paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Shutter Java / Kingman Spyder Shutter Java / Kingman Spyder Shutter Java / Kingman Spyder Shutter Java

Kingman Spyder Shutter Java Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Shutter Java

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Shutter Java
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 133
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Spyder Java Shutter has all the great features of the normal Shutter along with the new purple color.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Shutter Java is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
s2_dzl Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL Brawler- Ultra cheap and excellent marker 4 kids just getting in
tippy 98- ultra popular and reliable
Marker Setup: spyder shutter
shocktech bolt
ACI sub-zero 8 stage expansion chamber/ grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
stainless line, barrel, expansion chambers, regulator, eframe, HPA, bolt
Strengths: 1: Reliable
2: Doesn't break balls
3: Highly upgradable
4: Never "double-balls"
Weaknesses: 1: Low rate of fire
2: Eats gas
3: Bottom line leaks
4: Loud
Review: this ain't a bad marker. i got mine from a friend and overall it has been a reliable partner. the customization options are endless and heres my cocktail 4 the ultimate shutter.
1. kingman spyder e frame rolling trigger
2. on/ off ASA
3. stainless line
4. dye hyper3 regulator
5. trinity front block forward angle
6. expansion chamber
7. high flow valve
8. acs delrin bolt (rear cocking)
9. halo loader
10. dye ultralite barrel
11. virtue board
12. custom milling and eyes

Yes i am gonna do all that stuff, too. once i have the money. anyway the bottom line leaks at stock, so i suggjest that be replaced first w/ stainless once you get it...
Conclusion: I recommend this as a project gun cuz you can actually make it just as good as the high end markers w/ some creativity and a little bit of hard work.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jitters93 Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
M98c and pro carbine are the only other low-ends ive used
Marker Setup: -Trilogy competition
14" kaner
overdrive loader
---------------------------
-Smart Parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
12" progressive
halo backman
---------------------------
-05 Prostock
blackmagic c-rod
14" dye ultralite
halo frontman
---------------------------
-2k2 Black Magic
uni-mount on/off
10"&16" dye ultralite
Halo Backman
---------------------------
-Vision Impulse
strange bolt
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
Halo Frontman
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Bolt
Frame
New fore grip or chamber
Strengths: Pretty accurate
Light
Efficiency was great
Weaknesses: Odd trigger pull..
Lots of left over gas in marker after removing tank
Durability
ChopRate
Review: First off this is not my marker it is my homie Darrel's. Ive used it in 2 or 3 short games. Stock this gun is decent but could always use some upgrading. The accuracy with new paint using the stock was good but had a few barrel breaks, with older/cheapo paint the accuracy was defiantly nothing to be proud of, causing the occasional curve and a couple of barrel breaks a game. Like most spyders the feed neck needed an elbow and came with a beaver tail. The trigger how ever has such an odd pull. The trigger is extended almost to the end of the trig guard, the pull is short but heavy. Having the gun all stock with a feed elbow, full grav loader and 12oz tank the weight of the gun is pretty light. Also using the 12oz the gun was very effienct getting us almost 700+ shots (a 12oz usually delivers 600 shots). The thing i didn't like about this gun was that it isn't too durable sense my friends broke right in half. He sat on it actually.. trigger frame tore right off the body [he claims his cousin sat on it and not him].. ...
Conclusion: Well its a great starter gun if left stock with such great efficiency. just dont sit on it -.-
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 22nd, 2007 at 9:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shifter19 Saturday, March 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of other Spyders, old-school pumps and stingrays, tippman 98c and A-5 and a Bob Long Intimidator
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter Java Edition (Purple/Chrome)
12" CP Barrel
ESP Sprint Trigger Frame
CP Chrome Flame Drop
200rd. Gravity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (stock is "OK", your can still get by with it)
Electronic Trigger
Better Regulator if you play in under 70 degrees weather
Strengths: Extremly reliable. Never breaks, never chops. Chop to Not-Chop ratio 1:700
Weaknesses: Expansion Chamber doesn't do well under 70 degrees. N2 will fix it
Thats all!
Review: All in all this gun ranks high with all the low-end markers. The first game I played with my ESP Sprint Trigger Frame on my Shutter, I outgunned all the other Spyders playing (including a Sonix Pro with Halo and a 2k2 Intimadator) purely because no matter how fast I shot, there were no breaks and accuracy of a medium dinner plate at 30 yards. Never quits. Seriously. Every match I out gun all the other Spyders with my Shutter.

