paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Droid / MACDev Droid / MACDev Droid / MACDev Droid

MACDev Droid Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Droid

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Droid
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
"Droid.

Project D is a new gun designed and manufactured by MacDev, we have named it Droid. This new gun is not a Cyborg, and it is not intended to replace the Cyborg. The Cyborg and Droid will both be available, and the Cyborg has a very bright future, with a new model set for release in 2008.

The Droid will be set in the high end bracket, with a retail price of over $US1,000, it will be an alternative option to players who want to have a high quality and high performance single tube paintball marker.



The details.

The Droid is designed to breathe new life into the single tube gun market. MacDev designers have made some very interesting innovations that are designed to increase the reliability and efficiency which is always lacking in conventional spool designs. These innovations have led to significant reliability and efficiency advantages, and patents will be granted for them soon.

The Droid features lightweight construction, extensive 3D surface milling and a small, comfortable playing profile."

Cited From: http://www.macdev.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=60&Itemid=115
Product Availability 
The MACDev Droid is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
seriouslysilly Thursday, June 2nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Geo2
DP G3

Ego 05
Ego SL74
Ego 08
Ego SL8R
Ego SL94

Cyborg RX

DP fusion F7
Marker Setup: Macdev Droid
Prophecy/Rotor
68/4500 Myth2
Disruptive Barrel
Furious barrel
Lucky 15 barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
VP trigger
gold bolt
barrel kit
OLED (optional)
Strengths: - Very quiet
- very smooth
- affordable price
Weaknesses: - Stock trigger
- Stock barrel is not as quiet as others
Review: Although my experience is more on the poppet side, I will compare the Droid to the other two spoolies I have shot (Geo2 and G3). The G3 does not compare to the Droid or the Geo2 so it will be left out.

Shot a friend's Droid and immediately liked how it felt and how it shot.
I was currently shooting a Geo2 and the feel of both markers are similar. The spacing between the trigger frame and HPR are about the same.

First the negatives of the Droid in comparison to the Geo2:
The droid has more orings on the drive train than the Geo2. It also requires tools to remove the drive train. Although most of the orings in the drive train are not dynamic, it recommended to be replaced as part of preventative maintenance (about 1 year – depending on how much you play). Disassembly of the drive train at first glance can seem daunting as it has quite a few parts more than the Geo2, but after going though it step by step, I was able to do it without the manual or pictures after the 2nd-3rd time.

The stock trigger leaves little to be desired. It has significant side-to-side play and the spring return is not liked by many. I do, however, like the nylon set screw so it prevents the regular wear on the trigger frame (not really a big deal). The stock grips also feel mushy and bulky. It would have been great if it felt as good as the stock RX grips.

The stock barrel is not really a negative, but just something one might consider to improve on the performance of the marker. It is accurate, but definitely not as quiet as some aftermarket barrels. I have tried the Lucky15, Disruptive, and Furious barrels and they have significantly dampened the sound of the Droid even more!

The stock board is great and easily programmable. If one want to splurge and get the OLED screen, it would make programming easier. Performance gains with a new board is minimal- which is why it noted this upgrade as optional.

Now to the positives:
It is much much much quieter than the Geo2 (and recently the Dye NT). Although the NT and Geo2 are newer, they still do not compare to how quiet the Droid is. If you are wondering about age and wear, the droid I am using isn’t even broken in yet. I purchased a LNIB droid which had no wear at all. To top it off, I replaced all the orings in the marker because of the age of the marker so it basically is like new.

Smoothness is another factor that the Droid shines. It is significantly smoother than the Geo2 and NT. I know it is preference and is difficult to gauge objectively, but I have tried shooting with two hands as well as with one. The kick is less noticeable with the Droid.

Efficiency is another thing that is reported with the Droid. Although I can not vouche for it personally, I believe the several tests out there already.


Conclusion: I bought my own Droid (LNIB) after shooting a friend's droid and was immediately impressed at the sound signature and feel of the marker. The physical feel of the Droid matched my Geo2 very closely, but outperformed the Geo2 in other aspects (sound signature, smoothness, efficiency).

The additional maintenance because of the orings is minimal to the performance that the Droid brings. After assembly/disassembly of the droid 2-3 times, I am able to do it without consulting the manual or pictures.

