paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE

Smart Parts Ion XE Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion XE

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion XE
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $225

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The embodiment of affordable firepower. Ion changed the paintball paradigm by being the first marker to deliver true electropneumatic performance in the casual paintball player's price range. With multiple firing modes, an aggressive rate of fire, and break beam Vision anti-chop system, the Ion XE continues the Ion tradition of tournament level performance at a low price. The best feature of the new ION XE is the Bolt out Back design. This new design allows even a novice player to clean the bolt in seconds.

Smart Parts Ion XE Features:

Bolt-Out-Back design makes this Ion easier to maintain than ever before. One allen wrench is all that is needed to remove the bolt sleeve, bolt and bolt stop from the rear of the marker, providing complete access to the entire bolt and valve assembly in seconds.
Weight (marker only): 1 lb. 15 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 8.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Break Beam VisionTrigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, rebound, 3 round burst (10bps max), full auto, (10bps max)
Max Rate of fire: 17bps (higher with Blackheart board)
Field legal mode lockRuns on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA includedIon one piece 14 inch barrel
Feedneck: Low profile friction grip vertical / NXT thread
Aluminum / polymer grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion XE is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
tnt155 Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR2[terrible]
Marker Setup: Ion xe
Lapco Bigshot 12"
Fasta hopper
Red body kit
48/3000 N2 tank
Flame drop with on/off
Redz tank cover
Warrior 3 point trigger
CP clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel
Good hopper
Strengths: Looks
Consistant
Price
Bolt Out Back
Pretty Fast
Very Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
Stock barrel
Review: I love this gun. Compared to my last gun, Spyder MR2 which was horrible, this thing is amazing. So easy to clean compared to the origional ion. Its accually pretty quiet too[personal preferance] I still havent chopped one ball, and i have had it for a year, and thats a lot of playing. I got my marker off Ebay for 200 Dollars which is a good deal for this type of marker. I also love how you can totally customize this gun out and make it look awsome. Some people say that its a bad thing that the eletronics are in the grip but i say if you have fast fingers and get a better trigger you will never even have to switch the mode of fire. Also i have to mention the Bolt Out Back body which makes the gun go up even another level. Its so easy to clean and lube. Just get a clamping feedneck, a trigger, and a Lapco barrel, and you will be in good shape.
Conclusion: Overall I dont see anything wrong with this gun. Never chops and is pretty quick.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

McEd Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular ion (almost the same just a tad heavier)
Marker Setup: SP ION XE
dye throttle hp 70/45 w/ olive rhino cover
VLocity jr.
techt l7 bold
smart parts q-lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new clamping feedneck
on/off asa
maybe a drop?
Strengths: Bolt out back
Weight
Price
Reliability
Gas efficiency
Weaknesses: Not enough pictures in manual (lol)
feed neck
Review: ========
The good
========

Efficiency: This gun has great efficiency i never have to fill up after a heavy game (with a 70/45) but i do go and top it off

Speed: is great 17 balls per second? who needs more than that?

Weight: this gun is lighter than most lower, high end guns i've used

Kick: this gun had a bit of kick with the stock bolt, but nothing to ruin your experiance. Also i have recently installed a techt l7 bolt and i get better efficiency and no kick.

Reliability: This gun has never failed me yet, though there were some frustrating times i got through them but they weren't on the field

Price: I got mine for $200 on sale and it was well worth it, i would have paid much more for this gun if i had