This was my first gun and what I started my paintball adventure with. Never lets me down, I'd recomend it to anybody. Newbie or many year veteran.
Conclusion: Get this gun. I got mine for a little over a hundred, which compared to how great it shoots, was a steal.
If you have the chance, GET THIS GUN!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 11th, 2007 at 11:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kspell41 Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Compact 2000
Marker Setup: 20oz. Tank, VL200, Shutter; in vertical cause grip and bottomline leak, and with espirt trigger, and smart parts all american
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything except bolt, especially regulator, bottomline, and barrel
Strengths: Bolt doesnt chop
Weaknesses: Everything possible leaks and stock barrel is terrible
Review: The first day I went to use it the grip and bottomline leaked. So after about a year of fighting the grip and the bottomline with teflon tape i finally just gave up an dplayed vertical. Now the vertical adapter has leak between it and the rest of the gun. I hate this gun. The only good thing about it is that the bolt is nice and doesnt chop.
Conclusion: Dont buy it
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Svendiesel Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Java Shutter with 32 Degrees 14" Night Stick, Dye Sticky 3 grip, Dead On bullet drop with Bob Long mini gauge, Pure Energy 68ci 4500psi hp N2 tank, VL 12v Revolution, and ADCO Sure Shot
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely new grips, a new barrel wouldn't hurt but I think the stock one is pretty aweosme.
Strengths: Accuracy, reliability, quality, and easy maintenance.
Weaknesses: Mechanically nothing, but the beavertail's edges are really sharp.
Review: I've had my Shutter for 4 years, and I only broke one ball once when I first got it; it was a Brass Eagle ball. Since then, I've used only Marballizers and I havent had a break since. Even if you try to it seems impossible to chop paint.
If you aim properly, what you want to hit will be hit, even with the stock barrel. I've never seen any drastic slices from the balls once they leave the barrel or any sudden drops. Once in a while you'll get a strange curve from a ball, but thats expected.
The gun is very well made and is incredibly easy to maintain. A few drops of oil once every so often to the bolt and hammer's o-rings are basically all you need to do. I'd suggest putting a piece of clear tape over the port hole on the powerfeed just to keep any unnecessary dirt or debris out.
When I had it stock, I never had any leaks anywhere, never had anything burst or break, and never had anything fail while playing, and still haven't had any problems. The one iffy part about it, which isnt even really a big deal, is that the edges on the beavertail could cut a well-done steak. Nevermind protection from the bolt, they needed to put on something to protect us from the beavertail!
Conclusion: Awesome gun for the low price, I'd put it up against some of the more expensive guns for sure.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 13th, 2006 at 12:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

suntzu_baller Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used numerous other spyders and clones (Xtra, imagine, sonix, etc.)
Honestly they are almost the same.
Marker Setup: Adrenalin Imp w/ blackheart
12in freak,
extreme rage feedneck,
empire rail & on/off
68/4500 aci
evo II w/z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACS bolt
New drop
New barrel
E-handle (if you want it)
Strengths: Durable
Decently accurate
Weaknesses: (it is a low level marker)
None really
Review: The shutter was the second gun I ever owned. I just now sold it and it was still in good condition and performed well. I played mostly woods with it and it was accurate and could also take a few hits.