Because of how the Droid felt and performed, I soon sold my Geo2 and glad I did. Originally, I vowed that I would never sell my Geo2 (my first ever "new" marker) but couldn't justify keeping it along with the Droid.

I definitely recommend at least shooting a Droid so you can compare it to your current marker. At this point in time, a Droid can be had very reasonably at $350-$400. It is definitely worth a try!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

62RHLI Tuesday, December 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
- DM6
- NXT/SFT Shockers
- SP 09 Impulse
Marker Setup: Main:
Grey Rotor
Ego 08
70/45

Backup:
Upped Reloader B
Droid
68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
XXX Derlin Bolt
VVP Trigger / Violent Products Trigger
Gold Bolt (Not Necessary)
Strengths: Accuracy
Efficiency
Quality
Commonwealth Manufactured (Aussie)
Weaknesses: Picky with Lube
Too Many Orings
Easy to Over Pressurize
Attention To Detail kinda gun
Review: Cosmetics:
I'm not one for the whole "It has to look good to shoot good" or "I gotta get my paintball swagga on, lookin' good for the ladies" kinda pb fashion style but this gun delivers on sleek profile and beautiful craftsmanship. Macdev did a excellent job in the design of this gun cosmetically.

Weight/Physical:
The gun is light compared to most DM's and i'd say is a competitor with any Eclipse series marker for lightness. It ISNT as light as a Geo, but she's darned close with a rotor and PE 68/45. The matchstik barrel that comes stock IS a wee bit heavy in weight, although when you pick up that barrel you can feel its made well. The other point made with the droid is that you can tell is been machined well. All of the gun is solid in construction with nothing that could possibly be half-done. No body screwed the pooch with the structural integrity of this gun.

In Box:
Manual is superb! Up there with Eclipse manuals!
Oring kit is great! Eyes are STOCK laser! Barrel sock is kinda cheap but who cares about a sock... and the allen key and Milita lube is perfect. i'll get back on the lube in a bit.

Airing it up:
Okay, first shots on the chrono was within 13+/-. I was VERY impressed with how ball on ball it was within 50 feet. I began to giggle like a little girl when I shot down tape with it on semi and it shot lazers. it was nuts. I was absolutely beside myself.

Consistency/Shooting:
The gun is extremely consistent with its accuracy and in air efficiency. I am able to shoot this gun with about 1500-1750 indoors. It's extremely low pressure and one can tell from how GENTLE THIS GUN IS ON PAINT. Using JT fluid, this gun was able to shoot ridiculously brittle paint, EVEN OUTDOORS IN -5 Degree Celsius WEATHER. Other reviews may say otherwise, but I had my Droid shooting in FRIGID weather conditions shooting ridiculously brittle paint. I WAS BLOWN AWAY. For this reason, it's a keeper.
Have had some bolt stick in winter conditions, but could have been because of the thicker lube being used. BATTERY USE ON THIS GUN IS UNBELIEVABLE TOO! Gone through about 7-9 cases without the low battery indicator even coming on. Noticeable kick but LESS than a shocker or DM. Not like it matters unless you're getting barrel creep up like I've seen on some over pressurized Ego's from people who don't know how to equalize their LPR's but its a comfy gun to shoot!

Barrel:
The matchstik barrel is excellent for a stock barrel and is manufactured with extreme quality control. HARD anno so not much scratching can be done to this gun OR barrel.

ASA:
Awesome stock ASA, just like the Angel A1!

Board:
Board LED is very very bright. Easy to see on the field and programing is easy with the manual.

Trigger:
Stock trigger is fine but i prefer the sling style from Violent Products. The trigger makes a huge difference with this gun.

Feedneck:
Great feedneck with thumb wheel adjuster.


PROBLEMS:
Alright, I hate to say this, but there is a couple points I wanna make with the droid.
1.) You gotta use a DM or slick lube that's not SLEEK or Dow 33. YOU CAN, but it's not ideal for the droid. The thickness of this lube can cause bolt stick on the droid and cause it to start having some over pressure sticking or other types of pressure distribution. Also do NOT OVER LUBE THIS GUN. It can actually cause your bolt to start to stick if you use sleek and you can begin to blow some orings. Easy fixes though. Replacing orings is a breeze. Using the milita lube or hatersauce works great for this marker. Its gotta be a finer lube because of the small little increments of adjustment this marker needs. USE GOOD LUBE! You can forsure use sleek, but its not ideal.

