer A, Palmerized upgraded PGP, P-68 SC, Palmers Houndstooth.
Marker Setup: Black Stock Class pistol with rear drop out changer, custom made mahogany battle pump and grip, 11inch barrel drilled for freak inserts by White Wolf Airsmithing.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If it came with the terrible plastic Lonestar M-16 grip at least get the .45 grip.
Strengths: Spectacular fit and finish. Very gas efficient. Great stock barrel.
Weaknesses: None that I can think of, except the standard plastic Lonestar grip as stated earlier.
Review: I won a Stock Class pistol at a game earlier this year. The pistols come with rear drop out, 10 round magazine and a 6 inch barrel.

I've been playing mostly pump and stock class for the past 3 years. I never would have picked the Phantom as a choice for a primary gun...until I had a chance to play with one.

The day I won the gun I had borrowed my friends $1700 Palmer Pursuit Shop Houndstooth. I played all day with that gun, mainly because I didn't want to let it out of my sight, and the Phantom sadly sat in my truck all day. Knowing what I know now I would have locked up the PPS and played all day with the Phantom.

For $1700 I simply was not that impressed with the PPS. Even with "widgets" I was still getting some roll outs. The pump action wasn't all that great either, not for that kind of money. For around $200 the Phantom works and shoots as good if not better.

The thing that most impressed me was the spectacular quality of the parts. This is a gun obviously made by a man who knows his stuff and cares. The tolerances are tight as a drum. As an old machinist, there are little things I noticed when I took a closer look at this gun that most people wouldn't have, like the way the pump rod is bent, or the dowel behind the pump rod guide so it doesn't get worn too much.

I really like the ghost ring. Once you get used to it you can use it very successfully.

The rear dropout changer is great for a pistol, and the air efficiency is excellent. I'm actually not sure how many shots I'm getting out of a 12 gram...at least 30 at 280fps. I change it so infrequently I forget how many tubes I used.

The stock barrel is excellent as well. Probably the best stock barrel there is. New Phantoms come with detent rings too, which work to keep balls from rolling out of the barrel. With the right size ring the barrel is very accurate, even at 6 inches.

I must confess, I did get a "Frantom" barrel, which in my case is a stock barrel machined out to accept Freak inserts. I only did this because paint seems to be very small these days and even the smallest ring didn't always make it...also, I wanted to put on a longer pump handle. However, there was no real need at all for me to replace the stock barrel.

The only complaint I can come up with is that the cheap plastic Lonestar grip just stinks. Luckily most Phantoms come with a .45 grip that's nice. I can't complain too much since my Phantom was free so it's understandable that I got the absolute cheapest one you can get. I just ended up making a custom grip and pump handle for it out of mahogany. If you get one, spring the extra $20 or whatever it is and get the .45 grip frame.
Conclusion: If you want a nice, solid, new, well made pump gun without selling your first born to Palmers, this is it. It's as nicely made as you can make any mass produced product, and nicer than a lot of "hand made" custom jobbbers I've seen over the years.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Milky Spore Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Talon-Lol, not even close, but a fun marker to play with.
Marker Setup: SC Phantom
Trigger shoe
Detent rings
Recommended
Upgrades:
It only needs detent rings, otherwise, nothing. The only other upgrades would just be preference. There is a bunch you can get for it though.
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Efficent
Ease of maintenance
Reliability
Mike's support
Upgradability
Weaknesses: Long break in period
Review: I had ordered my Phantom because I was spending too much money on paint using semi-automatic markers, and maintaining them was expensive too. Not to mention you need hoppers, tanks, and lots of paint and more gear, and all that crap is expensive and weighs you down. So, I decided I was going for a pump marker, and I had to look no further than the Phantom.

I ordered this from Wevo, for $211.97 with a trigger shoe. It came packaged neatly in a white box with it sitting on a layer of foam, and a layer of foam sitting on it. Came with a manual, the velocity adjustment tool, spare parts kit, and Wevo's business card. If you're ordering a pump marker order it from Wevo. I thought the manual could have been a little better, but it is informative.

