paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO / Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO / Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO / Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO

Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
TECH SPECS
All Weights and Measurements Include 14” Shaft II Barrel, On/Off/Purge System, Battery etc.
Full Set-Up Ready to Go:


Length: 531mm
Height: 216mm
Width: 26mm
Weight: 906g / 1.99 lbs



Features

Ultra-Lightweight Monoform Body
Deftek Offset Feed Tube
Flush-Fitting Eye Covers
Integrated Rammer Housing
Integrated FRM
Cure Bolt
Zick Rammer and Rammer Cap
Stepped Valve Chamber and Valve Guide
High-Flow Valve
Q-Block – New 1-Piece Dual QEV block
Light-weight Aluminum Regulator Pistons
Superior Coil Spring Regulator Design
Dual Trigger Sensing Board
Duel Instrument Grade Ball-Raced Trigger
Magnetic Trigger Return
Skinny-Fit Co-Molded Rubber E-Star Grips
T-Slot Rail Mounting System
Major Tournament Preset Modes
Capped and Uncapped Semi and Ramping Modes
9 Debounce Modes
Direct-Acting Solenoid
Black-on-White Transflective LCD Display
Swivel In-Line Regulator
Lever Operated Clamping Feed
Shaft II 2-Piece 14” 0.693” Barrel
On/Off/Purge System
Lower Cyclic Mass
Less Kick
Quieter Shot
Improved Efficiency
Low Profile Break-Beam Eyes
New Clam-Shell packaging
Tool Tube Hex Key Set

Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse 2008 EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
samuel_shelton Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP ION; DM 6,7; Macdev Droid, Ego sl74
Marker Setup: Ego 8 (stock), Halo B, Dye throttle 70/45, full freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Ease of use, air efficiency, weight, trigger,
Weaknesses: Replace the barrel its .693 but really its ok still accurate
Review: I love this gun it performs better than anything I have ever used before, I can't say enough about the ease of use, i went from using a virtue board and yakuza board on my other guns and the LED screen and scroll buttons are so easy to use to adjust the marker, you don't have to sit there and try and remember which light does what, I don't think i could evergo back the other way to looking at blinking lights. It is very efficient with air. Its super light-weight. the trigger is very easy to adjust to your liking. The ASA is great. Im not the biggest fan of the feedneck but its ok, it really doesn't need to be replaced it does its job. Not that its really a big deal, its shoots so fast and doesn't chop ever thanks to the cure bolt, which i dont think should be changed. I have had 3 barrel breaks but it was my fault I left my Paint in the sun and thats what i got for being stupid. Not the markers fault. The instruction manual is by far the best I have ever seen. The case it comes in is great. Planet eclipse has outdone themselves with the Ego8. Seriously I don't think I will ever by another marker that is not Planet eclipse. Hope this helps...
Conclusion: I hightly recommend the Ego8. It is worth every penny!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maxballa623 Monday, May 5th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Empire Autococker, Proto Rail, DM6, Angel 1, Invert Mini, Smart Parts Epiphany, Spyder Electra ACS, Angel G7, Jeff Orr Autococker, Bob Long Marq 7, Bob Long Russian Legion laser engraved, ego 07 , ego sl66,DM 6-8
Marker Setup: Primary:
Ego 2008 (black/red)
Halo B hopper with v35 board and rip drive
Crossfire 68/45 compressed air tank
Dye Assault Pack 4+5
Dye Lock lid (9)
Eclipse Distortion Jersey+ striped Pants
Vforce Grill mask
Virtue ultra soft crown
SL74 barrel kit
Deadly wind fibur 16"
Sly Barrel kit

Backup:
Dm8
Pulse (rf installed)
Speedfeed
Virtue board
Some accents
and sexy new titanium UL barrel back

Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Pulse Hopper+RF chip
Virtue Board
Tadao Board
Halo B w/ v35+ rip drive
SL74 Barrel kit
Smaller bore barrels
Strengths: -Never Chops
-Sleek
-Cure bolt
-Deftek feed neck
-Easy Maintenance
-Accuracy
-LCD
Weaknesses: -Too expensive
-Barrel Bore sizes a bit too big
Review: OK since this is gonna be my first review, ppl plz don't post too nasty comments . lol

~PROS~

-Never chops : What i mean by that is very simple. The gun simply doesn't chop if you have a mediocre-good hopper. The DEFTEK feed neck designs really helps the loading process for bad paintballs and it is very compatible with the cure bolt inside the gun.

