paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $209

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
PBSniper45 Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Phantom Stock Class
10 Round Loader
Black
No Clear Parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sighting system (maybe)
Thermal lenses for your goggles so you can actually see what you shoot at.
Stock harness (so the CO2 cartridges don't rattle)
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Flat Trajectory
LIGHT!
Easy to take apart
Weaknesses: Can't hook up a remote to it
Review: I first got this marker in the mail and I thought the package was empty because it was soooo light.

When I first loaded it and fired it I was aiming down range about 50 yards using only the sight on top of the loader and I hit my target each time. I didn't even have to put the gun up at an angle, I just looked straight through the sight and fired.

If you keep the barrel clean you can hit anything.
Conclusion: I recomend this to any paintball sniper out there or someone who is on a tight budjet because it costs barely anything to play all day with it... maybe 200 paintballs and 10 CO2 cartridges (I can get mine for 40 cents each!). People may think your crazy for spending $200 on a pump but its worth every penny! You almost have to try to miss to be able to miss
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

useless99 Thursday, October 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper II, Sterling, other Phantom setups
Marker Setup: "modified" stock- i use a 4oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
either a dye stainless or a cci nickle barrel, .45 frame, and a 15 round feed tube
Strengths: auto trigger, accurate out of the box, shoots better than my 600 dollar sniper II.
Weaknesses: none
Review: After using a Sniper II and a Sterling pump, I found the phantom to be best pump you can buy with out spending major cash. The stock barrel is accurate enough not to warrant a change, and you can get 20+ shots on a 12 gram. My only problem is that the pump arm and trigger feel odd, but still nice.
Conclusion: more accurate than most pumps twice its price, uber efficient, and all for under 300 bucks you cant go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pumpactionman Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Tigershark- Good beginners gun, but not very good at all, it hardly compares
PMI Tracer- Basicly the same gun as the phantom, but lower quality parts, and overall not as good.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom- I use the stock class setup, but instead of using 12 grams i use a 7 ounce back bottle. Black, 14" Stock Barrel, M16 Grip, a crossman red dot sight that i use for speed ball, as well as a bushnell 3-7x20mm extended eye releif scope for woods games. (I switch)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A sight of some form, as this gun is very accurate and a sight would improve the performance.
-Possibly an 11" Nickel Plated Barrel, as I asked Mike Cassidy(owner of CCI) and he said they are designed to be more efficient, as well as larger porting for a queiter, less visible shot under constant air (the Co2 puff out of the barrel disperses with better porting, thus making you less visible when firing, i call it a muzzle flash)
Strengths: - Very Durable, lightweight, easy dissassembly, excellent customer service, quality craftmanship, well made, well designed.
Weaknesses: See below, i want to explain the 'weaknesses' (in other words, none)
Review: Weaknesses:
I wanted to explain the weaknesses here in full, as there wasn't enought room up above.
When using the 10 round stock loader, and a back bottole, the loader interferes with the loader cap, and you have to force the stock loader up to get the cap on, after you put the Co2 bottle on. This is a weakness per say, because the stock class variation wasn't designed with that in mind. The velocity adjust down the barrel is a bit of a nuisance, but you just have to get used to it. The M16 grip can be a little uncomfortable, as most of the weigth rests on your middle finger with it, but its a trade off for the 'rifle feel' I was looking for. Again, I wouln't call these weaknesses, I'm just being in picky.
Review:
The CCI Phantom is a excellently crafted marker, I wish I had gotten it sooner. The markers are all custom made to your personal tastes, with the availability of any colour, barrel size and type, feed system, and Co2 posotion. There is a multitude of options available to the Phantom, however only CCI puts these out, so there is a limited path to follow for upgrades.
The disassembly is very simple, there are two very large thumb screws on the bottom of he grip frame to unscrew, and the entire body comes apart. The bolt, hammer, port compensator all slide out after the screws are removed, for an easy feild strip and resassembly.
The accuracy is incredible for a stock barrel, I chose the 14" barrel because i wanted mine with a rifle look and feel. The stock barrel is one of few that don't truly need to replaced, the accuracy is exceptional already. The nickel plated barrel is designed to be more efficient (The coefficient of kinetic friction is less on nickel than on aluminum, thus producing less drag on the ball), which indirectly affects the accuracy, making it slightly more accurate. Unfortunately, the Nickel barrel can not be annodized, because its Nickel, and i looks pretty cool anyway. There is a Carbon Fibre barrel out, which is now discontinued, Mike Cassidy put out for a little while a week or two ago (October 03 now) and it was the last batch. I have no idea how good these barrels are.
The pump on the phantom is smooth, and easy once its broken in, and very easy. One thing i would recommend is be careful not to double feed while autofiring(holding the trigger down while pumping, you can get about 6 bps off that way), as its more prone to double feeding while autofiring, as you have a tendency not the bring the pump arm far enough forward to fire. All it takes is practice to eliminate this.
The Velocity also drops while autofiring, though only while using twelve grams, not a bottle larger than 7 ounces.
Conclusion: This an excellent marker, well made, and comparitively cheap to other pumps that are as good as the Phantom. I bought my Stock Class Phantom for $290 canadian, which is an average price. Mike Cassidy is excellent for getting back to you, so if you have any questions, email him, and he'll get back to that day, or the day after.
I give this marker a 10, as its as close to perfection as any marker can get. Most markers have their flaws, this one just has a lot less flaws.
You should get this marker if your looking for a well made, well priced and very reliable pump.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballkid682 Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
blade pump, spyders, cockers
Marker Setup: Red SC Phantom, Adco Sure Shot sight, ronin harness , dye invision
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good sight it doesnt hvae to be top of the line but i recomend a red dot occluded sight,it helps alot
Strengths: -ACCURATE!
-SEXY
-FAST
-very easy to maintain
Weaknesses: double feeding is a small issue
Review: This gun is very niiiice it is the best stock class there is on the market, the first time i played with it was against 2 semi's and they wooped me but when i had some fire backin me up from teammates i was gogging everyone. the double feeding is a small issue just make sure you pump fast and slightly tilt it. i wouldnt be able to aim if it werent for the red dot sight it helps alllloooot.
Conclusion: i give this gun a ten because you cant go wrong with a phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pump power Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle pump - not really similar it was a $20 gun
Marker Setup: stock class phantom with ADCO sight
Black Maxx
Recommended
Upgrades:
sight
15 round tube - 10 round tube stops you from being able to use a bulk CO2
harness
Strengths: accuracy - dead on all the time
reliable - havent had a problem yet
light - weightless
Weaknesses: NONE!
Review: This gun is the best i have ever used. The only problem someone could have with it is the fact it only can go 4 bps with its auto trigger. It is very easy to take apart and maintain.

