paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM8 / Dye DM8 / Dye DM8 / Dye DM8

Dye DM8 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM8

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM8
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New for 2008, the DM8 has a host of features, updates, and refinements. We have utilized our resources of professional players, designers, and engineers to come up with the best marker yet in the DM series. The DM8 continues the tradition of being one of the lightest, smallest, fastest and certainly the most accurate of paintball markers in the world. To improve on an already reliable design, the DM8 has no eyeplates. This is possible with the new internal patent-pending Eye Pipe anti-chop sensing system. This new design eliminates the need for eyeplates and allows us to reduce the width of the marker body, ultimately reducing the weight by 1.5oz. The new micro LPR has been reduced in size and now provides more efficient shot consistency. On top of this, we are introducing the all new Hyper3 regulator. The Hyper3 is now smaller, more consistent, and more precisely adjustable allowing you to set your pressure in finer increments. All of these innovations, coupled with new 3D body styling, standard features like the patent pending Ultralite frame and 2 piece barrel, give perfection a new meaning.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM8 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Choppy Saturday, March 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker NXT, Timmies, Bob Long Rapper, Bob Long Marq 6,...just to name a few.
Marker Setup: DM8
Full UL Kit
DM9 B. Wing Bolt/Can
DM9 Eye/Detent Pipe
Virtue Board
Virtue Laser Eyes
Throttle 68/45
Rotor Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really needed, maybe a DM9 eye pipe if that to keep from loosing the detents. Virtued for personal preference only.
Strengths: Read Review...
Weaknesses: None, and believe me I've put enough paint through it to notice any.
Review: I will have had this gun a year next month and put at least 200-250 cases through it. The Stock board is exceptional but because of personal preferences I Virtued it. Consistancy is great, I was getting about 1100 to 1200 rounds on my 68/45 untuned stait out of the box. When the new Billy Wing DM9 bolt/can came out I got it and after tuning every little aspect to squeeze out every last shot. Now I get about 1500 to 1600 depending on temp. The frame is fonominal, its comfortable in the hand for long periods of play. The grips on the frame and the reg are soft and just the right amount of stickyness enough to grip perfectly even in the rain. The stock eyes worked perfectly, no need to change them at all, except for personal preferences, I slapped some Virtue laser eyes in them for that same reason. The entire time the stock eyes were in, about 15 cases, only had barrel breaks nothing in the breech. The reg is nice and small. Super easy to adjust and maintain. Same thing with the LPR. I have this beauty tuned so nice there's not even the slightest kick. A lot of people have a grudge agianst the trigger, personally it better on this frame than any other trigger I can find. The eye pipe is a treat, the "self cleaning" design is exceptional and the lack of eye plates make the milling look beautiful, Although I did have a problem keeping up with the detents as I cleaned it so as soon as the DM9 eye pipe was available, I snatched it up. No more detent problems now. The on/off plug is a little unessecary I just leave it on. Also the on/off asa is wonderful, its a little hard to turn on and off at first, just add a little oil and your ready to go. The elbow fittings are great, just traded them out for black Ninja elbows for asthetic reasons.
Conclusion: Over all this gun is AMAZING. Its great out of the box, and with a few upgrades (just for personal preference alone, it really don't need anything), this bird will sing forever. 100 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dye Man Saturday, February 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye pm7,dm6,dm7
Marker Setup: dye dm8 stock. many other guns
vlocity,empire 56 45
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast
Light
Looks
Performance
Weaknesses: None
Review: When i first bought this gun i was very scepticle. I have owned a pm7 before and it failed and i didnt know if i should buy it. When i first opend it up there was the nicest gun i have ever seen. I aird it up and no problems and then i took it to the field and it shot amazing.
Conclusion: I would recomed this gun to anybody who has the money and knows how to take care of their gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 7th, 2009 at 8:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TyphoonX Monday, October 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rail, DM4, PM5, PM7 & Shocker
Marker Setup: Waiting for World Cup
Empire Reloader B
72/4500 PMI Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Critical Trigger. Personal Preference
Strengths: Well Balanced
Light Weight
Fast
Accurate
Decent efficiency for a spoolie
Weaknesses: Efficiency
UL Frame - Feels to small in my hand
Price
Review: A friend of mine recently got a DM8. I have been thinking about getting another spoolie and couldn't decide if I wanted to go back to the DM line or get a different spoolie. Well I shot this marker and unless I get to see one of the other ones in action I'm pretty much sold on a DM9. I have held the DM8 a lot without a tank or hopper. To me it seems a little heavy compared to the competition and I didn't like the feel of the UL frame. Well that all changed. I was shooting it with a 68/4500 tank and a Manga loader. It was well balanced didn't seem to be heavy at all for a full set up and to much my amazement the UL frame was comfortable and easy to shoot. I was shooting at 2" boards from between 15' and 40'. With the closer board I was able to hit 2 out of 3 or 3 out of 3 shots. With the boards futher away I was able to hit no less then 1 out of 3 shots. During the accuracy testing I was shooting 3 shots and switching targets as soon as I fired off the third round and started to shoot as soon as I shot to the next target not really taking time to aim the shot.
Conclusion: I gave it a 9 just for the fact that other spoolie manufactures have proven that they can get good to great efficiency which is the biggest set back to the DM series in my mind. Also the price could be lower for what you get, but you also get for what you pay for so I guess the price can go either way.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ExDementia Wednesday, October 1st, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
my other gun was an ion, but i didnt like it cuz it didnt shoot far or hard at all
Marker Setup: i threw the ion away
brand new dm8!!
custom ordered 24 inch rifled barrel
halo b ammo holder
12 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
i just bought a custom ordered 24 inch rifled barrel and it makes it way more accurate and way more powerful!
Strengths: Really powerfull right out of the box!
Weaknesses: Doesnt come with ammo, an ammo loader or a co2 tank
Review: My mom bought me an ion about a week and a half ago and i brought it to the local field to play for the first time and it barely even shot across the field! i should have known that buying a cheapy gun would be a bad idea cuz everyone else was shooting really far but i couldnt because the cheapy guns arent powerful enough

