paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts EOS / Smart Parts EOS / Smart Parts EOS / Smart Parts EOS

Smart Parts EOS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts EOS

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts EOS
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $389

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
True tournament performance. The new Smart Parts EOS replaces the Epiphany and it comes loaded with new features. One in particular that will grab your eye is the new Bolt out Back design. No more tearing the entire gun down to lubricate your bolt.

Smart Parts EOS Features:

Unique rapid-charge, low volume fire chamber and volume control inserts makes the EOS deliver high-end tournament level performance, protected from distance-robbing shoot down even at the highest rates of fire
Vision anti chop technology combined with fast and simple single tool disassembly of the entire bolt and valve system gives the EOS the reliability and fast turn around time needed in the staging pits of today's tournaments.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 3 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 8.4 in.
Operating Pressure: 280psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Break Beam Vision
Trigger Pivot: Conical Mounted Bearing
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, rebound, 3 round burst (10bps max), full auto, (10bps max)
Max Rate of fire: 17bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Smart Parts On/Off ASA
Includes Freak Jr. three piece 14 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical Q-Lock/NXT thread
Lightweight alloy grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts EOS is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
tabascoNYP Monday, February 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL plus
Phantom pump
Autococker w/ boomstick
Marker Setup: Smart Parts EOS
Freak Jr. Barrel with stainless inserts
Halo hopper
Strengths: Reliable, simple, accurate, doesn't break paint in gun.
Weaknesses: I'm not a huge fan of the front grip setup.
Review: I got this gun on craigslist about a year ago and I love it. Its accurate and shoots pretty far and I can't think of a time I broke paint in the gun. I play woodsball almost exclusively and it works great for me. I see people saying it doesn't shoot fast enough stock and I can't really comment on that well because that's not really my style of play, it shoots plenty fast for me but if you shoot really really fast then I'd listen to their reviews for that aspect. When I say its simple as a strength I mean I like how simple the internals you need to maintenance are compared to the other markers I've owned. My autococker may be more accurate but not by much, and my autococker also shoots bad paint better, but overall I like my EOS much more.
Conclusion: I think this is a great gun, however I don't have much experience with high end electronic markers. It does its job great for me when I'm using decent paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilaqualad123 Monday, January 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion/ xe, vibe, sp1, spyder pilot/ electra, ego 08, 09, sl74, sl8r
Marker Setup: freak 14" full freak kit
dye rotor
crossfire 68/ 4500 psi hpa
tadao dynasty board
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really
Strengths: Volume control inserts
better than most other guns in general
looks
Weaknesses: Not as durable as the other guns
Review: Same test I always do drop it and see how it is. This gun actually got a nice scratch and a couple dents in it. Not what I see in my other guns, but whatever. The gun was a lot better than others by far except for the sl8r in my mind and is now my main gun.

weaknesses
As I said already the gun is not as durable as my others. I actually still have them on the gun, never got them hit out. The gun is slower than the egos with the stock board but with a blackheart or the tadao which is what I use now the gun actually stands up to them.

strengths
The EOS comes with the same bolt design that the vibe and ion xe come with. This makes it easier to clean than my egos and my spyders so whenever im on the road and my gun isnot shooting right I just grab the proper allen wrench take the bolt out and done. Also the EOS comes with volume control inserts that make the gun use more or less air depending on how it needs to be. The feedneck is finally good and can hold all my different hoppers on it from my magna to my pinokio.
Conclusion: This gun is at the top of my list now and will probably stay there considering ive used it for so long. Any noob to intermediate player can use this gun if they can afford it and use it properly. I trully give it a 9.5 but ill just give it a 10 because I want to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rkr1991 Sunday, December 27th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder one
spyder shutter (both are way better guns)
Marker Setup: stock ion EOS
Recommended
Upgrades:
all you can afford
Strengths: will run on co2, HPA, and nitrogen, low pressure
Weaknesses: Don't shoot but about 20ft unless u aim way above target.
paint scratches easily.
Review: I first got this gun for Christmas brand new for $400 with HPA bottle included. when i opened the box i thought wow this has got to be better than a spyder. its got custom designed grips, a freak jr. barrel, built in clamp feedneck, and a electronic trigger with rebound, semi, and full auto. so i get the gun out and notice the psi gauge has a small crack in it, i think no problem i can deal with that. i put on a halo hopper and hpa bottle and turn it on to shoot it. after the first shot i wasn't to happy when it shot about 20 ft at 180 psi. i get on the internet and set the dwell, and rof to it recommended setting to shoot 17 bps (as fast as it will shoot). and turn the psi up to about 200 psi, it shot about 35ft this time. i got to turn the psi up to 210 and notice the gauge is hanging down under 0. the gauge broke so i take it back and get a new gauge put on it. (the gauges range is between 0-300 so i know for sure it was set at 200 and not over 300 to mess up the gauge). the best psi is between 180-220 i think.
today i take it out to play with some friends and the dominated me. they were shooting and hitting me when my gun was way out of range. they could aim and shoot me directly when i had to point mine at the sun to get it to reach them and all they had to do was duck cause the paintball was so slow.
Conclusion: Don't pay $400 on this gun..... go buy a spyder
not to mention that my step dad got a ion shocker and it wouldnt even fire once we got there it acted like it wasnt getting enough air to move the action but it is set at 200 psi.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 27th, 2009 at 9:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

