paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Elite Barrel Kit / J&J Performance Edge Elite Barrel Kit / J&J Performance Edge Elite Barrel Kit

J&J Performance Edge Elite Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Elite Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Elite Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unquestionably the most technically advanced perecision-machined barrel system ever designed. Every back half in the set is measured three times for accuracy and engineered to greatly increse the performance of your marker and game. This powerful combination, combined with our exclusive ceramic coating, promotes reduced friction and increases the accuracy level of your gun tremendously.

The top of the line Edge System to make you the ELITE player. You'll be able to shoot every brand of paint on the market with complete accuracy. With 5 control bores (.682, .685, .688, .691, .693) and five length tips of your choice; 8", 10", 12", 14", and 16".

Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Elite Barrel Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
protoman350 Tuesday, August 30th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Full Freak, Armson Stealth. Evil kits.
Marker Setup: A-5, 98c flatline, J&J edge barrel kit, x-7 valve, techt vortex and lightening rod., palmers stab, .
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any but i've been getting good ACS lately.
Strengths: Very Accurate, Cleans through breaks if you get any. Matte finish.
Weaknesses: Scratches easier than most barrels.
Review: I've had this Kit for around 4 years. They have updated the kit to have non tapered fronts and also have added 2 new backs. (.679-.676). I dont have the new backs but the paint I have been getting is around .685-.682 so i dont necesarily need them. I purchased and 8"front and the apex adapter from J&J directly and mounted a apex tip on it. Let me tell you this is a wicked set up. Its a relatively small setup but I loose no distance with the apex tip. Accuracy doesnt seem to be effected by the apex tip as well. I cant give any distances and and shot on shot examples but in my experience i've outshot all sorts of other players using much more expensive guns and setups, including other barrel systems. For the most part whereever I aim my marker a paintball goes pretty much where I aim. I have no complaints with this barrel kit.
Conclusion: I would highly recomend this to anyone with a mil sim setup, speedball as well but it might not "match" your spacegun. Bascically with my A-5 shooting the way it does I have zero intention of buying any type of electronic crap thats out there now. I can run with them all day long and hold my own. Spray and pray is for people who cant aim.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 1st, 2011 at 10:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sydarm Sunday, June 19th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts full Freak kit
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 pro act, 68/45, J&J Edge, Ricochet2k
Spyder SE, 12oz co2, Freak kit, Extreme Rage hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: The kit has ample bores and tips and comes with a good case.
Weaknesses: They scratch easier than I would like, but that is to be expected with ceramic.
Review: I am very pleased with the performance of this barrel kit. I was able to pick it up for 100 dollars, which is below any true competition that I know of. These barrels are even lighter than I expected and clear paint after a break within a few shots. The included carry case holds my 5 backs and 3 fronts quite nicely...a wonderful bonus.
Conclusion: I couldn't recommend this kit any higher. It is high quality and offered at a price that I couldn't ignore.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 19th, 2011 at 11:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Wednesday, June 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Barrel, Deadly Wind, various one piece barrels (lapco, smart parts)
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
APE Board
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Halo V35
PMI 50/45 Carbon Fiber Tank
Stinger Paintball Designs Grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Accurate
Various Lengths
Light
Weaknesses: Finish
case
Review: Got this barrel kit to replace the stock barrel on my Dangerous Power G3. The barrel comes in a simple cloth case that has open sides and top, kinda like a taco that you can open. The case a series of elastic loops that hold the various components in place. Although effective i would have liked to see a case that protected the barrel a little more, such as the freek barrel case or CP barrel case. The barrel itself is awesome. J&J quality and the ability to shoot through breaks is still the main selling point of this barrel system. People have reported the front and back making a horrible noise when assembling the barrel but i didnt find that with mine. The Kit comes with 5 backs as follows
.682 .685 .688 .691 .693. The fronts come with 10" 12" and 14" lengths. The finish is a matte black color, the same as the basic J&J ceramic. I would have liked to see more color options available, however the black is fine. This barrel weighs about the same as the stock G3 barrel, and therefore didnt add to the weight of my marker. The accuracy is spot on, even with the 10" tip it preformed very well. No major variance with the shots that i could notice in respect to grouping or velocity.
Conclusion: Overall a very nice kit for the price, preforms just as well as the freek and almost as good as the deadly wind barrels for less money. I give it a 9 out of 10, one point off for lack of color options and a poor case.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rlseuro Thursday, June 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smartparts 14 inch, stock barrels
Marker Setup: spyder pilot '05 ACS
J&J elite barrel kit
spyder trinity feedneck
spyder virtue board
upgrade spyder volumizer (ok it might not help much but it looks awesome
trinity sticky grip
Spyder fasta 9V led hopper
trinity clamping feeder
madman spring kit
ACS delrin bolt
20oz co2 with anti syphon
smartparts .689 bore 14 in barrel
also have a spyder tlx with trigger spring, volumizer, vertical clamp upgrades, empire reloader or the BEST grav hopper ever, the tacmo arc