so my mom and i went to the local shop and he said that the dm8 was the best gun out so we bought it. i took it to the field and they wouldnt even let me play because it was sooo powerful! they said there limit was 280 fps, and my gun was shooting over 320!!! after i took it to a shop they made it a little less powerfull, i guess they put some less powerful springs in it so i could actually play with people. Man it was worth it! its really accurate, i can hit my cat from all the way across my yard! my uncle it a gun tech and his shop made me a 24 inch custom rifled barrel, so now its even more accurate

its actually so powerful that i use up all my co2 before a game is up, i need to buy a bigger one to keep up with it
Conclusion: Definitally buy this gun, its worth it to buy the best because if you get a cheapy one you wont be powerful enough to hit anybody
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

waruigaijin Tuesday, August 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego 07, dm7, autococker, automag, ion, mini and so on
Marker Setup: most are sold now but dm7,autococker,miltec t68,smart parts sp-8 fullly upgraded, spyders-assorted kinds, rap4 socom 68gen4, invert mini, automag, shot about every gun thats made a ripple in the paintball ocean other than DLX and a droid, I will fix this soon. hpa45 tank, revo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really, more barrel backs or a kit
Strengths: ACCURATE. easy on the paint, LOW sound level! Easy to shot fast.
Weaknesses: NONE! IF clean and lube it.
Review: Intro

I have used alot of guns. Im guessing most people that are going to read this are going to compare this gun with egos, angels, luxe, shockers, and macdevs. ill compare a few of these guns. I cannot state why but I shot alot , and i mean a crap ton of paint at targets for research. Both the comparisons are with the STOCK barrels. And a dye will get 1100 shots in a 45 /68, that enough for me.

ANGEL VS DYE, DYE is lighter, thinner, seems more accurate when using higher quality paint. I have NOT seen or tried the new fly a1, but the old one has more kick and sound sig than a dye. The angel has ALOT of small features that make it a good option to the somewhat spartan dye. That said try to shot both before you buy. Im not sure that the angel is softer on paint but they are both strong in this area.There is no first shot bolt stick in the angel. angel claims 1800 shot now.

