paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Grey Ghost / Lapco Grey Ghost / Lapco Grey Ghost / Lapco Grey Ghost

Lapco Grey Ghost Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Grey Ghost

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Grey Ghost
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
LAPCO has re-released a legend in the form of the 2006/2007 Grey Ghost. Widely regarded as one of the most finely crafted production paintguns in its day, the Ghost returns with numerous modern features including:

-Adjustable sliding trigger
-Auto-Trigger selector safety
-Ball detente allows any sized paint to be used
-Spyder threaded removable barrel
-Interchangable stock-class feed tube
-Vertical ASA

Product Availability 
The Lapco Grey Ghost is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
wolftune Saturday, August 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer's Pyre, many cocker pumps, Bushmaster Line SI, Sheridan PGP, tested Phantoms
Marker Setup: Lapco Grey Ghost, 10 round feed tube (can purchase from Lapco), smaller stock (bought used on eBay).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly the 10 round feed tube and shorter stock. Heard talk about a 12" Lapco barrel with smaller bore (.685), which would be good. Not sure if available yet.
Strengths: Accuracy, looks, quality of build, uniqueness, pump stroke.
Weaknesses: Barrel might be a bit long for some, stock a bit long.
Review: Looks:
This marker looks great. It has a sort of silver finish with a very slight purple hue. Just a fantastic looking marker. When I bring it to my local field, it gets lots of comments and many people ask to check it out.

Feel:
Perhaps the best feeling pump marker I've ever held, at least for stock class. Very well balanced, light without feeling cheap, excellent grips.

Performance:
This thing shoots darts with good paint and practice. I aim right down the top of the rails and can put the paint right where I want it to go. The pump stroke is smooth with just enough resistance. The co2 changer does take a few turns but it's fairly fast and has a tight feel.

Detent system:
It works. The Ghost has anti-double feed and anti-rollout detents (both Spyder, super easy to order and replace). With the exception of Palmer's wedgits, I've never been completely satisfied with barrel kits (still have rollouts occassionally, hassle to deal with), phantom detent rings, or home mods (tape, nail polish). The Ghost just works every time.

The only possible "upgrades" would be a shorter feed tube, a shorter stock, and a tighter bore barrel. I put upgrades in quotes because it's really just a preference. I prefer to be slightly closer to my marker when shooting, so I ordered a 10 round feed tube and picked up a silver stock that's about 2 inches shorter than the ghost. For me, it's more comfortable, but the original setup worked great as well. If you shorten the stock, you'll have to shorten the tube because it will hit your mask.

While the barrel is great (accurate, light), it has a .689 bore size. With paint getting smaller and smaller, I'd prefer a tighter bore. This would most likely increase air efficiency and might improve velocity consistency as well. I talked to Lapco and they said a smaller bore barrel (12") was coming, but I haven't checked back.
Conclusion: I highly recommend the Ghost if you're into stock class paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gypsy06 Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom
WGP Sniper
Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: AGD: R/T Pro ULE, Micromag R/T, Minimag, Micromag
ANS: GX-5
CCI: Phantom VSC, Vintage 89 Direct feed
Worr: Outkast Sniper 2
PMI: Tracer
Spyder Special edition ( the original and still going strong)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None Available
Strengths: Ball Detent, Anti Kink internals, Sliding trigger, Grip angle, Braided stainless hose,
Weaknesses: Possible stripped threads, Not all Spyder barrels will work, plastic grips feel cheap,
Review: To add to my ever growing list of markers I brought the Ghost into the family. The short version is that it works and works well. Unfortunately there ar a couple of minor hiccups that keep it from being perfect. That said it's got a lot going for it.

It pumps well with a positive spring return and the sliding/adjustable trigger is smooth and easy. When snap shooting it point's on target fast and I find that I need to adjust my aim less than with my Phantom. This probably has to do with the grip angle and when brought to the eye the hight is great for lining up right over the feed whereas my Phantom always feels low. I like the way the sliding trigger allows you to really feel the shot. With a little set up you can adjust it to break right where you want it to. The ASA is integrated into the grip frame really well and the stainless hose is always leak free.