=======
The bad
=======

Feed neck: the stock feed neck is pretty crummy , in my opinion, it is ok until you break a feed neck oring. the feed neck should be one of the first upgrades u get

macro line: the stock macro line is kinda annoying by causing leaks and then you need to move it around by the fittings to get it to stop, i believe this is caused by the diameter being a bit smaller than regular macro line. btw this IS NOT a major issue
Conclusion: I recommend this for all players beginning or advanced. if you have any questions or comments post a comment... or pm me thanks. also if you could, plz pm me (or post a comment) so i can fix any problems before you post a dispute.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 28th, 2008 at 5:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pheonix320 Wednesday, February 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: ION XE Stock.
Evo 3 Hopper
3000 PSI Compressed Air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none.
Strengths: Light Weight.
Easy To maintain clean.
Quiet.
Weaknesses: Trigger sort of sways left and right.
Electronics are inside grip frame.
Review: I just got this Ion XE and its amazing. For a rookie, this gun will do just fine. Its really easy to maintain clean, easy to work with, light weight, Its quiet and shoots pretty darn fast. Its comfortable to play with. It runs with Compressed Air so thats a plus for me. I really think the price for the quality of gun is good. Its accurate and still havent chopped a ball. I've havent had any problems with it so far so, so this gun is a must get for a mediokre player like myself. If you have a little cash saved up, get this gun. Im thinking of getting the blackheart board for it and a freak barrel just to tune it up a bit, but the stock barrel is just fine. i think it is everything that you can expect from a smart parts marker. Not much difference from the previous Ion, just a few things here and there, but again, for the price of the quality, its a must get. Only Thing that I Didnt find too cool was that the trigger kinda sways left and right, and i have seen a few reviews saying the same. Its not a big deal for me, I can still rock it. And the other thing is that the Electonics are inside the grip. Atleast for me, I only run it in Semi-Automatic, but if your one of those players that like switching it up, your going to have to open that grip up. but, like i said, i leave it on semi-automatic and dont touch it again.
Conclusion: Final recommendation for this product is that if you dont want to spend too much money on a great gun, this is the gun for you. Its quick, accurate, quiet, and not a big killer on your wallet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newpaint Saturday, January 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion - Xe is better simply because of BOB
Marker Setup: Ion XE W/
NDZ QEV
Critical Trigger
L7 v2
14 inch freak ss back, black AA tip
48/3000 pure energy
Halo w/ Rip and V35
Flex 8
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward
Critical Trigger (personal preferance)
Freak Barrel (stock is alright)
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: STRENGTHS

Price - I paid $200 for my Ion Xe (on sale) regular price is $225ish
Weight - only 1 pound 15 oz
Size - 8.5" w/o barrel and roughly 20" w/ barrel
Efficiency - I play indoor, the FPS being under 250 the opperating pressure is about 110 PSI (may be off, I've heard sp gauges are usually a little off) With using a 48 3000 tank I don't need to worry about refilling much (will get my tank filled and update on how many shots/tank I got) Also very little kick at this pressure
Break Beam Vision - it works beautifully. only breaks I had were 2 or 3 barrel breaks (really crappy and old paint)
BOB - BOB as I like to call it or the Bolt Out Back system, I love it. Takes literally 30 seconds to unscrew the back cap, take the bolt out, clean and put it all back together again
Feedneck - better than the ion feedneck (it is actually the Epiphany feedneck and NXT threaded) very snug fit with an evo and halo after lubing the O-rings in the feed neck
Barrel - not bad but not great it does the job fairly well for the price of the gun

WEAKNESS

Trigger - side-to-side movement, not very smooth trigger pull
Drop forward - the drop is the same as the original ion's and personaly I don't like how it pushes your air tank back further than most
Design - I think SP could have done a much better job in designing the Ion xe, it looks exactly the same, not too big of a deal but it would have been nice if they had givin the ion a bit of a new look.