also have the j&j barrel kit and spare spartparts barrel for that too (its the wifes)
laser dot sight
madman spring kit - 6 piece
Recommended
Paintballs:
any really that have good seems and low of any dimples, i use fluid monsoon, great stuff
Strengths: variety, accuracy, adaptability, velocity, quiet, J&J rock
Weaknesses: Some may not like the matt black, change the orings no .689 bore size
Review: ok so I tried this out on my own paintball practice field, I used my laser sight lined up to se how accurate it was. I shot about 50 balls from around 60-70 yards, the grouping was awesome, 4 inches apart if that There is just about every barrel attachment plus 3 lengths of the main barrel, I tend to go with the middle size (10-12inch??) works great for me. It doesnt have a .689 which is no biggy cos if I have issues with any paint swelling or happen to have a differnt paint that works better with 689 I just use the smartparts barrel (can evern store it in the j&j kit bag of you put 2 of the small add on j&j bore sizes in one slot. The most amazing thing is I picked this up onlie google it cos im not supposed to give link, but google it and in the search put J&J elite kit $88
Very accurate barrel with the right paint which as everyone knows, is very important. but bore sizes are no longer an issue.
can pretty much shoot any decent paint, even the crap stuff (but the crap stuff still sucks). Velocity DEFINATELY improves if you use the right bore paint for the barrel . But remember even if it fits fine one day, it may not a week later with the same paint , recommend checking the barrle to bore test (blow a ball hout to see ifit fints good)depending how you store it (the paint)
It is curious how the pic shows colored adaptors, but mine are all black........doesnt bother me, its sexier that way.
if you have something like a kingman spyder it WILL improve your game
some complain about the screw noice, but just screw slowly, its fine that way.
I would like to add, the orings arent very good, I havet had it "shake apart" like one or 2 have, bu t when i changed out the orings, was MUCH better, nice and tight
very highly recommended
Conclusion: its an awesome barrel set, very accurate once you get the right combo. I shot a thousand balls with no breaks or sways, Also I love the fact you dont have to take off the whole barrel 2 piece to change out a longer or shorter barrel (the j&j kit comes with 3 barrels,and 5 bore adaptors)
bore size adaptors are .682.684, .688.691, .693 (NEVER come across a time when I needed .689 instead of 693
this barrel set is a fraction of the cost of some, and very accurate and great. I recently changed out my velocity springs using a madman set of springs. definately better velocity, and no swayed balls
for $88, its a darn steal.
seriously check out this set and search the net for great deals, got mine for $88
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 18th, 2009 at 10:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matches007 Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP freak (not a solid back)
Python compression system (insert but friggin awesome!)
Aradus (adjustable barrel)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP, jj edge elite kit with apex tip, Revo II hopper, various tanks
Autococker trilogy tactical, python kit, jj ceramic barrel, evo II hopper, various tanks
Tippman A-5, various barrels, python kit, various tanks
Spyder Shutter, various barrels, python kit, various tanks
Rex R2, same as shutter setup, Evo II hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: construction
weight
ACCURACY!
Quiet!
Weaknesses: Not really bad, but they sound terrible when assembling the back to the tip.
Review: Light, accurate, quite, sexy
perfect kit. the solid back is so much better than the insert kits. doesn't feel flimsy @ all.
I have the complete kit ion threaded with 12", 14",16" tips and 5 backs. I have yet to break 1 ball after 7+ cases shot through it with my sp1! no joke this thing is so quiet. i added the apex tip and OMG! unreal, I never thought paintballs would act more like darts. seriously for the money i think its the best kit out there. oh and its J&J ceramic so that alone should say enough about it. it basically a jj ceramic barrel with bore sizers.
Conclusion: I couldn't be happier. get one. amazing how well this works. playing paintball since 96' and wish i had one sooner. its perfect.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sollo44 Friday, January 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i've not used any other two piece barrel systems
Marker Setup: Evil Minion 07
J&J Ceramic 2 piece barrel kit
crossfire 68 4500
empire B reloader
Recommended
Paintballs:
doesn't matter that's why you have a two piece barrel so you can match it to whatever paint you have.
Strengths: Its a two piece barrel
Weaknesses: It can shake appart.
Review: I purchased this barrel system for my new evil Minion 07. First off let me say I bought it from A-1 paintball.com. don't go there. there website said it would come with a 10 12 and 14 inch front and instead i got a 10 14 and 16 inch front. When i called about them they said that they were sorry but they could only send what the manufacturer had for them in stock. I would have been more understanding had they had a disclaimer on the sight saying subject to availablity or sizes could vary but they didn't. She then proceeded to tell me that they would offer me a 10% discount on a 12 inch barrel if i wanted one. Now that would simply have defeated the purpose of buying a two piece barrel to just get a 12 inch one piece barrel for the length.
Now the barrel itself is like all J&J barrels a GREAT barrel. The only downside is that it does not come with an o-ring so every once in a while you should check it to make sure it hasn't shaken loose. But even with that slight weakness this is still a great barrel. The ability to match paint to the back is invaluable and should you ever by some mishap break a ball it WILL shoot clean with just a few shots. Now if only i could find the front i want without having to pay $30 for it.
Conclusion: Though not perfect for the price it's well worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 23rd, 2009 at 4:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