I was able to shoot reasonably fast with it. For the price I got it for and the level of my play it was perfect. I only chopped a handful of times over the years and I was using a gravity feed hopper. Also since it's a spyder there are numerous mods and it is fairly simple to operate and maintain.
Conclusion: If you are just starting out and want a good marker to start off with and learn about, go for it. It won't let ya down.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whitedagger Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: well on my spyder shutter i havent really put a lot yet but for now i got an electro trigger and a 16 inch smart parts all american barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
supafly bolt, on mine i needed a new macroline hose setup, barrel (if you run out of things to upgrade) , and electric if you wanna keep up with your rich friends, and if you get a new frame then i would suggest getting a new hopper like a revy or an egg.
Strengths: ACCURACY!!!
pretty fast for a semi
price
Weaknesses: on mine I had a leak in the hose
Review: well i got mine for christmas and i was expecting a little more out of it but when i started to get more into paintball I relized it's not anything compared to those other high end markers. But for its class its a very good gun. It looks pretty cool for its class. The price on this marker is very reasonable.
Conclusion: i would recommend this product over the 32 degrees icon series and its an EXCELLANT for begginers
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulletcatcher Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
e-99, pirana classic, spyder classic, 04 vert. feed autococker
Marker Setup: spyder shutter java black, stock, 12oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
steel hose(macroline leaked at first), barrel
Strengths: Great first marker. pretty accurate, can be fast depending on the shooter, looks cool
Weaknesses: Ok at first i hated this marker. the first time i used it it leaked
Review: Good gun i dont feel like typing so good gun. good for newbies like me and many upgrades available. make sure you are careful if you take the beavertale off because the bolt could hit you in the face ouuuggghhh.i also like how easy this gun is to clean. you dont even need the manual.
Conclusion: Good gun especially for the price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnailPB Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann Pro Carbine
Brass Eagle Raptor
Tippmann A-5
Spyder Victor I and II
Spyder Imagine
Spyder E-Sprit
Marker Setup: Purple Spyder Shutter
22 Stage Expansion Chamber
14 '' All American Freak Front Barrel
Ricochet 2k
-Soon- (very soon...)
IPI 3.0 Frame
TigerShark Bolt
CIP sweet spot trigger
Dye Stickys 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (One that best matches the paint you use.)
If you can out a normal hopper stock (I could) a motorized hopper so you don't chop.
Electric Frame (IPI 3.0, or Sprint)
New Board.
New Trigger (CIP or slasher)
50g switch
If going LP
New Bolt
New Regulator (Palmer Stabalizer or AKA sidewinder for co2)
New Valve
Might as well get some spare cup seals.
Lighter Striker or Hammer.
Somewhere in there polish your internals and increase the airflow in your markers ASA.

You'll be good to go.
Strengths: Upgradable to the max.
Shoots fine out of the box.
Lots of home mods.
Weaknesses: Not as good as other high-end guns, but its good 4 the price.
Review: I got this gun a few years ago for my birthday. I must say, I have been impressed. It's kept up well and I have never chopped a ball. Right now I am converting mine into an electro. Later I plan on going to go LP. That is the beauty of this marker, you can upgrade almost anything on it, and when you get the money. You don't have to buy it all at one time. You can slowly turn your low end spyder into a gun capable of keeping up with any. There are also many home mods you can do to improve your gun without spending big bucks. I love this gun, and it is very easy to understand how it works. Great gun for beginner, but also serves you well as you advance onto local tournaments. My dad and brother also have one, and they love it as well. My brother has only chopped a ball once. However, if you get this spyder in particular, and you run into problems, make sure you understand the regulator. It fixed about 75% of the problems we had by just lowering or increasing the pressure from it. The onlt other problems we had would be because of loose parts or microline problems. Get steel braided hoses if you can, they really make a difference. Check ottersccustoms and the spyder-club for easy home mods you can do to this gun.

Just make sure you know how to clean it and stuff. It is very easy to do, and requires less time then most other markers I've seen. Just clean it after and before play, and It will last you years! Mine has!

Comparing this gun to other guns-
I find it easier to upgrade then most other tippmanns or spyder clones because not only are there more parts for them, but they come stock with alot of the parts you would have to upgrade on other guns. I highly recommend this gun over any other blow back, unless you can get an electro like fenix, pilot, imagine 04, etc. But then again, if you don't want to spend as much on those guns, this gun if perfect for the price. And you don't have to go upgrade crazy to make it good for rec or woodsballs, it's fine for just playing with friends out of the box. It rox!
Conclusion: Get this gun for any beginner. If you want a gun you can advance into tournaments with, this gun is perfect. A few upgrades can make it as good as those electro markers out there, with out spending over $500 dollars as well. Because of these great capabillites, minimal maintence, and low problems, I give this marker a 10 out of 10. Has lasted me these 3 years perfectly, feels the same as when I just got it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8ntballer9876 Saturday, June 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder shutter
3A nitro tank
shockteck bolt
viewloader evolution hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt
barrel
Strengths: drop forward
everything (except bolt and barrel)
Weaknesses: tail for bolt
bolt
Review: This gun is great for beginners and experts
with a new bolt and barrel and electric hopper it is the best gun ever!!!!!!
If you have the money u can put a electric trigger frame if u want it help a little of speed.
you can get a cheat barrel for the gun and works great but get a godd bolt
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media