paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DeadlyWind Fibur Carbon Fiber Barrel / DeadlyWind Fibur Carbon Fiber Barrel / DeadlyWind Fibur Carbon Fiber Barrel

DeadlyWind Fibur Carbon Fiber Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DeadlyWind

Buy DeadlyWind Fibur Carbon Fiber Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DeadlyWind Fibur Carbon Fiber Barrel
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Deadlywind Fibur (previously named Wisper) carbon fiber barrels are ultra-lightweight, accurate, and quiet. They are compatible with the Freak(tm) replaceable inserts, so one barrel and a few inserts will do the job of multiple barrels.

Weighing in at an average 46grams (59 grams with insert), they are 2x to 4x lighter than other replaceable insert barrels.

Unlike other carbon fiber barrels, the Wisper barrel is built with a unique 3 layer construction. 2x2 satin Twill external, uni-direction fibers laid up in a strong multi-vector pattern, and then a super slick "Silkfiber" inside that can be safely swabbed. CNC align-bored segment for the insert area, CNC-ported with 3 spiraling rows of ports, and then hand-assembled and quality checked-- You can't get any more accurate.

Already have inserts? Just buy the barrel by itself. Need an insert to go with it? Buy one or go with the 3x inserts and save!

Currently available for:

- Autococker(tm) thread, which fits many markers, including:
Autococker
Intimidator
ULE Automag
Xmag
Freestyle
Ego
Cyborg
Quest
DM
Promaster
Onyx
Mini

- SmartParts Thread, which fits:
Ion
Impulse
Nerve
Shocker NXT

- Shocker SFT thread

- "Old" Angel (pre-G7 Fly) Thread
Product Availability 
The DeadlyWind Fibur Carbon Fiber Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
venomsnake33 Thursday, September 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
sly dual carbon, dye ultra light, shaft 5, and stock barrels
Marker Setup: Fusion Fx blue/silver with dealy winds carbon fibur barrel. With Dye Rotor white camo, DXS Draxus carbon fiber 68/4500 HPA tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Preminum paintballs work very well with this barrel with a 0.689 insert
Strengths: Light, accurate, inserts.
Weaknesses: Inconsistant at first (read review).
Review: Deadly Wind Carbon Fibur barrel is a great barrel. It is the lightest barrel ive ever seen. I have a 12 inch with a 0.689 inset which is great. The only problem i have had with the barrel is that it was very inconsistant when i first got it, if you stick with it and break it in, it will shoot great.
Conclusion: It is a very good barrel, im happy with it, be sure to give it a chance and break it in and it will be fine
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jay3303 Monday, May 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J edge barrel kit, freak kit, cp barrel.
Marker Setup: WGP 2004 prostock autococker, CCM Deluxe Pump Kit, a + machine delrin bolt and pin, CP regulator, stock internals with green-green maddman springs, NDZ on/off ASA, and deadlywind fibur barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Top grade paint is the best ofcourse, mid grade paint is ok but don't expect the accuracy you'd get with top grade paint, and low grade paint would just be a waste.
Strengths: Super light even with ss inserts
freak inserts
consistency
quality finish
swabbable
self cleaning
accurate
Weaknesses: Absolutely nothing yet.
Review: Ok, so I'm not going to make this too long but I'll write enough so you get the point of this review.
I got this barrel from my local store a couple of weeks ago and have only used it a few times. I compared this barrel to my other barrels to test the accuracy of these barrels and the loudness of them. The deadlywind barrel aren't much quieter than the freak barrel kit but there is a bit of a difference, accuracy was just a little bit better with the deadlywind but it was definitely noticeable.

I don't have a scale so I can't actually measure all the barrels I have but I can tell you that this DW barrel is LIGHT!!!! They are also very durable, they may feel like they'd break easily but these barrels are more durable than any other barrel out there.

