paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X7 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann X7 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann X7 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann X7 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X7 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X7 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new X7 Flatline is a top of the line barrel upgrade that can shoot up to 250 feet. Patented technology creates back spin on the paintball for long and accurate shots. This new look Flatline is integrated into the marker and is a great add on accessory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X7 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Silentwolf428 Thursday, November 10th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 Flatline
Apex Barrel
Apex 2 Barrel
Marker Setup: X7 Phenom e-trigger
Apex 2 barrel
Ninja 68cu/4500psi tank
Remote coil
Recommended
Paintballs:
High Quality and expensive paintballs...
Strengths: Long Range Shots
Flat Trajectory
Weaknesses: Picky with paint
Hard to tune
More expensive
Review: Look, I know many of you might disagree with my comments regarding the Flatline, but this was my experience with that barrel.

I bought this barrel because my friend's A5 had a Flatline and I loved the performance of his gun. I used it a few times and I know a Flatline for my X7 Phenom will be a great addition.

The first and only time I used my Flatline... I was frustrated. I tried to tune my gun and I just never could do it. From my frustrations, I borrowed my friends Apex barrel. I was impressed with the performance of the barrel, but I hated how it looked. Then the Apex 2 came out and I had to get that instead. So, I sold my Flatline and for the price I sold it, I bought the Apex 2 Barrel. The Apex 2 was pretty much idiot proof. I set it and it worked. Didn't really have to tune it. I'm happy with my choice and I'm sticking to my Apex 2.
Conclusion: I spent more than $80 at the time when I bought my Flatline. I wish I would have just waited and gotten the Apex 2. I would have saved $30.

I love Tippmann... I love the products they make. But, I just didn't quite like the performance of the X7 Flatline. This barrel is super picky with paint and I can't always afford to get the top quality paintball when I play, so I believe my decision is correct.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bloodbath Tuesday, July 5th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Barrels
Marker Setup: X7 Phenom Electronic,Gorilla Air/Myth Reg. 88/4500 HPA w/remote line, LAPCO Soft Paddles, M16 Style Mag, Vertical Grip, M4 Collapsible Stock, Speed Feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've been using JT Maxim SP Scenario Paint (About $32 a case when you buy 4 from ansgear.com) After about 2 cases I have zero breaks with mostly fulll auto firing, and very consistent ball flight
Strengths: Awesome Distance, super Accurate, no paint breaks, VERY flat trajectory, cool looks.
Weaknesses: Must keep gun flat, no shroud options, difficult to mount some larger rail accessories.
Review: Good:
After reading a lot of the reviews on here, I had almost resolved myself to buying an APEX 2 without having tried it. I went to the field, crono'ed to about 275 (280 was field max) and played woodsball all day. Without going through the extended testing process a lot of reviewers recomended, shots were very accurate, and WOW the flatline made an immediate difference on velocity at distance, and long range shooting. Super flat trajectory, no strays, I could reach players with flat shots while they couldn't reach me arching it(I got some serious long range tags all day because they just couldn't get in range without being lit up). It doesn't have the adjustments of the Apex, but I seriously don't see the side shots, low shot etc being useful on the field. I think because the Flatline uses a curve to impart spin, and the Apex only imparts spin at the end of the barrel("Shocking" the ball) you'd be easier on paint, have less brakes and have more consistency from shot to shot. In woodsball, this thing can give you an advantage over the egos, etc. Yes, they can shoot 20+ BPS, but they can only shoot so far. I'd never get a Tippmann without a flatline, and wonder when they'll start coming up with this for speedball guns, so back players can use them.