You can really run with the thing because it was so light.
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN IF YOU WANT TO HAVE SOME FUN PLAYING STOCK
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

miks Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Phantom SC 11" with ADCO Hotshot Reflex red dot sight; VForce Shield; Ronin Gear Stock Harness.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A red dot sight.
Strengths: Accuracy, durability, reliability, lightweight, compact, looks great, earns you respect just for using it.
Weaknesses: None. But it will expose the weaknesses in your game like an x-ray.
Review: I played a full day with my new Phantom SC and had more fun than I've ever had playing paintball. Just walking into the staging area you get a grip load of looks, whispers, questions and a lot of respect. I was target shooting at the range and there were autocokers and angels all around me. They were taking like 3 or 4 shots to hit these targets while I was nailing everything I aimed at on the first shot. I heard a guy with a cocker say to his buddy, "that gun is pretty accurate".

In one game I moved up front and on of the opposing players ran into our territory about 75 ft across from me. He didn't see me so I lined him up in my sights and fired once. It was the sweetest feeling to see my paint break all over his lenses. He kept talking about that shot all day.

Another guy tried to run around my bunker firing at me at the same time. He was about 20 ft. away. I just reaction shot him and nailed him in the chest while he was running.

Basically, if you aim this gun, it will hit where you aim like 90% of the time. The trick is to stay calm and aim in the heat of battle.

It was light so I could full on sprint with it. It got hit with paint several times and I didn't even have to clean it. It kept shooting just as good even though it was a bit more colorful.

At the chrono it varied by like 3 fps until the 12gram started running out.

On speedball fields I was getting pounded by cockers, angels and tippman A-5s, but this is because I kept running too fast and far off the break and outstripping my cover guys. I still am learning to adjust my game. At this stage I can't trade paint with high end semis because I'm not too good at snapshooting yet, but this gun is so accurate that if I keep practicing, I will be snapshooting semi's out.

Just remember to start each game with a full feed tube and a relatively new 12 gram. Learn your best range and only shoot at what you can hit or to provide some cover. This gun has taught me more in one day than I've learned in all these months of playing with my semi about playing tactically, smart, and knowing your limitations and working around them.
Conclusion: This gun is great for beginners because it will force them to learn the game rather than rely on a technology race where they think that ROF spells victory. It is more fun than semis because it is more challenging. It is as accurate as any paintball marker can be. If you get good with this then you will be better than any semi player. It is just fun fun fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

isaiah Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, tigershark, talon, SL68-II, maverick, hammer
Marker Setup: rainmaker with some Mad Marty mods, SF board, PPS stab foregrip, BMW MAC mount, Smoking Nun nickel plated fittings, gutted reg backblock, dye stickies, J&J ceramic.

my own prototype reactive trigger Raptor with prototype force feed system.

my new Stock Class Phantom with .45 grips, acid blue ano.
Recommended
Upgrades:
absolutely nothing.
Strengths: efficient, accurate, reliable, durable, ROF monkeys think I'm crazy, lightweight, beautiful.
Weaknesses: I didn't buy one sooner.
Review: I didn't want to review this until after I had played some games with it. Since I just got back from a 12 hour scenario game at Mountain of Doom paintball in Hanceville, AL I thought this would be a good time, since i used the phantom all day.