This is easily one of the best markers I've ever shot. Even with crappy Diablo Heat paint that doesn't fit the bore correctly it was still ball on ball accurate. It's light too, and balanced. Easy to manuver, snap shooting is very easy now as is running and diving and sliding. It is very efficent, mine's not broken in yet and I got 38 shots off of a 12g cartridge, and it will only get better. I have broken it in fully now and I saw an amazing 51 shots at 270 FPS! Maintenance is easy, which you don't have to do often. You don't need any tools to gain access to the bolt and hammer and main spring, and you only have to put a small drop of oil on each part like every month. If you over-oil it you will get horrible velocity fluctuations as I have found the hard way, and when I say bad I mean 200 +/- FPS. So, uh, don't soak the hammer and bolt in oil, and you'll be getting very consistent readings. I cleaned them off, only used very little oil, and now I'm getting 8 +/- FPS, pretty good for a un-regulated marker running on Co2 that isn't broken in yet. The pump stroke is nice and smooth, but takes a while to get very smooth, stupid break-in period. Plus, nothing beats that feeling of totally owning the rich kid with the ramping PMR, actually, that's what happened the first day I played with it. :) Last, Mike's support is great. I had lost two detent rings when I was playing, and I sent him an e-mail if it were possible to get the two I lost invdividually, and while I was expecting to pay $3.00 including shipping, he sent them out to me free of charge! I'm definitely recommending Phantoms every chance I can now, and I also plan on not breaking/losing anything else. It's service like what Mike delivers that keeps the players coming back, and instead of caring about gaining a few extra bucks, he'd rather have you think that he's a great guy and give you the parts.

As for upgrades, they're not needed, all you really need is detent rings (seriously, you NEED them), but you can get upgrades for preference. You can get things like .45 grips (although I like the M-16), L and T-stocks, undercocking kits, colored parts, ghost rings and other sights, different air configurations, different body configurations, barrels even (unless if you want a barrel kit because you use a lot of different paint, just choose the right detent ring and use the stock one, it's perfect), and you get get different length feedtubes, so you can basically turn this gun into whatever you want it to be. Want the smallest setup possible? Get a 6" barrel, 2.5" pump arm, and a dropout changer. Want to run the best open class setup? Get a .45 grip, T-stock, 22ci/3,000psi HPA tank, a VSC kit, and run the bottomline to the ASA on the gun. Is the black color getting boring? Get some colored acrylic parts. Want just the best stock gun? Well, for that, you don't need to do anything if you buy this beauty, it's perfect stock.

The only weakness in this gun is the long break-in period. If you have a full 20oz. tank, and a 3/8" allen wrench to remove the 12g changer adapter thingar, screw the 20oz. tank into the ASA, and dry fire until the tank runs dry. It may take a while, but this will break it in pretty well. Otherwise you will see less than satisfactory performance. My first two times with it at the field I was seeing velocity fluctuations and my pump stroke was very stiff. I had my 20oz. still filled, I did that, and when I came back to the field for the third time I was seeing 6+/- FPS for consistency, and my pump stroke is very smooth and quick now.
Conclusion: If you're wanting to play SC pump, look no further than the Phantom. It's an awesome perfomer, and the price is right. I was annoyed that it was $211.97 for a pump, I thought it should only be $150, but as soon as I held it I knew I was wrong. If you're looking to play open class I would say get a Sniper, but for SC play, you'll need no other marker. Absolutely perfect, great job Mike and the guys at Wevo. Light, efficent, accurate, fairly quiet for a HP marker, balanced, customizeable, ease of maintenance, great gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 3rd, 2007 at 8:06 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

alliedcommando Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
(none)
Marker Setup: Autococker Tactical Trilogy w/ 14" Whisper barrel
PMI Pure Energy 20 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Red-dot sight
Strengths: Less weight
Quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: I ordered and received this marker (I own a REAL .223 AR-15 rifle, so I will NOT classify this gelatin-launcher as a "gun.") It came packaged nice and neat, encased in soft white foam,
the first thing that struck me was it's light-weight and the beautiful black glossy finish on the marker. I had a few 12 grams handy, so I gassed the marker up and decided to see how many shots I could get off a 12 gram, to my surprise, the Phantom will shoot 40 shots before it needs another 12 gram (maybe 50 if you oil and lube it before a game.) The pump is kind of stiff at first, but that's not a problem after shooting a few shot's off. This is the most quiet paintball marker you can get that is efficent with Co2, it sounds like you are blowing air through the barrel, that's how quiet it is. The barrel is nice, I ordered mine with an 11", the barrel is ported AND has some a few rifled groves at the end of the barrel (which means it is going to shoot straight regardless of the quality of paint you put through it!) I still need to get a red-dot sight for mine, otherwise this is a good marker and very economic (I ordered mine from bulldogpaintball.com and had it shipped for $191!) I have an Autococker and thought I would try something more simple and easy, I am happy to own this marker. I plan to use this marker on newbies only, when I am playing woodsball and I'm up against Tourney players I use my Autococker to pick them off, maybe I'll use the Phantom, I'm still thinking about that one.
Conclusion: Good product, great price (if you know where to shop) and a great addition to anyone's list of paintball gear, great for those considering a switch to a more simple style of paintball. I myself like to play both Semi and Stock-class, great marker for any level of play or experience.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lastman Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really my first pump marker, so how could I compare?
Marker Setup: Phantom
M-16 Grips
Ghost Ring
L Stock
3.5 oz Tank
Green/Black Anno
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything to suit your style of play, depends on the person, I like having a stock and the ghost ring. A better barrel is not needed, though you might want it to get that peak accuracy.
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Light
Cheap
Easy to maintain
Runs great on CO2
Looks great
Weaknesses: Rate of fire (not always a weakness)
Velocity adjust inside barrel