I only used the DW barrels once in a game but I was really accurate, my snap shooting was dead on and I was hitting exactly what I was aiming for. I used marbs on this day so the paint along with the barrel had alot to do with my accuracy that day.
Conclusion: I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a cheap barrel kit that is top quality, especially if you already have inserts for it. This barrel is truly a great barrel and is worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hatermaker Sunday, January 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used every carbon fibre barrel that has been out since 2003
Marker Setup: cross fire 45 45, rotor, etek 2 with star frame, zick kit, tech t hush bolt, qev,
Recommended
Paintballs:
any evil is best
Strengths: Light, quiet,
Weaknesses: Price but compared to others its worth millions
Review: I got the barrel after having a sly and pepper stick and invert knight stick I got sick of bouncing aroung I firts shot this barrel on a dye dm 8 and it was money and very honestly literally ball on ball as acurate as a barrel can get. I will never shoot anything else, if they made them illegal in the sport I would quit. I used to shoot alot more paint but by getting the barrel it may have cost 90 but it has saved me thousands on paint.
Conclusion: Get it the sooner the better it might cost you now but save you later.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZORN Monday, June 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Site Mfg MF .691 14"
Freak All American 12"
Marker Setup: Ego 09 Vicious Grey/Pol.Grey
Deadly Wind 16" with Freak Inserts
Empire Prophecy Smoke Standard Front (no RF)
Custom Products 48ci 4500psi LP
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer
Strengths: Good fit with Ego 09
Works with Freak inserts
Weaknesses: Freak inserts were tricky to remove when oily
Review: DECISION TO BUY
I was having a difficult time with field grade paint accuracy using the stock barrel for my Ego (.693") and my Site Mfg MF barrel (.691") . I already had a Freak insert kit for a different marker. Rather than just buy another Freak back, I wanted to keep the carbon fiber barrel, but have the ability to match bore size to the paint.

PRODUCT QUALITY
The surface finish both inside and outside appear smoother on the Deadly Wind than the MF barrel. I prefer the Tri-Linear porting on the version I purchased. The carbon fiber barrel is secured well to the aluminum back. Good machining quality.

MARKER THREADS
The Ego stock barrel and the MF both use a gasket to keep the barrel from vibrating loose. The Deadly Wind does not have a gasket for the marker threads. During gameplay I did have to do one quick quarter-turn to retighten the barrel. This only happened once, but it's one area for improvement.

FREAK INSERTS
Freak inserts fit snugly into the barrel. The inserts sit flush with the end of the barrel. Once the insert became slippery it was a little tricky to remove. I had to use a straight shot squeegie to push the insert out.

PERFORMANCE
I was surprised at the accuracy. The Ego is designed to sling paint, not necessarily one ball sniper style. During a scenario game, the Ego and the 16" Deadly Wind were a great combo. Fast and furious for front line play, and consistency for long ball tactical fire.

LOUDNESS
I wasn't paying attention to the sound signature. But then again, neither were the targets. It was kind of fun using the Deadly Wind to take pot shots on forts, and if I stayed off the trigger, the defenders weren't able pin-point my location.
Conclusion: If you already have Freak insert kit, this is a great buy. The Deadly Wind is unique that it combines the accuracy of inserts, the weight and looks of carbon fiber, and great porting. Highly recommended. Due to the minor design issues, it rates a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teckkid11 Thursday, April 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JJ Performance Ceramic 16" WAY WORSE
Stock A5 Barrel WAY WORSER
Marker Setup: A5 W/ Response Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
.691 bore
Strengths: Accurate, No breaks, Amazing, Quiet, Strong
Weaknesses: Seems fragile, but isnt
Review: This barrel is amazing. I cant even being. Please get it. It is very accurate, very quiet, and it looks really good. These barrels seem to run long. I have a 16" and it is very long in appearance. I think its sick. I love rippin full auto response trigger through it without breaks. I definately reccommend it,
Conclusion: This barrel is amazing. I cant even being. Please get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sandman_Bravo Saturday, August 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
S.P. All American
J&J S2 Ceramic
S.P. Linear
Dye Ultralight
Marker Setup: 06 ShockerSFT
APE Rampage board
Deadly Wind Fibur Barrel
Freak kit
Hybrid Bolt Guide
Hybrid 15* asa/va
Empire Re-loader B
Crossfire 68/4500 N2 tank
FBM locking feedneck
Smart Parts HE bolt
NDZ EZ-Turn Ultra-Lite Rail-ASA Combo w/ air bleed
Free-Flow trigger
NDZ snatch grip
CP reg
MacrolineGuy colored fittings
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever fits the freak inserts best- ...duh!
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Lightweight
Takes Freak inserts
looks
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: I just got this barrel for my Shocker SFT and it shoots great. It is about the same loudness as my All American but is much more accurate. My barrel came with the porting drilled in straight lines down the length of it. There was a guy on the Deadly Wind store web-site who submitted a review of it there, and he critisized it for having spiral drilled porting. Maybe they've changed it? I don't see how that would hinder anything anyways. This is a great barrel especially for the price, and you can swab it unlike the Stiffi. Mine doesn't look overly polished inside like an aluminum barrel does but I think that's just carbon fiber. It shoots better than any aluminum I've tried and that's what matters.
Conclusion: If you are like I was and "sitting on the fence" about whether to buy it or not; buy it- you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 30th, 2008 at 7:05 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