graham802 Thursday, September 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic 14 Inch, Smart parts F.R.E.A.K, Boomstick

None really compare. Freak comes close.
Marker Setup: CCI Full VSC Phantom

UPS: J&J Elite Ceramic Barrel Kit, Dye stickies, Trigger shoe

*Coming soon: T-Stock, Red dot sight(High quality, not a cheapo one.)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind. With 5 backs you dont need to be choosy.
Strengths: Its adjustability is huge. 5 backs and 3 tips is nothing to sneeze at.
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: I bought this barrel at the pro shop yada yada yada came home grabbed some paint and some 12 grams, went out to the forest yada yada, on to the review.

When I see a tree. I hit a tree. End of story. Before, the stock barrel had some issues with roll-outs, etc. I was going to have to buy some ball detents. Not anymore. This thing has 5 YES 5 Backs, which can almost perfectly match ANY paintball. It adjusts from 12, 14 or 16 inches. Great porting.

A down side.

The finish scratches easy. There are huge marks where my pump has scraped over the barrel (to be expected)

However..

This isnt a huge weakness, and is no reason not to buy the barrel.
**QUIET** THIS THING IS SO F*CKING QUIET!! MY BUDDY 20 FEET AWAY CAN BARLEY EVEN HEAR IT.

**ACCURATE** Self explanitory.

**ADJUSTABLE** 5 BACKS 3 TIPS. Good game.
Conclusion: I will give it 9.5

Minus .5 for the scatching
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarkWombat Tuesday, August 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Proto SLG barrel
Dye Excel Barrel (Spyder)
J&J Ceramic 14" (Spyder)
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Trinity clamping feed neck
Empire Reloader 12V
Crossfire 47/3000 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that is good quality. That means no China ball and no old paint. As for bore sizes it doesn't matter, that's the whole reason you buy a barrel kit in the first place!
Strengths: PRICE!
Multiple tips
No inserts
Self cleans well
Excellent quality
Lightweight
Nice case
Weaknesses: Ceramic finish scratches easily
Looks...?
Review: ------ BACKGROUND :

After purchasing my Proto SLG I was already looking to get a new barrel. The stock barrel is a pretty large bore and it reduced my choices for paint. I was having some problems with accuracy and I knew it wasn't the gun that was the problem, it was the paint to bore match.

So I did some research. I already owned a J&J Ceramic for my Spyder Xtra and it was a great barrel. I hadn't played paintball for years though before buying my SLG and I knew the market had to have changed a lot. But in terms of barrels, not much is different. Dye and Smart Parts still make the same overpriced, flashy barrel kits. And J&J still makes excellent barrels that may not be so flashy but perform superbly for a fraction of the cost.

------- FIRST IMPRESSIONS:

So I bought the J&J Edge kit online for $70 (no local stores carry J&J, I checked around first!). My kit came with 5 control bores and two tips, a 10" and a 14". I immediately got to playing around with the barrel kit.

