paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE

Smart Parts Ion XE Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion XE

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion XE
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $225

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The embodiment of affordable firepower. Ion changed the paintball paradigm by being the first marker to deliver true electropneumatic performance in the casual paintball player's price range. With multiple firing modes, an aggressive rate of fire, and break beam Vision anti-chop system, the Ion XE continues the Ion tradition of tournament level performance at a low price. The best feature of the new ION XE is the Bolt out Back design. This new design allows even a novice player to clean the bolt in seconds.

Smart Parts Ion XE Features:

Bolt-Out-Back design makes this Ion easier to maintain than ever before. One allen wrench is all that is needed to remove the bolt sleeve, bolt and bolt stop from the rear of the marker, providing complete access to the entire bolt and valve assembly in seconds.
Weight (marker only): 1 lb. 15 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 8.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Break Beam VisionTrigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, rebound, 3 round burst (10bps max), full auto, (10bps max)
Max Rate of fire: 17bps (higher with Blackheart board)
Field legal mode lockRuns on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA includedIon one piece 14 inch barrel
Feedneck: Low profile friction grip vertical / NXT thread
Aluminum / polymer grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion XE is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
choiboi1113 Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tipman 98- lots of recoil and noise
spyder pilot acs- (only played with my friends)
Marker Setup: stock xe,
18 bps viewloader hopper
48ci/3000psi tank
4 pod ball hauler
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK AND ON/OFF BUTTON!!!!!
look into a better grip
after a while you might want to upgrade the trigger
Strengths: fast, quiet, good bps, doesnt eat up battery life, BOB
Weaknesses: stock grips a little bulky. feedneck is HORRIBLE. cant change firing modes without opening grip.
Review: this gun is GREAT for beginners. it has so many upgrades that you can u can upgrade it to be just about anything. the first thing i recommend upgrading is the feedneck. the hopper is so hard to get on and off that i snap an o-ring every time i try to pull it off. second thing i reccomend is the on/off button. IT ABSOLUTELY SUCKS!! the marker runs on 9 volt batteries which i thought was great. also the grip is bulky so i find it harder to walk the trigger. another key weakness is that you cant change firing modes without opening the grip!! i thought this was a MAJOR problem with this marker. its got a good bps (17) so you dont need a high profile hopper. this is a decent stock marker. but once u upgrade the right things it becomes a great paintball marker.
Conclusion: i would only suggest this marker to ballers who are going to spend A LOT of money on upgrades and going to keep it long term. or people looking for a decent electro marker that is willing to play with ok stock parts. o yeah. i almost forgot. the bolt out back design. this is basically the reason why i got this gun and not the spyder pilot acs. it is so easy to clean. it literally takes 30 seconds to take it apart, lube/clean it, and put it back together.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008 at 6:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mason9234 Thursday, June 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman model 98 and it does not compare to the ion xe
Marker Setup: ion xe stock and evo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
Strengths: Accuracy is good bps is great!!!!!
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: Tippmann guns are nothing like this one the more I shoot it the more I am glad I got it. It works great no problems its vey hard to get the hopper on. Stock runs good all you need is a feedneck. It came up to all my expectations and i hope for yours too!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: It is good for all players bps for tournaments ez cleaning for begginers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AlexION Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i used a low end mechanical marker before this and when i got it, there wasn't even anything to compare
Marker Setup: ION xe
QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
force feed hopper
trigger
qev

if looking to be a sniper-the Q-bow kit
Strengths: Fast
Quite
Acurate

Weaknesses: Everything inside handle
Trigger a bit shaky
Review: This is an awsome gun for any paintballer. It can be upgraded to just about anything, sniper-q-bow kit, faster-ion boards etc. there are so many upgrades for this gun it's crazy, i've pretty well spend 250$ on upgrades. they aren't super need to have upgrades but i'm tring to get this to it's top preformence-trigger,barrel,auto hopper,qev, bolt. If u do get one make sure u play around with the ROF and dwell pressure, i used a lot of air for the first few times then started playing around with it and now use A LOT less
Conclusion: This is an awsome cheap paintball marker, that is great out of the box, and can be upgraded to a top of the line marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dumdedum Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder tlr
dont get unless you just started
Marker Setup: clamp feedneck
empire hopper
new triger
blackheart board
freak jr
Recommended
Upgrades:
CLAMP FEEDNECK!!!!!!! Get this or you will be pessed when your hopper falls off
Strengths: Quality, accuracy, quiet, consistent, easily upgraded, bob is great.
Weaknesses: Some stock. Definetly upgrade the trigger eventually
Review: This is an awsome gun for everyone. it is cheap and easily upgraded. if you want to save money and get great quality get this gun. if you want to be pro get a dye dm something of one of the marq series. this gun will last you for so long. makesure your hopper can go atleast 20 bps because the new trigger will help and you should get a blackheart board to make it go faster
Conclusion: GET IT!! i doubt many of you play intense tournaments so get it do nt waste money on a crazy gun because you want to brag. i hate people that do that and i light them up cause they piss me off.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kace kool Wednesday, April 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann (first marker)
Marker Setup: Ion XE ( new trigger and feedneck), Viewloader evlution III, crossfire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
YOU NEED THESE: clamping feedneck, new trigger, qev
Strengths: This marker is cheap, light, fast
Weaknesses: The feed neck sucks bad!!! the trigger solenoid not responsive enough
Review: I just purchased this gun a few days ago and I do have to say it is amazing. I don't how you can play paintball without it. It is key to having fun and winning. My previous marker was a Tippmann 98 custom, that heavy behemoth will never see the light of day when it is in my hands!!! This gun does have a few flaws though, which are the feedneck and the trigger.

