paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt / DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt

DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DeadlyWind

Buy DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
HollowPoint features:
7.4 grams pretty much takes the cake for the lightest bolt.... ever?
Lowest kick.
Over twice the valve area and flow path as a stock Ion bolt. Opens faster, flows better.
Contiguous toroidal air flow path. No porting to break up the air flow.
Longer bolt nose section takes better advantage of the Ion's SFT seal.
ARB feature prevents ballstack chops caused from the ball rolling back into the cupped bolt face.
Testing yielded 1800+ full 300fps shots @ 150 psi from a 68/45 tank.
Quick, easy install.
Product Availability 
The DeadlyWind HollowPoint Ion bolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Hell_hunter Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion bolt, orange mini bolt(only seen in action),tippman 98 bolts
Marker Setup: Primary Speedball
-SP Gen1 Ion
-APE Rampage Board
-DW Fibur 12" barrel
-DW Finngerlock trigger
-DW Hollowpoint Bolt
-DW Pro ASA
-DW Negitive Ion body
-DW QEV
-Halo Happer
-48CI/3000PSI steelie tank
-CP shortty reg

Primary Woodsball
-98 custom
-Opsgear 18" Fluted SNIPER Barrel
-Rocket Cock 2
-Opsgear 12" Floating SR Hand Gaurd
-APP Stainless Steel Screw Kit
-M82A1 Gas Thru MAG
-GTA Car Stock
-TACAMO AK-47 style Weaver Rail
-Polished internals, Pen spring mod

Backup
-overlord RX
Strengths: -Light
-All metal
-Easy to intall and lube
Weaknesses: -Back screw
-instructions
Review: got this with my order of DW products today. I was suprized how small and light this was. They speak the truth, it has a mass of 7.8g acourding to my scale. The bolt actuly slides on a statinary stalk that scews in to to back for the fireing can. I used locktight to sucure mine like other reviews sugested.

Key Strengths:

Light- this all but eliminates the kick of my gun. It also seems (to my untraned eye) more efficant then the stock as my velocity seemed to jump about 25 fps (once again this is by eye not chrony)

All metal - this bolt has NO plastic, even the bolt stalk is the new aluminum version. Metal is more durible the plastic so this is nice to see.

Easy to install and lube- took me 5 min to install the bolt, you need to lube 2 things and thats it.

Key Weaknesses:

Back Screw - some people say it comes loose, mine shook loose on dryfireing so i resorted to the locktight and that fixed it right away.

instructions- you need to go on-line to look up how to install the bolt, would like to see an instruction set included with the product in the future

Will update on further testing
Conclusion: Nice product, well made and seems more efficiant. Easy to intall and eliminates kick. Why settle for a L7 bolt when this costs less and is lighter? Givin it a 9 because i would have liked to see an instruction set, or at least a included tube of locktight :P
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bageer Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Bolt
Marker Setup: HP bolt
CP reg
Q lock
Critical trigger
Strengths: Air
Lack of kick
Weaknesses: Price
Review: The first thing i noticed opening it was that it was much lighter than the stock. After installing i shot a few balls and noticed i had to turn down pressure and dwell. Later in the week i played and i noticed a big difference in accuracy. My accuracy increased be cause there was almost no kick. A big difference froom the stock.
Conclusion: The price is a little more expensive than the other bolts but it is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ECOracer Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Firebolt
Marker Setup: Smarts Parts Ion, Blackcell body, longbow stock
Strengths: Very light, very sturdy, lowers operating pressure, and it looks damn cool
Weaknesses: Price i guess
Review: ok, so it was a debate between the TechT and this....obviously, I chose this. Mainly due to its unique design and good reviews on here....as well as the expectation of quality that goes along with Deadlywind’s products.

after finding the installation instructions online and following them i noticed i was having a lot of air leaking down the barrel but i read Deadlywind’s troubleshooting guide and took care of the problem.

Once it was working fine and the air leak stoped i filled my hopper and let it rip. it honestly feels like a different gun, it sounds different, the recoil is different (although i wouldn’t say nonexistent...just feels different). but its all different in a good way