Troubles - I believe I just got a bad egg, coussin bought the same marker same day I bought mine, hes had No issues at all.
1. I bought my Ion xe before the guys at badlands (paintball proshop) could test the gun out. I picked mine up and brought it home to find out that 2 of the grip screw weren't even in correctly and someone had almost made new holes in my frame trying to put them in (put the screws in the right way and no issues everything is good)
2. I did not have this before but when I got my gun back I now have a leak, a very small leak but none the less, a lead. All the fitings are tight. I am going to borrow my friends stock bolt to see if its possibly the O-rings on my bolt, (O-rings on my bolt look like they are slightly damaged). Will update later on
I really think I got a bad egg here

UPDATE

The leak is gone, shot baout 500 balls through while playing and haven't heard a leak since

Just for all you haters of Ions because people upgrade the sh!t out of them or you think they are bad guns or what ever.
the ion is perfect for someone whos on a budget starting off in paintball, then can save money and buy upgrades for there gun later on to make able to compete with guns that are better then a stock Ion. Also perfect for someone who wants to try and make a truely unique marker, I think Ions are now the most customizable markers available now.
Conclusion: Great all around marker for any beginer - intermidiate player
When upgraded I believe this can be equal to maybe even better then some top end markers. don't believe me take a look
search Youtube - type in "fastest ion" look for - Fastest Ion - UFC equiptment
Yes that is an Ion
he is still tweaking the settings and apparently gotten it to fire even faster since that video.
Overall great marker for the price and how upgradible/customizible

Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 21st, 2008 at 2:14 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kebone2 Saturday, December 29th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular ion- just as good
Spyder Pilot- only slightly worse
WGP Autocockers- about as accurate, just not as fast
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS '05
Dye 16in stainless steel barrel
Dye Sticky grips
Psycoballistics drop w/ on off
Smart Parts Q lock clamping feedneck
Velocity with Select Force
Shock Tech Superfly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck, bottomline, bolt, the works.
Strengths: Built on a reliable paltform, and nomatter what it features, it will sell.
Weaknesses: Features almost nothing new to paintball
Review: I think Smart Parts turned out this thing just to make more money off the "Ion" name. Because it features performance wise are almost the same. Of course, thats not really a bad thing, but c'mon, "bolt-out-back design" , the Impulse had that. As well as the Nerve. So they havn't done anything that they didn't do in the past. The stock barrel is still bad, and it still dosen't come with a clamping feedneck stock, man, it the q-lock so expensive that they can't put it on there from the factory? So, I say, if you want an Ion, go get an old one.
Conclusion: Go buy the old one.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Golden Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra- first gun, ION XE is way better no doubt.
Marker Setup: ION XE black.
48/3000 Pure Energy Tank.
Evolution 3 Hopper.
Dye i3 Pro Blue.
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger if you dont like the side-to-side sway
barrel (stock is decent)
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Fairly fast (17 bps)
bolt out back is really easy to clean.
Weaknesses: Trigger still sways
Feedneck is still crappy
Power button still hard to use

Review: This is my first electronic gun and I can say I am very pleased. It feels good in your hands and is fairly light. It shoots fast enough at 17 bps which is all you need I think. Also, it has a output pressure gauge on the gun which is useful. Some people say it looks like plastic, BUT it is not plastic, it actually feels somewhat rubbery. My only issues with this gun is that the trigger does sway a bit and it can be hard to walk it at a fast pace for a long period of time due to this. Also, they still haven't implemented a way to change firing modes without taking off the trigger frame, which is a hassle. All in all, this is a great buy and good for an novice paintball player who wants a cheap decent performing electronic gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun fully to anyone who is interested in a cheap light electropneumotic (sp?) marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

chevyrider3884 Tuesday, December 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
PMR
Marker Setup: Pmr
Velocity Hopper
Freak Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
TRIGGER...
Maybe Barrel(stock is ok)
Strengths: Cheap.
Out the back bolt..
Weaknesses: The stock trigger.. thats about it..
Review: Great gun for beginners... its capped at 17bps so that is pretty good for the begginers.
Mostly same as the ion but a little bit faster and out the back bolt which makes it very easy to clean..

Also i think the feed neck is a little better but i would recommend a clamping feed neck...


GREAT GUN ALL AROUND..
Conclusion: Great gun for the price
Don't pass up the great deal..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media