paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Talon Ghost / Brass Eagle Talon Ghost / Brass Eagle Talon Ghost / Brass Eagle Talon Ghost

Brass Eagle Talon Ghost Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Talon Ghost

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Talon Ghost
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 346
Average Rating: 6.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A new version of the Talon that is clear plastic construction and can accept CO2 tanks.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Talon Ghost is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (35):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Timmyboy14 Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagles Eradicator
Marker Setup: M98
-Flatline barrel
-Tippmann car stock
-Inline expansion chamber
-Daisy 4X sight
-Lapco speed loader
-Quick change CO2 adapter
-Remote coil
-RT trigger
-Polished internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
Make yourself a barrel out of PVC piping and attach it with a hose clamp. This greatly improves accuracy.
Strengths: Very light, cheap, and perfect if you are just starting the sport of paintball.
Weaknesses: Made of plastic, not a semi-auto, no upgradable parts, hammer assembly WILL break.
Review: This gun is a great gun if you just like romping around in the woods with some buddies and you're low on cash. It comes with very cheap parts that will eventually break. Mostly it is the hand pump and the hammer assembly that will break on you. The first couple of shots on a new cylinder seem to have a crazy amount of power (try to make your first shot be a winner!). Here are a few myths that need cleared up.

Myth: The gun is hard to cock and fire.
Fact: Unless your 10 or physically challenged, you won't have any trouble at all getting at least 1 or 2 shots per second out of the little beast.

Myth: The gun breaks very easily and you can hardly do anything to it or it'll crack.
Fact: For a cheap piece of foreign crap, it is very durable. I've bashed it on trees and dropped it short distances a few times and it's still doing fine.

Myth: The Talon's even less accurate than a pregnancy test.
Fact: From what I have seen, it is more accurate than a lot of semi-autos I've seen out there. It does have a reasonable arch when fired though.

Conclusion: For what you pay for, it is a great little gun. I would recommend upgrading to a better gun(Like a Tippmann 98) if you want to pursue the art of paintball, But if you are just getting started, sure it's a great gun!
Please remeber to rate this review!
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 14th, 2006 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

northPb70 Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a catuplt
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
blackheart board
red body kit
red halo with rip drive
dye boomstick 14" barrel
flame drop
evil scion tank 68/4500
dye invision
dye C6 jersey
dye C6 pants
JT elite tournment cleats
Recommended
Upgrades:
getting a doinion doppler radar
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: There are none
Review: - Custom Team Nexus Eclipse Ego
- Full 3-D Body Contoured Machining to Reduce Weight and Add Style
- Symmetrical Machining produces smooth lines and a wipe-clean surface. But still the lightest Ego yet!
- Inset Metal Nexus Logo Badge.
- Open Bolt Electropneumatic Marker
- Break Beam Low Profile Breech Sensor
- STAR Grip Frame incorporating Integrated Snatch Grip and Integrated Clamping ASA Mounting Rail, Spring or Magnetic Return Trigger Action, Larger Guard and STAR Trigger
- STAR Trigger with 4-Point Adjustment
- D.A.R.T. “High-Flow” Bolt with Ramped Inlet Port and Bell-Mouthed Tapered Outlet Face. Highest Flowing Ego Bolt To Date, In The Smallest Package Around.
- Cool-Blue LCD User Interface
- TT Filter Debounce Software, as first seen on the infamous E2
- 3 New Ramped Fire Modes To comply with PSP, Millennium and CFOA Rules
- Uncapped Semi to Comply with NPPL
- Nexus Logo Start-Up Screen
- Integrated Adjustable LPR W/ Dedicated HP Inlet
- FRM With Specific LPR Supply Port
- Eclipse Swivel Inline Regulator. High Flow, High Accuracy, Consistent Output, Longer Grip and Adjustable Hose Input.
- “Rammer” One-Piece Hammer/Ram Mechanism. Highly Durable Stainless Construction. Strips In Seconds.
- Integrated QEVs For The Fastest Possible Cycle Times
- Sub Miniature Solenoid And Integrated Minifold
- Body-Integrated Feed Stub. Beat It With A Lump Hammer, It Ain’t Coming Off!
- Deftek Feed System. Offset Feed Tube For “No-Bounce” Ball Feed
- Clamping Low-Rise Feed Tube
- Low Pressure, High Flow Supercharger Valve System
- Brass Bushed Valve Guide. No Valve Pin Wear, No Friction.
- Custom Scalloped Nexus Pop-N-Slide Bolt Pin. Super Large Pin/Hammer Contact Area For Minimal Wear. Larger head for easier grip.
- Cocker Barrel Thread
- Shaft 2-Piece Barrel
- Eclipse On/Off/Purge System And Hose.
- Dual Rubber Finger Detents
- Ego DuoTech Grips
- User Friendly
- Tech Friendly
Conclusion: Get it now or be slapped!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Holy Crusader Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No this gun is a gas
Marker Setup: Piranha Ext Pro- uped spring set, remote coil, and 16in J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Cheap
fun
Uses 12 grams
u can return
Weaknesses: Dude its 30 bucks of course its gona suck
Review: This gun is a blast! when i first got into paintballing about 2 years ago this was my first gun. All of my frineds had one and we would just go in the woods and shoot each other up. If your just looking into getting into paintballing get this gun! its 30 bucks at walmart and you can return it when ur out of the co2 they give u! I returned mine and it had mud on it hahaha gotta love walmart... just tell them that its the worst gun you ever played with and that they shouldnt even carry it, youll get ur money back.

