paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE

Smart Parts Ion XE Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion XE

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion XE
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $225

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The embodiment of affordable firepower. Ion changed the paintball paradigm by being the first marker to deliver true electropneumatic performance in the casual paintball player's price range. With multiple firing modes, an aggressive rate of fire, and break beam Vision anti-chop system, the Ion XE continues the Ion tradition of tournament level performance at a low price. The best feature of the new ION XE is the Bolt out Back design. This new design allows even a novice player to clean the bolt in seconds.

Smart Parts Ion XE Features:

Bolt-Out-Back design makes this Ion easier to maintain than ever before. One allen wrench is all that is needed to remove the bolt sleeve, bolt and bolt stop from the rear of the marker, providing complete access to the entire bolt and valve assembly in seconds.
Weight (marker only): 1 lb. 15 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 8.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Break Beam VisionTrigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, rebound, 3 round burst (10bps max), full auto, (10bps max)
Max Rate of fire: 17bps (higher with Blackheart board)
Field legal mode lockRuns on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA includedIon one piece 14 inch barrel
Feedneck: Low profile friction grip vertical / NXT thread
Aluminum / polymer grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion XE is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Dover Tuesday, February 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion: Can't access internals through rear.

DYE DM4 and Proto / Evil Minion 2007: Overcomplicated bolt system.
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, lotsa markers and counting:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4 (dust black)
Proto Minion 2007
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
APS Angel A1
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long, 2 E-Cockers, pump Trilogy, E2)
6 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
1 Piranha/PCS USP pistol
1 Piranha EVO
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger (Lots out there, recommend Custom Products)
Bolt (SP Firebolt or Tech T Level 7)
QEV (Quick Exhaust Valve, recommend SP 360)
Lever Clamping Feedneck (SP Q-Lock)
Barrel System (Total Freak Kit)
Strengths: Cheap
Light weight
Firepower
Weaknesses: Public perception of Smart Parts
Review: Smart Parts changed the face of paintball with the release of the Ion.

The Ion XE allows you to access the internals through the rear like the DYE Matrix series for easy maintenance.

However, unline the DYE FUSE bolt, which is over-compliated and uses many o-rings, the Ion spool valve bolt system is simple, lighter and smaller.

As a result you get inexpensive light-weight firepower in an electro that is quiet and accurate.

These are highly under-rated paintball markers, you can find used upgraded Ion XE's for cheap. or do one up yourself the way you like!
Conclusion: These are highly under-rated paintball markers, you can find used upgraded Ion XE's for cheap. or do one up yourself the way you like!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

