paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power Threshold / Dangerous Power Threshold / Dangerous Power Threshold / Dangerous Power Threshold

Dangerous Power Threshold Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power Threshold

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power Threshold
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $550

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Dangerous Power™ Threshold™ was never meant to be released to the public. Our engineers and design team had a bit of a clash when it came to the aesthetics of the new marker. Leaning towards ‘clean lines,’ where function is hailed above form, the chief engineers of the project commented that the milling was ‘too wild, and far too excessive.’ Cost was another prohibitive factor. 20 tools utilizing the latest 3D software, running 24 hours per day to produce only 7 bodies!"

"Weighing in at just 35.2oz (2.2lbs), which includes the full two piece barrel, feed neck, ASA, and battery, the Threshold consists of only 2 parts and 6 easily accessible O-rings in the entire operation. Based off of a ‘dump valve’ system and a custom, in-house designed 3-way solenoid, the Threshold boasts excellent efficiency numbers."
Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power Threshold is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Riddler Tuesday, July 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about everything on the market for the last 15 years.
Marker Setup: My Threshold is pretty much stock. I just use a barrel kit with it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel kit.
Strengths: Well-made, simple, reliable, fast and smooth. DP has good CS as well.
Weaknesses: Small product run; not much aftermarket support.
Review: Even though I was taking a bit of a break from the sport at the time, I remember the launch of the Threshold. I very nearly pre-ordered one. The design, appearance and early feedback on the performance were very appealing, particularly at the $550 level. At the time, DP was a relative unknown, one of many companies competing in the stacked-tube poppet bracket. They hadn't yet made a name for themselves.

I came back to paintball this year after a little hiatus. I had sold off most of my equipment, so I decided to pick up a new marker or two. The Threshold had stuck in the back of my mind from late 2007, and though it was a limited run marker that had already been discontinued, I decided that I still wanted to try one, and the price was right, so I picked one up gently used.

I could talk about the packaging, allen wrenches, key chain, etc., that DP includes, but I honestly don't find any of that stuff all that important. It's fluff.

On to the gun itself. As you all well know, the marker has some pretty intricate milling. It's an organic design, probably one of those 'love it or hate it' type things, but I dig it. The milling itself is well done. There are very few tool marks, less than expected in something so intricate. It is quality work. Performance is most important, and I'll get to that soon enough, but style is important too. The gun gets an A in the aesthetics department.

The Threshold is designed on an electropneumatic, unbalanced spool valve platform. I won't go too deep into the specifics; the basic overview is that it works a lot like a blowforward such as an automag. A constant supply of air is fed to the rear cap of the marker, behind the bolt. This pressure wants to push the bolt forward and fire the marker. A small supply of air provided by a solenoid holds the bolt back until you pull the trigger, at which point the board tells the solenoid to switch the air off for a few milliseconds, which allows the pressure behind the bolt to push it forward, chamber a ball, and fire the marker. The solenoid switching the air back on resets the bolt. A couple other markers built on this firing platform are the Ion and Freestyle.

For a little gun, the Threshold is surprisingly well-balanced. It's very comfortable to hold and shoot, both stationary and on the run. The 45 frame is plenty large enough for my big hands, and the stock grips are quality stuff. Other than the solenoid switching, the marker only has one moving part the bolt. Combining a well-balanced marker with very little reciprocating mass means that it has virtually no kick when fired, which helps put paint on paint during rapid fire.

People talk about markers being accurate. This term is somewhat misleading, because it usually refers to single shots. By that definition, any paintball marker can be accurate. That sort of accuracy is dependent upon user familiarity with the marker and some small amount of velocity consistency.

Consistent shooting, however, the ball-on-ball stuff we demand from performance markers, requires a stable shooting platform and excellent consistency. I've already mentioned the marker's excellent balance and low kick. It also has a tremendous stock regulator, which makes it very consistent. At a recent scenario game, even with some inconsistently-sized paint (which messes with your paint-barrel match and therefore your velocity consistency), I was averaging +/- 2fps over the chrono. The reg's consistent airflow and fast recharge rate allowed me to dump large amounts of paint during rapid fire with pinpoint accuracy. My only gripe about the regulator is how sensitive the adjustment is. Just a quarter-turn can swing the velocity 20 or 30 fps.