Bad:
Canting the gun will lead to some weird flight paths, just like with the Apex. The spin on the ball that makes it go farther will make it curve turned even a little bit to the side. Cool looking shroud, but no options to change it(an M4 stylle would have fit my gun really well). Included shroud can make fitting some accessories tricky, but if you remove and reinstall it they should fit.
Conclusion: I would very highly recomend this over any straight barrel; the only reason I would recomend someone should buy the Apex over this is that it is a little cheaper, and that you can get some different shrouds for the Apex. After my experience with this, I'll be getting one for my GF's A-5 when I pick it up. 9 because of the lack of other shrouds, and bc shroud rails are too close to the shroud to fit some accesories without adapters.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xris-Woodsball Wednesday, December 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pathfinder - 14"
J&J Ceramic - 12"
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 Phenom
PMI Pure Energy Coil with Slide Check Remote
PMI Pure Energy Fixed Output 72ci 3000psi N2 Tank
Tippmann Pathfinder Barrel - 14"
Strengths: A little more range.
Weaknesses: Broke paint and was inaccurate.
Review: My brother and me tried this barrel on both of our X7 markers and just recently on my new X7 Phenom. We had great hope but never got it to work. It will shoot a flat trajectory and increase range a little but even on good shots it's not very accurate. We followed all of the advice out there on tuning the barrel. Started at about 230fps and tried slowly raising the velocity to dial it in, on multiple occasions. Tried multiple types of paint, but mostly marbalizers, because that is what everyone recommends. This barrel broke paint non-stop, marbalizers too. At it's best we could get maybe 50 shots without a break but there were times when it would seem to break 50% of the shots and once you break a ball in this barrel you are truly done till you get it cleaned. It's possible we got a lemon of the bunch but my opinion is to go with a conventional barrel and learn how to arc your shots.
Conclusion: Go with a different barrel. This barrel just breaks too much paint.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

banjo1017 Monday, December 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
a5 flatline, and 98c flatline, apex barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann x7, Flatline barrel, CAR stock, M16 carry handle, and Front grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not walmart balls. DXS Paintballs, Premium paintballs.
Strengths: Distances, Straight Shots, Fits right to the marker.
Weaknesses: Works bad with bad paint, some times Inaccurrte, loud
Review: One of the best barrel upgrade for the x7 in my opionin. You get a hell of more distance then other barrels. But you have the use good paint. Walmart balls like monster ball don't work at all. The ball go all over the place. People has said that the ball float when they get way out there on your shots. But I've made so pretty far shoots on people and the ball still got them out.
Conclusion: If you are thinking about buying a x7 get this barrel too. You get great distance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mako426 Friday, August 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: X7 Basic
M4 collapsable/adjustable stock
FLATLINE Barrel
Front Grip
Red/Green Dot Sight
1" Sight riser
1-point tactical sling
Recommended
Paintballs:
Top Quality Paint!
Evil
Marballizer
Premium
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
Looks
Installation
Weaknesses: Barrel will wear out eventually / need to be refinished on the inside by the manufacturer
Review: I went through half a case of Evil paint this past weekend at the field. I was very impressed with this barrel as soon as I got the velocity dialed in. (about 270-280fps)

Needs premium paint . I tested some 'caliber.68' paint and broke 3 or 4 in the barrel. Shot Evil all day at the field and no breaks at all.

Accuracy was very nice. Only one in maybe 8 shots was off and only off by a little. (This was with Co2 as well. I will be reviewing again with HPA as soon as I get a tank)

Easy installation; Pop off the stock shroud, loosen 3 screws, take out old barrel and barrel adapater, lock flatline barrel into place, tighten screws, put flatline shroud back on.

I think the shroud looks pretty good. My friend with his A5 - flatline and myself were in the castle shooting almost to the back of the field.

***EDIT***

After two cases of Evil paintballs (4000 rounds) not one break and VERY consistant and accurate!

Don't listen to people who don't know how to properly install or tune this barrel. This is a great barrel! I will probably never take the Flatline off my X7.

I'm shooting at 250fps and getting great accuracy and distance!

BUY IT!
Conclusion: Great product! Works like it should and as expected! Looks great! NEEDS premium paint but it's worth it. "Flatliners" don't shoot a lot of paint anyway so you won't be wasting your $55 per case paint. Shoot with HPA over Co2 just for consistancy and probably a slight improvement in accuracy, but Co2 will work fine.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 25th, 2008 at 12:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mhoward84 Wednesday, May 28th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic, Tippman 98 Flatline, A5 Flatline, Palmers Brass + APEX Tip
Marker Setup: Tippman X7 R/T, Palmers Regulator, Palmers Brass + APEX Tip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Expensive stuff like Marbs
Strengths: Delivers flat trajectory most of the time. Very securely attached to X7.
Weaknesses: Hard to tune, picky on paintballs, innacurate.
Review: I have used all three flatline barrels, 98/a5/x7. The newer the flatline, the more quality seems to go down.

This barrel is insanely hard to keep tuned correctly, especially with weather changes. It is innacurate as you can get if not tuned right. It will have balls zipping every direction except where youre aiming. It is also a pain in the butt to tune, especially if you're a woodsball player who doesnt have access to a dyno every time you go out. It also breaks balls if its set too high (more often than regular barrel).