-Sleek sexy design: ok, i admit, the sexy part is totally a personal preference, but the gun has a very sleek and low profile. This makes you feel like your shooting with your fingers instead of being a gun as advertised on the Eclipse website. The low profile and the sleek design doesn't make it somewhat bad in anyway as its parts are still top grade and not compressed into smaller parts.

-Cure Bolt: I have to say, this is probably the best part of the gun. The cure bolt allows you to use very brittle and old paintballs without chopping and breaking them in the process. You may choose to replace the cure bolt with a spitfire bolt which is much faster but, there aren't CURE features anymore

-Easy Maintenance: The planet eclipse ego 2008 is the easiest gun that i know i can maintain at top performance. The website provides help step by step help on how to maintain your marker with 3d pictures. There aren't too much screws or anything so that its very simple. Even my brother (6 years old) can do the maintenance of the marker by himself (i pay him $10 to do it 4 me everytime XD). Also, the manual is in full color and provides step by step too

-Accuracy: The accuracy is beyond amazing if you have the right barrels for the right paintball sizes. Althought i listed this as a strength, you must get a new barrel if you plan on using smaller paintballs. If you have the right barrel, this gun is literally ball on ball ( i'm using evil paintballs) and is less than a foot wide at 80-100 ft

-LCD screen: The new LCD screen is really enjoyable. Its very bright black and white so you can even see it in bright sunlight. The menu selections are very simple to understand and it took me less than 15 minutes to configure everything my way. It also shows your BPS and how many balls you shot. VERY USEFUL FEATURE

*EDIT*: The only upgrade for a board right now is the Yakuza Board, pardon the earlier mistake in my review, as I was thinking about my previously owned EGO 2007. The Yakuza Board comes with a OLED (like the Angel 1). I heard from multiple people it is very well to use and is as bright as the stock EGO 2008 board. Thanks for the corrections Etfren!!!
~CONS~

-Price: Although the marker is very high end and made of very high grade materials, i think its personally cost too much. Since i play in tournaments and sh*t, the gun is almost a must have. At $1250, it burns away your cash in an instant! I had to work the whole summer and winter just to pay it off!!!!!

*EDIT*! The prices will drop towards end of the year! Keep your heads up! Rare guns are now on sale too!

-Barrel Bore Sizes: Yep, its confirmed, the barrel bore sizes are a bit slighty too big. At .693, the barrel can fit almost any paintball, but it is too big and the accuracy decreases over range. I would recommend finding any barrels like the Sl74 released last year. The Sl74 Ego comes with many barrels and is almost like an ego 2008. IF you don't want to buy an sl74, i recommend you getting an EGO ORIGIN 2008 because it comes with a barrel kit and is only around $100 more.
Conclusion: If i were one of you, a potential customer, i would go for this gun if you have the amount of money and you really want it. IF you end up getting this marker, plz go buy a new barrel or find the right paintball sizes, otherwise this is THE ULTIMATE marker of 2008.......yet...lol
Overall, I would give this marker a solid 9 because of everything of this marker is nearly 100% except that the barrel sizes are a bit off (european pballs are bigger) as if the gun didn't cost as much already, why spend a few more bucks finding a good barrel? If your a lazy person to search for a new barrel, go grab yourself a sl74 ego ( $1750 on badlands) from last year or one of those retarded coloured EGO ORIGINS that are around $1400.
*UPDATE!!!*: i just recently got a Deadly Wind Fibur barrel on my Ego and it has been performing very well. IF your wondering what gun type thread you should make your selections, choose the Autococker thread selection as it will fit your Ego. its only $90 BTW
*UPDATE!!!* 6/19/2008 I have purchased yet another update. I bought a DXS Pulse Loader (Smoke) + RF CHip stuffz. I synced up the rf transmitter for $20 (local pb shop...courtesy of Badlands). i couldn't believe how my marker was performing! The rf chip and the dxs pulse were challenging the Ego 08 to the max! The sync system makes the marker+hopper one thing! I would recommend getting one but paying $ 160 for rf and Pulse loader is kinda a rip-off. Tried this on my Sl8r, Works like magic! Uses the 55 Cycles to the max...pushing for a 45 bps...(i can't shoot that fast so....yea....gonna use full auto...!)!
GET THE GUN!