Most spoolers get pretty poor efficiency. The Threshold actually isn't too bad. In my couple days out with the marker, my average is in the neighborhood of 1000-1100 shots from a 45/45 bottle.

Efficiency is a quality of varying importance to different people. It is really important to people playing renegade ball, for example, who have to last all day on one fill; but it matters a bit less to those who go to fields and can get fills between games. I've been both player types, so I do value efficiency pretty highly, even though right now I'm pretty much just playing scenario ball and can get fills when I need them.

The importance of efficiency to me is this: If I can comfortably shoot all the paint I carry onto the field without worrying about running out of air, I'm happy. It does that.

The stock board is the weak point of the marker, in my opinion. Let me clarify that. It doesn't have any real flaws. It's just.... average.

One external button controls the power and the anti-chop eyes. Holding it down powers the marker on and off, and tapping it toggles the eyes. Adjustments are made via dip-switches, which feels a bit dated. The board has a bunch of modes to choose from, including semi and several ramping, full auto and tourney modes, and has adjustable dwell and ROF. There is no debounce setting, but I haven't had any bounce issues, so I suspect that the factory debounce setting is high enough to prevent all bounce in a property-tuned marker. The only thing that I see this board lacking is the ability to edit, or create new modes, such as for tourney formats that are always changing their rules. There's no option for updating the board's firmware (such as via a mini USB). I typically play in 25bps semi, and it's fast as hell for me, so I cannot complain too much about the board, but I do feel it's the weakest point of the marker.

The stock trigger is a blade variety. It's nice enough, and is a bit adjustable. The stock board uses an optical sensor to detect trigger pulls. It's totally personal preference, but I'm usually a microswitch man. After a few days of play, I'm starting to like it a lot better than I did at first, and can make it sing pretty well.

The Threshy comes with a decent stock barrel. I'd still recommend a barrel kit to ensure a good paint/barrel match, but you can safely put away the kit when paint fits the stock barrel. It's rather nice. The marker's standard features also include the signature DP locking feedneck and RAPS, which are pure awesomeness.
Conclusion: All in all, the Threshold is an enormous bang for your buck. As I mentioned above, the board is the weakest point of a great gun, and that's only because it's a bit basic. Design and construction are excellent, performance is top-notch, and the Threshy has a slew of great stock features. DP hit the nail squarely on the head when it released this marker, and I honestly think this gun is what catapulted the company to success. For this price bracket, it's that good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

THRESHYMASTA Thursday, June 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing I have used even compares
This is my first quality marker
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power Threshold
PMI 45/45
Black Pinokio Hopper
Drop from a Tippmann Custom Pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new board; but if you aren't a little complainer about the dips, the stock board is just fine
Strengths: Light
Fast
Reliable
No Breaks
Great Design
Eye Catching
Sweet ASA
Allen Key Set
Weaknesses: Dip Switches (Not a huge problem)
Leaky Macroline (Easily Fixable)
Review: Design - I don't have enough room to describe the design of this gun. The RAPS is one of the greatest inventions ever. The feed neck has a very low profile while still gripping the hopper tightly. The reg is consistant and easy to maintain. The simple design allows for fast cleaning and the bolt-out-back design helps for quick field strips. The eyes work like a dream and can be set to only allow you to shoot when there is a ball in the sensor area. This gun throws paint at a ridiculously fast rate and I just love hitting some guy with 25 balls right in the mask is a matter of one second. I haven't chopped a ball yet and don't plan on it with this superb marker.

Looks - This gun looks amazing. Every time I go to the field people just ooh and aah over this gun. WARNING: If you don't want people admiring and staring at your sweet gun, do not buy this thing.

Feel - This gun seems to look big but it really isn't. Once you actually hold the marker in your hands, you can really feel that it is a good fit. The grips look bulky but are just right even if you have small hands. My friend has the smallest hands I have ever seen on a guy and he still handles this gun with ease.

Quality - The quality is amazing. This a high-end marker for the cost of a mid-range entry level marker. This gun just shoots ropes, never chops, has great consistancy, and just looks freaking amazing.

Rarity - I haven't seen a single other person with this gun and I know for a fact that there were only 500 made and most have been sold so act quickly.

