paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mokal Aura / Mokal Aura / Mokal Aura / Mokal Aura

Mokal Aura Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mokal

Buy Mokal Aura

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mokal Aura
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $179

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

* Low pressure valve system that allows the Aura to operate at 150 psi
* Low force spring is easy on paintballs and allows the use of more fragile paint
* Lower mass internals resulting in reduced recoil
* Self lubricating delrin bolt with quick release pin for easy removal. Unique design prevents the paintball from rolling back into the bolt
* Sealed breach prevents gas from escaping into the feed tube
* Break beam ball sensor is located low in the breach to ensure the paintball has dropped completely into the breach before firing
* Dual spring loaded ball detents
* Integrated adjustable pressure regulator with built in swivel mounting
* Low profile clamping feed neck that accomodates all loaders
* Handle frame is equipped with a universal mounting system that allows you to connect dovetail and 3/4 inch pitch bottomlines or drop forwards
* On/Off bottom line with purging feature for easy tank removal
* 12 inch ported barrel - Cocker threads
* High pressure macroline hose
* Operates on CO2, Nitrogen, or compressed air
* Adjustable trigger with magnetic return
* Made from high grade 6061 aluminum
* Comes with all hex keys needed to repair the Aura, and a spare parts kit
* Firing modes: Semi up to 25 bps, 3 shot burst at 10 bps, full auto at 10bps. Two ramping modes. NPPL and PSP firing modes with tournament lock switch
* Adjustable rate of fire
* Convenient display of mode, eye function, and alarms through LED panel on the rear of the grip frame
* Weight: 2.4 lbs.

Warranty: This item is under a 1 year manufacturers warranty. Mokal can be reached at (905) 625-7571.
Product Availability 
The Mokal Aura is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
donkeyman Saturday, February 12th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini, Tippmanns and other electro pneumatic markers.
Marker Setup: Mokal Aura, Invert Too Hopper, 14" "Lucky" Barrel, 3000 psi Pure Energy Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper, New barrel if you feel it is needed.
Strengths: Speed
Size
Operating pressure
Clamping feedneck
Cocker threads
Not everyone has one
Weaknesses: No off button.
Review: I bought my Mokal Aura used from a local guy for $180 with a bunch of other stuff too (Later kicking myself in the butt because there was another one for sale locally for $50.) At the speedball field I play at the vast majority of the players have Invert Minis or PE Egos. I was as fast as them (BPS wise), I wasn't chopping any paint and my Mokal was smaller than either of their markers despite the Egos claim to being the smallest marker out there. The stock barrel that it comes with is quite good compared to most stock barrels however if you are a regular player you may want to upgrade. The aura operates at 150 psi which is very good considering the standard is a few hundred. The marker's eyes are very helpful and prevent chops when turned on. The Aura is easy to program once you get used to it and runs on a 9v battery. With a full battery you can play for almost all day without troubles. With a good hopper you can do 18 bps on ramping modes. Even at these speeds there is no recoil at all. The only real nuisance about this marker is that there is no off switch on it and to completely turn it off you have to remove the battery. The bolt is very easy to remove to clean and the whole marker is fairly easy to pull appart and clean including the eyes.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good marker at a good price the Aura is the way to go. You will not have a problem with it and if you do it likely just needs a small thing like lube or a new battery. It can keep up with more expensive prices and is made in Canada. If your looking for a speedball marker get an Aura.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 28th, 2011 at 2:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nicearley Wednesday, August 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy 'Zap' Markers that don't compare
Marker Setup: Mokal Aura:
Invert Nightstick Barrel
Loudmouth Torque Hopper
Smart Parts ASA

Tippmann 98 Custom:
Flatline Barrel
Apex Barrel with M16 Shroud
Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel
Response Trigger
Cyclone Hopper Feed
M16 Rail with Red Dot Sight
M16 Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Deffinately a Better Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Easy to Maintain
Cool Looking
Auto-Cocker Threads
Amazing for Low Price
Weaknesses: Kind of Loud
May Need Quick Reboot Once In A While
Not Many Upgrades
Review: Overall this is an amazing Marker.
Stock it could use some upgrades, mostly just the barrel.
Very fast and reliable. It's very easy to maintain, the bolt comes completely out in 1 second, making it easy to clean. Easy access to the eyes for ease when cleaning them.

I Highly Recommend This Marker to Anyone looking for a Great Speed Ball Marker that isn't too pricey.
Conclusion: I Highly Recommend This Marker to Anyone looking for a Great Speed Ball Marker that isn't too pricey.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prien007 Tuesday, December 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any blowback, including products from Kingman, PMI, Tippmann, etc.
Marker Setup: Empire Reloader B, 68/45 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, ASA, Aftermarket Board or updated factory software
Strengths: High quality, well thought out, very good value.
Weaknesses: Very few upgrades available and does not conform to current caps.
Review: I received this marker in the mail. I thought it would be a decent risk. The operating pressure was an attractive curiosity, so I knew something must have been designed into this marker. My first impression about this marker was that it was both small, light and only had form where it provided function.
Features:
The factory barrel is high quality with a great internal finish and appears to be about .690 bore. I think its about "12 in length.

