paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition

Proto PMR Special Edition Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Special Edition

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Special Edition
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PMR SPECIAL EDITION
14'' 2PC BARREL
ALLOY EYEPLATE
ALLOY LOGO
BOLT CAP
ALLOY FEEDNECK W/KNOB
ALLOY ASA
EDGE TRIGGER GUARD
EDGE TRIGGER
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Special Edition is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
IHS-Thenault Sunday, May 29th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
4 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker competition SF- The PMR is much more reliable and less finicky.
Mini '11- About the same as the PMR, has a smoother trigger pull.
Marker Setup: PMR SE
Expanded Trigger Guard
Stock Barrel or 12" JT two piece
Proto 3000psi/45cu Compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger Guard- One that is wider. It will allow for more finger room and movement.
Strengths: Weight
ROF
Accuracy
Durability
Reliability
Weaknesses: Feed-neck- Doesn't hold all hoppers
Air inefficiency
Review: A great gun for the player who isn't able to play every weekend, but who is still devoted to the game. I only had one major problem with the gun, and it was a manufacturer error, which was fixed by Proto at zero cost to me. It handles well and shoots a consistent fps, rarely requiring adjustment. The feed-neck doesn't work well with hoppers like the evo3 and the HALO which have different neck sizes. The gun is also a bit of a gas hog. Other than that it has been an amazing gun. I used for 4 years, before having to take it into the shop for a minor service. It shoots far and accurately and goes toe-to-toe with guns that are 2 to 3 times its price and can still compete with them.
Conclusion: A gun that is well worth the investment for a player that is into the game, but can't play every weekend, or for a player looking to get their first electric marker. It is reliable, low maintenance, cost effective, and just flat out great to use.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DisturbedRising Tuesday, November 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Spyder VS / RS / RSX series
Marker Setup: PMR Special Edition (Camo)
DXS 3000 Psi tank
Halo V35 w/ Rip Drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel / Upgrade existing 2 piece barrel
New trigger (depends on preferenece. It is ok for me, but my friends think other wise)
New clamping feedneck (It comes with one but it is plastic)
UL frame (again based upon personal opinion buy it then upgrade if needed)
Strengths: 1) Weight
2) Upgrades from regular edition
3) Accuracy
Weaknesses: 1) Air Hog
2) Lots of O-rings
3) Overall Matainence
Review: I got this gun pulled it out of the box, did standard checking of parts, then fired... it shot perfect right there out of the box even at chrono 285-290! I love how light this gun is and how accurate the stock barrel is, granted it is a stock barel it isn't super accurate but plenty enough to get the job done. I do advise a upgrade to the barrel it comes with or a new barrel, but what gun doesn't need a stock barrel upgrade. Also this is a spool valve gun and it does have a lot of O-Rings which means lots of care and treatment to this gun.
Conclusion: I would advise this gun to any starter who already knows quite a bit about mataining a gun. Also advise this as a back-up if not main gun to anyone else. it is perhaps one the best if not the best guns on the market in this price range. I give it 9 instead of a 10 because no gun is perfect and there is always room for improvement.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dgshearns12 Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
us-5
ion
ego
slg
epiphany
MR2
DM6
Marker Setup: PMR special edition
empire B
Pure energy 70/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe new trigger
Strengths: Ups
Weaknesses: Air Hog at first till broken in
Barrel scratches easy
Review: I got this gun by total surprise and it was great right out of the box.I used it about a week after I got it and with a few trigger adjustments i was takin out ego and droids all day. Great gun for the money you should deffinitley get one.
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wetwilly1166 Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egos
DM6,7
PM7
Marker Setup: LE PMR (black/clear)
Hybrid ON/OFF asa
UL trigger (not frame)
Freak w/ All american
Virtue Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/off
barrel kit (or UL)
frame if prefered
Strengths: Price
Simplicity
Noise
Accuracy
Weight
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Review: I bought this back when the Rail was just released and this set me back $500. Kinda Sucks. oh well, I needed an upgrade from my Autococker to supplement my snake playing skills.