2.) Orings: You gotta make sure you have some. Within a week I have blown 3 orings playing MXL, CXBL, and it's been a small pain. However, with that said, they were all easy fixes. I blew a bolt tip oring and the thing kept shooting and I didn't even know it. Talk about a "Built like a brick shi- house" marker. The thing is unstoppable! Definitely need to have orings with you though for this marker if you over pressurize or goof up. As long as you pay attention and know how to equalize your reg to the right level and don't over pressurize, you're A-Okay. The noid is extremely powerful on the droid aswell. It can handle atleast over what the gladiator reg can dish out being such a low pressure gun, the noid isn't doing half the work it should be.

3.) Grips: Stock grips could be better. They've got some ring and little finger play with the rubber to the grip. There's a gap between how rigid the rubber is and the frame itself. NO BIG DEAL THOUGH!
Conclusion: Macdev, how do you guys keep making amazing guns?

I am blown away with the performance of this marker. I mean it all checks out! If there is a problem with this gun, it's because YOU'VE screwed up. This is a craftsman's gun for sure and it demands respect by those who shoulder it. Just beware of the love and care you need to apply to this marker, as all markers, and one should be able to implement this marker in the deadliest of paintball matches.

It's efficient, it's a softy on paint. It's quiet and deadly accurate with grouping that could shoot grapes off a tree. It's light as a feather and build like a rock. This marker just needs some lovin' with attention to detail. That's it.

Keep it classy boys,
- 62

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 22nd, 2009 at 4:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Wednesday, November 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Dm6
Proto Pm8
Mikko Huttunen's Personal Pm8
Bob Long Marq 7
Marker Setup: Bob Long Marq 7:
4C Eyes,Ryujin board, Gear Drive, .691 Marq Barrel, Closer Trigger, Silver Accents
DXS 48/45k Stubby: Ninja 4500 Reg.
Dye Rotor, Quickfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger!
That's bout it...
Strengths: Build Quality
Outside Looks
ASA
Barrel
Nice Weight
Smooth, efficient, pretty quiet
Weaknesses: WIRES!
Stock Trigger
I don't like the thickness of the grips and frame
Review: Ok, so I got this gun and was pretty impressed with it. It was VERY efficient, the most efficient spoolie out there(sorry NT, you can't cut it....).
It was smooth, not Dm6/Pm8 smooth, but it was pretty smooth. Sound signature was a cool spoolie, a lil different than a Dm6/Pm8. The Feel of the grips and frame combo was bad to me, as was the CRAPPY stock trigger. Either way, it was a nice shooter, just not my gun. The wires in the frame were so all over the place that I crimped an eye wire while putting it back together. $25 part for too many wires.....made me angry.
Conclusion: A great gun in it's class, I am just not a die hard fan.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheShifty_ Friday, December 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most other high ends.
Marker Setup: Macdev Droid
Dynasty Shocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gold bolt.
Macdev's inline filter debuting on Rx Cyborg.
Strengths: Nice trigger.
Light.
Everything is good all-round.
Weaknesses: Stock bolts break frequently.
Hard on paint.
Frame could be more comfortable.
Review: I've shot the Droid just about every week for a year now. It's a pretty good gun.

The trigger, it feels cheap and clunky, but it's suprisingly easy to shoot fast. The gun is extremely light, definitely the lightest spoolie (haven't held a Geo yet). Overall, its real good, I just found it didn't really excel at anything. For example, it's a lot smoother than any poppet-valve, but not as smooth as a DM or Shocker. It's quiet and efficient -- I probably get 1500-1600 shots off a 68/45. Other than that, it's just a fairly solid all-rounder.

The stock black bolt that comes with the Droid is prone to snapping, which causes the gun to just make a small sputter but not shoot any paint. I had to replace mine after six months of use because of this; some of my teammates had less luck going through four or five bolts throughout the year, although others didn't snap even one. For this reason, it's definitely worth getting Macdev's gold bolt upgrade for this gun as it's supposed to be stronger.

I found the Droid to be relatively hard on paint, definitely harder than a Shocker. In winter it was a nightmare, and the problem was still prevalent in summer although not as bad.