At the beginning of the day, a grey-haired guy saw my stock class harness and came up to me and said "I hope you're playing stock class, cause otherwise it's gonna take you forever to reload with those tubes!" and I pulled out my phantom. He said it was a really nice gun, and a bunch of kids giggled and snickered. Except for some of the old timers, there was a general "haha, he has a pump" attitude.

after a couple hours, i had changed that attitude to "OH **** it's the guy with the pump!" over much of the field. at some points, i stood in the open, and several people were firing volleys at me while i picked them off one shot at a time and dodged their balls from 150 feet away. the accuracy is excellent, even at extreme range.

In one mission with instant base-tag regenerations, I had run up farther than anyone else on my team (I had excellent cover fire behind me) and was taking out everyone on our left flank, when everyone on the other team decided to not let me pop out of my bunker at all. This is when everyone else on my team moved up. Being underestimated is a great thing.

Through it all, the phantom did not break a ball, and I always knew when to change my 12g because it wouldn't pump without 600 psi. The pump was super smooth and easy, the barrel mirror smooth at the end of the day. Very sturdy, very sexy and smooth.
Conclusion: This is by far the best gun I've ever owned. I was never anything more than a decent player with my electros and reactive triggers. But every game since I got this phantom, I've ripped up the field with it, especially against semis and electros. This really is an unfair advantage.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GigantorG3 Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Never used a Pump in my life
Marker Setup: (Primary) Custom "Cash Money" Impulse
(Rec) Phantom SC 14in barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a sight, they look cool on this baby, although it is quite sexy in it's own right.
Maybe A DYE boomstick, but the stock barrel is very nice.
Strengths: Sexy, Short Pump Stroke, Accurate as heck, Great Customer Service!
Weaknesses: ROF (it is a pump), It doesn't say "I love you" back......
Review: I waited in anticipation for weeks to get my phantom SC, and when it finally Arrived, I wasn't the least Bit dissapointed, Write outta the box it was the sexiest gun i've laid my eyes on, of course i had a cool looking Tasco Sight so i slapped it on. 2 days later I went to the field to test it, once i got the velocity adjusted (which takes some getting used to, shoving a big metal rod down the barrel is a bit odd), i was ready to play. First i played Middy on a hyperball field, not one ball break, hit targets 9 out of 10 times, maybe only 3 or 4 wasted balls. After i decided that i had enough balls to play front on the airball field, I had the time of my life! I bunkerd this annoying little rich kid with an Mamba Angel, and i fell to the ground in laghter as he stared at me in awe, then he took a look at my Phantom, sneered, and walked away. Greatest Paintball moment EVER! that was definatly worth my $170. Great Gun.
Conclusion: I definatly suggest playing with this gun, it is definatly the most accurate marker i've used to date. Great Value. And plus it is unbelivably fun to play stock class, especially with such a great gun, i find it hard to go back playing with a semi!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

phantom sniper1 Friday, January 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: phantom stock class, stock barrel, adco e-dot sight, and a T-stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really, maybe a red dot sight. but it's great stock.
Strengths: EVERYTHING!!!! it's very compact, no hopper and it takes 12 grams. my whole gun fully loaded weighs no more than three pounds. you can run and not worry about dropping your hopper or breaking paint. but best of all it's incredibly accurate, i was able to hit a coffee can at 120 ft fairly consistently as soon as i took it out of the box. this gun also makes you a better player, since it only has 10 shots you learn to make every shot count. it's very cheap to buy and to use, you won't go through nearly as much paint as with a semi.
Weaknesses: i don't like the rock and cock part. that's all i can think of.
Conclusion: this is an excellent marker for any type of player. i would highly recommend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Samoth187 Friday, October 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Tippman, Cold Fusion, Black Dragun, Evolution, Black Magick, Autococker, Angel, Emag, Mini Mag, DYE Autocoker, and Carter Machine
Marker Setup: Basic Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Strengths: Let me just start off by saying that this is the best stock gun EVER!!! It is mind bogglingly accurate. (I hit a can at over 125 ft. !!!) This gun is also amazingly light. a two year old can lift it! And besides these great features, there's more! It is extremely efficient on CO2. Sleek and sexy, it will draw attentive stares! Can also be very easily field stripped and cleaned. There is nothing wrong with this gun!!!!! I own several other guns,. and this is by far the most fun to play with. It will increase your skills and make you a better player overall, whether with a stock or automatic. You'll nail people at over 200 feet and THEY WON'T EVEN KNOW IT WAS YOU!!!
Weaknesses: People might want to steal this beautiful gun!!
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media