One problem that I have is that I cut my macroline to fit a little shorter. DON'T BOTHER CUTTING THE MACRO. It looks fine uncut and you will have to just buy a new line because it is going to leak. Better to have a little slack than a serious leak.

Don't mess with the dip switches that don't control the firing modes. Just leave them the way they come.

Pretty much, this gun is ready to fire straight out of the box. Just connect some lines and play!
Conclusion: I haven't used every marker under the sun but I can say that from my experience and from playing with some of the other guys on the field who own $1000 plus guns, the threshold holds its own and then some. This gun can and will compete with shockers, egos, and other high-end, well-known markers. IF YOU ARE ON THE FENCE, TRUST ME...BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT. DON'T THINK, JUST BUY.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 4th, 2009 at 10:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dunner98 Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts epiphany worse
Invert mini better
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power threshold
70/45 fiberwarp tank
Halo b V35 w/rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA maybe i'm not a huge fan of the flip
Reg the stock one is every hard to set
Strengths: Fast
Cheap
Sick milling
Light
Good stock barrel
Clamping feedneck
Weaknesses: Reg
ASA not a big deal
Review: I have had this gun for a few weeks now i have played with it three times it is very easy to clean it is very light and fast easy to walk the reg is very touchy which makes it hard to set and the macroline fittings leak don't know why i love the barrel and feedneck the milling is just beautiful all in all it's a great gun a few little kinks that need fixed but it's a good gun for the money
Conclusion: It has some little problems nothing big i really like this gun but i think you will need to fix some little things on it it's a good gun for 350 bucks
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sdwmma Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bob long alias, intimidator, shocker, ion, dragun tes, bko, evil omen, impulse, nerve, vice,
Marker Setup: dangerous powers threshold, invert barrel, torque hopper. ape board, gourilla air 48ci 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
board made by ape they just came out and are limited,this board lets you control your marker alot more than stock
Strengths: Fast, Cheap, Nice milling, Trigger
Weaknesses: No weaknesses at all but stock asa is hard to flip.
Review: I got the marker and opened it up and yea it came with a really nice allen key set and looked great. I played with it for a while and liked it but for some reason I wanted something different so I bought a bob long dont get me wrong they make good guns but when i usedit there was always something wrong so I ended up using the threshold anyways I have used it a ton and never had a problem with it. But . they are nice I dont think ill own any thing else.
Conclusion: One really important thing to remember that i just learned was when you order you marker order some dow 55 it is the lube that they recomend for it but thats not just because they want you to buy there product because dow 55 isnt even made from them,it swells the orings which believe it or not that is what you want with this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blitz121 Tuesday, January 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray-Old School single trigger very little maintenance though.
Spyder Sonix(older)- Double Trigger but still a mech
03 black magic Autococker- I love WGP but I gotta hand it to DP
Marker Setup: 68/4500 Tank
Vents goggle
Stock Barrel
Stock Gun
Vlocity Jr Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Heard the Magnet trigger kit helps a bit. I will keep you posted on what I think about that(don't have the part yet)
Strengths: Electric
RAPS (Lifesaver)
Fast
Milling
Stock Reg
Weaknesses: Rare
Dipswitch
Review: What is there to say about this gun? I love it. So we will start with the good. Ever since DP started Shipping out guns I have loved their selection. Finally I got my hands on a threshold! First off, cost I paid $349.99 for this gun and opening the box I could have sworn it was $700+. It looks as if right out of the box it has been upgraded. The RAPS Quick disconnect is a lifesaver a flip and its on, a flip and its off.