monkey7 Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman spyder MR2, JT tac-5 (firstgun), Spyder VS3..
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion XE, CP dust red shorty reg, cp mini on/of asa, red halo-b w/ rip and v35, qev, freak barrel with dust red all American front, nxt clamping feed neck dust black, and a 68/300 low pressure pure energy tank..
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP reg..(shorty for looks)
Freak Barrel system
cp on/off asa
clamping feed neck of some kind.
trim the air hose a bit
trigger
and of course a QEV
Strengths: Price, quality, custom-ability, performance, vary simple.
Weaknesses: Just a few hick-ups here and there..
Review: Great gun...after up grading it a bit it'll look even better and perform better..it will last you a while..its like the Honda civic of the paintball world vary common, vary customizable..vary accurate with a freak barrel. nice and light.. Only problem I've had was when i broke one of the banjo fittings.. ..Another problem I'm having now is that at time the first five shots will be vary weak or the first shot would be strong and the rest would be weak and thats without changing the dwell settings and stuff which are exactly the same as one of my friends ion only his doesn't have any problems...
Conclusion: This gun is my baby..that is until i get me a dm8 or 9 or an ego...great for all kinds of players and its a great back-up gun ..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyleeee Sunday, October 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Planet Eclipse Marker of some sorts... don't sell it anymore... not an ego or SL or etek
SP Shocker
Marker Setup: SP Ion XE with CP clamping feedneck, CP 14 in. 1 piece barrel, and CP Sling Trigger
Halo Too with Rip Drive
Crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel
Marker...
Strengths: Bolt Out Back
Price
Rate of fire... for a begginer.
Shoots Paintballs
Weaknesses: Weight
Feedneck
Barrel
Trigger
Review: Well it is a O.K. gun it just doesn't suit me... I recently turned 12 years old and with all my gear set up this ways about 7 or 8 pounds which is just too heavy for me.
One thing that really annoys me is after like my 4th or 5th time using this the board broke and I had to ship it in for repair which took about a month. Then quite recently I opened my gearbag to find that my trigger had snapped in half, so I had to go to my pro shop and spend 35 bucks on a new trigger. I am selling this to save up for a DP G3.
Conclusion: Is decent enough but I would recommend something lighter or if you are ripped save up about 30 more bucks and buy a Azodin Zenith, comes with a On Off ASA as well as 2 piece barrel.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Joe Mac. Thursday, October 15th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Broken Tippmann 98 custom, Smart Parts Epiphany, 98 custom w/ 20in barrel and stock. I used all of these for a short time, like 1-2 days of paintballing.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion XE(Black),
Shocktech USA Superfly Bolt(Silver),
Virtue Board Redefined,
Redz Pepper Stick 14in Barrel .689 back,
Custom Products Ion Rake Trigger{Red),
Custom Products Flame Drop Forward(Black),
Viewloader Evlotution 3 hopper(feeds 23bps)
72 cu steel Pure Energy compressed air tank,
Smart Parts Defender Jersey(Gray),
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, stock one is short and pretty inaccurate, I recommend the Redz Pepper Stick or Freak barrels. Some people like short barrels but I don't see why.
Bolt, will make gun overall more accurate and efficient.
Board if you have the money.
Strengths: Fast,
Light,
Cheap,
BOB,
Pretty accurate compared to similar markers,
Decent range.
Weaknesses: Trigger sucks. I don't like the shape and mine just broke.
Review: When i first started paintballing I used my friends model 98 then bought a broken(which I wasn't aware of) Tippmann 98 custom from another friend. They were nothing compared to this. My dad uses a sweet 98 w/ 14in Invert rifled barrel and stock which is pretty good, but I'd rather use my gun. When I first got it it was pretty good. If I was aiming at a guys chest it would hit it and the air around it, but now that I have a better barrel and bolt I will hit almost exactly what i want. It does this at speeds of 17bps too(or a lot faster with Virtue). This gun isn't built for accuracy and range but it will perform decent at both and can fire at high speeds. I got mine for only $225 and you could probaly get it for cheaper. The EOS(next SP marker up) runs around $400 bucks and fires at the same speed. The main difference is that it comes with a Freak Jr. and Firebolt. After I got my barrel and bolt I only paid around $300 and I feel my gun is better than the EOS. I used my friends Epiphany(older EOS) and wasn't overly impressed, the only thing I liked better was the sturdy fang trigger. Assuming you want to buy a Smart Parts gun(why wouldn't you? they're the best for the price) I would go with the Ion XE. The vibe is pretty good but the XE is much better. It's really the best buy.

See comment page to understand this( and in response to the comment: of course the balls don't roll out of the barrel in different directions. I only meant that compared to other guns such as Tippmanns it isn't as good in range or accuracy. The primary function of this gun is a high bps rate. Yes any gun at a velocity of 270 will go the same distance and accuracy is about paint and various other factors. I was saying with a stock barrel most paint shoots well and with just about any after market barrel will shoot even better. Also range can be increased with a longer(be careful with 20in, it'll use a lot more air and can be jumpy) or rifled barrel. Why would people even get different barrels if range and accuracy couldn't be improved. My review is accurately stateing the performance of this gun with stock compoents and also giving upgrade suggestions.)
Conclusion: Buy it. Great gun for great price.
Note:I recommend not buying the old Ion over this because of the price. It chops and everything about the XE is better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 16th, 2009 at 8:54 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Speedballer2233 Saturday, June 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Spyder Pilot
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: Ion xe (stock barrel)
Velocity Force Electronic Hopper
Bob Long Ion Xe Leverlock Feedneck
3000 psi 48 cu nitrogen tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK!
maybe a trigger...
Strengths: Lightweight
Great look
Cheap
Decent aim
4 different firing modes
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger (maybe)
Difficult to figure out at first
Review: Overall, this gun is amazing. I got it at my local pro shop for $219- quite a bargain. It has 4 different firing modes- semiauto, auto, ramping, 3 shot burst. It is very lightweight and comfortable to use. I've heard of people getting new barrels, but honestly the stock barrel is working great for me. The feedneck and the trigger are the main setbacks of the gun. You will most likely need to get a clamping feedneck for your gun. However, if your planning to get a gravity hopper (could work but not recommended), you may just want to use electric tape. It can go extremely fast, as long as u have fast trigger fingers. Due to the breakable trigger and the cruddy feedneck, I am going to give it a 9.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun for the begginer to intermediate paintballer and i find it a great speedball gun and it has never failed me so far. Great gun!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mac5130 Saturday, May 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Vibe, Tippmann 98.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion XE, Odyssey HALO B hopper, Freak jr. barrel. Virtue board, Custom Products CP Ion Sling Blade Trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger, and new barrel.
Strengths: Fast gun, very easy to clean, durable.
Weaknesses: Stock trigger breaks easily. Some hoppers will not . C02 isnt a good idea.
Review: I really do love this gun. This was my first real speedball gun that i baught 2 years ago and it still works perfectly. I used to use my Tippmann 98 for woodsballing, and sold it to help buy this gun. I normally use it for speedball, but it works great for woodsball too. Its fast at 17 bps, or a few more depending on which board you have. Durable as well. Some people say that Ions are bad guns, but i found that as long as you clean it often and dont throw it in water (not that i have =D) it'll work great for a long time. I would reccomend a new trigger though. The stock trigger is plastic and mine broke within a month or two. Also, somehoppers do not fit easily because the threading changed on the gun. Don't try and force the hopper in if it doesn't fit or it might break the hopper. Also, the barrel that comes with the gun it a good barrel, but i bought a Freak jr. barrel from Smart Parts and found it shoots more accurately now.