Price: AT the time, the rail seemed like a bargain. Now, the price is ridiculous at only $285 brand new. In this package comes the consistency and speed of a top level gun like the DMs and PMs. Coming from this proven family the PMR is no exception.

simplicity: Straight out of the box, all you need is a fast loader, and a compressed air tank. The board has a few different moses that are easy enough to change through, though require you to open the grips. Not really a problem as I usually just play in semi (why ramp in practice). The nicest part about the gun is that as long as the eyes see a paintball, and there is gas, the marker will shoot.

Noise: Dye markers have been know for their quiet operation as are most spool valve markers. Though having no LPR makes the Rail slightly louder, it is not really noticeable. Having a 2 piece 14" barrel come stock with the LE version is a big plus and also reduces the noise factor.

Accuracy: I can honestly say that I have never actually played a game with the stock 2 piece. I have shot paint through it in my backyard for testing and calculations though. At about 100 ft with good paint, the rail held a 6" pattern even while shooting ropes. Adding the Freak to it makes the grouping even smaller.

Weight: This is honestly one of the lightest markers I have ever played with. The frame is a "plastic" material that severely cuts down on the weight making snapping a breeze.


Many people told me to get a UL frame for it, but my hands are larger then most and the UL frame does not sit quite right in my hands. I instead bout the UL trigger which severely shortened the length in which my hand was stretched out across the frame to the trigger compared to the swooped forward design of the stock one.

CONS
Efficiency: This, like most other spool valve guns is not the greatest when it comes to the air department. Although consistent, when set up to shoot 295 the gun at through a 68/4000 fill in just a VLjr and 5 pods. If you do need that extra pod or two, spring for either a tub of hater sauce, or just lower the dwell and velocity. All three make a noticable improvement. (2VLjrs and 8pods on a 68/4500)
Conclusion: A great start up gun for the emerging player that is affordable and gives anyone the potential to shoot ridiculously fast. Many of the other players on my team have these as back ups. I am personally a believer in DYE/ PROTO now and will stay with them until convinced otherwise.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cerberusai Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI SRT E-Force (Terrible-Very inconsistent-I think it was milled/bored wrong)
PMI R6 (moved the E-frame to this one...Shoots pretty good-Solid backup marker)
Marker Setup: Proto On/Off ASA
Clamping feedneck
Pulse Hopper w/RF chip
Dye UL .692 barrel
Redz Pepperstiks kit (.687 .689 .693) barrels
Proto .690 barrel
68/4500 w/Myth reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA
Strengths: Smooth operation
Weaknesses: Lots of O-rings, poor efficiency
Review: This is a solid, fast maker.
It shoots consistent @ the chrono.
The manual is well written and has most of the answers you might need.
I have yet to have a problem with this marker on the field.
So far I only have had to replace one O-ring (the one perp to the bolt between solenoid and the bolt.)
I would recommend stripping and lubing it after every day of play.

I would recommend this SE over a stock PMR.
-Even if you plan on replacing the SE backcap with a 'fingers only' backcap
-Even if you would replace the SE trigger or spring for the UL frame & trigger
-Even if plan on buying an on/off ASA or a clamping feedneck
Basically if you plan on replacing all of the SE items......The SE is still the better choice over the regular PMR, because of the 2 piece barrel. With the SE you get a Proto .690 (which shoots great) back and a 14 inch front that works with Dye Ultralight Backs. Pick up 1or 2 more UL backs and you do not need anything else.
Conclusion: The best gun at this price. There might be better markers for more $$ but there is nothing cheaper that is close.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juit Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto M7
Marker Setup: PM7
Lucky barrel kit
halo v35 cranium shell
Recommended
Upgrades:
U.L. frame
board
magnetic detents
Strengths: Very reliable
Lot of upgrades to choose from
Weaknesses: None
Review: Its a bad azz gun very acurate and a gas saver not quite as a dm8 or dm7 but with som upgrades it could be a tourny gun I recomend a clamping or sand a halo the VL brand has no problems with it you can look for the limited edition and save some cash
Conclusion: Buy it is chea and a nice catch
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

