paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $209

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Phantoms are known as the best pump guns around.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Stock Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Murph1 Saturday, October 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month32 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Tigershark - Very nice beginners gun. Suggested if you ever wanna try pump without breaking the bank. However, in terms of customizability, it's on par with the phantom, in all other measurements, it's inferior. Buck for Buck, though, it lasted me 3 years with very little maintenance, and only cost me 40 bucks... I guess that's good. Actually, now, thinking about it, it got better gas efficiency out of a 12 gram at 45 good shots and 7 decreasing ones.
Marker Setup: CCI Backbottle stock class phantom. .45 frame, acid blue.

Backup - Brass Eagle Raptor - Eagleworks barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
T-stock, and a decent sight (yes they are worth crap on this marker.) Dont forget a stock class harness. Nothing's more annoying than running with your hand covering the pocket full of 12 grams in an effort to stop the rattling.
Strengths: This is a beauty of a paintball gun, I have to say off the bat. It just looks sexy.

For accuracy - Definately ranks an excellent. Better accuracy and therefore effective range than any other marker I've seen for under a thousand dollars.

Feel - Solidly Constructed, nothing rattles around too bad, I can get running pretty fast without worrying about it falling apart. It's very light. It's not bad running with it at all. And it balances perfectly in the palm of my hand, since most of the stainless components are right over the grip frame.

Durability - I havent given it a torture test, but it feels solid. All internal parts are stainless steel, it hardly rattles (Just the plastic pump arm.) The exterior is aluminum so you can have it ano'd. I have a feeling it will last a while.

Gas efficiency - This matters in a stock class gun. I get 30 good shots before changing cartridges. I imagine I could get more if I were able to keep liquid co2 from being fired (1 shot of liquid is something like 7 shots of gas at 850 psi, if I remember correctly.) But anyway, you get good gas efficiency running 12 grams out of the backbottle position.

Looks - The acid wash patterns (like my acid blue.) are excellent.

Reloading - Yes this is a stock class gun, so you have to reload a little differently than you would have if you were using a direct-feed gun. Reloading paint is pretty easy once you get used to using little cigar tube thingies. Co2 is very easy, the changer comes off in two or three twists.
Weaknesses: I couldn't find anything I didnt like about it. A couple friends who shot a couple shots expressed their concern with the lack of an anti-double pump, but if you know how to test the trigger without firing, you should be good to go. I'm not gonna go into detail.
Conclusion: An excellent gun overall. A must buy. I don't give a crap about not possibly being a ten since no gun is perfect. That may be true, but this is based on experience and my Phantom is the best gun I've used in my experience, earning it a "Perfect" ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