The bad
The only things about this gun that I would like to see is one a new trigger. This trigger does rock but it has one downfall. It feels iffy. I got used to it so it is alright.
Conclusion: This is a great add-on to the DP family I love their guns and hope to get a revi when I get the money for it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jtpro28 Sunday, September 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing is really similar to this gun.
Marker Setup: I am gunless right now.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not one thing!
Strengths: Maintence
Efficiency
Accuracy
Customer Service
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I picked up my Threshold almost one year ago. Didn't know much about the gun at the time and I was itching for a new gun so I tried it out. Bought the sucker for $500 (got a deal off of someone) and it came right to my doorstep.
My first thoughts when I opened the box to the Threshold was, wow this gun is a heck of a lot smaller in real life then in pictures online. The milling was very precise, I loved it. I picked the gun up and wow it was light! The gun stuck right into my hands. The grip felt really good. The I procedded to open the box further to find that the gun came with a barrel condom, a set of ball allen keys, a keychain, and a spare set of o-rings. After I had looked all of that over I picked up the barrel and dang, that thing is so light too! The .690 bore is great! Great looking gun that definatly catches eyes.
Lets talk about the board on this beast. I had owned a 06 ego before this with a virtue board in it and was used to that. The DP board is similar as it uses leds. I opened the grips and saw the little dip switches on the board and opened my manual to see what modes I can set it too. You can set the dwell to either 18ms, 16ms, 14ms (recomended) and 12ms. Then the marker has plenty of modes on it. Everything you would want. Ramping that activates at 5bps. ramping that activates at 3 bps. NXL mode, PSP mode, every mode you would ever need for the game of paintball is on the gun. This board is excellent and you won't ever need a replacement.
Lets talk about the guts of the gun, or what guts it has! The gun has a neat little bolt out the back deal. Unscrew the backcap with a allen, and bam, there is your bolt. Just slide it out. Takes under 20 seconds to get it out. Very fast. The bolt is light too, just like everything else.
--LUBING THE GUN--
Here is the BEST way to lube this gun. I have heard people complaining of bolt stick and swelled o-rings and such and such. For the time that I had this gun I didn't have one single itsy bitsy problem. For lubing the bolt remember this! Lube on the o-rings, oil on the bolt! Use dow33 on the o-rings because dow55 with cause them to swell! Leading to bolt stick! Now out of the box the gun comes with dow55 on the bolt. When you take the bolt out rub all the dow55 off the bolt and replace the o-rings on the bolt. After that, get some dow33 and lightly spread it around the o-rings including the back cap. Then get oil and put it on the bolt and spread it around. There you go! You are done with the bolt and that takes 1 minute to do. For the reg use dow33 on the shim stack and the o-rings. Very simple.

Lets talk about the small but good things on the gun! The feedneck=amazing. You can tighten it, loosen it, everything. It will hold every hopper out there (that is worthy of being put on this gun). The barrel is very very accurate. Just about all paint works in it. I was having ball on ball all day no if's, an's, or but's. The asa is very good too! It uses a lever instead of the traditional spinning knob. Screw your tank into it, flip the switch and bam air is in your gun. Flip the switch again and it de-airs the gun. Very easy to use and will never fail you. The trigger on the gun is very nice but just like any gun you will have to set it up to your liking. Some people like a stiffer trigger, some like a lighter trigger feel. I like a lighter feel, and if you are one of those guys here is a little trick you can to do the trigger to achieve that feel. The trigger tension is controlled by a spring inside the frame. You pull the trigger and the spring compresses. Well take the body off the frame (read manual first) and take that spring out. Very easy to do. Cut the LAST COIL OFF of the spring for a lighter feel. It feels really good, trust me. And that's how I got my trigger to feel the best out of any trigger I have used.
The reg on the gun is just amazing too. It swivels on the bottom so you can set it up how you like it. It is super easy to take apart and never got so tight on me that I couldn't get it apart. Very consistant reg too. You will always get at the MOST +5 -5 if you lube it and maintain it correctly.

--DAY AT THE FEILD--
The first day I brought the gun to the field I was so excited to use it, and well, show it off! I bring it out and a guy comes up to me and say's," Hey what kind of Shocker is that?" I said,"It's not a Shocker, it's a Threshold." The guy looked at me weird like I was a idiot and said,"Yeah okay man, whatever." It made me happy that he had no idea what gun I was shooting. I had tons of people come up to me and ask to hold it and shoot it. Of course I was cautious. But I hit the field and right off the start of the game I could tell this gun was a keeper. Shot my lane great, ball on ball, and shot really fast too. There was hardly any kick at all. It felt very different then my ego. The lightness of the gun allowed me to move quicker then when I had my ego too. Overall, my day at the field was the best I have had in a long time. Gun shot great all day with no chops or barrel breaks either. ( I was shooting xball bronze)