d3athr0w Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mini Invert (consistent, lighter, tiny)
Ion (good bang for your buck)
Epiphany (same as Ion just little up'd.)
Marker Setup: PMR SE (Clear/Black)
Vlocity Jr
Draxxus 68/45 LP Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) Drop Forward (CP Micro Razor Drop) - Personal preference and will be my next upgrade.
2) clamping feedneck - will be my next upgrade
3) maybe trigger, i don't mind the stock.
Strengths: 1) Fast
2) Light
3) Easy to strip and maintain
4) Stock two-piece barrel
Weaknesses: 1) Swivel
2) Feedneck
Review: Got this gun recently after much debate between Invert Mini and PMR SE (tried both of them multiple times). Tough choice, but worth it.

Chrono'd the gun right out of the box and was getting 285 +-15. Altho the ones i've tried has given me 280 +- 5. I guess it'll take few games before i break into the reg.

PMR has 4 modes, and boy does it rip. Sure you can set the ROF to 30bps with PSP mode, however, you will not get the full 30bps with eyes ON or OFF. That's cause most hoppers (i.e. Vlocity, Halo etc.); and i don't care what ppl say; won't feed upto that speed (max you'll get is 20-22). The only time i've seen it rip close to 30bps is with pulse loader with RF chip.

Anyhow, i didn't buy the gun just for the 30bps, bought it for its reliability and consistency on the field. And ofcourse, easy maintenance. So far (2 games), i haven't been disappointed. No chops (with eyes on) and no barrel breaks so far.

The gun is pretty light and with vlocity jr (which is lighter than halo b) and carbon fiber tank (i.e. Draxxus or crossfire), you can't go wrong.

The only two things i didn't like were:
1) feedneck - where you need an allen-key to screw in and out, if you tend to take your hopper out often.
2) swivel - where the macroline attaches to the Hyper-2 reg. Can be annoying.

However, these two weakness can be ignored:
1) upgrade feedneck to clamp neck
2) get a new reg? or you can just simple ignore it :)

Conclusion: Go for the PMR SE instead of the regular PMR. Rumor is they coming out with new version of PMR, but who knows what the $$$ will be. For $275, you can't go wrong. And if you have personal preference on setting up your gun, many after market parts available. Love this gun, and would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

therealjumbo Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini
Marker Setup: pmr special editon camo, empire magna drive, pmi pure energy 70cu 4500psi stubby tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
the trigger
Strengths: Barrel, eyes, feedneck, bolt, trigger, weigt, and size
Weaknesses: Breaks paint at first
Review: A great gun. For a pmr's price it cant be beat. Breaks little paint after a few times of use. Great for tournaments. It is pretty compariable to the mini but hte pmr is a little better because it is able to shoot all the way up to 30 bps.
Conclusion: Go out and buy a pmr. by far the best gun out there for only $284.90. You wont be disapointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vi3tRacer Monday, April 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-X stock (Doesn't even come close to the PMR SE)
Spyder Pilot (PMR SE is lighter and better overall)
Diablo mongoose (bad compared to PMR)
Marker Setup: Stock PMR SE (Camo)
14 inch 2 piece proto barrel (stock)
45/3000 Steely Pure Nitro Tank
Evo 3 Eggy

Recommended
Upgrades:
Force-fed Electronic Hopper (Eggy is fine for me, but Halo, Empire B or VLocity would be better though) But the Eggy seems to keep up fine during ramping, etc.
Stock barrel is fine for me. Maybe get a new Board if you speedball.
Feedneck.
Strengths: Lightweight
Accurate
Easy to clean
Overall great gun, keep up with 800+ dollar pb guns.
Weaknesses: Inneficient on air. Got around 500 shots per tank fill.
Feedneck. I need wrench.
Review: Well I bought this gun off actionvillage.com and brand new out of the box it didn't work. The battery harness was horribly installed and I had to go to a paintball shop to get it repaired. Cost me 20 dollars, but I could have gotten it for free from Dye since my gun is still under warranty. But I wanted to play right away. So no problem.