It is very picky with paintballs. If you use anything lower than mid quality paint you will break a lot of balls, and it will be innacurate. The barrel is VERY HARD to clean... yeah, not impossible, but very hard and takes way too long when youre out on the field.

The flatline was a great idea when it came out on the 98, but when you have options like the APEX barrel (which lets you put aftermarket [ACCURATE] barrels in combo with it!) which is more flexible, more accurate, and cheaper, there is no reason to get a flatline today.
Conclusion: Get an APEX if youre looking for flat trajectory.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

guru05 Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
c98 flatline
A5 flatline
Marker Setup: ---x7----------------------epiphany----------------------
-flatline------------------full freak kit
-response trigger----evo 3 lowered
-m16 short mag-----unicorn Bolt (soon to come)
-custom foregrip ----virtue board (soon to come)
-airthrough stock (soon to come)
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Looks
Weaknesses: Needs better paint
Harder to clean
Difficult to take off
Review: I am a flatline lover so I am trying to write this as unbiased as possible. I started playing with my x7 flatline after I used the stock barrel twice and knew I needed my range back. after I received it and installed it
(it is tight and needs to be worked a little)
I took it out and fired my run of the mill leftover field paint through it and broke about every fifth ball
(I kinda knew it would happen but I had to try it out) so I broke down and bought some rps premium it shot fine and I had no barrel breaks so I went down to rps stinger and had a couple breaks I broke maybe 3 or 4 out of a full hopper. it is also a little harder to clean, I like my tippmann pull through but it is kinda a pain to work around the cyclone and then deal with the curve of the barrel
it keeps with flatline tradition that all of us know and love it is accurate and it can reach out and touch ppl
plus the shroud that comes with it is bad A**.
Conclusion: two very happy thumbs up and remember don't throw old or crappy paint through it, and stick with the stuff a little less fragile I recommend this product for anyone who likes taking out the other team and knowing they can't reach you
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 at 10:59 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DHallak Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months65 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 14" Sniper Barrel
16" C-Series Stiffi Barrel from specialopspaintball.com
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7
Flatline Barrel System
Response Trigger
BSA 30mm Red Dot Site on top of an AR15 Carrying Handle
Commando Airthru Stock
3 Point Tactical Sling
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marblizers
Strengths: Flat Trajectory
Long Range
Very Accurate when dialed in properly
Weaknesses: If not set up right, it is innacurate.
Requires top of the line paint
Review: First off,.. I love my X7 Flatline.

(Before I begin, there is a very good write up by "Invictus" about common faq's for your x7 flatline at this link ---> http://www.x7og.net/flatline-barrel-system/38-flatline-faqs.
html )

Back to the flatline.
In the flatline faq in the above link, Invictus was dead on when he wrote to dial "up" your velocity, instead of setting it high, and trying to dial down to 280fps or whatever,... set it low,.. and then slowly bring up your velocity till your shots are dead on accurate.

I had my flatline set at 275-280fps,.. and at 160ft, 2 out of 3 balls would miss the 12" metal dish that was my target. By setting my velocity low, around 240, and slowly raising it up higher after each single shot, I was able to stop my shots from hooking, and became dead on accurate. Once my velocity got to about 260-265fps,... the accuracy was MUCH more consitant than it was at 280.

Then I spent about 30 minutes taking single shots, then adjusting the red dot site, I now have the marker set up so that at 160ft, whatever my red dot lands on, if I pull the trigger, it's 9 out of 10 hits. No matter how small the target. I set a small bathroom dixie cup 160ft away, raised the gun to my shoulder, let the red dot land on the cup and fired,.. no more paper cup. The 1 ball out of 10 that veers off target now, is by no more then 1ft. Which is still pretty dang close.


-----------

The first time I went out to fire it, I was firing at 280fps (before I read the recommendation on "raising" your velocity".
I was firing at the local paintball ranges target shooting area. It was only 80ft long, and,..... there were 35MPH crosswinds blowing across the range, it was a VERY windy day.

I tried using my 16" stiffi barrel,.. and the balls were flying all over the place, I hit my target maybe 1 out of 10 times on average at 80ft with those winds.
Then I put on the flatline.

8 out of 10 hits on the target. Despite the 35mph crosswinds, the balls would just shoot straight as an arrow to the target 80ft away unhindered by the winds blowing across the field.

------------------

Field stripping the flatline:

People who say that the x7 flatline would be a hindrance because of how long it takes to take off the shroud and barrel to clean it after a bad ball break,.. have no idea what they are talking about.