I'm going to say with honesty, this is by far my most favorite gun in paintball. It simply is a masterpiece my Dangerous Power. If you have the chance to get one, do it.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to anyone. It is a beast.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 7th, 2008 at 2:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

meMYSELFnI Friday, July 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Shockers
quest
any single tube marker
Marker Setup: Threshold
Fasta
68/45 hp assult reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Could use a new board to help with bounce
Trigger style options
Strengths: Min kick
Weight
Simplicity
Speed
Cosmetics
Efficiency (1500 min on 68/45 on mine)
Limited
Weaknesses: Aftermarket support (not needed, but would be nice)
Review: I bought this marker last year from a preorder. One of the first runs, and have had it my primary marker since then. When I first got this marker everything was perfect from the weight distribution, efficiency, feel, speed, and consistency. I've had 1 problem with this marker in all the time that I've used it. The problem was the #3 oring on the bolt. After you have used the marker for a while, the #3 oring wears and stops sealing against the body. This seems to be the only downfall to the design of the Threshold. DP made the oring a special size that isn't readily available without special ordering. With the fail of this oring sealing, it'll stop the bolt from cycling. Since then I've found a couple fixes that should make this problem none existent. Either replace the oring with a 2 x 16mm oring or do what I've been calling a the teflon mod. Remove the oring and wrap 1/2 teflon about 2x in the #3 oring slot. Then just put a tank oring in there. Works better than stock and better than the 2 x 16mm oring.

That is the only thing that has gone wrong with my marker. Almost 1 yr and marker still shoots and looks like new.

Efficiency is great. I typically get a min of 1500 off my 68/45 HP tank. My #'s are usually about high 1600 to 1700 shooting at 280fps. My numbers are higher than most. Could be the lube I use or how I maintain the orings.

The Threshold isn't then most quiet marker out but it's not the loudest either.

If you need this for tourny play you will have to buy a universal board for it. Since the noid is unique and made in house by DP, most boards won't work with this marker. You will need to contact DP to know what additionally will be needed to hook up a aftermarket board. It's the only way to get this thing not to bounce. If you adjust the trigger you can almost completely eliminate bounce but not worth playing and getting docked points if the ref checks.

2 moving parts. Trigger and bolt. Maintenance on thing literally takes less then 5 min. That's cleaning the HPR too. For after a day of play maintenance less than 2 min and your done. 1 allen to remove the back cap, slide out bolt, wipe bolt, relube bolt, slide bolt in and screw backcap back on. Easy!

Shooting this marker is great. Nearly no kick at all lets you rip a steady stream of paint all in the same location. The barrel is very consistent. I have a barrel kit and still use the stock over it. Shoots as good as my barrel kit and looks better too. The .690 barrel lets you shoot most paint out on the market.
Last big pluses - RAPS (lever asa best on market imo) Clamping feedneck that holds all the loaders I've tried. Vlocity, halo, fasta. The 2 vlocity jrs I tried 1 fit really nice the other didn't. Don't know if the one that didn't was unique or if the one that fit was???
Conclusion: With the lack of aftermarket parts available I can't mark this a 10. For me a new board just means the means to adjust bounce.
I honestly think that this marker is one of the best on the market. The ease of maintenance and simplicity of the design will give you more time on the field and less time off repairs your marker. Easy enough for beginners to do.
Efficiency - is good enough for those woods/scenario games.

At less than $550 I paid for mine, I would HIGHLY recommend this marker for intermediate to pro players. There are few markers I would choose to shoot over the Threshold and even less I would want to own over it. None of which are even close to the price of the Threshold.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 4th, 2008 at 12:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baralie Thursday, June 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 1 - Angel 1 is a bit lighter and has a little less kick however the Threshold feels better to hold and shoot. The barrel kit that comes with the Angel 1 isn't all that great. Paying $1000 vs $550... I think I'll go with the $550.

Egos - An Ego 08 is a little bit lighter but I hate the trigger guard and how loud it is and also the stock barrel really isn't that good. The Threshold feels better to hold and shoot, the trigger guard is just perfect for walking the trigger or in this case running the trigger. The Threshold is also a bit more quiet and the stock barrel is better. Paying $1150 vs $550... I think I'll definitely go with the $550.

Karnivor - Feed neck sucks, the trigger guard I do not like, and I find the Threshold to be more accurate. Feed neck on the Threshold rules and looks good! $750 vs $550... I think I'll go with the $550 again.