The Feedneck: On their website they say that it will fit any type of hopper... LIES

The Trigger: It is a GARBAGE piece of plastic that is worthless

*note: search on google for the ion XE and you should find a link for an ion that is $199.99. get it. it is a good deal. Instead of 224.99.

EDIT: ok I have had this marker for a while now and I do have to say I do not like it anymore.
It is ok if you do not plan on becoming a serious paintballer, but if you are going to play tournaments you are going to need to put at least a hundred dollars worth of upgrades.
Conclusion: buy this gun you wont be sorry. This gun works in any type of paintball.
this gun really deserves a 9.5
EDIT: this gun does NOT deserve a 9.5 because the PMR is a far better deal and it comes with a clamping feedneck to begin with.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 15th, 2008 at 12:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bottleboy Sunday, April 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
old ion, spider pilot
Marker Setup: mostly stock but will get a jj edge barrel kit soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
asa
barrel, but not a bad stock barrel
Strengths: Very Quiet
Light
Fast
No Kick at all
Bolt Out Back
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is an excelllent choice for a begginer/ intermediate player. The Bolt-Out-Back design is amazing and takes very little time to clean. The gun is so quiet and has absolutely no kick. And my friend even commented on how there is no kick. The stock asa isn't terrible but it isn't that great either, and it is really hard to get the tank out since it isn't an on/off. The stock barrel is actually ok. It also is a fast gun at 17 bps. It has 3main features over the old ion 1) it has the Bolt-Out-Back 2) it operates at 180 psi instead of 850 3) it has a better feed neck its not the best but it does the job. And in my opinion the ion xe is the one of the best if not the best gun for the price.
Conclusion: I give it a 10 out of 10 because it is high quality for a low price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Inkedboy Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
*Pump
*Spyders
*Autocockers
*1st Generation Angel's
Marker Setup: **~Murdered Out Ion XE~**

-Black Ion (stock internals & barrel)
-Halo B with Rip Drive & Z-Code
-Dye Sticky 3 Grips (black)
-Shocktech Lowrise Clamping Feedneck (black)
-Shocktech #2 Drop Forward (black)
-Shocktech On/Off ASA (black)
-Shocktech Rolling Trigger V2 (black)
-Virtue EZ On (black)

**Soon To Be Added**

-Dye 14" Boomstick (black)
-Shocktech Inline Regulator (black)
-Shocktech Superfly Bolt (black)
-Shocktech S.S.C Body Kit (black)
-Shocktech Halo B Rip Drive Knob (black)
-Virtue Board
-Virtue Eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, the only necessary upgrade needed is a clamping feedneck. The stock one doesn't accommodate the larger loaders (Halo) even after the 2 large O-rings have been removed. ANY clamping feedneck is fine, they are all adjustable. Brand is up to your preference. Once I saved some money, the second upgrade was the trigger. The stock one sways side to side. The shape is W, I prefer an S shape, easier for higher rates of fire. After that upgrade, I replaced the traditional duckbill ASA with a 1.5" dropforward w/ on & off. Any other upgrades can come along, this sport is expensive as it is.
Strengths: *Price
*Maintenance/Internals
*Parts/Upgrades
Weaknesses: Stock Parts (barrel, trigger, feedneck and ASA)
Review: ***THE GOOD***

$$$Price$$$
-you can usually find this at local shops for about $225. Not bad at all considering electro-pneumatic markers were an average of $900 back in the day.

EZ Maintenance
-clean up is a cinch with the B.O.B (bolt-out-back) design. 1 allen key is all that is needed to remove the bolt.

Parts
-with the popularity of the SP Ion XE continually growing, many after-market upgrades are available. Heck, you could build a complete custom Ion from the ground up, that's how much stuff there is for it.

