paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM8 / Dye DM8 / Dye DM8 / Dye DM8

Dye DM8 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM8

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM8
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New for 2008, the DM8 has a host of features, updates, and refinements. We have utilized our resources of professional players, designers, and engineers to come up with the best marker yet in the DM series. The DM8 continues the tradition of being one of the lightest, smallest, fastest and certainly the most accurate of paintball markers in the world. To improve on an already reliable design, the DM8 has no eyeplates. This is possible with the new internal patent-pending Eye Pipe anti-chop sensing system. This new design eliminates the need for eyeplates and allows us to reduce the width of the marker body, ultimately reducing the weight by 1.5oz. The new micro LPR has been reduced in size and now provides more efficient shot consistency. On top of this, we are introducing the all new Hyper3 regulator. The Hyper3 is now smaller, more consistent, and more precisely adjustable allowing you to set your pressure in finer increments. All of these innovations, coupled with new 3D body styling, standard features like the patent pending Ultralite frame and 2 piece barrel, give perfection a new meaning.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM8 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
PMR 4 life Monday, February 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
Angles
PM8
DM7
Marker Setup: Black/Cobalt fade
Everything stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board maybe a Tadao OLED
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Stock
Very reliable
Weaknesses: Air hog
New reg (really not that bad when you use it for a while)
Review: So using this gun came unexpected to me. I own an upped PMR that was getting fixed at the field. Rocky Cagnoni owns the field (Break 50 in Tarpon Springs FL) and he just recently got sponsored by Dye. Knowing me well, he let mme use his personal DM8. This thing is absolutely beautiful. It was on PSP ramping at like 13.6 bps or something like that. Although, you need to use a low pressure tank if you dont want to make adjustments in the LPR. So i used a LP 45/45 tank. Yes, I did have to refill after each game. One thing i noticed in the first game was how light and low profile this had. The regulater tends to rotate a little bit while holding it. It does get annoying and with the grips on it, it gets all dirty and more annoying to clean. Dont let this discourage you. This is by the the lightest, tightest, fastest gun i have ever shot! One thing that just made me happy was the crono test. It went 297, 297, 297, 296. Yea, is that pretty sonsistent? No? Ugh, I think so. The feedneck is great. No upgrade needed there. The on/off is great, and so is the barrel. Ul, what more do you want right?
Conclusion: Although I only used this gun for one day, I am overly pleased with what Dye did with this beautiful piece of face mowing technology. The review says it all. I give it a 10. You simply cannot get better than this!! If you find a place that sells them and you have the money, dont hesitate, these WILL go out of stock fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjlaxdog Thursday, February 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 Ego with LOTS of ups
Marker Setup: Stock DM8, CP 68/45 tank, halo b with v35 and rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. Really fast hopper
Strengths: Fast
Cool
Accurate
Light Light Light Light
Weaknesses: Air efficiency
PRICE TAG
Review: This is a great gun. It is fast, accurate, and VERY VERY light. I would reccomend it to anyone who can afford it. The only problems are the price and air efficiency. I loved my ego but this makes that feel like a spyder. I have nothing agains planet eclipse though. With this gun you need a very fast hopper, halo b with rip and v35 works great. I wouldnt reccomend any upgrades because i dont think that any are necessary. This is by far the best gun I have ever played with.
Conclusion: If you can afford it, definately buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

wowdye Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5 / DM7 / ION / EGO7 / A-5
Marker Setup: DM8
SLY 16 / UL 16 / STIFFI 16
STAKO Tank
CP Drop Forward
Halo B - V35
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Tadao or Virtue Board
- New Bolt
Strengths: - Light
- Low Profile
- Fast
- Acuracy (esp with SLY or STIFFI)
- Easy to maintanance
Weaknesses: - Nothing Much, may be the price
- Still difficult to find aftermarket accessories (Jan 08)
Review: I already have my DM7, with Orange Bolt and Virtue Board, so it took a while to buy another DYE.

But the design is really "cool" low profile, no eye-plate, actually, it is more differences from DM8 vs DM7 than DM7 vs DM6.

The gun is really fast, very acurate, and very light. However, I have tried with Dye barrel, SLY, and Stiffi (all are 16 inches), so the acuracy result are so great. It is a little easier to maintain compare to DM7, since there is no eye-plate. Self-cleaning eye pipe is doing quite a good job.

The only minor that I have pick it up will be on air-efficiency, which I fill up the air at 4000psi, I can shots around 4 - 5 pods. Then, I am still waiting for Orange to come out with the new bolt for DM8

Conclusion: DM8 is another excellent piece of work out from DYE, it is really fits with my needs, even the price still quite high.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 2nd, 2008 at 4:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nikizmon Saturday, December 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nerve- Performance wise, not quite as good. Maintenence is much tougher
Marker Setup: Dye DM8-stock for now
Empire B2
Pure Energy 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board for sure
Barrel Kit or ul backs
Reloader B2
Strengths: Blazing Fast
accurate
simple to maintain
quiet
stock UL
Weaknesses: DM threaded HPR
In my case the airport
Review: First Impression: Oh my god this thing is beautiful. This gun is gorgeous. The gun comes stock with a UL barrel. When I picked it up out of the box I felt like I was holding a feather. It comes with a small parts kit and a "New and improved" bottle of slick lube.

