paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition

Proto PMR Special Edition Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Special Edition

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Special Edition
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PMR SPECIAL EDITION
14'' 2PC BARREL
ALLOY EYEPLATE
ALLOY LOGO
BOLT CAP
ALLOY FEEDNECK W/KNOB
ALLOY ASA
EDGE TRIGGER GUARD
EDGE TRIGGER
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Special Edition is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ukwildcats32 Saturday, March 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, A-5, ION, DP Fusion, Promaster, PM7, Timmies
Marker Setup: PMR SE
Violent Trigger
Freak Kit
Empire Nano On/Off

Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger- personal preference
On/Off
Strengths: Hyper 2 Reg
2 peice barrel
Light in weight
Looks

Weaknesses: I would just have to say the trigger. Just my opinion.
Review: Overall, best marker for the price. This thing is a BEAST right out of the box and I have had no problems with it so far. Any tech at any shop will tell you that this gun is a peice of cake to work on . I would reccomend this gun to anyone. Oh yeah, spend the extra $25 and get the SE, its well worth it.
Conclusion: Get this marker, you wont be dissapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

unknownsoldier Thursday, March 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail Ltd. Ed. Camo with aluminum parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe the UL frame but not essential
Strengths: Light, fast, low operating pressure, easy to use, great looks and cheap
Weaknesses: Trigger wobbles from side to side but its no huge problem
Review: I bought the PMR Ltd. in camo and have used it for about a month now......now onto the review
Its a great marker for what you pay for it. It has 3 firing modes on it, but has a 4th hidden firing mode (NXL) or full auto so theres 4 firing modes in total. The PMR is easy to take apart for maintenence and the manual is easy to read and understand if theres any hiccups along the way.
The PMR is also reasonably light and fast firing which is great if you want to put a lot of paint on an opponent, and fast!
Conclusion: I would say, anyone who's looking to start off with a great gun and not spend £300 or $600 plus, then buy this gun, its brilliant!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chubs18 Sunday, February 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker(tested)
Invert mini(tested)
supped up cocker(tested)
owned:
automag
PMI III
promaster
PGP
Tippman 68Special(shows my age with that one!!)
Marker Setup: PMR SE stock
Compressed 3000/48ci
Recommended
Upgrades:
very fast hopper!!
Larger compressed air tank.
Be sure to have barrells to adjust paintsize
Strengths: Light, fast, affordable, looks.
Weaknesses: Pig on air. at first.
After a year an half it is not too bad.
Review: For the price ($274) this is an awesome marker. After reading reviews on the PMR I was hesitant to buy it, but for the extra $25 for the SE edition all those issues were resolved. I have not had an issue with the feed neck, grip is comfortable, trigger is nice but may need adjusted to suit. Took it out of the box, gassed it up, ripped out 230 rounds of year old paint in about 20 seconds and had one barrel break( I think it was due to too many balls coming out too fast)LOL. The weight and ballance is perfect. I do suggest you pay the extra money to get the SE. It will save you about$150 on upgrades for the regular PMR. I have never experienced a marker that shoots as consistant and accurate as this in my 18 years of experience.
Conclusion: Buy it!! These days companies are taking pride in their products and support. If problems do occur try matrixowner.com. I give it a 9 cuz nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 16th, 2009 at 1:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuhzzie Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I messed around with my friend's Proto SLG - pretty much the same but hyper 3 reg.

Omen 2.0 - heavy as a brick and less user friendly
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail Special Edition [Blue/Black]
eVLution 2
47i/3000psi

the gun is stock for now til i get more money
Recommended
Upgrades:
An insanely fast hopper
A light 65i/4500psi tank
New trigger and frame (if you dont like it. I like it though)
Strengths: -FAST!!
-Light
-Very User Friendly
-Many Firing Modes
-Locking Feedneck
Weaknesses: - The fact you have to lube the bolt
Review: This gun is amazing.
I used this 3 days after i got it at the field.
I recommend getting a light N2 Tanks, because my tank is insanely heavy.
My Egg 2 was to small to be held tightly by the locking feedneck, so i had to put tape on it to make it wider.
When i played with this gun i was amazing on how crazy it is, and for the price of only $275? I'm pretty sure its the best gun for that price range.
Proto makes great guns. This gun is worth the $25 more than the Original PMR. It has about $100+ of upgrades for only $25 more. Thats just plain amazing.
I did really well at team practice. Even if it was my first time actually using the gun. The only downer was the Hyper2 regulator. It's ok though, because it gets broken in in about 2000 shots. Even though i was used to walking the omen 2.0 trigger, i found this trigger's sweet spot very fast. Me and the team did great at practice. The lightness of the gun helped me move around the field with ease, except for the 5lb tank, which sucks. I'm insanely lazy and dont like lubing the bolts

I hope my experiance is just as good or even better than mine.
Conclusion: For a gun like this at $275, and it has $100+ of upgrades from the original PMR, and its only $25 more?!? It's a definate buy for beginners and up.

I recommend this gun to anyone who wants to paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a1eks1 Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-PM5
-PM6
Marker Setup: -Stock PMR SE - Black/Clear
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Ultralite frame
-Detents
Strengths: -CHEAP
-Light
-Fast
-Consistent
-Reliable
-Easily maintainable
-Accurate
-Multiple tournament firing modes
Weaknesses: -Trigger
-Hyper 2 break-in
-Low-grade anodizing
Review: You cannot get a better gun for the same price (I bought mine for 275 new). It shoots amazingly and looks great with the accents.