Ion w/ virtue board and every possible upgrade you can imagine - This Ion is really fly, almost no kick and an extremely different weight reduction yet the Threshold is lighter still. The trigger on the Ion is too stiff for my taste while the Threshold with the magnetic mod is just perfect for me but this is just preference for people. Ion was $195 when I got my Threshold, virtue board $125, new clamping feed neck $30, new bolt $50, new QEV $40, On/Off $30, Drop $30, new body $110, new trigger frame $110, new grips $20, new reg $50, new trigger $35, etc. roughly around $800 vs $550... I think I'll still go with the $550.

Fusion - The Threshold beats it in every way however the F8 is a bit lighter and now has a virtue board out for it.

Autococker 05 - This autococker had almost every upgrade you can imagine including an electronic trigger to reach high rates of fire comparable to the Threshold. Threshold feels better in every way and is also quieter. You can get this Autococker from some one site for about $70 bucks all stock but they might've ran out already. These Autocockers use to be about $300 and with all the things to upgrade it was about $900 dollars so the owner told me... that vs $550. I think you guys know where I stand.

Spyders and Tippmans - Shouldn't even start on this one.
Marker Setup: -Threshold black w/ red
-VLocity w/ virtue chip
-Freak kit w/ All American Front
-CP reg
-Rendition Magnetic Trigger
-Virtue Eyes (green, totally just for looks and battery saving)
-LP Crossfire 70c/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
-The stock Reg on the Threshold is really good when broken in, it's about 2-4+/- (I find CP to be 1-3+/- when broken in and is also definitely more efficient with air).

-Even though the Stock Barrel is not that bad I would definitely suggest a Barrel kit such as a Freak kit, it makes it quieter also.

-If/when Virtue makes a virtue board for this beast, I would pick it up right away. The stock board is really good but it's capped at 25 and on ramp with this gun you can easily hit 25 bps. Not like you need to shoot that fast.

-Magnetic Trigger mod from Rendition paintball on Ebay. $13 bucks.
Strengths: -Looks/Feel
-Weight
-Efficiency
-Accuracy
-Little to no kick
-Easiest Maintenance
-Customer Service
-Price
-Unique
Weaknesses: None, it's close to perfect all stock
Review: I've had many experiences with my Threshold, I've owned it for a little under a year.

I was training for a bit to be on this team under a shop. The Threshold was performing flawlessly the whole day and beating all efficiency numbers on the field (Angel 1s were present). I was playing mid field positon and always got at least 2-3 players out. On drills of running from one place to another while someone is shooting at us, I never got shoot... the gun just feels so good to run with. Unfortunately, I had to stop due to school/work/fiancee. Not enough time and money to paintball all the time.


-The CP reg, the CP reg boosted my efficiency numbers. Not even broken in yet the CP reg let me shoot 1500-1600 shoots from my 70c while only wasting 2900 psi. I've never seen that kind of efficiency even though they say the Cyborg 07 can do 2000 off of a whole 68/4500. Some people still don't believe me about the Threshold's efficiency but the people I've showed believe already. I'm betting I could shoot a whole case of paint before I run out of air... I would rather not waste paintball like that though so when I go paintball next time, I'll try it out.

-The Freak kit w/ AA front, this is definitely the best barrel set up I've ever used and seen, I've used ULs, Boomsticks, Angel 1 barrel kit, Freak jr. and Freak kit with Freak front while I've seen just about every other barrel set ups. This set up is just really hard to beat, you put paint where you want it from over 50 feet away. I've lost track of how many times I've gotten visor shots, head shots, hip shots, toe shots, hand shots and any other kind of parts from people that stick out from playing paintball. It's just that accurate.

-When dry firing the Threshold is really loud but nothing is as loud as an Ego heh, however when the Threshold is shooting paint... it gets really quiet. If you're just shooting slow shoots people won't even know where you're shooting from (Freak kit helps in this or makes it possible). Really good for flanking and 'sniping'.

-The Magnetic Trigger mod easily gave me 2-3 bps more in semi-auto. It's so easy to get in the double digits bps and it feels so smooth that every day you just want to hold your Threshold and practice walking your trigger.

-The Feedneck holds your hopper in place no matter how you place your hopper. It's also really low profile and easy to take apart for cleaning.

-In my opinion the RAPS On/Off on this gun is the best. It's magnetic and it gets really tough to un-air so you can get all down and dirty but at the same time it's easy to take off when you are wanting to un-air your gun. The rail the gun comes with is all the drop you need, it puts the tank in a perfect place for me.