Conclusion: im gonna give it a 9 out of 10 only because of the initial air leaking problem...but other then that...BUY THIS BOLT
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cleverfrog Sunday, January 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: Ion
360 qev
cp spring trigger
white body kit
Deadly Wind Duress Feed Neck
Halo B V35
CP 2k5 on/off
Deadly Wind Hollow Point Bolt
PMI glass fix 68/45
Strengths: Super light
No kick
Accuracy
Cool finish
Easy installation
Weaknesses: None
Review: I opened up the package the bolt came in and picked up the bolt, I thought the bolt was going to keep floating up out off my hand. It is probably the lightest bolt that has ever been made for the Ion. The HP bolt increased my accuracy a ton. This is one of the must buys for the Ion.
Conclusion: Get the Deadly Wind HP bolt over any other bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tokay444 Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
firebolt
Marker Setup: sp epiphany
virtue board
sp qev
sp max-flo micro
sp q-lock
deadly wind hallow point bolt
deadly wind fibur barrel
cougar river custom cf body
empire fuels 71/4500
stock halo b
Strengths: Extremely low reciprocating mass.
It's a spool valve.
Genius.
Weaknesses: It stuck once. i degassed and air back up and it was fine.
Review: This bolt was so good i had to virtue my epiphany to explore it's full potential. On the stock board, it fired a full cycle at the lowest possible dwell setting which is 8ms.
The thought behind this bolt is so logical yet so genius it's perfect. why move the entire set up when less than half of that mass actually needs to move? Deadly Wind obviously didn't know either. Great work guys.
Conclusion: By far one of the best investments you can make for you ion/epiphany.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OldDriver Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, L-6, L7
Marker Setup: Speedball
Ion , Q-lock Feed neck, Hollow Point Bolt, SP360 QEV, Virtue Board, Virtue Laser Eyes and Pad, Freak JR Barrel, Halo V-35 with Rip, Foehn 2.5 Body, Scorpion Frame

Woodsball/Backup
A-5 w/ Flatline Barrel, E-grip(pre-WAS board), 6xchamber, colapseable stock and remote line on 24 oz CO2
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Hollow Point bolt:

Price: $55.00 available only from Deadly Wind Direct and not available anywhere else.

Picked this up along with the Foehn 2.5 BOB body kit and decided to try it as just like the Ion, almost everyone has an L-7.

Pros:
1. Lightest bolt available, when comparing the MOVING portions of this bolt vs. the L-7 the Hollow Point is the lightest.
2. Porting, it has only one port vs. the three on the L-7/L-6, as it is simply a hollow tube.
3. Lubing only requires that the stalk and rear o-ring on the bolt itself be lubed with DOW-33 or similar.
4. Removes the bolt stop and replaces it with a lightweight “doughnut” which you do not “have” to use. (So if you loose it, eh, oh well. Just do not put it in backwards as it will reduce efficiency.)
5. Reduces the kick vs. stock dramatically, as to which is better in the L-7 vs. Hollow Point; it will be a toss up there.
Cons:
1. Stalk works loose after firing for a while or at a high rate of fire if you do not loctite the threads. Happened to me three times in a case of paint and if you are not thinking about it, you are trying to figure out why your hopper will not load paint while someone is running up to bunker you. (The stalk moves forward into the firing chamber blocking the ball out of the firing chamber.)
2. Louder than the L-7 which could be a plus if using a Reloader B/B2 as it would be picked up easier.
3. Cost, I understand that I am paying for the idea, but with as little as there is in material to this bolt, you would think it would be about $25 or so. (However, the price is inline with the L-7.)

Unknown:
As for the rear o-ring on the stalk, I am guessing it is used as a seal for the stalk as well as a dampener for vibration and/or a locking mechanism for the stalk. Just an idea for the future, perhaps a backing washer to pinch it into the stalk so you do not have to use loctite, who knows, just a thought.

Conclusion: Conclusion:

Great buy and worth the wait vs. just grabbing the L-7. Don’t get me wrong I like the L-7 but as I said, everyone has it and I like a little difference in my marker from the rest.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethrealwolf Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion bolt
Marker Setup: SP-8 (with buttstock and 'sniper' shroud)
Deadlywind HP bolt
Trinity clippard-type QEV
CP shorty reg
pure energy 88/3000 HPA tank
VL egg

Strengths: Light
Simple to install
Weaknesses: Requires loctite, not easily reversible
Review: Bought this bolt because I was looking to upgrade my SP8 from bone stock into something more impressive, and after doing some research, i decided on going with the new hollowpoint bolt. From what I'd seen, it was easily a match for the L7 bolt, and not as much of a pain in the ass as the Orange nano + upgrade.

I installed it, and a trinity QEV, lubed it up well, and snagged a bag of paint to test fire. I was impressed with how little kick my marker had, and how consistently it shot. with my input @150PSI and my dwell set to 4, i expected some pretty big velocity fluctuations... and though i did see some, I did just install a new reg, so it could have just as easily been the reg.

I'm also impressed by how much more efficient, overall, my marker is. Running an 88/3 tank, i got close onto about 1000 shots out of my stock setup. Now i'm getting in the neighborhood of 12-1300, which can make all the difference sometimes.