The body and grip frame is made completely high quality aluminum. Feedneck is clamping and easy adjustable with allen key. The body has smooth milling lines with no sharp corners, not even around the bolt. The eye covers are aluminum as well and provide access to the detents and eyes when removed. The aluminum trigger actuates a microswitch and its pull is just about a nice as any, however there is only one adjustment set screw. The reg mounts proprietary, but is comfortable and given my chrono numbers quite good. The bolt is two piece aluminum and delrin or nylon, with integrated pin for easy removal.

I have only done routine maintenance and cleaning but both the sear and hammer seam to be made out of very high quality steel. The hammer utilizes a very special seal that provides good seal and aids in the low operating pressure. The hammer bore is very smooth and testifies to the high quality of the machining gone into this marker.

The board is the basic dip switch selectable and is mounted inside the frame directly with small allen screws. The board does have several ROF selections but do not meet current PSP. The ramp function is an assistance and one of two semi rof must be met before it kicks in. The solenoid is mounted inside the frame as well in a specific pocket, kept stationary by a large allen screw. All this is cover with black rubber grips that have a proprietary screw pattern. The grips are rather disappointing. They do not fit very well and are stiff. They do not sufficiently seal off the electronics. They however cannot be replaced easily so we must live with them. For now....

Summary & Use:
In closing and mentioning performance. The marker performs exceptionally well and provides very consistent chrono. I have put 6+ cases of paint so far through this marker with very little trouble. Four cases were fired over one weekend during use in a tournament. As long a a little oil is kept in it, it never fails to cycle or recock. Overall the marker is a tremendous value for the money.

When I received the marker it seamed to work with out incident, however my first time at the field I chrono'ed and shortly there after the marker ceased to function. The 9-volt seam very warm. I contacted Mokal and received a replacement board within a week. I can only assume it was a short and quality control issue. Otherwise just a fragile board? Either ways the marker has worked flawlessly since.

Update: The asa oring has since failed me and I currently using a cp direct mount.

Would like to see....
8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 factory rof cap or can we say Tadao?
New grips
PSP 3shot
Better designed ASA



Conclusion: Extremely good value. Few changes and it could easily be a common tournament use marker if its not already.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 23rd, 2008 at 11:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

young93 Saturday, December 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
promaster
electro spyders
older egos
Marker Setup: Black Dust Mokal Aura
V35 Halo
68/4500 CF Tank
All stock gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (dye ul)
asa (look in review why)
Strengths: Fast
pretty accurate (room for improvement)
NO KICK
nice feedneck (like egos)
quiet
looks
modes
Weaknesses: Barrel (some imperfections and its only 12 inch)
asa (see review)
no off button
Review: So my first impression was that it was going to shoot like an electro spyder, but i was sure wrong. I got the gun with a 68'45 tank for 180 canadian bucks!!! Best value that you can get! The gun shoots absolutely great and is no doubt the most underrated guns on the market. This gun can rip on semi and has a very nice feel.This gun has nice modes n the stock board!includes semi, psp, 3 shot burst, and other ramping modes with different rofs for most modes. NO KICK at all. The one thing that you should be aware about the asa is, that when you unscrew the asa , do not turn it too far out or it will shred the oring from the blast of air. Other than that, the barrel isnt great but is just average. One other thing is you have to take the battery completely out to turn it off, but it does have a safety mode that is really low battery consumption and could be left on all day without taking it out. When i play with it you cant tell the difference with the aura, and an 05 ego. The aura is a 07 gun and it is made in canada with no cheap parts from asia or anything so that is an extra bonus because it is very good quality. I would recommend this gun the anyone that is interested in getting an ion because the aura is an ION KILLER and about the same price with lots more already installed upgrades. GET THE AURA! :) ....one more thing....its very efficient!
Conclusion: Trust me, this is a great gun that is defiantly a great buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 13th, 2008 at 11:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer2007 Thursday, August 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used an ion before, and i must say that in my opinion, the Aura kills the ion.
More reliable, and looks more unique. As for modes they are fairly similar but the Aura has a faster Semi auto.
Marker Setup: Mokal Aura (all stock)
48/3000 air tank
Evolution 3 hopper
Redz tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
The gun is perfect the way it was made. the only reason to upgrade is to make it look cooler. I would personally would change the grips if you have money to burn and that is all.
Strengths: -Efficient on air (low operating pressure)
-Very fast
-smooth shooting
-many modes to play with
Weaknesses: -The odd time the bolt won't go all the way back.
Just add lube.
Review: This gun is very impressive especially for a lesser know company. I have not encountered problems as of yet. The first time i brought it to the field, everyone including the refs were complimenting the gun and how smooth it looked and shot. Can't go wrong with this especially because of the low cost. I recommend this over an ion, electra or VS series gun any day.
Conclusion: This is far better than any ion, or spyder that you will find. It is very low priced but reliable and keeps up with guns like the epiphany and invert mini. However does not look as cool as the mini or epiphany.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flip-side Friday, July 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much every blow-back marker imaginable. The most comparable markers out right now are the Proto SLG and the Spyder VS series due to their similar low pressure nature.
Marker Setup: Mokal Aura
Vlocity Jr. (w/ Lucky Blitz chip)
PMI Pure Energy 4500psi 88ci
Evil Driver Barrel
Hell Survivor's Fireball (Inferno) Paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a barrel kit, or at least nice 1 piece barrel. The stock barrel is decent to start with, but I can visibly see tooling marks and blemishes on the inside surface. Any barrel kit will be worlds better but a single CP, lapco, J&J, or evil barrel would be fine.