Finally... the frame is thick and unshapley. Macdev probably could have put more effort into it. I think it's exactly the same as the 06 Cyborg frame?
Conclusion: It's definitely competitive as a high end gun, although it does have flaws.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jhorgan Friday, October 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DMs, PMs, Shockers, Quests
Marker Setup: Droid
PowerLyte Barrel Kit
CP 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Trigger if you don't like stock
Goldilocks Bolt but it's not needed
Strengths: Made by MacDev, effecient, quiet, fast, light, easy to use
Weaknesses: None
Review: First Impressions:
The anno and milling are almost completely flawless. There are no variations in color on any parts of the marker. One of the first things I noticed about the Droid is how light it feels even with a tank and hopper on it. It is very well balanced and is easy to manuver with; it does not feel clumsy at all. The space between the reg and trigger frame is nice as well. It gives a more stable platform while running and gunning. Helps you feel like you are in control of the marker. All of the stock parts on the Droid are of the highest quality and there is no need to upgrade any of them to make it compete. The ASA is one of the best I've ever seen, hands down.

Software and Operation:
The Droid comes stock with the latest MacDev Militia software. It has 13 modes of fire and is fully adjustable to the users liking; although there is very little need to chage any of the stock settings because the folks at MacDev set up the Droids for maximum performance out of the box. The interface is very user friendly. Although there are aftermarker boards available for the Droid the stock board is more than adequate for today's game.
The Droid is the most air effecient spool valve marker I've ever used. After it was broken in I have been getting 1800+ shots off of a cold filled 68/4500. I'm pretty sure there isn't another spool valve gun out there that can honestly claim that.
The Gladiator regulator is very consistent. With a good paint to barrel match I get no more than +/-2 and that's on a bad day.

On The Field:
Out of the box the Droid shot smooth as butter with very low sound signature and zero kick. The stock trigger does have some side to side play on it but it is very little. Shooting a steady rope of paint in semi-auto takes very little effort. The Droid has great shot-to-shot consistency at high rates of fire.

After Playing:
Maintenance on the Droid is a little more involved compared to poppit-valve markers but really no more than on most other spool valve guns. After a normal day of play (i.e. routine maintenance) take about 5 minutes to take out the drivetrain and wipe down and relube a few orings. Although there are approximately 17+ orings on the drivetrain only 4 or 5 actually have any friction applied to them when the marker is fired. So maintenance really isn't all that bad.
Conclusion: MacDev has outdone themselves with the Droid. They came out with their first spool valve marker ever and it is just about perfect. It is everything any serious player is looking for in a marker. There truly isn't any other spoolie on the market I'd rather shoot than the Droid.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 31st, 2008 at 9:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BostonBaller Friday, October 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dynasty Shocker
FreeFlow Shocker
PMR
Marker Setup: WDP Angel 1
DXS 68/4500
Stiffi Switch Kit
Macdev Droid
Pure Energy 48/4500
Sly Kit
Vlocity
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit
Strengths: -Shoots fast
-Air Efficient
-Low Kick, shoots smooth
-Consistant Velocity
Weaknesses: -Grips feel cheap
-FSDO
-Gun sounds inconsistant
-Easy to switch gun on/off accidently
Review: Pro:
-Shoots fast easily
-Air Efficient (get a half case to a tank)
-Low Kick, shoots very smooth
-Consistant Velocity/Quality Reg
Cons:
-Grips feel cheap, mine don't fit the frame properly
-FSDO
-Gun sounds inconsistant while shooting, mostly shoots quiet with some shots being much louder
-Easy to switch gun on/off accidently when carrying in snatch grip position, switch

Been playing with the Droid for about 5 months and have been enjoying it. I am typically not a spool valve fan for a few reasons and use my A1 as my primary gun. I really like the way both guns shoot and feel different. The droid is well balanced, lightweight, and air efficient. The trigger feel is a little sloppy with some side to side movement and comes set up very badly out of the box. Take some time to set it up before you go out to play. Something I think is missing, perhaps from being spoiled with the a1, is an OLED display like the a1's and egos have. All work with the board is done through the trigger with series of blinking colored led's; consult the manual. I've had to replace one o-ring in the gun and have probably put about 8 cases through it. Typical spool valve maintenance, a little annoying and too often.
Conclusion: Love the Droid. Not everything I would like in a gun but a great marker to rip on some ballers. Almost zero problems with it, changed one o-ring and some slow shooting/skipped shots one day. After that day worked normally.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