Col617 Sunday, July 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothin
Marker Setup: i just have the standard stock phantom but will soon get a sight .45 grip and a telescope stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a sight .45 grip and telescope stock
Strengths: accurate- can hit a can at 100 ft
Price- i use about 20$ less than i did w/ my spyder\
reliable- if you keep it clean it will serve you very well
Costmer service- if you e-mail CCI w/ a question they will e-mail you back the same day.
Skill- you learn to be such a good player using this
satifaction- satisfaction when you gog a guy w/ a mag w/ out him noin were u r
light- no hopper or tank it weighs like 2.5 lbs. fully loaded
Weaknesses: nothin really dont do the semi-auto thing its not accurate
Conclusion: i looooooove this gun. ive become sooo much better. if your a sniper u just found your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
an sl 68 wich i first started playing with , it was a field rental gun
Marker Setup: only the phantom and i have a bottomline adapter that i use with a twelve oz tank to play speedball with ,and yes i play with that when everyone else is using tricked out autocockers and angels. I also have an adco red dot sight the fifteen round tube and a t stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing the gun is very competitive just by itself.
Strengths: First of all the money you'll save on paint ,the skills you can't learn with a semi,and the feeling you get when you degrade a semi player with a pump.
Weaknesses: The only trouble ive had is the velocity adjuster tool has broke and now i have to take the barrel off just to adjust the velocity but other than that i absolutley love the gun.
Conclusion: Using this gun will def. make you a better player over all and i think every great player should use a pump every now and then, especially a stock gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used to own a good old Tippmann 98. I sold it to get my Phantom. The Tippmann 98 was no where close to the Phantom's accuracy. The 98 was also very loud ( much unllike the Phantom). The 98 was also considerably larger than the Phantom.
Marker Setup: I currently play witht the Phantom. Nickel plated barrel, .45 PMI grips, gun silver in color.
Recommended
Upgrades:
CCI Nickel Plated barrel (accuracy) ( but the stock barrel is great)! and .45 PMI grips ( comfort)
Strengths: The Phantom is THE most accurate marker I have laid hands on. I have friends with sem's and pumps and their markers do not compare in accuracy. The Phantom is also rather quiet. When using 12 grams it is very efficent 30-35 shot a game. RELIABLE, never had a problem with it. Saves money ( I can go all day for 12 dollars US) It makes paintball a challenging and fun sport. You get a lot of looks and questions in the staging area. If you take care of this gun it will last you for years.
Weaknesses: Nothing is wrong with The Phantom. I love it
Conclusion: All, in all , the Phantom is an wonderful gun. I don't regret purchasing it. I look forward to playing with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, Tigershark, Maverick, Pro-Carb (the relationship should be intuitively obvious)
Marker Setup: Phantom Stock, Midnight black w/ stock barrel, but possibly upgrading soon, telescopic sight for observation. Fully decked out sniper phantom.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hardly anything at all. Maybe a good sight, and a new barrel, but the stock barrel is amazingly accurate. One of the best ever stock barrels I've ever seen.
Strengths: Incredibly accurate - This gun, stock barrel or not, is THEE best sniper gun I have ever seen, and have seen a lot.
Conservative - It wastes almost no air what-so-ever. I can get 50 shots off of Copperhead 12grams. It keeps you in good paint, because of the 10 rnd loader.
Semi-capabilities - If you hold the trigger down and keep pumping it will keep firing.
Extrodinarily lightweight - with the stock class I can run as bloody fast as I please without a hopper falling off or such.
Easy to clean - Two thumb screws and it is apart in your lap. You can clean and oil in the field if you like in meer seconds.
Weaknesses: I've head the thumb scews have a tendency to become loose, but mine haven't yet.
Conclusion: This gun is way, way, under-priced. I wouldn't trade mine for a Spyder, Tippman, or anything short of the black magik itself. If you find one, buy one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro/Carbine- Not as accurate, but faster firing and cheaper, alot louder, and not the same range

Tippmann Model 98- Same as Pro/Carbine

Stingray- Very poor range and accuracy, very loud. Good beginners gun though

Tigershark- Very stiff pump arm compared to the phantom, not very good range, not very good accuracy, loud. Good beginner gun though

Marker Setup: Phantom SC
T-stock
14" stock barrel, 8 inch old style no ports stock barrel, and will soon have the 14" nickel barrel
rifle scope
.45 grip
stickies
15 rd. feed tube
4 oz tank attached to stock
All black

Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing it is fine stock. But if you have some money and want to make it a little more comfortable you can get the .45 grip, t-stock, and bottomline with 4 oz. and don't forget the sight or scope.
Strengths: Withe the .45 and stickes its very comfortable. Its very light weight. Extremly accurate. I can hit a milk jug on my first shot at 140+ ft. Its very good on co2. I can turn my tank off and still get 10 shots just from the air in the hose. This gun is perfect for a paintball sniper. Very smooth pump also.Nice trigger too.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. You can't shoot fast but with a 1 shot 1 kill gun you don't need to shoot fast.
Conclusion: I I would say that this is one of the best guns made. Its definantly one of the most accurate and lightest. If your looking for a sniper gun you have just found it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
m98 w/ 16'' armson stealth barrel w/ ex chamber
Marker Setup: acid green sc phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
NOTHING
Strengths: it seems a lot more acurate b/c you have to aim shot. VERY GOOD ON AIR
funny as hell when you get your friend out, who has an automag (very painful on his ego). fairly durable.(it might just be that i had a tippmann before that i could throw off my roof and run over it with my car and it would still work)
very good for snipers and hunters no huge freakn' hopper for the other guy to shoot at or hear.HUGE IMPROVEMENT IN PLAYING SKILLS
Weaknesses: have to reload every 10 or 15 shots
the first time you use it against a cocker,angle,mag it will be scary as hell,it will seem like trying to jump the grand canyon with a trycycal, but its only the first time and it will get a lot eaier.
Conclusion: BUY ONLY IF YOU HAVE BIG ENOUGH BALLS
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 9th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months21 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
An old Kingman Hammer - A reliable marker, but not nearly in the same category.
Marker Setup: All stock, Daisy Max View sight (makes it tremendously accurate.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I've been told the CCI Nickel plated is an excellent, cheap upgrade. A ref on a field once told me to try out the Armson Stealth as I squegeed behind a stump, but I haven't heard how it performs on the Phantom. So far, the stock barrel has done well enough.
Strengths: Compact - Even w/ a 14" barrel, the stock Phantom is sleek. I remember sniping sideways through a bunch of collapsed trees my first day out on a wood course, with only a three inch opening, and no one could see me. No hopper exposed, no bulky tank, nothing.