isaacs18 Sunday, August 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil pipe Kit
Stock Barrel
Freak with AA Front
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Tech L7 Bolt
Deadlywind Fibur barrel with SS Freak inserts
360 QEV
Fully Upped Empire B2
Scenario Dreams T-board
Function rail
Proto On/Off
Custom Grips

CCI Phantom
Dye Stickies
Acid green anno
Matching L-stock
Matching trigger shoe
Barrel bored for SS Freak inserts
Spyder feedneck with holes for OC
15 round feedtube for SC
Back mounted 13cui 3000psi Air tank
Matching Ghost ring
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any since its a kit but High quality is always better
Strengths: Barrel kit
3 ball self cleaning
Deadly accurate
Very light
Very Quiet
Weaknesses: Expensive (If you don't already have the inserts)
Review: This is my favorite barrel ever!!!! I have compared it to a standard freak kit with All American front. The DW is WAY more accurate, slef cleans better, and is much quieter.

The old problems with these (sloppy threading and wiggling inserts) have now been fixed. There is an oring inside the barrel to hold the inserts perfectly in place.

I can't stress enough to get this barrel! It will be the last barrel you ever buy! But most importantyl, buy the Stainless steel freak inserts, not the aluminum ones. Yeah, they are more expensive but they:
won't break if you drop them (unlike Al)
are accuratly marked (aluminum ones you have no clue what size they are)
won't expand with temperature
have better honing so better accuracy.
Conclusion: Um, if you skip over this barrel, your missing out on life. Its the best thing money can buy.

Gets an 11 out of 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tridecaphi Friday, August 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Freak barrel, ego 08 stock barrel
Marker Setup: Ego 08 with Magna RF chip
Empire Magna hopper
Kila Detents
14" Deadly Winds carbon fibur barrel
Freak 14" two piece barrel with SS insert kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Haven't had issues with house paint
Strengths: It's so light and accurate
Weaknesses: Potential durability issues being made of carbon fibur, but none I've experienced.
Review: Everyone told me when I bought the Ego08, it will throw a ton of paint, but it's just not accurate, that stock barrel is awful. My first time out using the stock barrel, I was unimpressed. At 100 feet and beyond I had to throw a ton of paint to hit the intended target. I did some research and found a lot of people spoke very highly of this barrel. I took it out to the target range and where my old stock barrel would hit within a 12" circle from 50 feet, I find the DW barrel is hitting within a 3-4" circle. MAJOR DIFFERENCE. At about 100ft I go from a 2+ft circle using the stock barrel too inside 12 inches. When you are trying to hit a backpack just sticking out behind a tree, doubling your accuracy is extremely helpful. It's got a great sound to it as well. I bought the SS freak kit off ebay used, came with the barrel. I would say the carbon fibur barrel is modestly better than the freak barrel, but not significantly. A lot of it seems to depend on the consistency of the paint you are using.

My only concern is long term durability. I've read some good comments of people whacking it pretty good without issue, but it is carbon fibur. That's why I didn't mind getting the freak barrel as a backup with the SS insert kit.
Conclusion: I'm very happy with my purchase and I would highly recommend it. Everyone tells me to go with the SS freak inserts, so, that's my suggestion as well, which means, it's a $200+ barrel if you can find the inserts like I did.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