All in all its a great gun. Cheap and great bang for your buck. Only real hold back is that C02 may damage the plastic parts of the gun. Otherwise it's great out of the box, but upgrades help!
Conclusion: I would definetely reccomend this gun to anybody who is a beginner at speed/woodsball or an experienced player who wants a fast, cheap gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HamsterFist Wednesday, May 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushy B2K & BKO's, aside from those I dont have much previous experience shooting true electro pneumatics. My last marker was a stack tube blow back electro (M3 Black Dragun LCD, did it's job, lasted me through the years)
Marker Setup: Ion XE
-Empire Reloader B
-14" CP Barrel 1 piece .689 bore
-AA Messiah Reg (yeah, it's oldschool, but still a goodie, I cannibalized my old marker for the regs)
-PPS Stabilizer Female (bottomline reg, also cannibalized off my old marker)
-CP Sling Blade Trigger
-QEV
-8" Drop Forward
-ACI Bulldog 68ci 4500 (also from my old marker, re-hydro'd of course)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only upgrades I'll really recomend as must haves are the feed neck, barrel, and trigger. Everything else, though available should be left up to player preference.
Strengths: For the price it has alot of bells and whistles
Eyes
Weaknesses: Trigger feel is horrid.
Programming can be painful at first.
Review: Ok I'll make my review short and sweet, as I dont have much to add that hasn't already been said about this marker. I'll share mainly my experience with it rather then what I think of it as a reviewer, as CKvBP's review pretty much touched up on anything you'll need to know about the Ion.

As far as my review / experience goes with this marker, it's definately problem free. I play every 2 to 3 weeks and haven't had any need to field strip my marker, or work out a problem since Nov of 08 when I purchased it. I've heard a few stories, but I think problems with this marker would be fairly uncommon as I, and the many people I've met who use the marker have had absolutely no problems with it.

The only real bone I have to pick with the Ion XE is the trigger feel. From the moment I touched it I noticed a fair amount of side play, and personally I dont like alot of side play in my marker triggers. Just makes them feel more like plastic toy guns (which there is a significant amount of plastic on the Ion concidering what it's made of, but dont be fooled, it is sturdy, only the thought that it's made of plastic bothers me I've had no problems with it functionality wise). I highly recomend switching to an aftermarket trigger. The CP Sling Blade felt the best for me, there are a plethora of aftermarket trigger styles for this thing, look around and see which one catches your fancy the most. Walking the factory trigger to 17 bps is doable, but much easier accomplished by swapping out the trigger.

I do really wish that it came with a clamping feed neck, however the standard feed neck is usable atleast. Though most players who I've seen who still use the factory feed neck rip out the o rings inside of it and sand their hoppers to fit, which I am not a fan of sanding down a $140 some odd dollar hopper to fit a marker. I'd rather buy a $30 clamping neck and use that..
Conclusion: Conclusion is that this marker is definetly capable of giving you a fair chance against just about anything out there, and is upgradable to any level of play should you choose to do so. I would recomend this marker to just about any player who doesn't want to drop one large lump sum on a high end marker but still wants to be able to play against high end players. All in all the Ion really is what you decide to make of it, yes there are better markers out there, but straight out of the box in it's price range, I'd definately say its the best bang for it's buck. 9/10 (minus 1 point for trigger feel, for $225, I'd like to see a trigger with less side movement, I dont mind that it's sturdy plastic, I do mind that it's all over the place though)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C.Falcon Sunday, May 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: 360 QEV
Clamping Neck
Dye UL 14" .688
CP Sling Blade
CP On/Off
Virtue EZON
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
QEV
Trigger
Strengths: Price vs Quality. You get a lot of bang for the buck!
Reliable
Simple.
Weaknesses: Feed Neck.
Trigger.
Review: Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating: Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance: Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance: Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability: Currently 4/5 stars.
Value: Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: read below
Cons: read below
Price: $300 (Canadian Dollars) + upgrades you will most likely buy.