Accuracy & Range - If you can steady your shot, and have the assistance of a red dot sight, you can thump some heads. The first day I played w/ some friends after calibrating my sight, I played for 3 hours straight w/o getting hit once. I racked up 6 slaps to the other guys' masks and 2 other hits in the arm and hand when my target sighting in on me. I was truly amazed at each hit after hit, ranging up to around 120 ft., even though the day before I was able to hit a piece of 1x4 lumber sunk into the ground time after time from around 100 ft. That's a 3.5" target. There is nothing like hearing your final target cry out from 40 yards away as you switch off your sight, push in the safety, and step from the creek or foxhole or downed log, drawing in a deep breath. It's completely different from blazing someone w/ a semi.

Simple Internals - If you keep them clean and oiled, they will serve you well.

Great Service - Just give Mike Cassidy a call w/ any questions. CCI will be around for some time.

Few upgrades needed - a new barrel maybe sometime down the line, and maybe a .45 grip. Everyone says it's so much better, and maybe my fingers just aren't that sensitive as I'm stalking my prey, but I haven't cared yet.

Easy switchovers - You can change the stock class to vertical feed or switch the 12 gram adapter to a CO2 tank with a few twists of the alan wrench.
James Bond effect- The gun just looks sweet. You will turn some heads on the course, and maybe get a few condescending looks. But like others here have said, just let look. And then play your game. It's not the gun that makes the man... It's the man that makes the gun.

Experience - You will learn to think strategically in a way that will help your all-around game. You can specialize as a sniper to take out targets your teammates may not be able to. You will enjoy the rush.

Economy - Cheap to play this way.
Weaknesses: Velocity Adjustment - Can be adjusted down the barrel w/ a special tool, but the side bolt (which is nylon, and must be treated w/ care) is a bit more difficult to access w/ the SC horizontal feeder. I always strip the gun and adjust the bolt once it is separated from the breech, but this can be a handful at the course. Just a grain of sand anywhere in the gun can cause trouble. More than one grain can really cause trouble. I had flanked one opponent and was only 25 ft from them, pulling the trigger... when it stuck. I had knocked some sand into it while trying to frantically squeege my barrel earlier. Learn to treat your gun well.

ROF - You can hold the trigger and pump off shots, but really this is a pretty unlikely choice w/ only 11 balls in your feeder and w/ the typical opponents you'll be up against on a field. This isn't ultimately a "bad." Understand what this tool can accomplish within its bounds, and you will appreciate it. Don't buy this gun if you can't handle having less than 12 bps blaze in your opponent's general direction.

Ball/CO2 Capacity - 10 balls before a reload, around 30 or so shots before you'll have to switch out your 12 gram. Again, not ultimately a "bad." But it can be if you aren't aware of your limitations.

Cocking - You may double feed a few times before you learn the rythmn. It's just simply not as easy as just pulling a trigger.
Conclusion: I have had an unbelieveably huge amount of pleasure from this gun. It is perfect for playing after work in the woods and field near my house. We crank ours up to almost 350 fps, w/ RPI Premium or Superswirls, and they honestly still shoot straight and true, and w/o breaks. And they hurt, quite a bit. Games can last a long time when you terrified of a sniper out there... stalking you, trying to flank you. You begin to think about tactics in a very different way. The Phantom price tag comes w/ a free education.

On the rec fields, up against mags, autocockers, tippmans, and rental spyders, you can truly hold your own. Not w/o varying your strategy. Not w/o support at times from semis. Not w/o getting blazed at least once because you excitedly rush the front and get pinned down before you learn to adjust your game. But you can learn to position yourself and out range your opponents. You can move w/ stealth and do things that they just won't expect. You can take out key players, maybe sacrificing yourself in the kill. You will bring home stories of crawling up creeks and slithering through ravines unnoticed because everyone else is hiding behind barrels and trees, just emptying their hoppers and wallets as you flank them, and slap a single ball into a mask of a $600 speedballer and watch them do a triple take as you cock your pump Phantom for the next kill. That kind of rush is worth the $178.