After youve gotten through that phase go out and buy a nice gun that cost some money. If you though the Talon thing was fun youll love regular PB.
Conclusion: I give it a 10 cuz its just fun to go out and play with for a bit and its cheap... all these people saying that the gun sucks and stuff are right but what do u expect its 30 bucks!!! if your a Noob go and buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 16th, 2006 at 1:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IonPaintball82 Monday, January 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None-this gun is junk
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ion
Dead on Paintball bullet drop forward with on/off valve
evlution 2 hopper
pure energy 68/4500

Spyder Rodeo
Progressive barrel
shocktech spring kit
vl 200
20 oz. pure energy c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing-its not worth it
Strengths: Nothing at all
Weaknesses: It broke after a week and double/triple feeds all the time.
Review: This was my very first gun ever. When i got it i thought it was the coolest thing ever. My dad also got one, so we could have battles with each other. These guns shoot very fast with a fresh 12 - gram. I hit my dad in the hand from pretty far away. His hand broke open and was bleeding like crazy for a paintball hit. I never got it chronographed but im sure it was shooting hot. These guns double and also triple feed all the time, which can be allright when you shoot 3 paintballs at your opponent. Also, the guns leaked like crazy, and dont have ball detents, causing the balls to roll out of the barrel al the time. You have to walk around with the barrel pointed up all the time. Every time my dad would pump his gun, air would shootout of every plce imaginable, giving him only about 15 shots with a 12-gram. My dads and mine both stopped working after a week. We took them back to wal-mart and we got our money back.
Conclusion: This gun is horrible
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rhino44 Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, first pump
Marker Setup: stock talon
Recommended
Upgrades:
constant air
red dot sight
Strengths: Very accurate
Durable
15-20 shots from a 12 gram in 15 degrees
Sight rail
Weaknesses: No ball detent(no downhill shots)
Review: i took it outside in 32 degree weather(Alaska)and got 25 shots. i hit a swing set's slide 7 TIMES IN A ROW from maybe 75 feet. the temp. dropped the next day and i got 5 shots less and a little less accurate,but otherwise the same.EAGLE AIR from brass eagle work well with this product.