outkastmike Sunday, June 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker sft,nxt
Marker Setup: DXS 1.1 bottle
Magna hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Smooth shooting cycle,nice trigger,no kick
Weaknesses: Lack of upgrades at the moment
Review: Having already having owned and liked the style of the shocker NXT & SFT i was expecting more of the same from the droid but........
What i didn't expect was how much smoother it was to shoot with zero kick over other spoolers including the DM and proto range.
The droid is possibly the best spooler out there at the moment in my opinion.
function and feel is similier to a shocker but a lot lighter,the trigger once set up to your liking is easy to shoot streams of paint in any of the 12 modes it comes with.
dissembly is a breeze simply undo the small grub screw on top of the body and unscrew the valve out.
The valve/keg itself looks more like its from the DM range with several parts and over 17 o-rings in total,but its easier to fix than a shocker or DM due to only having only a couple of critical o-rings on the bolt.
Once the droid body is opened up you see the only big problem,it does look a bit old skool very similier to the old bushmaster with thin wires going from the noid to the board and eyes,if your to rought it would be easy to snap wires so care should be taken when splitting the frame apart.
The matchstick barrel is flawless shooting is on par with anyother highend barrel.
Conclusion: I have to say i cant really fault this marker,the more i shoot it,the more i like it,its that simple!!!!!!!
some parts of the marker are little old skool (the switch & wiring) but they are not really an issue or detract from the performance of the DROID.
In my opinion this is by far the best and most reliable spool valve on the market.
If you like shockers or proto/Dye markers you will love this...
10/10 for a spooler
9/10 for an electro marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mariners02 Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm's and other spool valve markers
Marker Setup: pm6, evolve pepper stickz
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dunno it didn't really seem like it needed any, maybe tadao or virtue when it comes out.
Strengths: Consistency
accuracy
very compact
100 psi operating pressure
very little kick
effeciant.
Weaknesses: I didn't like the feel that much thats subjective though.
Review: I had heard a lot about these markers so when someone showed up at my field with one i jumped on the opportunity to shoot a couple pods through it. This gun is very light, i had just test fired an 08 ego just before i shot this and the gun didn't feel much heavier. I turned the gun on and ripped and entire halo effortlessly the marker is very fast and has very little kick (slightly less than my dm4 and pm6). What impressed me most about this marker though, is how ridiculously consistent it was, i was getting +-2 over the chrono and from 75 feet away it was putting ball on ball, there was one mark about 4-5 inches across from a whole pod of paint on the wall. It is the combination of the consistency over the chrono and the lack of kick that makes this marker truly deadly. Though i was very impressed by the consistency and lack of kick, this marker almost had too little kick, it had no feel to it, i barely knew i was shooting, this gun might take some getting used to and feel is more of personal thing so i didn't count this in the overall score.
Conclusion: If you get the chance, shoot one for yourself, this marker is revolutionary in its lack of kick and consistency.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nurg1234 Friday, April 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2006 NXT shocker, DM5, DM7
Marker Setup: E-tek with Hardshell bolt, Tadao M7 board, 06 Ego roller trigger, Warped Sportz TI Rammer, Kila Detants, 68/5000 Scion adjustable, Velocity with big button mod.

2008 MacDev Droid, Dye Ultralight barrell, Pure energy 68/4500, Empire Magna Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao board that is coming out for the Oled, better grips and more matchstick barrell backs or another Barrell of your preference.
Strengths: It is light and Long.
Weaknesses: Grips
Review: I go this marker shot like 10 balls out of it and it choaked on me. (extreme bolt stick) I had to take the thing apart disassemble the whole spool and lube it all again. After that it was shootign fine and then started choking on me again. So I stripped the gun entirely (thank gawd for being a gun tech) right down to the noid and found a seal in it out of place and once I got it in place. the gun started cycling ok. so I went to the local field to test it out and found out the thing was set way too high on the reg (first shot 480 FPS second shot 465 fps) so I cranked it down to normal (I chrony in at like 270 usually) once I did that the gun choaked again. I was really confused but then again it was shooting really high so I tore it apart again and then lubed it again as it seemed the high pressure of shooting at like 480 cleaned off most of the lube I put on the spool valve. once i relubed it it seemed to work fin and I had no issues from there. I ran a few tanks of air through it after that and everything was fine.