J&J has done it again! Excellent build quality, a very lightweight barrel and at a great price. The kit includes o-rings to ensure a tight fit. I'd recommend using them as a few shots from my SLG made the barrel back a little lose. Using the o-rings keeps it secure. The barrels have an excellent mirror internal finish. Trying out some cheap paint on my own yielded great results once I found the right bore size. After shooting a hopper of paint I checked the inside of the barrel and there was a small amount of oil but nothing serious A quick squeegie through the barrel and it was good as new.

----- FIELD DAY:

First day of playing with the Edge Kit was very enjoyable in the end. I started off using field paint (Bonus Balls...blech) and the accuracy was as good as can be with cheap, dimply, crappy paint. I had good range and minimal curving. I bought a case of WPN Toxic off some other guys and my accuracy jumped tenfold. Range exceeding 100', tight spread and NO curving. I was very impressed.

Being so used to the mechanical safety of the Spyder Xtra, I hadn't gotten fully used to turning the SLG off when I didn't want to fire. With the barrel sock on, I managed to bump the trigger and fire a paintball in to the sock, which broke and oozed all over the barrel. I cleaned off the outside of the barrel tip with my jersey and dry fired a couple shots and it was almost good as new. A squeegie run through and that awesome mirror finish was back. Self cleaning heaven!

----- OTHER THOUGHTS:

This barrel is great but a couple negative things stood out. The ceramic finish shows small scratches pretty easily. I can run my fingernail down the barrel and it will show a scratch. The scratches go away with some microfiber cloth but it's a little unsightly. And, like other J&J barrels, there's no flashy oogly designs. That might bother some people but I could care less. It's an understated, awesome barrel. It's not the same black color as my black SLG but it blends in well enough. Shoots on rails though and that's what I want in a barrel.
Conclusion: Barrel kits are a great piece of equipment to have. They let you find the best bore match for virtually any paintball, and the J&J Edge kit with its five bore sizes does a great job. It's less than half the price of a Freak Jr. kit and it doesn't use crappy inserts. It's great at self cleaning and it's light weight. What more could you want in a barrel system?

The bag that came with the kit has extra room to hold my two 14" Spyder barrels as well which is pretty cool. You also get two or three tips which means you essentially have two or three barrels at once should you decide to lend a barrel to a friend.

If you're looking for a functional barrel system for a great price, then you owe it to yourself to check out the J&J Edge kit. Trust me and the other reviewers here, you're getting a whole lot for your money. In a sport where so much of the equipment is grossly overpriced, it's nice to see a company make something that works well AND is priced well.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 12th, 2008 at 11:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bronco1488 Monday, April 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Crossfire 3000 psi tank
Offset hopper
J&J elite edge barrell kit
Tech T Squishy paddles
Shocktech relocator bar
Rufus Dawg Double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Takes any paint
matches gun
very accurate
3 tips
Made by J&J
Weaknesses: Sometimes breaks paint but you can shoot through it
Review: The edge kit is the best burn for your buck barrel kit on the market it is a very accurate well constructed barrel the honing is fantastic. the only problem I had was barrel breaks and I shot through them in one shot it uses any kind of paint and works well I love this barrel kit I think it is the best on the market.
Conclusion: It is a good product for the price. Works very well for the A-5. it is a solid must buy barrell for the gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannCCI Monday, November 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic
Werks
Phantom barrel
Freak
Marker Setup: Tippmann 20th Anniversary Limited Edition
JCS Combat folding stock
Ricochet Apache
J&J Edge

CCI Phantom VSC
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, its a kit preferably round ones though... squares dont work....
Strengths: Versatality
cool lookin
self cleaning
quiet
Weaknesses: Kinda hard for me to unscrew, o-ring seems a little big
Review: I purchased this kit about 8 months ago and let me just say it is very awsome.
The barrel is versatile because , duh its a kit.
Its very quiet do to the etensive amount of porting on the last half of it
The kit performs just a well as the barrels uch more expensive then it and it beats the freak because not only s it cheaper, you have no fragile inserts to deal with.
The only bad things i have been able to find for it is that when i realy crank down to tighten he barrel the oring on it seems to keep it locked up pretty tight, i usually have to wait a while to unscrew it.
Besides that i guess some people will be a little disspointed that it only comes in a black dust.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel i have ever used.it does exactly what it is supposed to. The only way this thing will miss is with your help. While i normally dont give tens this thing is closer to a ten then a nine so ill give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media