*UPDATE!* Tried it in the cold harsh Canadian winter! I was playing some woodsball and i got a ball break! I took it apart and found out somehow my oring on the cure bolt was cracked up and broken. I finally figured this out because no way the sh** brittle paint would crack my oring, but i finally remembered i left my ego out in the cold garage....with no lube for like what? 5 months!!!!!!! LOL. So yeah remember to lube your orings and sh** otherwise you would just throw away $1000+
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 6th, 2008 at 6:17 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

virus209 Monday, April 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Spyder TLR
Inteminator
custom 98
Marker Setup: All stock
empire magna drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: Very light, accurate, easy to clean.
Weaknesses: None, price is high
Review: Gun is great, my first high end marker. never had problems with it. wanted the Angel G-7 but getting the ego8 is an A+. i dont regret buying it. i love the ego8 because its really easy to clean. havent had a problem with it. also havent busted a ball in my barrel. The only problem is, it doesnt have a saftey switch. When finishing a game, valve needs to be turn to leak out the air so i wouldnt shoot any one by accident: important to have the barrel plug or condom.
Conclusion: Amazing gun. easy to clean, and work on. ego8 is accurate and light.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

vengeance17000 Tuesday, April 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker SFT with Virtue, pretty good gun but I can't help but love the ego
Marker Setup: Chronic Ego 8
Halo V35
Dye Throttle

Smart Parts Shocker SFT with Virtue
same tank
same hopper

Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE, except probably a new barrel b/c of the gigantic size of the stock, .693
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light
Ease of Maintanance
Cure Bolt
no kick
Trigger
Consistancy
Break Beam Eyes
Weaknesses: It's a tad loud compared to my shocker, but not bad
Review: I just picked this thing up and tried it out on sunday and let me say that I am just amazed.

Speed: This thing is crazy fast. I'm talking 30+ easy.

Accuracy: It is a pretty accurate gun, even with the stock barrel, but I would recommend getting a new barrel, because the accuracy is lost over a distance.

Weight: This thing is mega/ultra/crazy light. It's even lighter than my shocker, which, for awhile, was the lightest gun out. It's at least 10 oz. lighter.

Looks: This thing is hot!!!! I love the way it looks, its just amazing, but this category is more a personal preference thing.

Maintanance: Very very easy to maintain. For a quick, full service job all you have to do is pop the bolt out, oil it, put it back in. Then, put a few drops of oil in the asa and dry fire a few times to oil the internals. That simple.

Cure Bolt: This thing is great. I haven't had but one chop, and that wasn't the bolts fault, it was my halo. But the cure is very light and effecient, and easy on paintballs.

Kick: The EGO 8 has very little kick. I noticed a little out of the box, but that has virtually disappeared. It kicks less than my shocker.

Trigger: The SL style trigger allows you to achieve extremely high rates of fire in semi and ramping. The Refs last weekend checked my gun twice, insisting that I was ramping, only to find that it was semi. (Peak ROF 24bps) Great, smooth, yet snappy trigger. *I myself chose the microswitch over the opto just because it's what I'm used to.

Consistancy: Out of the box: 273, 272, 273, 271, 269, 274. Very very consistant over the chrono. I was amazed at it.

Break Beam Eyes: The Break Beam Eye system is flawless and the delay is fully adjustable through the LCD Board. These eyes are far superior to my shocker's reflective eye system.

Efficiency: This gun is pretty efficient. I got about 3 pods and a hopper with 1900 psi left in my 45/4500, so i dont really know how much it actually gets off of that, probably about 5-6.