Internals
-with the new spool valve tech, the guts in the marker are simplified. It is efficient operating at an average psi of 180-190. For those who enjoy doing their own repairs, there is nothing intimidating inside. Simple hoses and fittings. There are MANY tutorials on how to make any adjustments to better suit you.

***THE BAD***
Complaints!
-the stock barrel, trigger, feedneck and ASA suck!

But to be fair.....
If Smart Parts were to include all of those upgrades, then the price of the Ion wouldn't be $225!

I've played paintball for many years. I've seen markers come and go. This is definitely one that will stay. It is affordable, efficient, durable and VERY customizable. There is no need to drop $700 right off the bat to get something sweet. Only a minor upgrade (feedneck) is needed when first purchased. Other parts can be upgraded later.
Conclusion: If you are on a budget but want a high end electro marker, then this is a perfect choice for you. I'm rating it a STRONG 9 because the body could've used a little bit more styling.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sadmonkey111 Saturday, April 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Ion Xe, Q-Lock Feed Neck, 48cu air tank, Velocity Jr Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-LOCK FEED NECK!!! Maybe fire bolt (made by smart parts(saves gas))
Strengths: Reliable, Accurate, Many Upgrades for this product
Weaknesses: Uses a lot of gas, stock feed neck IS VERY BAD
Review: When i first bought this gun i was very happy for the price tag. Another reason i bought this is because i see so many people with this marker. The good thing is that there are many upgrades available for this product. One thing that NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED is the stock feed neck(IT SUCKS). Upgrade to the Q-Lock feed neck (40$) Immediately!!! Another thing is that it uses a lot of gas (even though the box says its "efficient") the good thing is that you can upgrade the bolt which can save you gas AND with the new easy field strip back bolt you can take that out and easily install the new bolt if you wanted to. Otherwise this gun is somewhat fast this is a very good starter electronic marker. And if you want to you can upgrade the board.
Conclusion: This gun is very fast and reliable you can upgrade it like crazy and make it super awesome or just keep it how it is. I would recommend this to anyone whom is looking for a cheap new electronic marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

el.gecko Saturday, March 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns-no comparison. totally different
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion XE
Empire Hopper
Pure Energy 4500 psi compressed air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel. Maybe a virtue board
Strengths: Fast
Cheap
Small
Light
Quiet
Accurate
Very Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Picky about paint
Power Button
Didn't come with a good wrench
Review: The ion XE is awesome. It is just like a regular ion but with the new bolt out back system which is awesome and makes it extremely easy to clean. I can take it apart, clean it, and put it back together in 30 seconds. It shoots really fast right out of the box (17 bps) and can hold its own against any other gun. The ion XE is a very compact gun and feels good in my hand. It is a very quiet gun and extremely accurate too. The only main problem with the ion is that its very picky on what kind of paint it will shoot. It will shoot most paint fine and usually never chops because of the eyes but it just will not shoot certain types of paint. I bought some pretty expensive midnight paint and balls broke almost every time i pulled the trigger. The power button is also a problem. Its just like the old ion and hard to push down. The bolt out back system is great but you have to have a pretty big allen wrench to actually use it and it didn't come with one.
Conclusion: I reccomend the ion XE to anybody because it is very affordable, shoots fast, and the new bolt out back system.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fideru Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Spyder Xtra/Pilot
Smart Parts Ion/Ion Max'd/Ion Xe
Marker Setup: In-between markers at the current moment.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck would be good.
Barrel isn't too much of a priority.
ASA (I HATE duckbills).
Strengths: Cheap
B(olt)-O(ut)-B(ack)
Weight
Weaknesses: Trigger Sway
Got a Lemon
Duckbill!!!!!11111111
Feedneck
Power Button
Review: Well, I guess I played with a Lemon because of what happened.

Basically, got to shoot approximately a hopper. After I refilled, the gun was loosing velocity. Called the Proshop, and didn't help at all. Brought it in, and they took a look at it. He said it was the velocity, so he aired it up, took a shot, turned the velocity up, took a shot, turned the velocity up, took a shot, than turned it up all the way and blew out the regulator. Got it sent into Smart Parts to get a new regulator, and it came back, not shooting well still. Now it either shoots at approximately 290-300 or not at all.

Other than that, I noticed the feedneck is horrible. Adjustible my ass.
Trigger still sways a bit from left to right.
The duckbill ASA has my hatred on all levels.
The power button is still a bit annoying to use.

On the good side though, it is cheap, pretty light weight, and has Bolt Out Back which allows for great, easy maintenence.
Conclusion: Obviously, with my experience, I would not recommend. It also seems that there were a bad bunch of Ion XE's, seems like I've got one of them. So don't really take my review too much, but, what happened to me, can happen to you as well.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media