EGO VS DYE EGO is lighter, thinner,DYE is smoother, easier on paint, little if any more accurate with same paint. OK this is where it gets complicated. Dyes sometime can be affected by first shot stick when the grease gets old, or a certain oring get s to old. I have never seen this in a ego , they fire nice on the first shot every time, that said the ego seems to have a edge over a dye with bolt stick. This is only is you fail to clean and lube your gun for a long long time, or a certain oring get messed up. I love the large trigger on the dye, compared to the tight fit of the ego, if you get the SL version of the ego its trigger guard is larger. The dye grip is also nice and and feels better than the ego. Despite what people think the cure bolt does not mean its "softer on paint" as the bolt stll hits the ball hard, it just helps avoids chops( you know at the top of the chamber), but the bolt hits the ball pretty danm hard. The dye uses air to push the bolt forward, this causes the ball to move into the breach/barrel. The ego has springs/ hammers that move with alot of force, they are very much like a spyder in that way, but made with quality lol sorry.... That said the ego is just slighter harder on paint. As far as accuracy the dye lives up to the hype, Often hitting the target on the first shot, this is with out the benefit of a barrel kit! The trigger on the dye to me feels easier to fire fast. The sound level thing is where the DYEs kill egos. Dye does need to start using a nicer box, the box once opened is not safe to use to carry the gun!!! Where the ego comes with a nice pimp looking case that really protects your gun!!! I would hold both and shot both before buying, as many people dont mind the kick the ego has, and love the fast response, and the thin tight feel when holding. When others love the silent smooth accurate shooting the dye has.

The whole,,,, spool value guns break down more than other types of paintball guns rumor is kinda unfounded, and if it was true it would not apply to dyes. My DYE has never went down. I can not say that for my cocker, ion, spyder, minis and so on. People say they leak, that is because they just let there guns get to dry, or failed to lube after playing.

Conclusion: IF your going to pay 1000 plus on a gun you better shoot it or at least hold it in real life before buying it! That it the best way to know what gun to buy at this price level.ITS hard to say what is better a ego or dye because they both do the job great. Owning either of these two will make you happy and ensure its only your playing you need worry about holding you back from winning heheh.. but...... I would get a DM8 over the etek and ego, but get the SL ego over the dye because of the SLs top spot in resale value.....
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 12th, 2008 at 2:13 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

skeg21 Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto PM7
Dye DM7
Ego 05
Ego 08
Etek 2
Marker Setup: Dye DM8 with viewloader hopper
68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: size
Accuracy
Weight
little to no kick
SPEED
QUIET
Weaknesses: Air hog
Review: Ok so I've decided to edit this post due to extended period of use and yet this gun is by far the best i've used.
I've also recently used the ego 08 and the etek 2 however only for a day on each (but long enough to make a decision. - still the dye dm8 for me ;-)

however i would like to see what the sl8r is like in comparrison as the ego 08 ghot blown away.

i find myself dug into the bunker but able to snap my way out as this thins is just so so accurate and quick and can turn the game easily.
this gun makes every little bit of your game just that little bit better.

SPEED: It is so easy to keep up the rate of fire with this gun in semi.
the trigger feels so nice and easy to get use to.

AIR: Probably the guns only real weakness. from a 0.7 bottle you'll get a full hopper and 4-5 pots before a fill - could possible do with a new bolt. but if you are a front player then this gun really is the one you'd go for - no questions!

SIZE: the gun is really compact and the UL frame is awesome. wont have to worry about the gun sticking out only your head!!!!!

ACCURACY: you can definately get ball on ball action with this gun. It can take out the bottle neck of a bottle of wine from 25 foot easily. even when at 12bps its spread is about 6 inches at 50ft

MAITENANCE: i was worried about getting this gun because everyone was saying that they were a nightmare to look after - no way!!!!
i have only had to change the o-rings on the back of the bolt once and this was so so easy i think it took all of 10 mins to strip it down change the o rings and lube it up and put back to gether.