Review: Its been 3 months since I have had my phantom, so I feel a review is needed.

I was first attracted to the Phantom for two reason, accuracy and how cheap it would be to play pump. I also found out that, the Phantom has very little to upgrade, no need for HPA, efficient . Anything you add to it is optional and is for the players own preference. All this for about 200, which is about the cost of a Ion, or a A-5( both are extremely popular markers), without their much needed ups. From the outlook this marker is very good.

When I first received it, I was so happy. I couldn't wait for my first game with it. I personally thought I was invincible (not really but it seemed like it). I played with a friend who had a semi, shot him multiple times in a close quarter match. I thought I knew what was coming. Then on my first scenario game (and official game with my pump) I had several issues. My spring was broken, which took me a 2 hours to figure out. When I was able to play, the day was halfway over. I realized that this was going to be harder then I thought. The rate of fire of a phantom means you cannot "walk" your shots towards the enemy. You need to shoot once and thats it, because the player will duck his head down. Rinse repeat the situation till you can shoot the guy. By the end of the day I had zero eliminations, but I learned alot.

The second time I play (today), I learned even more. I got a few eliminations, fired more accurately, and thought more tactically. I still need improvement playing with my phantom. This way of playing is much cheaper, and very fun when done correctly.

EDIT: More then a year has passed since I first got my phantom. I'll say that until I learned my marker inside and out (which is what I suggest everyone does for their own paintball marker it saves you alot of trouble), I didn't understand pump play. I was so new to the sport that I needed some time on a semi. I went and got a cheap spyder, played a few games. And I found that it became pretty easy, thanks to playing pump. An encounter with a excellent pump player made me switch back to the phantom. And I did great. I've made a name for pump paintball and I'm getting offers to try out the phantom. I've pulled off ridiculous shots, and won games singlehandedly. It's been a good experience so far.
Conclusion: I would recommend this pump for people who know how to gun fight better then the average person, and take care of their marker well. EDIT: I say this more then ever now, at first I didn't understand paintball as well End of EDIT. Phantoms are excellent markers, but only if you know how to use them well.
This does not mean you can't get one if your new, its just harder on you. Pump play will help you improve your paintball skills, and if you ever go back to semi, in the words of Tyger will become "pure evil". I would know, I switched to semi for a game and owned.

This marker is good, but it is not perfect, and nothing is.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 19th, 2008 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Friday, January 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Maverick
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom: Gravity feed body, Stock Class body, standard barrel (14 inch) 45 degree grip frame. And Bottom line setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball detent rings. And the different body styles that way you can switch out the frame for one that fits the situataion. Trigger Shoe.
Strengths: Durable, accurate, and light.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this gun because of all the awesome reviews i read about it, and also i wanted

to get rid of firing 30 balls per second which might i add is very expensive. When I

bought the thing i bought the detent rings because they do help allot with the accuracy

and to help minimize roll outs. I bought the gun for about $225 which hurt my pocket

book in the beginning. I thought to myself I really hope this thing is worth the money.

*Test Number 1*

When i first played I used a large HPA tank on it which really

destroyed the weight factor. this made me go out and get a remote for the gun. Besides

the weight the gun was good because i got the detent rings to prevent roll outs.

*Test number 2*

This test was for accuracy and paintball types.

first paint used was field paint that brought a large spread because of the cheap paint.

secondly was RPS Stinger- this was even worse than the field paint, huge spread and

ball breakage in the gun.

finally was RPS Marbelizer- this is truly the best paint to barrel match because it

produced a tight spread and good flight pattern.

I was very impressed with the gun at this point because of it's sheer accuracy with

decent paint.

*game day*

When i went to the field it was speed ball and i was playing pump I was called a "newb"

and a "Dinosaur" I showed the tournament players that the phantom is a gun not to be

reckoned with. I got them all out with one shot.

This gun surpassed my expectations by far and is now my only real good gun in my armory.
Conclusion: BUY BUY BUY! best pump action you can buy for the price, very good gun very reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media