with the red dot sight ive been able to hit things fairly consistently at 100 feet so definitely get a red dot sight
Conclusion: This is a perfect gun for a serious sniper or the starting newbie because it is accurate and delivers sufficient shots per 12 gram.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 at 1:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crzypballa Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
there is nothing like this thing omg lol
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Talon (original) A 200 Round Hopper and tiny little 12 oz or gram i dont even kno ne more puny CO2--- a really nice bright green laser pointer-- a seperate grip i saudered together with a dual sideways type handles for fast action pumping all together on a "lap-top" type built turret for stupid sniping things. and a scope on top?! lol
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really its nice for a begginer/ someone completely new to paintball
Strengths: Accurate-good for fun-u could throw it and not care.
Weaknesses: Plastic--hard to clean- lotta work- rusts bolts- slow.
Review: i got this gun as my first gun. Cost me a buck. I started shootin at some trees and was blown away that this little junky gun... ripped off some bark.. at the tree i was aiming at... about 100 feet away!!!! i was pretty shocked. but--- the gun chopps paintballs like u wouldnt believe! and i had a recent accident with it... it hurt me.. for the first time i was shot by one of these i was on a trampoline.. no shirt.. just shorts.. shot in the private.. i cried in front on 7 friends. and i was shot in the bak after cuz my friends were laughin so hard and yet again i was a bit shocked this thing had some force behind it. good for fun just around the house but when i went to tournaments with it.. i got out like.. 2 people.. and was murdered and soaked with paint because i couldnt match others expectations with this thing.
Conclusion: Pretty good for fun use and crazy stunts ur performing-- with some paint jobs on it you could make it look like a real pistol maybe if u took off the hopper 2- which is wut i do all the time and manually feed it. so if your like 10-13 buy it have some fun- if ur older... get it sumwhere wicked cheap and just use it for fun- dont expect results bak from this thing lol
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Thwomper Monday, December 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Stock Talon with 12 g co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
None at this time.
Strengths: Plastic (can't really see any damage to shell)
Fairly consistant shots
Weaknesses: Hard trigger pull
Any grit in the "bolt" area requires disassembly
Review: Quite often there will be a double ball feed, so there is an over average of chopped balls. However, when there is just one flying out, it has just as much accuracy as anyother stock marker and barrel out there. It is pretty reliable, except for those few moments when some pieces of metal flaked off (rather thick) into the bolt mechanism (from where they came from I don't know, they could have been factory left overs form the castings). It required a full disassembly. Getting the little bits out was also a challege. It is a very simple design, so easy to figure out where the problem was. It would cock, but there was no way it would fire. Luckily this was discovered before the game started. This happened twice, and I anticipate it again. There is no way to upgrade the barrel, unless your a machinist, with a lathe and some taps and dies.
Conclusion: I don't recommend this for beginners or anyone who you may be trying to get into the game. They may feel cheated. Instead let them use your semi auto, to show good faith, and it is not the gun that makes the player.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FockerJ9 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years19 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon Smoke, Talon, Blade (has alot of problems), blade02 (still has problems), Tigershark (very good pump), PGP (overrated, its good but expensive), Traccer (good pump), Vulcan (wow i wish i still had that one, rare and kewl pump)
Marker Setup: main: stock rainmaker w/ select fire (i would upgrade but i hate to ruin a classic)
revvy with xboard, pmi pure energy 68ci 3000 psi fiber wrapped
backup:spyder imagine w/ tornado valve, rocking trigger frame, pmi regulator, dead-on on/off drop with system x micro gauge, bandit nylatron bolt, and a modified Rhino hopper
backup backup:talon smoke w/ tank adapter, avenger pistol with 10 rnd clip and 12 gram changer/4 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
id get the co2 tank adapter with the 4oz. tank and a 200 round loader for her
Strengths: cheap, $30 new or $5 on Ebay,
efficent i suppose, moderate accuracy, super light
Weaknesses: Pump handle on any talon always breaks if u hold down the trigger and pump
Review: i always start my review with price based on performance, so here goes

this marker is dirt cheap. 5 dollars on ebay plus like 5 S&H makes for a 10 dollar gun.
ten dollars.
thats like, one lawn mowed for the old lady next door or something.
this gun has to be the most owned and used gun on the planet.
for the ten dollars it costs to purchase one, it performs outstandingly

Accuracy: with a fresh 12 gram cartridge loaded, your average talon will be able to plink a 2 foot Tupperware lid at about 70 feet within 5 rounds, not too shabby for the ole ten dolla Talon (REPRESENT!) and a freshly loaded 12 gram will shoot about 50 shots, about 40 before u notice a substantial velocity drop