John_hmstr Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP freak
old school Lapco stainless
SP All American
J&J ceramic
And many more.
Marker Setup: Smart parts ION with 360 QEV & L7v2 bolt
Deadlywind Carbon Fiber Isaria body shell
Hybrid bottom line rail with hybrid on/off ASA
68ci 4500psi CP HPA tank
Warp feed with modded intelliport activation and super hose
Low rise clamping feedneck
VL Evolution 3 hopper
Deadlywind Fiber barrel with SS freak inserts
Firemode: Rebound.
ROF: 0
Dwell: 12
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Marbs
JT Maxim
All-star
Ink
But then again with the freak inserts you got lots'o'options.
Strengths: Ultra Light
Shoots through breaks
Accepts freak inserts
Great accuracy
Swabbable a huge plus.
Weaknesses: No major flaws yet, will update if any.
Review: A while back a paintballing friend of mine got really excited about this barrel when he got one, but I was skeptical cuz he was in my opinion way to excited about what looked like just one of the over rated fad Carbon fiber barrels of the past. "Ehh I doubt its any better then the freak kit I already got" I said. But the first time I saw the system (and felt how light it was) and tried it out on my buddies’ marker I was intrigued and decided to get one for myself to give it a shot. Plus I already had the SS freak inserts that the barrel accepted (Deadlywind this was some serious marketing genius on your part, cheers.) so it wasn't even going to cost that much ($89 plus a couple of bucks shipping.) both points were a big plus. So I put in my order for a 12" and a few days later a box shows up at my place. At first I was confused cuz I picked the box up and found it hard to believe there was anything inside it was so light. Opened up the box and found there was a barrel inside but it was the lightest barrel I had ever felt. With the SS insert inserted it was considerably heavier but still one of the lightest I had ever used.

First use, the first test shots I fired were consistently accurate and quiet. Suffice it to say I was impressed.

The first day I took it out to the local field and put it to use I was beyond impressed. Consistently very accurate, quiet, light, sexy looking, and able to shoot through breaks with little to no loss in accuracy. Broke 2 balls all day and the first I couldn't even tell until the game was over and I was cleaning up and pulled a great gob of paint out of my barrel with my straight shot squeegee and said "holy crap! Look at all that paint I didn't even know I broke one."

I know some folks aren't going to believe my review because I am so impressed but that first day really made a believer and a Deadlywind fan out of a person who has had a 10+ year paintball career and is typically not easily impressed by the newest paintball fads.


I have been several times since and every time I am impressed again and again.


Ever since I was introduced to this barrel I don't think I will ever again be caught using a marker without a Deadlywind fiber barrel on the business end of it.


Also I would like to note I had zero problems with the freak inserts not fitting properly as other have reported. Not sure if I was just lucky or if Deadlywind has fixed that particular problem but they fit snugly and securely.)
Conclusion: Crazy light, very accurate, quiet, accepts freak inserts, shoots through breaks like a champ, and sexy looking to boot.

With freak SS inserts it’s my opinion that in my long experience this is the best overall barrel system I have ever used hands down!

In case you couldn't tell how much I liked this barrel... If it could I would be proud for this barrel to be the mother of my paintball love child. :-P
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008 at 11:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheGeneral Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sly Barrel Kit
Marker Setup: Ego ETEK
VLocity JR. with Virtue Chip
PureEnergy HP tank
DeadlyWind Fibur barrel 14
Recommended
Paintballs:
All good quality paint will do if you have the correct insert.
Strengths: CF Barrel
can rise and/or run squeege
Very Light
Extremely Accurate
Weaknesses: Barrel is a little loose when screwing into the marker
Review: I have been shopping around for a good barrel for some time now. I saw the DW for the first time at a local tournament, and was interested.
Up until I saw it I was saving my money for a Sly Dual carbon barrel kit. Other than the cash issue, I was also a bit skeptic about the fact that I could not clean it.
I had tried the SLY and it is a great barrel, but it's just too expensive with the backs.

The DW cost me half the cash with three inserts, and more important you can clean it without the worry of running the barrel! I ordered it directly from the site, and I received it in less than a week (and I am in Europe!!!).

The accuracy on this thing is great!! No more swerving shots because of bad paint barrel matches. I was ripping lines across the field with no problem.
My game improved significantly because I was hitting targets that I could not before.

The negative I found with the barrel is that the first few turns when I screw it into the marker, the threads are not a perfect match, and that perhaps over time with will cause wear and tear on the threads of the barrel, we will see. But this is only on the first few turns, after that it fits in perfectly, nice and snug.

I can't say anything about the noise because it not something that bothered me. The ETEK is a loud marker to begin with, something that I was used to.
Conclusion: I give this product an 8 because the thread is not a perfect match to my marker when I screw it in. but other than that there is nothing negative for me to say about the barrel, I love it.
Also, I would never give a 10 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 5:09 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media