Noise: This gun is a bit loud, but not really a weakness because of the intimidation factor. My shocker is deadly quite, so it's not what I'm used to, but it doesn't take much getting used to. I think the ego sounds pretty cool, too.
Conclusion: I definately recommend this product because of all of the things I listed above. It is a great gun and shoots flawlessly. BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JustVic326 Thursday, February 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months36 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek Ego(owned), Proto matrix(just tested)
Marker Setup: Dust Black Ego8, Empire Reloader B, 68/4500 crossfire, Dye UL barrel
Marker has been owned since October 30, 2007(just to give you a better idea of how long I've owned Layla). Yes, I named the gun Layla.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel is a must! (UL recommended)
Strengths: Speed
Kick
Weight
Efficiency
Stock Board
Trigger
Maintenance
Manual
Customer Service
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is kinda weak.
Review: Speed:
I have shot 24bps with my stock reloader B. If you attach a Magna loader and RF, I am sure you can get it to shoot 30; I was able to get 30bps in training mode. Since the majority of tournaments will not allow players to shoot in excess of 15bps, this marker more than exceeds the speed requirements for any tournaments.
Kick:
Eclipse included the Zick(Zero Kick) Kit in this marker. The only reason you know its firing is because you can see balls flying.
Weight:
The Ego8 weights under two pounds. This makes it one of the lightest markers on the market. Although one wouldn't think there is a big difference between 2 & 3 & 4 pounds, the low weight does impact the players ability to move; this is especially true once the tank and loader are attached. Also, the trigger is designed with a small lip on the back, so it also makes the marker easy to carry;its like a handle built into it.
Efficiency:
Efficiency is an important factor to consider when purchasing a new marker. Tournament players shoot outrageous amounts of paint in a single round, and they expect their markers to have the ability to go longer then they can. As for weekend player, an efficient marker will let them stay on the field for the extra game once half of the players have gone back to refill their air. I have a 4+5 harness, and I will run out of paint before I run out of air! This alone is testament to how great of a job Eclipse did in designing this marker.
The board:
The stock board offer users the ability to adjust anything in the marker with great ease. Since it has an LCD built in, the player can adjust firing modes, rate of fire caps, dwell, tourney modes, etc., to specific settings without having to mess with counting L.E.D.s. Furthermore, the stock board has a timer so you can see how fast you win and a shot counter so you can see how many balls you threw at the other team.
Trigger: The trigger has a magnetic return, so it is really easy to adjust how hard of a pull you have. It can honestly feel like you are pulling on air!
Maintenance/Manual:
When it comes to maintenance, the Ego is one of the simplest markers to work on. The manual is a simple ,read because it walks the user through maintenance step by step. Also, the bolt can be removed easily. If the player gets a ball break--which doesn't happen--they pull out the bolt and run a squeegee in the back and out the front. This is by far the best way to remove broken paint. In a DM, for example, the player would practically have to disassemble the marker; you can't really do that on the field.
Customer Service: Planet Eclipse has some of the best customer service on the market, and thats all I have to say about that.
Barrel:
The Shaft II is an excellent barrel, but the marker comes with a .692 barrel stock. Unfortunately, this is far to large for most paintballs and decreases the accuracy and efficiency significantly. Planet Eclipse, to my knowledge, does not sell .689 backs for its barrels, so you can't buy the shaft II .689 back without buying the full kit for almost $200. Therefore, I recommend the Dye UL barrels because they are accurate and make the marker much quieter.
Conclusion: This is a high end marker, and I have high expectations. The marker offers many advantages to both the tournament player and the weekend warrior. The extreme performance, adjust-ability, and simplicity make this the best marker on the market. Some people would argue that the $1250 price tag is high, and I agree, but you pay for what you get. The pros give the gun a 10 and the stock barrel knocks it down .5 points. Since that brings the marker to a 9.5 and this option is not available, I have no choice but to give it a .5 point bonus on account of the fact that I own it and I can do that; we will just say I rounded up.
Feel free to post comments about the review. I look forward to seeing if anyone found it helpful.
P.S. This is pretty much a SL74 but a little heavier.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