Dependability: i am offering a non-biased report on this markers dependability, basically from my past experience and mishaps to my friends, so here goes
with about 8 Talons under my belt from friends leaving the game and stuff, i know a thing or two about these markers, for one, the main three problems that causes Talons to break down are as follows, number 1, u decide to go gung-ho and hold down the trigger and pump off a few rounds, if u do this u WILL have a talon in one hand and a pump in the other. i have broken around 4 pumps this way. number 2, even with a crappy ten dolla gun, always OIL your marker, if anything, especially oil a Talon! the body is PLASTIC people, and the internals are METAL, METAL TRUMPS PLASTIC. if u dont oil your gun your Talons body will degrade, eventually making shaky parts and possibly a leak. if u cant afford the 4 dollar paintball gun oil, use VEGETABLE OIL, its a cheap, non-petro oil that costs about a dollar a quart, heck, your mom probably has some under your sink 9 times outta 10. oil all moving parts, including the trigger, wipe off the excess, drop a few drops in the co2 catridge "piercer" and fire a few dry fires, boom your gun is oiled and ready to go! number 3, and possibly the most important, do not overtighten the Talons screws! they are threaded into brass, but the brass is imbedded in PLASTIC, and if u overtighten the screws you WILL pull the brass out, one screw isnt a problem (unless its in the grip), but two or more in the right spots and your marker WILL leak.
as for overall dependability, well, hehe, lets jsut say ive dropped a few of my markers about 4-5 feet off the ground on the asphalt, and they rattle, but still work no leaks
BTW i still have my first gun, a Talon grey i found in my yard, about 6 years old now id say, and it still shoots fine

Available Upgrades & Player Bashings: as with all plastic pball guns, the upgrades u can do to this are near limitless, make ya a Kustom PVC "sniper" barrel, add a stock, heck, even make it LP or something, WHO CARES! its a ten dollar gun, have a blast with adding everything u can on it, now as for Aftermarket upgrades, well, they dont ave any, but tons of people have groups in which the are die-hard Talon modifyers,

as for the player bashings, well, just lemme dust off the old 5 year Talon and let it do the talking if i ever see you on the field, this gun got me into pball, and its a dang fine marker if u ask me, but like every marker it requires the proper care and cleaning, and it'll get the job done


Conclusion: in my final conclusion ill state that for a ten dollar gun, u just cant beat the performance, u may think that its a cheap piece of junk that doesnt work or breaks after a few games, well, ive owned 2 Talon Greys, 3 Talon Smokes, and 3 Talon Ghosts and the most problems ive had is worn internals (fixed), broken pump handles (fixed) or a leaky grip (fixed)
all took maybe 5 minutes to fix (about the time for the Epoxy to dry) and they worked good as new after

for ten bucks this thing performs a great ten, thanks again Talon
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 22nd, 2005 at 4:52 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

animal mother23 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No products perform as bad as the ''Ghost'' talon
Marker Setup: a-5
raider 14'' barrel/ with m4 handgaurd
m4 stock
m4 clip
Recommended
Upgrades:
gasoline
matches
Strengths: Its shoots
its cheap
Weaknesses: 1. Ugly 5. weak
2.clear 6. cracks
3. air hog 7. ugly
4.inaccurate
Review: First of all its defently cant be used as a sniper performing gun. it only shoots like 25 ft maximum. The see through ''Ghost'' affect gives you away from a mile away. The first time i put a c02 cartridge in it it cracked the plastic on the inside. Maybe its a lemon from the dollar store. If your about 8 years old and are invited to a paintball birthday party go for it. Rules: dont be the sniper.
Conclusion: If you play paintball once a year maybe its okay just dont be the sniper. i give it a 2 because its shoots and its cheap
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Woodsballer09 Wednesday, November 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
response trigger
cp 14" barrel
VL Evlution 2 hopper
VL Evlution 2 hopper cover
Strengths: Accuracy definitely
Power
Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: My brother and I just got this gun because we thought playing pumps when we were broke would fun so we got them and they turned out to be way better than I thought they would. Great backup guns. I actually want to play with just pumps for fun now.
Conclusion: Definitely worth the 30 dollars, great accuracy and reliability. Awesome 'sniping' gun. Comes with a 15 pack of 12 grams, barrel plug, and 45 round hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (35):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media