paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 / Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007

Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Spyder Sonix comes with an all new Delrin bolt with a pull pin top cocking knob making it easy to clean the breach of the marker in between games. With one pull of the top cocking knob a player can slide the entire Delrin bolt out of the marker and gain easy access to all internal portions of the breach for field cleaning.

Sonix Features

> Re-designed Contour Body Milling
> 9.5 Inch Aluminum Barrel
> Vertical Feedneck
> Dusted Matte Finish Anodizing
> Pull Pin Top Cocking Knob
> Delrin Bolt Construction
> Quick Disconnect Pin
> One Piece Velocity Adjuster/Spring Guide
> Ergonomically Designed Composite Trigger Frame
> Two Finger Trigger
> No-Slip Rubber Grip Panels
> Standard CA Thread Vertical Adapter
> Low Pressure Chamber
> Aluminum Fore Grip
> Inline Bottom-line ASA
> Stainless Steel Braided Hose
> Compatible with CO2 or Compressed Air

Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Sonix 2007 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
paintbfinatic Saturday, March 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have never seen a marker chop as much
Marker Setup: a smart parts ion with a stock body and barrel with a empire view loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new marker
Strengths: -looks good
-easy to clean
-VERY air efficient
-accurate
Weaknesses: Chops all of the time, even the tourney paint.
Review: Me and a friend both went in on a box of midnight paint and he was using an MR1 and i was using a sonix. He didn't chop a single ball the whole day and i chopped about every other 5th shot. i spent the whole day cleaning my gun and after it got clean i would go back out and chop again. i won't even give the gun away to my friends because i don't want them wasting there money on paint.
Conclusion: - Not the best gun for the money
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Y2KpbCaptain Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom (not really similar but w.e.)
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: SP Ion
All American/Freak Barrel
Firebolt
SP 360 QEV
Clamping Feedneck

Spyder Sonix
J&J Ceramic Barrel
Anti-Chop Bolt System
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Somewhat Accurate with a nice barrel
Weaknesses: Breaks constantly
Pieces of the gun literally fell apart while using it
chops balls
Review: I bought this gun on ebay for $60 because i didn't know anything bout paintball and thought it was an upgrade from my Tippmann 98 Custom but it wasn't. This gun was much worse than my tippmann 98 and it broke about 3 times for me in the first couple of weeks i had it. Eventually i got sick of how crappy the gun was and it was more trouble than it was worth so i sold it.
Conclusion: The fact is that i have used alot of Spyders, SP Vibes and Ions, and a few tippmanns but this was the worst gun i ever shot. As i was playing one day when i first got it. I moved up in a game so after i ran to the bunker i lifted my gun again and saw that it had literally fallen apart on me
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

P8INTBALL4LIFE Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
MR1,ICON X, VIEWLOADER TRITON,
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 all stock.... i,m a noob... and my old gun is a spyder sonix 2007
Recommended
Upgrades:
A NEW BARREL OF COURSE!! the old one is like a pistol barrel...
Strengths: Dosen,t chop,Consistent,Pretty fast,Good Power,
Weaknesses: Barrel sux.... it can get kinda inconsistent in velocity at times...
Review: The Spyder Sonix 2007 is a great marker 4 a new player it hardly ever chops is pretty fast 4 a semi auto... and is a good looking marker... the only minor bugs are that if u pick a sonic up ur gonna need a better barrel... and sometimes the velocity gets real squirrely... but some upgrades on air should fix that.... all in all for the price the sonix is a good marker.... but definitly not 4 the advanced player..... i find the spyder MR1 to be a much nicer gun and worth the xtra cash........
Conclusion: Good gun 4 the beginner but really just the beginner..........
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint Rain Monday, February 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder Sonix
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel
upgrade the trigger frame
bolt
Strengths: NEAVER CHOPS With NO ACS
reliable - neaver had any problems as far as shooting goes.
Weaknesses: mechinacal trigger frame is O.K.
the screws come loose. But its an easy fix
Review: The sonix is a pretty good stock gun for the price. It has just a standard bolt, but it will once in a blue moon chop a ball. I shot 2 cases of paint yeserday and didnt chop 1 paint ball.

It runs only CO2, but its a pretty efficient gun.
Conclusion: I would deffenatly recomend this gun to any one just getting into paintball. I would say it is one of the best mechinecal guns out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

newbieballer50 Wednesday, January 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle (wasnt very good) Tippmann 98 Custom (didnt shoot it enough to know)
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix'07, 16" SP linear barrel, stock hopper / co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, stock is ok but needs improvement
Strengths: Somewhat accurate, Firing rate(for me), looks good in red, cheap, Easy to disasemble
Weaknesses: A little bit loud none other than that
Review: This gun works great for begginers (which i am), over all good gun for anybody, in other words get this gun you'll like it alot i think you should look into this gun it performs well enough for most people and is easy to disasemble on the go and stock barrel is easy to clean
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun, in the value or pro pack it is cheap
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zacwilzon65 Thursday, January 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sonix, E-99, Pilot
Marker Setup: The complete set mask, tank , hopper, barrel, elbow.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrell
Strengths: Double trigger, Great speed.
Weaknesses: Accuracy, Uses to much CO2 to quick!
Review: I think the gun is sorta good for a gun just for fun! but my friend let me use it for a game and it was horrible. the accuracy was off! the co2 cable came lose, it was just a mess! It is just sorta good gun and all but i know i will stick with Tippmann!
Conclusion: I think overall it was an okay gun maybe there are good and his is just bad!
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZAQ9515 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix 2007
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel, Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Light weight, compact, accurate,
Weaknesses: Chops the balls
Review: This gun is great. It continues to chop the balls however. My friend has the same exact gun. His doesn't chop them a often. Great other wise. Light and powerful. The barrel is a little short for my liking. It's very easy to take apart and clean. An electric hopper makes it a lot better.
Conclusion: If you have 50 bucks more I would get an electric one. Its nice to have options on full auto.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 19th, 2008 at 12:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

k-tap Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pro-carbine-rental, incomparable
Marker Setup: Sonix '07
turbo loader
SP linear 14''
12 oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
better Hopper -before better barrel
barrel
expansion chamber or anti-siphon tube, anti-siphon tubes are better.
new feedneck
Strengths: Quick strip
Very light
Upgradeable
Good stock barrel
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull
Chops
Feedneck
Review: price: this marker comes for an excellent price, you can get everything you need as a start up package for well under $100. i got mine for $90 and then used the extra $10 dollars i saved to get necessary items like oil, anti-fog, and squeegees.