Conclusion: Personally, I'd recommend this bolt to anyone looking to upgrade their ion or SP8. it's crazy light, and not that expensive, relatively speaking. it's much more effective with a QEV installed though, so if you get one, i'd also recommend grabbing a QEV if you don't already have one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OSOK8541 Saturday, September 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
L-7
Marker Setup: NEG ION Body; Hollow Point Bolt; APE Rampage Board; Modified Frame; Roller Trigger; Dye 2 Hyper; Kila Dentz; SLY Barrel; Pulse w/ RF chip; CP ASA On/Off; Blue LED.
Strengths: Weight and configuration.
Weaknesses: A little pricey, and not all bugz ironed out.
Review: I am surprized to see a hollow cylinder perform as indicated. I just recently fired 1143 balls from a 68/4500 tank. Starting pressure of the tank was 4000 and ending pressure was 1000. The marker was at 120 PSIG and firing at 285FPS AVG.

For the efficiency and the simplistic approach, I would outfit spoolies with it.
Conclusion: I'm satisfied with the product, for what it does.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

benwhite Monday, August 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Bolt
Marker Setup: QEV, HP Bolt
Strengths: Light
Simple design
Nothing to break
No Kick
Excellent Airflow
Weaknesses: Little pricey, but worth it
Review: I received my DeadlyWind bolt on a Wednesday afternoon, and had it installed within the hour. I also installed a QEV during this process as well. This was the first time I had every upgraded my Ion, and it wasn't hard at all. The online installation page, located on the manufacturers web site, was very easy to follow.

I set my dwell and air pressure to the suggested initial settings, and took my gun to the firing range. I noticed right away that my gun's kick had virtually disappeared, and I was using much less air pressure than before. 52 dwell dropped to 4 dwell and 170psi dropped to approximately 125psi.
After shooting about 1000 balls over the course of the morning, I noticed that the balls were not feeding properly into the gun. You guessed it, the screw that holds the bolt stalk had come loose. I soon realized that I needed to put the loctite on the threads of the screw, not the head of the screw. About 45 minutes later, after letting the loctite set, I was back in business.

I have not had any issues since, and the bolt has performed flawlessly, with no ball breaks or anything. Not only is my gun quieter than before, my shots are more accurate, and I get approximately 40% more shots per tank. This is due to both Bolt and QEV.

[update]
After playing more with this bolt (~5,000 rounds shot), I have had no issues. I have been getting a little over 900 shots/tank, which ain't too bad considering I only have a 48ci 3000psi tank. Once I upgrade to a 68ci 4500psi that should work out to 1800+ shots/tank.

I have done some Myth-buster style testing to compare the following bolts;
Ion + QEV + Stock Bolt
Ion + QEV + Firebolt
ion + QEV + HollowPoint Bolt

Basically I recorded the sound of each marker from 25ft directly in front of the gun.
I performed both dry and loaded shots to help infer performance gains, and air flow characteristics. I used the stock bold as the base for measuring the 2 other products.
Here are my findings...

First up was the Ion + QEV + Firebolt. Compared to the stock bolt, we noticed a drop of 2db in the overall volume of a loaded shot. Also the pitch of the shot was a bit lower. When we tested a dry shot, we noticed no difference in volume, which means to me that the air flow characteristics are no better than a stock bolt, and the only improvement is the weight characteristics.

Next up was the Ion + QEV + Hollow. Compared to the stock bolt, we noticed a drop of 5db in the overall volume of a loaded shot, and the pitch of the shot was a bit lower than the previous Firebolt test. When we tested a dry shot, we noticed a significant difference in the volume. This bolt produced a much louder shot, approximately twice as loud as the previous 2 tests. This means to me that the air flow characteristics are far superior than both the stock bolt and the Firebolt. I'm not sure what real world implications this has, but interesting none the less.

If allowed, I will post the audio files to back up the results later.
Conclusion: This is an excellent bold, and I would tell anyone to buy this one over the other option s available. And make sure you put some loctite on the threads of the stalk bold...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 2nd, 2007 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MickilBunz Friday, July 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
TTech L7
Marker Setup: Virtue board
Virtue eyes
Virtue QEV
DeadlyWind HollowPoint Bolt
DXS 68ci 4500
Lucky untec1 Barrel
NDZ Firing can and breech
TTech Stinger trigger
Strengths: Light, Accurate, Quiet.
Weaknesses: Price, Needed loc tite, No Instructions.
Review: I recently purchaced the Foehn 2.5 Body also from deadlywind along with my HP bolt. let me start by saying theres a big difference compared to stock. i currently own 2 ions so i wanted to see what the hype was about. i test fired the stock bolt then the HP bolt (You can do that with the BOB)oh my god it rips the sound of my marker was so different my girl thought i bought another marker. then i decicded to do a comparison to my L7 Equipped ion a little quieter but no really big difference. but the bolt is a beautiful piece of craftmanship. i would recommened totally this bolt !
Conclusion: Wroth every penny! Period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media