As for shooting it and the balance of the gun I was quite impressed I was thinking that i might retire my Etek which is a machine gun. The gun itself with a 45/45 on it felt super light (like a mini almost but better balanced and longer.) I will note one thing though this gun is the quietest I have ever had the pleasure of shooting. From there I was in a tourney where the BPS was limits to 15 or less by using slower hoppers. older sound activated hoppers will not function right with this loader because it can be too quiet to set off the sensor. This was the case with a Halo TSA backman I switched up to a team mates revy and all was good again.

A few notes of mention from when I had to strip the gun completely is that the gun is very simple to maintain once you get used to how the spool pulls out and goes back in. I am not mentioning the rest of the gun for the way it is built the seals see little to no wear at all so there should almost be no reason to ever pull those areas apart.

The only thing I would recommend to anyone that buys one of these new off of the shelf is to go to youtube and watch the video on how to assemble the cylinder as the instructions are good but are not 100% clear on it. Then strip the cylinder and relube it all and then put it back together then chrony it to make sure it is not at something aburd like mine was after that I'd run a few tanks of air through it to break in the reg a little.

If you do get one I would also recommend to look at the Tadao board coming out for it and I heard rumours of a virtue board coming out for it. The reason I mention the tadao one is that it coes with an OLED display screen, new grip pannels, and it comes with a RF transmitter to make it compatible with newer loaders that are setup with shot by shot activation and it also gets rid of the battery being on a cable and it puts in an actual clip for the 9 volt.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun literally. I had a rough start to mine but after assembling it 4-5 times it is really easy to work on and understand
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VonOrt Tuesday, March 11th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators, DM's, Quest, Mini, Over 20 yrs of exp in the game I've shot them all
Marker Setup: Mac Dev Droid out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bob Long Marq
Strengths: Light wieght
not bad looking
Weaknesses: See the review
Review: This is my review of the Mac Dev Droid. To say I'm sadly disappointed in this marker would be an understatement. For the price of this gun and supposedly being a high end marker it came up way short of my expectations.


The bad:

1) The biggest issue I had with this marker was it would not shoot solid paint. Something that you would expect from a $1000 marker. The gun was not chopping paint. It was breaking paint about 1" down the barrel. I shot 7 different brands of paint. Including winter shell paint that dropped from 6' and bounced off of concrete. This paint was all fresh and purchased from my local pro shop. All of the tested paint shot fine through my Intimidator, Mini, and Blazer. I also tried at least 4 different barrels on this gun to no avail. Thinking it might be a barrel issue, I put the Mac Dev barrel on my Intimidator and had zero problems. I was shooting semin uncapped with a brand new Reloader B. The hopper was set for the highest speed but that did nothing for the issue. I also tried to slow the hopper down thinking it was too much pressure on the paint. This did not help. The same hopper was used on the highest speed on the Intimidator and the Mini with no issues.

2) Now some will say I'm being nit picky at this point. But the finish on the gun was not that great. You can see brush marks through the anno. Sorry if your trying to market this as a high end marker and charge high end price for it, everything should be perfect. I have seen better anodizing and polishing on mid range guns like PM7's.

3) The screw in the top of the gun that holds the drive train in place looks cheap and Spyderish. This is something I would expect on a $200 gun, not a $1000 gun. At least on the Mini they use the grip frame screw to accomplish the same thing. (and a mini is only $325)

4) Effeciency was no where near the advertised numbers. Using a 45/4500 tank witha a good 4000 psi fill, I was lucky to get around 800 shots. I do not call that effeceint. With the same tank and fill I can nearly get 2000 rounds through my Intimidator.

5) Shoot ability was so so. I'm not one that will say a marker has "recoil", as I reserve that for real firearms. But this marker definetly has a muzzle climb to it. Making it harder to keep on target when attempting to fire long strings. Of course firing long strings was usally only about 10 to 20 balls before it would start breaking paint.

Conclusion: Overall I think this gun is way overpriced, and just not that good. I have shot many mid level guns that out perform this marker in pretty much every category. And they cost significantly less money. Overall I would give this gun a 1 out of 10. And personally I don't think I will ever shoot a Mac Dev product again. I have no faith in the product or the company. This marker was a total waste of money.

edit*
Just received information from the person I sold this gun to. He had the new bolt and new software installed from NOX. He says he used the gun over the weekend with no problems. I'm glad its working for someone. Does it change my view of the gun, not really. But I will say at least MD stepped up and started making a new bolt. Was that the issue I have no idea.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 at 2:36 pm PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media