barrel: the barrel is actually fairly accurate for a stock. i have heard that it is more accurate than a stock 98 custom, but i have no personal experience to back this up. the porting on the front is too short to reduce noise a considerable amount, but i guess it helps. also the barrel is 9.5 inches which is longer than the industry standard of 8.5. this barrel doesn't self clean, and when you get a break, you accuracy goes down the tubes.

bolt: the bolt is a top cocking pull pin delrin bolt. the delrin is great as it does not weigh anything and improves you cyclic time, also is has no venturi, which is good. the best part about this bolt, and possibly the marker over all is the pull pin cocking nob that allows for a very quick field strip. what you can do is pull up on the cocking nob, which disengages the bolt from the striker, and allows you to pull the whole bolt out of the marker, leaving the upper tube open for cleaning. this is great as if you get a break you can clean all of the top of tube your marker without risking losing springs and o-rings from the lower tube. also you can oil your striker without actually having to take it out of the marker. literally you can field strip this marker, you could actually do it during a game. there are only two possible problems that could arise with this bolt. delrin can swell if it becomes too wet, this usually happens if you have low quality delrin. this though has not happened to me and it can be prevented by just wiping down your bolt (which you can easily remove from your marker) if it gets wet with paint. the second problem is that dirt could possibly fall past your bolt and into the lower tube of the marker, though this has a small possibility because it would have to fall in during the time your bolt is cycling forwards. even if it did though it would be easy to clean out.

trigger: it is a standard double trigger, with a pretty long pull. you cannot adjust the trigger pull in any way without modifying the marker. though you could do some home grown adjustments and mods pretty easily.

feed neck: the gun comes with the standard spyder clear plastic feed neck. i have heard that these break easily but that hasn't happened to me yet. my biggest problem with this feed neck is that is raises your hopper so ridiculously high above your marker it almost looks comical. also a pet peeve of mine with it is that the screws to tighten it are on the short side and it is really easy to have them fall off when you are un-tightening your hopper.

Grips: the grips on this marker i have to say are very good for a stock gun. they are this rubber plastic composite. they are grippy, even through gloves, but not too soft that they can be damaged easily. on the other hand there are no grips on the gas-through fore grip, but that can easily be fixed.

other: this marker has some other non-part related pros and cons. the marker is very light, with my full setup weighing about 3 pounds. this is great for mobility and getting to bunkers faster, which is great if you like to play dagger. also a great benefit to this marker is the large amount of after market upgrades for it. a problem with this marker though is chopping. even though the trigger pull is fairly long, the low pressure chamber combined with the delrin bolt lead to a very fast cyclic time (for a stock mech.) so it is easy to out shoot you hopper and chop a ball. that is why i recommend getting a better hopper before getting a better barrel. you could buy an ACS bolt for it too, but i have not found one that fits the new '07 models. also remember to check you screws between games, and make sure you brought your allen wrench with you, because they like to start coming loose. lastly i have heard that some of them need tuning out of the box, as you cannot turn the velocity low enough. this did not happen with me. this can be easily fixed by cutting off a piece of the spring and then re-stretching it to the right length. remember one coil is about 10fps.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for beginners as it delivers adequate performance at a very good price. it has it's few faults, but these will be easily fixed as you upgrade for higher performance anyways. i completely recommend this marker to any one who has decided to start playing paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 3rd, 2008 at 1:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sportplayer5or7 Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
stock barrel
Strengths: Doesnt chop
fast
accurate
light
Weaknesses: Trigger is heavy
little loud
stock barrel
Review: This is a good gun, very good for a beginner. Its fast accurate and light. It is also is very cheap i would defenitly recomend. I do like this gun and it is very fast and accurate. It never chops, out of 300 balls mabey 1 or 2 will chop if that.
Conclusion: All in all this is a good cheap product and i would recommend it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Waywardson1 Tuesday, December 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipp 98 custom pro, spyder elite, A-D, Pilot, Ego
Marker Setup: Expansion chamber, kingman ACS delrin bolt, kingman fast 9v LED hopper, Kingman esp auminum trigger frame IPI 30
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, expainsion chamber
Strengths: Light(maybe its cause im so muscular) , fast fun, easy maintnance
Weaknesses: Stock barrel dents/scratches easily, air leaks through trigger frame.
Review: ROCKS MORE THAN SPONGEBOB SINGING GOOFY GOOBERS.... YAA. Its pretty sweet. Ask your dealer how to take it apart to clean, and then practice so you can do it fast and efficiantly. (thats what she said). I'll answer any questions you throw at me... (not to hard... please?) I took its out and it owned... nuff said... no ill go on. That stock barrel dents and scratches easily. You really should get to know it inside and out. Carefull on how fast you pull the trigger. Suggested to get expansion chamber
Conclusion: NEW HOpPER.. Its really good. Stock still blows, but id get a new one
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 12th, 2008 at 9:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media