Unfortunately there are a few things that I think need mentioning as drawbacks. First and foremost, the fact that the marker is Spyder threaded does not mean that all Spyder thread barrels will work. Because the pump wraps the barrel and the inside is drilled narrow to house the pump return spring most barrels will not fit through the pump arm. Any barrel profile that swells at the rear can not be screwed into the marker. This is particularly annoying since most barrel manufactures do not make barrels that look like a smooth tube. Look at the CP and Dye's to see what I mean.
Secondly the brass screws that hold the marker together are threaded into the aluminum body and could easily strip out if the user isn't carefull. This presents a problem especially for the side screws that could be lost in a moment if they are not snug but cannot be tightened beyond finger tight for fear of damaging the body.
Lastly I have to say that while the ergonomics of the grip panels are spot on the materials used leave a lot to be desired. Plastic, that's what they are and I'm not talking about that "stronger than steel" kind of plastic. They fit the hand great but are as hard as well ..... plastic. The trigger pull is excellent and would be even better with some nice soft rubbery grips. With the grip frame being a custom design the only grips that look like they might work are the old PMI rubber ones. These have been out of production for a long time which leave only the stock grip pannels as an option.
Conclusion: The Ghost is for the player who not only wants to play pump but wants to be one of the only ones with this pump. Price is comprable to the Phantom in a similar configuration and function is equal to or better than it in some ways. I'm going to knock a point off for the grips and one for the pump handle as well since it really limits your barrel options. As for the body screws I have to say BE Carefull! They are easy to lose but better to lose a screw than strip a body thread. All in all the Ghost is a verry refined and capable pump with several top notch features but it's not the workhorse that the Phantom is. Your better off playing S/C tournaments with this than slogging through the woods.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neck Cutter Sunday, March 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom
Sniper 2
CCM SS25
Marker Setup: Adco Red dot.
13ci 3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.Good to go out the box.
Strengths: The Grey Ghost keeps the bodies stacked high in the dead box.
Weaknesses: They need to put more into advertising and getting this gun out to the people.
Review: Don't waste your time shooting anything other then a Grey Ghost.It is twice as effecient as my Phantom.Buttery smooth pump stroke and trigger pull.No need to ever touch my Phantom after I got the Ghost.No barrel kit or detent rings needed on the Ghost the detent system is the only one of it's kind on a closed bolt gun and works great.You can chamber a ball with pump handle forward and remove the barrel and the ball will not roll out.Genius.Lapco truly put some innovation into a classic.
Conclusion: Get one ...Issac obviously has never touched a Ghost......"Can't hit the broad side of a barn?".....FAIL
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 22nd, 2009 at 9:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Monday, November 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VSC Buzzard - smoother but way more quirky, less efficient, much harder disassembly. The Buzzard is flashier but is really more of a statement gun.

VSC Phantom - the quintessential stock class gun. The Ghost is pretty much an improved version of the Phantom. It's utilitarian and cheap! Rollout system is much more complicated than the Ghost's.
Marker Setup: Too many pumps to list.

Recommended
Upgrades:
You can't really do much to improve the Ghost, and there aren't really any aftermarket parts specifically made for it. A carter L-stock would be nicer than the one it comes with.
Strengths: No rollouts
Great fit/finish
Efficient
Tons of small touches
Weaknesses: No aftermarket, ie underdocking kits.
No factory options.
No stainless body inserts
Review: If you are considering a VSC Phantom, get the Ghost. It's simply a better gun, with some tradeoffs.

The good:

Anti-rollout detent! The best feature, just a timmy detent that sits in the breech. No rollouts, no detent rings. You don't even have to think about it.
Slider trigger, adjustable break point and forward stop.
Aluminum match annoed feed block (unless it's a 2k6 GG)
Better fit & finish: the rear valve body and the way the VA integrates into the trigger frame are awesome!!
Hidden return spring under the pump handle
Fluted hammer and non-venturi bolt for better efficiency, plus a Lapco #6 power tube. Pretty much the best of the best Nelspot parts all installed from the factory.
Comes with a black T-stock...ugly but functional. Not a huge fan, but it's free.
LAPCO barrel, spyder threads.
Stainless hardline makes disassembly easier than a VSC Phantom.
Lockable auto-trigger. No trigger pulls, just pumping insanity!

The bad:

The lockable auto-trigger is useless because it doesn't have a hopper.
The stainless hardline is kind of ugly. Functional, but ugly.
GG is the louder gun because of the non-venturi bolt.
The bottom of the grip frame is at a pretty steep downward angle. You'd almost need a power angle drop to compensate.
Phantoms have more upgrades and aftermarket parts, plus CCI customer service is top notch. Remember - no undercocking kits!
Only one colour from the factory...it is after all a Gray Ghost. Unfortunately it's more of a pewter compared to the old school Gray Ghosts.
No factory options...yet. Apparently they are making Direct feed bodies, but they haven't been released yet.
No stainless inserts in the body...this makes reanodizing easier, but it's possible to strip screw holes if you aren't careful.