At the field: This gun couldn't be much easier to get used to. The ultralite frame is AMAZING. It's so adjustible and buttery smooth. You can shoot strings in semi. The frame is very good for a quick string of shots and takes very little time to get used to. overall I only suffered one break the entire day. The self-cleaning eye system is also a big plus.

Cleaning: Maintenence couldn't be easier. No more pain in the butt eyes to clean. They clean themselves. Too bad all markers don't do this. Lubing the bolt and after game dissassembly is very quick and the manual gives great instuctions. It's really nice just take out the bolt, lube it, wipe the breach down with a q-tip and be done.

Problems: I don't know why, my airport was leaking when I aired it up. I swapped it out for one on my Nerve and it worked fine.
Probably the only downside to the DM8 is the inability to accept regular regulator. Now I have to buy an adapter. Not that I'd need one, the Hyper-3 is stellar.
Conclusion: The DM8 is the one of the fastest and most beautiful guns on the market. This gun is one of the closest to perfect you will find. I am deducting points however because of my airport not working.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AKacEs#17 Thursday, November 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5,PM6,DM6,Dm7,Dm3.
Marker Setup: Dye DM8 w/ Tadao Syndicate board.
Empire B2 and Halo v35
Dye throttle- 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao board
A Really Fast hopper!!!
New Bolt
Strengths: Speed
Trigger
No eye plates!
Accuracy
Light
No kick
Low Profile
Weaknesses: Shots per fill
Hyper 3 takes time getting used to.
Review: I first got this gun at cup. There were only a few and I was lucky to get one. But this gun was great. There were no bugs with it and it shot great. The UL frame is very comfortable and will help you play better. It took a little time getting used to the new REG. Here is the review.


Speed: This guns max ROF capability is 30BPS. With tadao its unlimi9ted but this gun is fast. Unfortunatly the day I got it, I couldnt use semi because I was playing D2 Xball. When I did shoot semi it was easy to keep a consistant ROF. The triiger has a smooth pull and there are a lot of adjustments you can make to get it to your liking.

Accuracy: This is the most accurate gun i have other than my DM7. Ball will follow ball after ball. This gun has awsome accuracy. Now that I have the gun at home her is the accuracy test. I shot a a pair of old goggles from about 50-60 ft. Every ball was right in the grill. Make sure your bore size matches your paint size. If the bore is to big it wont be as accurate. I reccomend just using the stock 689. size.

Air efficiency: This gun only gets through a Halo and 4 pods before you air up again. In the middle of a point in our game, I ran out of air at a bad time and cost our team the point. I would reccomend a new bolt.

Weight: This gun is incredibly light. It makes it easier to gun fight, and get good snap shots. You dont have to worry about heaviness.

Size: This gun is very low profile. Its one of the shortest guns out there. This is extremely important especially if you play xball. This gun will not stick out while playing the mini X's. When I played snake, the side of my gun was not sticking out. The biggest target was my hopper which is great.

Maintenence: It is very simple to work on this gun. I dont have a lot of experience with maintence on this gun because there was no need to. EDIT: This gun is pretty easy to strip down. The fuse bolt is not hard at all to change orings. IMPORTANT: the most common oring you will change is the #17 oring.

Adjustability: There are many things to adjust and you can easily find the right setup even though its fine stock. With the stock board I reccomend this set up.
DWELL: 16
Trigger sensitivity: 1-3.
MROF: 30 (in semi)
Conclusion: This is a great gun and worked extremely well for me. The effiancy on this gun wasnt good but that will change with an orange bolt. IF YOU HAVE A DM7 OR DM6 THAN YOU DO NOT NEED TO UPGRADE. I cant blame Dye for making it too similar but really, what is there to improve(other than gas efficiency. A great gun. I hope this review helped.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 26th, 2008 at 6:44 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

I Gotta BIG Ego Monday, November 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6
Ego 5 , 6Nexus, 7
Pm5
shocker NXT
to many
Marker Setup: first sold DM8 with CP sling trigger halo B or B2 with CP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none. maybe a new board.
Strengths: Accurate, very quiet, self cleaning eyes, no eye covers, to many.
Weaknesses: Different threads for the reg (thumbs down)
Review: So I got to Florida for cup and i find out that the dm8's havent been shipped out yet becuase of the fires. so i hung out at the dye booth for two days. lol. so finally they came in and i am proud to say that im the first person to have bought the dm8. when i got home i only had about 1000 psi left ( which really pissed me off) but it shot great. so great that i will be buying more dye products (dm6 turned me off).
Conclusion: Buy buy buy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media