Most of you have heard of the "thumbscrew" mod, of replacing 3 of the allen headed screws on your x7, so that you can unscrew them faster with thumbturn screws, to allow for easier field stripping. DISREGARD THIS COMPLETELY. It works,... but is still far to slow, and annoying.

WIthout the thumbturn screws,.. when I'd get a ball break, I would have to:
1.) Push the two pins in the foregrip to remove the shroud.
2.) Remove the foregrip
3.) Pop off the magazine clip, to get to the allen wrenches
4.) Unscrew the 3 screws with the allen wrench
5.) Twist and pull out the flatline barrel

Then squeegy. This, would take me up to a minute and a half.

The thumbturn method is the exact same, but instead of having to use an allen wrench to take out the 3 screws, you have to turn larger headed screws with your thumb and forefringer. It saves time,.. it only took me about 20-25seconds to get off the foregrip, unscrew the thumbturn screws, then take out the barrel.

There is a much,.. much,.. much better, and faster way.

You know the 3 screws that it tells you you need to remove completely to remove your flatline barrel? well,... you dont need to.

With your allen wrench, just BARELY untighten them, perhaps a quarter of a turn. That's all you need to do.
Your marker sticks together just as tight, your barrel doesnt fall out no matter how much you run or jump,... just give them a quarter turn.

NOW,.. when you have to field strip the x7 flatline, you:
1.) Push the 2 pins to remove your foregrip.
2.) Pull the foregrip off
3.) Grab the flatline barrel, twist, and pull.

And the barrel pops out. 10 seconds, the same, if not less time that it could take to remove other regular barrels.

TO reinstert it after cleaning, just push the barrel back in, and twist to lock it, then put the foregrip back on with the 2 pins. And your read to go.

The flatline barrel does not have an O-ring at its base where it screws into the marker, so by just slightly unscrewing those few screws, with a good twist and tug, you can take it off, or slide/lock it back into place.

------------------

By dialing "UP" your velocity to your markers flatline sweet spot (mine was at 260-265fps), using very good paint. (I use marblizers), and using a raised red dot site. With just a split second of aiming the red dot, I can peg a person at 160ft away (what my site is set for), with 9 out of 10 shots. With a completely flat trajectory. And,... 35mph crosswinds didnt even effect the accuracy, though that was only tested out to 80ft. That is still extremely good.

I love my flatty.
1-2 shots, 1 kill. vs shooting ropes of paint, or masses of suppressive fire to bunker a person down to shoot them.

My flatline could shoot much farther then 160ft, it shot very accurately as well out to 240-260ft, but i just wanted my sight set closer.

Also,.. there is one last thing. I found that the faster my rate of fire with the response trigger, the more common I would have ball breaks. I have found, that by reducing my response trigger to perhaps 2-3 shots per second that I have no ball breaks, lay down cover and suppressive fire JUST as much as the idiots that are shooting out a case of paint from their guns in 10 seconds, and the exception being, that with my 2-3 shots, I can hit whatever the red dot is on up to 160ft away with my flatline with at least one of those shots, instead of walking in a rope of paint.
(my red dot sight is currently set to zero in at 160ft, short-med range for a flatline).
Conclusion: If your play style demands that you rely more on accurate shots, then shooting thousands of rounds of paint in a game, this is the barrel for you.
If you need extra range combined with accuracy. This is for you.
The flat Trajectory rocks, and Noooooo, the ball doesnt travel slower.

If you spend the time it requires to properly figure out what the velocity sweet spot for your flatline is, as well as combine that with QUALITY paint, (you arent allowed to complain when you buy it, you knew you'd need expensive paint when you bought this barrel),.... this barrel is a completely unfair advantage. It looks cool, disregards alot of harsh wind conditions, and is a must buy for your x7. Don't do the disservice of modding your a5 flatline onto the x7. You ponied up the money to buy the marker, spend 99 dollars and get the flatline designed for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

lindino08 Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 flatline, x7 folding stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbalizers, or evil
Strengths: Accurate
Best range
looks good
Weaknesses: Breaks balls a little easier
Needs high quality paint
Review: Not much to say just this is a great upgrade if not the best barrel to get for the tippmann x-7. I would only suggest this barrel for woods ball which this gun is intended for. adds over twice the distance and accuracy seems to be just as good as any other barrel. I would recommend keeping your FPS at around 275-300 for best results.
Conclusion: GET this barrel it will be your best investment for your gun. BEST barrel for the X-7
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media