The first time I chrono'ed the gun, it showed 280 +/- 2 for 5 shots; Extremely consistent. Later in the day, however, my velocity seemed to spike. I rechrono'ed and it showed around 315: ugh. I'm pretty sure it was just because the Hyper-2 hadn't broken in. Now, the gun shoots consistently around 280.

The stock barrel is pretty accurate, but it's sometimes hit or miss. If you match paint to the barrel pretty well, then you won't be disappointed.

My only real complaint about this gun is the trigger. It moves side to side a lot. It can be very irritating in that it affects how fast you are able to walk the gun. I believe the wobbly trigger is the fault of the trigger frame rather than the trigger itself.
Conclusion: Get an SE over the regular edition. It's definitely worth the extra $25.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crikpbr Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, Pm7
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nuthing really
Strengths: Velocity
Accuracy
Fast
Smooth
Quiet
No kick
Weaknesses: Needs to be broken in
Review: This gun is a great gun. I was very impressed on how great it was out of the box ball on ball accuracy with old crappy paintball it was even better with fresh paint the only problem i had was at the end of the day all of a sudden the velocity went crazy at first i thought i might have been just out of air but i checked the tank and i had about 1/3 of the tank left so i shot it 1 at a time and it would get to the point where it would come out anymore then i shot really fast and it was fine So i went to the next game and played and i shot fast the whole time and the velocity got even worse it was the end of the day anyway they were closing so no big lost but i havent figured out the problem yet.
Conclusion: All in all this gun is a great gun and i would deffinaltley recommend it to anyone just needs to be broken in.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mclovinater Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
spyder vs1, and fenix
pm6,7
EOS
Marker Setup: PMR specile edition
halo v35 w/ iron cross ripdrive
pure energy 68ci/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing realy mayby a new hand off back cap
Strengths: LIGHT!!!
fast
easy to clean
self cleaning eyes
never chops
price
quiet
accurate
Weaknesses: Nadda
Review: If you want a great, affordable,reliable, and fats as hell gun this is the gun for you. Its trigger is great, and the board is very very modifieable. No doubt the best gun I have ever shot. this is also a good buy if you live in the san diego area because Dye, and Proto are about 30 minuts away.
Conclusion: This gun is amazing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer0013 Friday, February 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder vs2
Spyder Pilot
Spyder Rodeo
All tippmanns imaginable
ahah the Brass eagle Afterburner. (My favorite) haha

PMR by far the best gun, obviously
Marker Setup: Silver PMR SE dye throttle 70/4500 peanut Halo B w/ rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger
Barrel
Maybe new feedneck
On/Off
Strengths: Speed,
Maintenance,
Board,
All aluminum parts
Wieght
Weaknesses: Leaks(my friends)
No On/Off
Review: All together good gun. Like before my firends pmr has been leaking like crazy, but he brought it to our local shop and he got it fixed in no time, Thing rips. Deffinitely get it if you are considering it as your next gun. Its worth the extra $25 bucks more than the normal PMR.
Conclusion: Deffinitely get it if you are considering it as your next gun. Its worth the extra $25 bucks more than the normal PMR.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

EvilEye Wednesday, January 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Blue Special Edition PMR, 68/4500 Crossfire w/ 2007 Dye Rhino cover, Halo V35 Rip, and a 12" Bob Long Assassins Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe the trigger
Strengths: weight
size
speed
board settings
*NXL full-auto
Specal Edition Upgrades
Weaknesses: Break-in time for the Hyper 2 (to be expected)
Some guns have air leaks*
Review: [*]= 1) The PMR manual says there's only semi-auto, PSP, and Millennium fire modes, but it also has NXL full auto. NXL is where the manual would say Value 4, so just tap the trigger 4 times to check it out. Really, overall i'm super impressed with the PMR's board. Its got a setting combo for everyone.

2) Some PMR guns (including the special editions) out of the factory didn't get the right amount of thread sealant or whatever on the Passage Blocking Screw. If you didn't feel like you had someone blowing in your face when you shot the PMR, then you're probably ok. I've got the leak on mine so i've gotta drag my butt to the local shop to get it fixed right.

PROTO=DYE AND THE PMR IS AT A GREAT PRICE FOR ITS QUALITY!
Conclusion: I AM IN LOVE WITH MY NEW PMR SE! Even with the leak, i went through three pods of year old paint and didn't chop a ball at 20bps. The PMR is a fantastic gun, and the best gun out there for it's price. I really don't think you can find a better brand new gun for 275, correct me if i'm wrong. However, i would also say this gun isn't for people new to the sport. In cleaning and maintaining the gun, you need to know what you're doing so you don't screw anything up. I'll give it a 9 because the air leak is a bummer if you have it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 30th, 2008 at 5:53 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

PB SyKo Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
07 Ego
Marker Setup: Red PMR SE, Empire Reloader B, Crossfire 68ci 4500psi.
Recommended
Upgrades:
My personal preference is the trigger but that is my opinion
Strengths: fast, reliable, cheap, Consistent Reg when broken in.
Weaknesses: My PMR has a little kick to it
Review: I got my PMR for my birthday 2 weeks later i played at Boston Paintball right out of the box this thing show amazingly the only problem was the reg was not broken in yet and was a little inconsistent but that is to be expected. this gun show amazingly but one thing i have noticed is the kick when i was lane burning this gun kick pretty bad i dont know maybe this is just my gun but overall this is a really good gun for the price.
Conclusion: Overall this is a really good gun it is infact a dye product so that is to be expected
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media