Alright so this is my first marker, and i got to say it is a great platform. I have fired about 10000 balls so far and i am very happy with my results. Its very reliable, fast, and easy to use. I rarely chop balls, and i got +/- 15 FPS with almost no tweaking stock. (if you some one tells you thier $1000 dollar gun shoots +/- 1, they are BSing. The pros at my field are happy with +/-10 and they spend hours upgrading and tweaking)

I have not had any major issues and almost no minor issues with this gun so far. The only major draw back was that i had to pay for a bunch of upgrades (another 125 bucks canadian) to complete it. Read my review for details.

Pros:

•The Price: This gun is cheap. Dollar per quality you really get a deal on this marker. The stock marker is good enough to enter any rookie torunament. *some upgrades are strongly recomended though*

•Firing Modes + Eyes The stock board comes with multiple firing modes, the 2 you will care about are semi, and ramping. You can also do 3 shot burst and full auto. The board is capped at 17 bps, but show me a rookie or that can pull more than 17 bps on semi... most pros cant do this without some kind of electronic assitance. Also the guns comes with decent break beam eyes stock.

•Easy To maintain: The maitenece is simple and striaght forward. The back out bolt is 10000 billion million trillion times better than the old ion system. Standard maitence is about 5 minutes. Unscrew back bolt, lube, screw back bolt in. You should do this after every day of "intense play" or about after every case.

•Very Common Gun: Everyone knows this gun. Most pros carry one as a practice gun or a backup. If you ever run into problems you will more than likely find some one at your local field that can help. That being said, you will not run into many problems. You will more likely ask the local ion experts for help installing your upgrades

Cons:

Required Upgrades Ok, no upgrade is required, but there are many things smart parts "cheaped" out on to keep this gun under 300 dollars.

•Feed neck +$25. The reason you need this is simple, if you plan on moving a lot on the field, your hopper will fall out or you will wedge it in so tight you will break the hopper. I thought i didn't need to buy a clamping neck. I was wrong. Very wrong.

•Trigger +$20-$50. Every ion owner i have met has had thier stock trigger break. Its cheap plastic, and if you pull quickly it will eventully break. In my case, i was shot in the trigger from 7 feet and my trigger snapped.

Thats it! Those are all the "manditory" upgrades for the ion xe. Everything else is up to you. The following is a list of optional upgrades that are worth while eventully.



•QEV, $20 I bought the SP 360 QEV, it was designed for the ion and it was very simple to install. This was the first upgrade i got before the feedneck or trigger. I dropped my dwell from the stock 52 to about 20. This basicly doubled my shots per a tank. Also when I improve my skillz i will able to shoot faster . Definatly worth while.

•Barrel, $30+++ dollars. The stock barrel is fine, i know some people dont like it, but as a starting point, it gets the job done. This is the kind of thing you wait untill you get a deal to upgrade. You can always find a cheap 2nd hand UL or Stiffi on the forums or at your local field. Just make sure its an impulse threaded barrel .

•On/Off ASA $40: This is also a nice upgrade to have. It allows you to turn off the air supply at the tank end of the gun. Basicly it makes unscrewing a tank easy and saves o-rings. *when you turn it off the gun may still have air in it* make sure you safely dry fire the gun even after you remove the tank. My foot learned this lesson the hard way.

•New board. $50+++. This is something you may consider if you want to persue tournaments. I am still using the stock board, and i will continue to use it untill i find a deal on a better board. I dont like taking the grip frame off to adjust the settings but its not that bad.

•The bolt. I have yet to see a reason to change the stock bolt. I noticed that i was only getting poor air effiency with the stock set up, but the QEV upgrade quickly fixed it. Changing the bolt will not make a big difference, (or so i am told) If a deal comes my way i will probbaly take it, but otherwise the stock is fine. I heard there was a batch of bad sotck bolts, if yours breaks, call SP for a replacnment under the warrenty!

•The reg. Again, i have yet to see a reason to change the stock reg. From what im told, the stock reg is really quite good. Dont waste your money untill a really nice deal presents itself. Do some research if you want to change this part.

Conclusion: All in all this gun is a great buy. As i said above many pros keep them as back-ups. It a reliable and easy to maintain gun. In conclusion, if you are looking for a good starter gun buy this thing. Keep in mind you will immedaiatly want to spend another 70 bucks on the "manditory" upgrades after you play one round with it stock.

Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 17th, 2009 at 9:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

B_Manz Sunday, May 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Spyder MR2
Shocker NXT
Tippman 98C
Tippman A-5
JT Tac 5
Smart Parts EOS
Marker Setup: SP Ion XE
360 QEV
ViewLoader eVlution 2
PMI 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
QEV
Bolt
Trigger
Strengths: Lightweight
Not very Expensive
Lots of upgrades/parts
works with CO2 or HPA
Weaknesses: STOCK FEEDNECK
shootdown after a while between shots(solved w/QEV)
changing modes (see review)
Review: after playing with my MR2 for a few months, i got tired of the constant cleaning and maintenance required to even play. I talked to my friend about what kind of gun i should look at getting as a replcement for it, and he suggested anything from Smart Parts would be a good bet without spending too much money.

After researching which gun i liked the most, i settled on the Ion XE because it had good reviews on this website, had Bolt-Out-Back, eyes, and lots of parts/upgrades available, unlike the MR2 (especially Barrels).

I was lucky enough to find a brand new one of these on E-Bay for about $125 and when I got it, I was not disappointed. The air efficiency was alot better than anything that i had ever played with, as an empty tank on my MR2 let me shoot about 3 more hoppers of paint on my XE with a remote (don't use CO2 without a remote).

However, HPA was a different story. Off of a 68ci/3000 tank, i shot about 3 hoppers before noticing shoot down. This was solved with the 360 QEV ($18) however, as my dwell moved from 52 blinks to 22, increasing efficiency and cycling rates. (PSI also dropped about 30 PSI to 150)

BARREL:
This is not as innacurate as some people might say. If you shoot large bore paint through it with HPA, it is ball on top of ball at about 35 yards. with CO2 the spread is about 6 inches. (I was using RPS Stinger).

BOARD:
Honestly, unless you feel like spending over $100 just to shoot over 20 BPS, you don't need to upgrade this. If you play woodsball like myself, you don't really need to shoot over the stock board's 17 BPS. If you play speedball, you really don't need to upgrade this either, as some tournaments limit the gun to 15 BPS anyways.

Some people may also get a board for different/more firing modes. This is fine i suppose, but not really necessary.

FIRING MODES ISSUE:
The only way to change firing modes is to pull off the grip (2 screws) and press a button a few times. By trial and error you can figure out what mode you are in because there is no set light "code" or number of flashes that signify a firing mode.

FEEDNECK:
RIDICULOUS. I couldn't fit my eVlution 2 so i when to my local field and bought a Smart Parts Q-Lock ($40). Problem Solved.

TRIGGER:
Some kind of plastic... did not break and have no problems, but very cheap feeling. Will upgrade soon. No big deal though.

WEIGHT:
Some people complain about this gun being too heavy. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? The Ion XE weighs under 2 pounds without a tank. Those who say that it is heavy probably are just babies who don't realize that a tank adds weight to a gun.

BOLT:
The stock bolt is 32 grams or so. A SP Firebolt ($40) is about 16.5 grams. You can pick a bolt up to reduce air consumption, reduce kick (for better accuracy), and increase cycle rates. There are lots of bolts available for the Ion from $20 to about $60.
Conclusion: Although i don't have too many upgrades, this is a great gun out of the box an i would recommend it to beginners, intermediate players, or people looking for something better than a spyder (no offense because i love my pilot). With a few upgrades, this gun will shoot as good as a $400 gun. 9 for cheap quality of some stock parts (trigger, feed neck).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 1st, 2009 at 5:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blabber45 Tuesday, May 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BT-4 Combat
Marker Setup: Ion XE
14" All American Barrel
Q-Lock Feedneck
CP Sling Trigger
CP Reg
48/3000 tank
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK!!!!!
Barrel
Trigger
ASA (not necesary)
Reg (not necesary)
Strengths: Accuracy
Price
Weaknesses: Heavy
Bulky
Crappy Stock Parts
Review: This gun is terrible. It is very heavy, the stock parts suck, and the trigger frame is way to big. Sure the gun shoots well but that means nothing if it isn't comfortable in your hands. Here is a specific overview of the stock parts:

Feedneck:
Has to be upgraded right away. It can not fit a reloader b.

Barrel:
With this barrel, paintballs curve like a mother f****r. It sucks

Trigger:
It's crappy plastic and it broke in half when I tried to walk it.

Reg:
Preformance wise it's okay but it's really bulky so I would reccomend getting a CP reg which is awesome

Conclusion: I would not Reccomend this gun from anyone to a starter to a pro. It cost to much to upgrade so just save an extra hundred bocks and get a proto SLG or dangerous power G3.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media