The next day I went to SC Village and had a great time with this gun. I only chopped 1 paintball because my hopper was off. The eyes worked great, after about 100 balls the gun ran very steady. The FPS was spot on, around 285 fps.

With the tank and hopper full of paint the gun was still really light, but could be lighter will a better tank. There is a tiny kick, very good accuracy and extremely quiet. The camo color is also very nice, stands out against all the other PMRs. At least 5 people stopped me and asked "Is that a PMR!?!?!, very nice"

Right away after taking it out of the box, I took out the bolt which was stuck because the factory lube had solidified during shipping so I had to clean the bolt and re-lube, be sure you do this before you even gas it up the first time. Since I upgraded from a Spyder TL-X this gun is a dream!!!!! So light and so fast, and I still think I'm a beginner so this was the best choice for me. Best gun for the price.

Compared to the regular PMR, the upgrades are the body is all aluminum/metal, the trigger is metal, backcap metal, 2 piece 14 inch Proto barrel basically everything you want for your PMR is on this PMR SE, SO GET IT!!!! Only 35 dollars more. I love this gun and it was a good deal in my book.

If you are deciding between SP Epiphany/PMR/PMR SE/Invert Mini. Definitely get the PMR SE, its worth every penny as long as you fix the initial problems. I haven't had any air leaks so thats good, some people get air leaks.

Great bang for your buck. Go for it.


Conclusion: This is another great product from Proto, very sturdy and feels great shooting. Feels much better than the regular PMR, which has a "cheap" feeling. If you are deciding between guns 200-300, GET THE PMR SE!!!!! I can't find this is any other color than Camo, but this looks awesome as it is. 35 dollars extra for 200+ dollar upgrades, awesome deal!!!!
9/10 because of the kinks in the beginning, but now it shoots perfectly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

strickA-5 Saturday, March 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM7 (higher end gun with a higher end price)
various spyders(not really that similar really, PMR much nicer)
tippmann A-5(not that similar)
Marker Setup: PMR SE camo
New Designz Pro-lite frame
CP on/off ASA
CP Rake trigger
Redz Pepper Stick
Empire Revolver barrel kit
Crossfire 70/4500
eVLution 3 hopper

Spyder Imagine 04(green)
Psychoballistics on/off drop forward
macroline kit
Palmers Stabilizer regulator
New Designz lo pro clamping feed neck
Diablo spring kit
Dye Sticky 3 grips
Empire Revolver barrel kit
Evlution 3 hopper


Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger and on/off asa . The trigger looks nice but kinda hooks forward to much in my opinion. UL frame and virtue laser eyes maybe.
Strengths: metal upgrades that make it an SE
Two-piece 14" barrel
light
Ease of maintenance

Weaknesses: Is a little bit of a gas hog. Not too big a deal though.
Review: Got this a few months back and so far I love it. I really like the camo(makes it look different than the other PMR's). Absolutely no chops. No blown or bad o-rings as of yet (thankfully). Shoots great. The barrel that comes with it is pretty good too. It's basically a UL barrel with a different front and proto milled into it. This barrel and UL barrel will interchange so you can get a different UL back size if you like. I use the Proto barrel when I'm using a mixture of paint(different sizes) but use my Revolver kit otherwise.

It does indeed have a "secret" mode for shooting full auto. I've mostly used it in "semi" and PSP mode. It's there if you want it though.

Maintenance is very important with this type of marker be sure to check the bolt and grease when needed. If you do this regularly you shouldn't have any major issues. Plus it's very easy.

edit: Picked up a CP Rake trigger today. Right out the gate I liked it better than the stock SE's. With a little adjustment it should be just right.

Update 6/3/08: Still loving the rail. Haven't had to replace a single o-ring. I've replaced the stock frame with New Designz pro-lite frame. Really like it by the way. I'd give it, the pmr, a 10 if it were a little more efficient but since it loves air I'll say 9. Great marker. Would definitely recommend.



Conclusion: Great marker in my opinion. You would have to spend a lot more money to get a better marker right out of the box and much better value than the normal PMR.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 4th, 2008 at 6:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media