maniac_baller_2 Friday, December 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmies, ledgends, just about everything out there
Marker Setup: 08 Origin series ego
Russian legion shocker
Hurricanes edition etek
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, perfect out of box
Strengths: Weight, Kick or lack there of, Efficiency, Accuracy, board
Weaknesses: None, maybe stock one you have to buy a barrel kit
Review: Positives the gun is light, amazingly light, i was a first skeptical about the weight issue, i am a fairly strong football player and never put much into how much a gun weighs but with this thing you feel a major difference, Way lighter than my legion or my etek. With this though I was worried about kick, and honestly right out of the box there was no kick what so ever. I was very impressed with this. I also would list how efficient the gun is. I was able to shot a hopper and 3 pods only using about 1000 or so psi, I was very happy with this for not even tweaking the settings. I also would list the guns Accuracy and simplicity as a plus. You do not have to be a genius to figure this thing out. More of there board is very simple to operate. The lcd is easily read, and switching modes, parameters, or displays is quite simple. Also the trigger is super smooth and very easy to get rolling. Moreover you can choose between micro or opti sensing allowing for the feel you like. Some say loud is a weakness but i dont think so, i think it helps you scare the weak into there bunkers allowing for easy kills. Finally the gun come stock with cure bolt and zick kit, which are essentials. Maintenance is a breeze and breaking the entire gun down is not really that complicated. Also the new reg eliminates the shim system thank heavens. I can not tell you how many times my dog has knocked those things of my table.
Weaknesses, if you dont get pl you wont get a barrel kit, also the gun is pricey compared to shockers and protos. Besides these i can not really think of any weaknesses. I mean i am sure if you think hard enough you can find weak points about any gun.
Conclusion, if you have the money buy the gun, it is virtually flawless, fast, consistent, no kick the list goes on. If you don't have the money dont panic though i really dont think the gun is that different then some of the other guns out there. I will say i prefer the 08 ego but, i would not hesitate to pick up my shocker or etek as well, you just have to get the right setup for you go with what comfortable and mow faces.
Conclusion: If you have the money buy it, i am sure you will love it, If you have an 07 wait for the 09 to come out, If you have another high end, and you are playing well, dont buy it, your probably used to what you have. All and all the gun is a sure ten, and i am hoping this gun doesnt cause me to neglect my other markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

hbotero Sunday, December 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SMARTS PARTS ION, SHOCKER NXT, ANGEL ONE, PLANET ECLIPSE EGO7
Marker Setup: NEW PLANET ECLIPSE EGO8+ LOADER EMPIRE B2 + EMPIRE TANK
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE THIS MARKET IS PERFECT
Strengths: Design, very light, great design
Weaknesses: This version is less noise than the ego7, but still being noisy
Review: the only thing that i could say is that is the most perfectly marker that i have buyed, it hhas a beautiful design,, agrssive and too light, too fast, what can i tell you? for me is THE BEST OF THE BEST.
The new bolt is usefull in the field, because you almost never chop any ball, the barrel is like the sl74, so this give you exactitud, and the small body let you put your hands in the barrel, so you are going tobe like shooting with your fingers
Conclusion: If you want to have a extraordinary marker, that will make a difference in the field, and off course, if you have the money, don't think it any more, buy it immediately
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Danegerous Monday, December 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias Intimidator- older, but very similar operationally. It compared with all the other guns of its time the same that the ego8 compares to the guns of today.
Marker Setup: Alias Intimmidator, Halo, Centerflag 68/45, Cp Barrel Kit
Ego8
Recommended
Upgrades:
A nice barrel kit will finish off this gun. The shaft is a bit expensive and redundant though, as you can only buy the complete set and the gun comes with a .693 back and 14" front stock.
Strengths: EFFICIENCY, weight, ease-of-maintenance, speed
Weaknesses: Maybe too light- some commented that it felt like a toy.
Review: I picked this gun up for a nice price that I can't disclose with high expectations. So far, the gun has not been found wanting. I made my decision because I wanted something new that was light, would turn heads, was easy to take care of, and was efficient. Obviously, the ego8 fit the criteria in all respects.

The gun itself is very light. I compared it with my alias and found that the difference wasn't huge, but it was noticeable. I loved the milling, and in my opinion it's better than the 07's. I also have loved the way ego's look for a long time, so I may be a bit biased.

Besides the aesthetics comes the technical side of the gun. It's a ram-poppet type gun like the intimidator. The only real difference in function is the use of QEV's in the ego's. The nature of its operation means that it is very air-efficient, and I believe it is one of the most, if not THE most efficient type of gun in the market. I got 7 pods and a hopper off of a 4000psi fill and had 1000-1500 psi to spare before I filled up and podded up again. The quote I heard was 9 pods and a hopper off of a 68/4500, but i have yet to have gotten a full fill on my bottle or an opportunity to put it to the test.