-When I was breaking in the CP reg, I had accidently turned off my eyes without even knowing it and was going all out in semi auto. I got really surprised when I found out my eyes where off and was totally amazed at how I didn't break a single ball in those 14-15 secs of shooting out my hopper.

-Whenever I'm done playing paintball, I get home lay out a towel and start cleaning/lubing my gun, 2-4mins later, depending on what needs to be done, it's already put away and I'm getting ready for a shower. The Threshold has almost no after market support but it isn't even close to needing it.

-I feel special because of how rare it is and how much Threshold's they made.

-The board's dip switches do not really bother since I'm usually on Semi-auto and do not mode change a lot but when virtue comes out with a virtue board for this gun, there is no competition for the Threshold.
Conclusion: I really do not understand why people would pay $1250 and then buy further upgrades such as a barrel kit and a new feed neck because the $1250 gun doesn't have those good parts. However, a $550 has good parts already but you just want to make them better with the $600 you just saved you can buy those upgrades or heck buy another Threshold and still save $50.

This gun is by far the best gun I've ever used or seen. It's not perfect yet close to it but with all the money I've saved I can make it perfect while still having cash in my pocket. Shame on anyone who only gave it a 9 and the weak part about the 9s are that people only used it for less than a month. Smartest buy and best gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 5th, 2008 at 5:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kikitup Sunday, March 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys from classic to Alias
DM 4,5,6,7
EGO 05,06,07
Marker Setup: DP Threshold, Stiffi Switch kit, 68/4500 W/Myth reg, Reloader B2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit as with all
Strengths: Price and ease of use.
Weaknesses: Havn't found one yet
Review: I have shot allot of markers, as I run a paintball store, and have played everything from woods ball to Xball, 10 man, 7 man, etc.

The Threshold feels great in the hand, shoots great out of the box, and is a very simple marker to use and maintain. The beginner player, stepping up to the higher end marker line will find it easy to use. The experienced player will also love the ease of use.
I rate it at a 10/10 because of its bag for the buck. It comes with a nice ASA, a nice clamping feed neck, and a decent barrel.
I think it would be nice to include a small container of lube for the newer player who might not already have some
Conclusion: I let my 11 year old son play with this for a day, and he decided to sell his 07 ego, and buy one of these. When an 11 year old, who knows his way around a field and store, wants to give up a high end marker for one 1/2 the price, that says allot
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Capn Red Legs Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
F7, F8, Shocker
Marker Setup: DP F8 Ocean Blue
Freak
Vlocity Loader w/Gangstar chip
DXS 68ci/4500psi

A FREAKISHLY light-weight setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
It is ok stock, maybe a barrel kit. I prefer the Freak or Redz
Strengths: Fast
Light
easy to clean
Weaknesses: In review
Review: This gun is sweet! It really does what it says it will do right out of the box. The stock barrel is a bit loud for my taste, and is not as accurate as a Freak, but it does fine.

I really do not like the POP sound made with the stock barrel. Put your Freak on and it is better, but not gone.

The other problem I have with this gun is when it gets dirty or dries up on the bolt. Let me explain:

By design, this gun will use up lubricant pretty fast, which is ok because it is reletively inexpensive. I have yet to make it a full day without having to take it apart and re-lube just so it will cycle. When it has a fresh lube, I think there is nothing in its price range that can come close to touching its performance, efficiency,and overall feel.

When clean and functioning, I love this gun. I used to play with a Shocker so it has a lot of the same kind of feel to it, just lighter and more efficient.

It is not a real problem having to lube a lot because it take all of 3 seconds to completely disassemble this gun. One screw and its out. So, stripping and lubing take about 1 min. Not that much of a hassel except when it dries up on you during a game!


Conclusion: I like the price tag at $550 and nothing in that range can even come close. If you want a gun with all of its features and do not want to worry about the lubing problem, get an F8 or F7. They are essentially the same in every performace aspect but operate with FASOR system, which is even more air efficient!

Shoot one and decide for yourself, but I warn you......If you shoot one, you will walk away with it!

It gets a 9 because of its performance, price and weight. I deducted 1 pt. for the lubing thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008 at 1:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media