This marker has auto-cocker threads, meaning it is stupid easy to get barrels for it. Many new markers have moved to this type of thread. Your local store should have loads of used auto-cocker barrels for cheap.
Strengths: Ease of use
Includes Upgrades (Feedneck/ASA)
Reliability
Auto-cocker barrel threads
Fast
Weaknesses: No barrel bag
can't change the regulator
ASA O-Ring can break
No debounce
Review: If you have ever used a Mokal marker before, you know that they have their act together. Their blow-back markers are always top notch and they were making low pressure guns ages ago, before everyone jumped on the bandwagon.

I was skeptical taking it out of the box when I noticed an empty cut-out in the foam, and no barrel bag included. Oh well, Mokal is more for quality over quantity anyways. The build quality and milling are top notch for a gun in this price range, smooth and tight fitting. Nothing feels weak or as if it will break off in your hands like most low ends do. No sharp edges, just smooth and silky.

The clamping feed-neck is awesome. I didn't even need to sand my Vlocity down to fit in. The ASA is very small, light and can vent for easy bottle removal. Make sure to turn the ASA past the point when it purges at least 1 full rotation or you may pinch and tear the o-ring in the ASA making it leak. I am not pleased with this since they do not include a replacement with the gun. I always have a kit with me so I was fine, but otherwise you are out of luck if it breaks. The barrel has visible tooling marks on the inside. Get a new one when you can. I used an Evil Driver barrel and it shot fantastic with inferno grade paint (Fireball used at Hellsurvivors).

Setting it up was so easy, my 7 year old could do it. I took it out of the box, attached my hopper and tank, and chronoed. A simple allen screw adjustment and then I was set at 275-285 FPS. For a new reg before break-in +-5 is fantastic. Next I set it to 25BPS ramp and I have to say, the thing shoots perfect strings faster than any sear tripper I've used before. Kick is barely noticeable, comparable to my Impulse. Efficiency is better than my old Omen and E-Spyders, I felt like I never needed to fill my tank. The trigger is magnetic and only has a travel adjustment, but It is a good shape and comfortable to walk. Don't set it too short or you will get trigger bounce, and the board does not have a debounce setting.
Conclusion: I love this marker. It did not chop once even after shooting 2 full cases of fresh inferno grade paint. After chrono, I did not have to touch it all day until I unscrewed the on/off knob and broke the ASA o-ring. A fast hopper is a must if you want to draw out its full potential. I suggest a new barrel or kit, as well as a HPA tank. Check out the new Low Pressure Spyders and most definately the Proto SLG which are also great low-ends.
8 out of 10 due to the ASA and lack of spare o-rings, and lack of trigger debounce. Still an excellent marker that should be looked at for such a low price.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 13th, 2009 at 5:23 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

IdealAlex Wednesday, April 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek, Karnivore, Ego 05, FS-7, Black Magic, other hi-end markers.
Marker Setup: WGP MG-7 w/ Universal T-Boards
VL Vlocity JR. w/ Gagnstar Chip
Crossfire 45/45 Low Pressure Output Tank

WGP Senergy Equalizer w/ Universal T-Board

Mokal Aura (Red) and black parts
Torque 440 Loudmouth Black
Crossfire 68/45 Low Pressure Output Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel and thats about it. Can get some grips, but thats not very important.
Strengths: FAST, Light, Cool (looks like a ego), easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Some times I have to reboot the gun, like it says in the manual.
Review: Awsome gun, when I went to the local field with it I had LOTS of people asking me if they could buy it because they thought it was a custom milled ego. I actually had some one offer me $400 for it!!! Anaways this gun is awsome, thought its not light like my friends Ego 08, its just as fast.
Conclusion: Like I said its an awsome gun. I recomend buying it, but thats just my own oppinion. But before you buy it. See if your field has one that you can try out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shakes Saturday, September 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Low end sypder clone-not worth it.
E orracle auto-cocker
Marker Setup: empire barrel kit
drop forward
halo-B
68-4500 fiber tank
Strengths: Easy to use and maintain
Accurate
Weaknesses: It's a bit loud, But I'm use to my cocker.
Review: The marker is accurate,easy to maintain, very fast at 20+ bps, If you are looking for a
great marker for a beginner, or a seasoned pro this is not a bad choice, easy to upgrade, cocker threads, thin, light weight, black, relatively small gun.
I don't know what else to say but I need 50 words so.
Conclusion: The marker is accurate,easy to maintain, very fast at 20+ bps, If you are looking for a
great marker for a beginner, or a seasoned pro this is not a bad choice, easy to upgrade, cocker threads
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media