Conclusion: Overall for the money, the Grey Ghost blows the Phantom out of the water. It's a low production number gun, there aren't more than 200 out there. It looks better, feels better and simply outdoes the VSC Phantom at its own game. If you want to upgrade, though, go with the Phantom. The Ghost doesn't need anything.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

isaacs18 Tuesday, August 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom
Sniper 2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Tech L7 Bolt
Deadlywind Fibur barrel with SS Freak inserts
360 QEV
Fully Upped Empire B2
Scenario Dreams T-board
Function rail
Proto On/Off
Custom Grips

CCI Phantom
Dye Stickies
Acid green anno
Matching L-stock
Matching trigger shoe
Barrel bored for SS Freak inserts
Spyder feedneck with holes for OC
15 round feedtube for SC
Back mounted 13cui 3000psi Air tank
Matching Ghost ring
Recommended
Upgrades:
There aren't any
Strengths: Looks great
light
solid
rare
Weaknesses: Inaccurate
Screws come loose easy
Awkward grip
Bad effecincy
Review: I had one of these and sold it ASAP. I was expecting it to be amazing, shoot really straight, be very 12 gram effecicnt, etc. I was sorely disappointed. This thing could barely hit the broad side of a barn, had horrid accuracy and only got like 20 shots off a 12 gram. And don't tell me I didn't have it tuned right cause i took it to the field, chronoed at 280fps and was sad all day. i put a red dot on it hoping to sight it in but it had horrible accuracy. I sold it and bought a phantom instead. Much happier.

Also the rare anno scatches and nicks really easy. its almost like powerdercoat instead.

The feed tube has really small threads that strip REALLY easily.
Conclusion: Get a phantom instead. Lapco just failed on this product. But if you want a gun not to play with but to mount on the wall, do it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 12th, 2008 at 4:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

casperct Wednesday, February 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PHANTOM,SS-25,S6,TASO S.C Marker
Marker Setup: ss25 with apex,grey ghost 06,phantom, carter buzzard,tac 6
Recommended
Upgrades:
A red dot sight ,Shorter barrel (although the 14 incher is fine )Theres not alot of up grades period yet.Rumors are floating around about barrels ,direct feeds,and bottom line set ups .Great out of the box!!!
Strengths: Very air efficent,light,the detent system works,pump stroke is smooth,looks sexy !!!!!!
Weaknesses: No up grades yet .
Review: I got this after seeing it at huntington beach in early 07,it has not let me down .I was sceptical about a ball detent but it works great no problems.
The barrel is a bit long for my taste and as a side note the barrel is spyder threaded and is thinner on the thread side so it can pass through the pump handle .So don't go out and purchase a bunch of barrels without checking if they fit first.
The overall build is high quality the grips are unique and the adjustable trigger is smooth.
On a 12 gram you should get over 30 shots out of the box ,I wonder if you had a tighter barrel if the efficency would be even better.
Losing the front screw has been taken care of by putting a lock washer on it .
The stainless steel line has been critisized but is very practical.
The bolt has a plastic catch bolt (like a phantom bolt)so your velocity stays consitant .
Conclusion: Out of the box theres nothing you need ,after a year of use at countless scenarios and rec days no problems,still waiting for more from lapco in up grades . I would recommend the ghost to any one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VPD Friday, October 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Line SI Bushmaster, WGP Sniper, Carter Comp, TASO Vindicator, CCI Phantom, MAC1 Annihilator, PGP, NW89, more
Marker Setup: Line SI Lever changer, modified to eject 12grams down towards the ground; homemade mod so a single ten round tube can be placed into and retained by the feedport; custom wood grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
hammer kit, spring kit
Strengths: Absolutely perfect workmanship, great looks and tremendous accuracy
Weaknesses: Limited availability
Review: I have to admit some bias as my team was sponsored by LAPCO and the Paintball Connection back in the late 80's and early 90's. We were among, if not the first, teams to all carry Grey Ghosts and we couldn't have been happier as the gun supported game play elements and skills that we considered to be critical: accurate (very accurate) out to extreme ranges (we have no trouble engaging targets at 250+ feet), capable of a high rate of fire (most players could hit 7 rounds per second) and ease of maintenance (once we went all Grey Ghost, we virtually eliminated the problem of guns going down during a game).

The attention to detail and the high quality of workmanship are evident from the moment you look at one of these guns.

Key features are one of the best barrels on the market, a very balanced bolt and hammer set-up, tremendous gas efficiency (50+ shots on 1 12 gram), easy to adjust velocity, a bore drop design that doesn't kink (meaning shorter stroke, meaning higher rates of accurate fire) and excellent ergodynamics - the gun is very balanced and easy to hold and pump.
Conclusion: You can't get an original Ghost, but you should do the next best thing and buy one of the new models!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coyote Sunday, July 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned most pumps and shot nearly all of them.
Carters, from 89 to present
Phantoms
PPS Pumps
CCM Pumps
Phantoms
Various snipers
Marker Setup: Semi- Custom Mag
Pump- My Buzzard, Phantom, or Shocktech Sniper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Does need any.

Strengths: Amazing shot count
light
great feel
awesome trigger
Weaknesses: Some brass parts might wear
Review: The eye appeal come to mind first, it is stunning. The build quality is superb. The pumpstroke (Lapco anti kink internals) and trigger are elegant and refined. Detents make barrel kits a thing of the past Add quality paint and practice and you will be simply lethal. Lapco took all of the best parts of the classic ghost and built them into a solid new platform.
Conclusion: This is my new favorite Nelson marker. More refined than a pnatom and cheaper than a Carter
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media