I was asked if i would swap it for an SL8R - absolutely not a chance
Conclusion: Done a training day with this thing all day and never cleaned the barrel once and only had a break right at the end when on the range. since then though i've played about a dozen times going through a box at a time, haven't once lubed the bolt and not had a single chop or break.
such a nice marker to shoot, feels good in the hand and easy to move with. shoots ropes all day even at 30 bps no chops - simply a great great gun. even so 2 more of my team have bought one now, the others can't afford one yet!!!!
Had the chance to swap it for sl8r but will not be leaving dye from now on.
If you are thinking about the dm8 or ego 08 its an easy choice - dye dm8 everytime.
I have seen the error of my ways and now switched from ego permanently.
If you haven't got the money for this then i suggest you go out and rob a bank or pester your parents for your pocket money.
Would love to give it a 10 rating but in life nothing is perfect and i'm sure next years will be slightly better again. still only giving it a 9/10
If you have a dm7 with a few mods then there is no need to upgrade (but i would)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 27th, 2008 at 3:21 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SHOEI03 Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
IC PUMA (lol no comparison)
AUTO n MINI Mags
99 Autococker
Electra
PM6
Marker Setup: DM8
Virtue Board
CP ASA
XSV Velocity
UL Barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue Board
ASA
Hopper that will keep up with marker
Strengths: SEXY
low profile
quiet
accurate
self cleaning eyes
light
no kick
easy maintainance
Weaknesses: On/off ASA
Reg (feel/look)
Review: I've been using this marker for 6 months now.

Very reliable. Light.

LPR and Hyper 3 A+

@ 3000psi used my Velocity and 5 pods and didn't bottom out tank. (tweaked the LPR for air management)

Very accurate - great for snap shooting and 1 on 1s.

Self cleaning eyes is great.

Very low maintainance - grease and o-ring changing is very simple to do.

ASA --- a few team mates have DM8s and the on/off seems to leak on all our markers after a few months. Could also be the intense heat and humidity where we're located. We didn't bother replacing orings - just all bought CP ASAs and haven't had any problems so we'll see in a few months.

Reg feels weird at first since the design/grip is different from other/previous models. It will take a few games/practices to get use to.
Conclusion: Great buy!
If it's in your budget - pick one up! you will not be disappointed.
Haven't enjoyed any marker the way I've enjoyed the dm8.
Very accurate - I owe my tournament success to the marker reason being many of my kills were due to the accuracy of the shots.

Not very common in Texas - most markers at tourneys are EGOs - so this marker definately stands out! The marker gets a lot of attention.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DoMin8tor76 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: DM8, Trauma Tadeo Board, V35 Halo, Evil Scion tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a orange bolt later on, but you really dont need one
Strengths: Very accurate and consistant
Very light and slick design, cant compare to other markers
Weaknesses: None, just need small Matrix tech skills which you can learn at Matrixower.com
Review: Overall the DM8 has proven superiority and has lived up to its DM hype. If you can get it go for it, if you have a DM7 then I say just buy a hyper 3 but if youre really looking for a new gun or moving up the ranks, DM8 is my recommendation
Conclusion: Satisfied customer
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 10th, 2008 at 10:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vail209 Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder TRL
Ion
Invert Mini
dark 06 ego
07 ego
dm8
Marker Setup: Tadoa M7 board
halo
draxxus tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
cp plug (which I don't have yet)
tadoa board
Strengths: - Has better balance than the dm7
-accurate
-quite after a bit of tuning
-light
-sexy
Weaknesses: None that I know of.
Review: First out of the box it had too much lube.

Shot great and accurate right out of the box.

If you are using a magna, that stock setting for the magna will push paint pass the detents on the dm8 thus breaking paint.

I switch to a halo after that and didn't break a single ball.



Conclusion: Great gun. Shoot just like a dm7 but it has a different feeling that is indescribable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Fuse-BLC Thursday, March 27th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 1
Angel Fly
Proto
Invert Mini
AutoMag ULE
Spyders from way back when.
Tippmann's from the 98 to the X7.
Marker Setup: Many. Playing since '97.
Strengths: Supposed to be accuracy, rate of fire, weight, ease of bolt mechanism...
Weaknesses: Lemon?
Review: After the first afternoon of playing(65 degrees and sunny), while the gun still worked, the velocity started going flat.
Made some adjustments. Gun would not fire. Leak developed in the front on/off air to gun.
Okay, switch out O rings. Leak develops in back bolt. Okay, switch out O rings.
Leak develops under solenoid to body seal. Okay, re tighten/grease. Leaks in all three
places now. LPR adjust, HPR adjust, pressure to minimum. Nothing.


So I have a 1400 dollar paperweight.
Been reading a lot of forums and have seen this all over. Don't know why they are having so many problems with the 08 series, but they are. Especially the air on/off.

Buy at your own risk.
Try a 7 series first. Its proven and 400 dollars cheaper.
Conclusion: After this experience with my first Dye product, I will probably never buy Dye again.
Its a shame, cause they do have a good general rep.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 14th, 2008 at 11:41 am PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media