Play with a semi, too. They are two different styles. But among pump markers, the Phantom will not let you down. It demands a resourceful and gutsy warrior to play with one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, October 6th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is the lightest stock marker out there. It has the best stock barrel in existance, however with a CCI nickel plated barrel upgrade ($15-$25), it will equal or better the performance of a Palmer custom while being more than one hundred dollars cheaper. The gun is insanely accuracte. I can get 3" groupings at 30 yards. There are a large variety of factory customizations and configurations available, including 10 or 15 round feed tubes, hand grips, and shoulder stocks. This is one of the few stock guns that can be easily converted to hopper fed with one quick change. Efficient on CO2: it gets 30-40 shots out of a single little 12 gram! When playing against semi's, using this gun completely changes the game. It forces one to think and plan movements carefully. It gives a real feeling of being a sniper because every shot has to count and you can't afford to give away your position. Using a stock gun will make anyone a better paintball player. There is nothing more rewarding in all of paintball than the look an autococker/angel player's face when they realize they were taken out by a 12 gram stock gun. It's not just about ego, it's just damn funny to see (you stock guys know what I'm talking about, the shock, the drooping face, the denial) ;) If you're gonna get a stock marker, get the best. Phantoms rule!
Weaknesses: The internal velocity adjustment is a pain, but once its on, its dead on. Velocity will stay within 5fps for a long time. Phanotms dominate stock tournaments of any sort. When playing against semi's, the ammo limitation is evident. However, people buy this gun knowing that and adjust their playing style accordingly. You have to think and aim clearly to use a stock gun against semis. Don't buy this gun if you like to play like a machinegunner. This is a one hit elimination surgical scapel, not a paint flamethrower.
Conclusion: This gun is superb out of the box and needs no upgrades. However, I reccomend a nickel plated CCI barrel no longer than 8"-11" ($15-$25 upgrade). That will maximize gas efficiency, distance, and accuracy when using a 12 gram. It is the best stock gun in the world, bar none. Most of the best players in the world learned their stalking, stealth, and aiming skills while playing stock class. It is a great idea for any player to do. It teaches discipline and tactical thinking. Come join the adrenaline charged ranks of real snipers. There is nothing like playing stock and no stock gun as good as a phantom. I would reccomend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

N.H. hick Friday, August 31st, 2001
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: 1- UNGODLY AMOUNTS OF SHOTS WITH A SINGLE 12 GRAM. With the stock barrel i ussaly get about 50 shots running the velocity at about 250.
2- LIGHTEST MARKER OUT THERE, weighs in at 3 pounds dry, and 4.2 pounds fully loaded.
3- VERY PERCISE, will even put brass egale paint right on top of each other shot, after shot, after shot.
4- BASIC. I can disasemble and put back together in about 3 minutes.
5- GRIN FACTOR. Its what you get after getting more kills then the guy with a cocker or mag
6- DAILY PLAYING COSTS- I think i spend about 20 dollars a day playing at my local field, that includes paint, co2, and admission fee. that also means i play more often with my very limited cash flow.
7- STOCK BARREL- my stock barrel outpreforms big shots and J&J ceramics, about the ony barrel it doesn't out perform is its big brother, CCI Nickel plated.
8- BREAKAGE- I have shot through my gun at least 2 cases in the first week, and had not a signal break that was the guns falut(i dubble cockeda few times)
9- AUTOTRIGGER- makes speed ball even possible, although i just stay in the back and lay cover fire.
10- RANGE- i can get kills from over 200 feet and hit exactly where i want.
11- INDESTRUCTABLE- i have droped, thrown, booted and soaked my gun, still no rust, no dents, only a few scratches and still performs kick arse.
12- CUSTOMER SERVICE- mike cassidy is running a great business over there in oregon, He is very nice and will trick out your gun for you in anyway, well anyway possible.
Weaknesses: 1- THUMB SCREWS- come loose often, but you get used to checking them every 10 minutes to make sure there there.
2- BREAK IN- the gun will not stand up to its reputation for the first half case. Its just breaking in, after that the gun is godly.
3- COST - expensive, but deffinatly worth cost.
Conclusion: I have had my gun for a long time, well about a month, It has exceeded my expectations and will for a long time to come. If you want somthing that is kick right out of the box, go for this gun, it will cut your cost at the field, but if your into wasting cash on upgrades, go for the sniper 2 or the sniper 3. WIth awesome customer service and reliablility that top the rating charts, you can't get a better deal then the phantom.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media