I chopped one of the first 4 balls I shot, but it was because I had forgotten to turn my hopper on. The special feedneck was supposed to deal with that, but whatever. I swabbed my barrel and kept shooting fine. There was little kick and the noise signature was only a bit louder than my teammate's intimidator.
Conclusion: If you have the money, go for it. I believe that the ego, and all high ends, are over-priced for what they are, but if you want the best there is then look nowhere else. My only gripe is the recall on the reg collars, but at least they're replaced for free. Oh, and the lack of maroon ccu kits to match Texas A&M's colors.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mitchel01 Wednesday, December 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: 08 Ego
Velocity Jr. w/gangstar board
Empire Magna Hopper
68/4500 Low Pressure Crossfire Fiber Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None at all (maybe a barrel if you are picky about paint and barrel matching)
Strengths: Speed
Effeciency
Size
Low Kick
Weight
Price
Weaknesses: Absolutly None!!!
Review: I got my Ego 8 about a month ago and have only used it a couple times so far. There are huge improvements over the 07 Ego. All the following a new improvements of the 07 Ego: zick kit is included stock, new SL 74 reg is included, a 2-piece SL 74 barrel is included, Cure bolt is included, New QEV Block (like 2 QEVs in a single unit for easier maintence), SL 74 on-off w/ purge and slightly lighter weight (gun weighs 1.99 lbs with the reg and barrel on). The milling is pretty slick and there are no sharp edges to ding up or cut your self on. The FMR (little silver think next to LP rer) has been moved back into the gun so it doesn't stick out anymore.

Onto the gun performance: I have only played with it for a month but I can elaborate about some performance from the Ego 8. The effeciency is awesome!!! I use a 68/4500 LP tank and I can get 6 pods and a hopper on a 3000 fill so you could get around 8 to 9 pods if you have a full tank to 4500 psi. No joke, this thing is insanely effecient. The accuracy is awesome too. The stock barrel is awesome and does not need to be replaced because it is the best barrel. The consistency is good too. You can keep a constant stream of paintballs on someone with out having breaks or the fluency of the stream of paintballs changing.

The board is awesome too. It come with either micro switch or break beam sensor so you can choose how you would want to have your tigger setup as. The LCD screen is a lot better. It is really bright black and white and can even be seen in the sun. The grips are nice too so there is no reason to change those. The gun come with a sweet case that holds your gun, tools, manual, and even a barrel set. Looks kind of like an iPod, lol.

I have not broken one ball yet because it is that good. I was using brittle year old paint and it stilll shot pretty good. Maintence is a snap, all you have to do is pull out your bolt and ram, put a few drops of oil on them and reinstall. Probably takes 30 sec to do it if you are fast.

All in all the Ego 8 is worth every penny. Basically, it is an SL74 but cheaper. Yea the SL 74 has a different valve and other things but essentially same gun.

Edit: I found out that on the Planet Eclipse website that they advertise the Ego 8 to shoot 1850+ shots which is the equivelant to 13 pods (140 round pods) or 9 (200 round pods). So the range of effiency is from 9 to 13 pods. If you don't believe me then check out the Eclipse website in the Ego 8 specifications.
Conclusion: If you have the money, then I would recommend this gun completly to anyone. Egos are high quality so what you are paying for is what you will be expecting, which is total domination!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 17th, 2007 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

dynastyfan 1 Saturday, October 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego Sl 74, Sl66, 07, 06, 05
Marker Setup: Ego 08 Khaki edition stock, 70 4500 dye tank, empire b2, camo vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, no kick, board , milling, weight, efficiency, price
Weaknesses: None what so ever
Review: Well i got my 08 ego a few days before the cup and it was a big improvement over the 07 for several reasons. It has some of the sl74 parts on it and the zick kit which means no kick at all. Another major thing i liked was the milling of it and how it looks like a pretty sik gun. I went to the field the following weekend and i chronod it and it had a +/- 3 at 280 which was great. I used some old paint to see if it could use fragile and it shot like it was newer paint... not 1 chop occured. When i shot at a target the accuracy was better than my friends 07 because most if not all the time the paint hit the target. It is fast like all the other egos and is a bit heavier than an sl74. At the field people were asking if this was an 08 or an 07 and i said 08. When playing it was real tight when playing the snake and when i needed 2 snap it was dead on accurate. I got 1 hopper and 6 pods of one fill which was awsome. When cleaning it was very easy because its an ego which is one of the most easiest guns to clean
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone that wants to upgrade from any ego to this since it is great in many ways. It is very efficient and it is easy to clean for most people. You just need to know how to take it apart and how to put together the qblock. This gun shoots ropes and i hope people get this since it owns!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media