KingerNP Wednesday, May 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion/XE
spyder pilot
tippman A5
diablo mongoose
Marker Setup: Smart Parts EOS, Liquid Carbon Black with red firing can (one of a kind)
VLocity Jr Smoke
Virtue Argyle red grips
68cui 4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would suggest getting a new board probably the Virtue OLED
great board and has Awesome training modes
Strengths: shoots very quietly, already has the smart parts firebolt and a Q lock feedneck
Weaknesses: the Liquid carbon guns tend to fade and scratch over time,
Review: The body is great very stylish great curves the colours are just amazing, the only thing i can say is the Liquid carbon version fades and scratches very easy after a few times out. Very well made gun and it is for the budget baller. It is a chainsaw if tuned properly.
Conclusion: I would recommend buying this gun because it is fairly cheap and also is a great shooter that already has the firebolt from smart parts and a Q lock feedneck so the only upgrades that are required are getting a new board.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulletshock338 Wednesday, November 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, epiphany, sp8, sp1, vibe
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Eos red on black, odessy halo b v35, draxxus 48/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would get a drop and maybe a new reg, the stock one is ok.
Strengths: Freak jr, firebolt, bolt out back, clamping feedneck, fast, on/off asa.
Weaknesses: Asa can loosen(not hard to tighten set screw), changing firing modes a pain
Review: This gun is great, i bought it in the summer, and it sat in my room for a month before i shot it. The first time i used it, i worked beautifully. My only problem was that i couldnt tighten my tank on too much or it would not recharge my reg fast enough to walk the trigger. Other than that i had no problems with this gun, its easy to clean, shoot and i really couldn't care if it is an upped ion, needless to say i think its just an improved or better ion.

Definitely a great gun, it has taken the spot of my x7 as primary weapon.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker because of its affordability, speed, and physical features.

A solid 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 13th, 2008 at 7:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cs09 Sunday, September 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Bt-4
A5
dangerous power f8
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Eos
48/3000 pure energy tank
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
(n/a)
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review for weaknesses
Review: Well, since I have only been playing paintball for a short period of time (loving it by the way). I have a limited perspective of paintball guns and gear. The Eos is my first gun that I've owned. But from using it a few times, on scenario play as well as some bush ball. The gun has performed as expected. My first time using it was just in the back yard shooting a board about 20-25 ft away....Right out of the box, put things together, loaded up some paintballs and let her rip. This gun has impressed me right out of the box. After shooting 500-600 rounds it ran out of gas (and didn't chop a single ball). So the next step, get to a field, get some gas and play.

My first time out with the gun, I used a 48/3000 pure energy tank and Halo B hopper. Performed flawlessly, no chopped balls shot fairly accurately and chrono'd at 223, 227, 234, 225 fps (field was limited to 230fps) so no tuning required for me anyways. Just got out there, and was able to peg off a few people from a distance, a 10fold improvement over the a5 or bt-4 which I was used to. The next few times using the gun went well, chopped a ball in the bush, but was able to play through it. This last time playing (after cleaning and greasing things) it chopped a ball right off the bat (was using low end paintballs....unfortunately and chrono'd at 227, 235, 227) and shot like garbage. Splitting balls right out of the barrel...As well had balls that were slicing every which way, cutting a good 48 inches. But once back to a decent ball it came back around firing well. This time air lasted just about 500 balls or so.

Now the Review

Size: Is good for me anyways...I am 6'3'' and had looked at the mini, the ion, and such, but nothing fit me as well as this gun does. Itís only about a pound or so, not to heavy, not to light either. So it gets a 9/10

Trigger: Is not too bad, for a beginner to 'walk' the trigger is semi difficult to do. Probably need more practice and what not, but I do like the feel of the trigger. It is about a 1/8th to 1/4 inch pull to fire. For me, itís not bad, could be a little shorter, but it can be adjusted. From use so far, I havenít noticed a lot of trigger wobble (side to side) it does but not enough to effect play of any sort. (I've used my brotherís danger power f8 and that trigger is amazing). Trigger gets a 7/10

Grips: They serve their purpose. Not a huge fan of how they appear but heck no one see's them under you hands anyways. They don't really match the gun well, the coloring is off, but they are comfortable. Grips get a 7/10

Overall Appearance: I have the black and red Eos with the freak barrel kit; Love the looks of it except for the grips. There is one thing I dislike is the red flashing power light. It gives you away in low light situations, but Iím sure black tape will solve that problem. In comparison to my brothers DP F8, I like the Eos 9/10

Disassembly/Assembly: I have pulled some of it apart and was fairly easy to do. The bolt out the back is great and simple. Accessing the board is simple 2 screws on the grips and there you go. 9.5/10

After play simple maintenance: Piece of Cake. Bolt out the back, unscrew feed neck, take off barrel, squeegee. 10/10

Board Programming: Well at first it was confusing, dwell settings, rate of fire, etc...But once understood, it is fairly simple yet a little annoying. To program you must take off one side of the grips (annoying if wanting to switch anything), and press a little button to get into the proper setting. Once on the setting you wish to change you hit the power button a certain number of times to change that setting and pull the trigger to save. A yellow and red light tells you in which direction you are changing that setting (yellow increasing, red decreasing for the most part). Compared to my brothers F8 the programming is rather difficult to do (the f8 just has switches you flip up or down to program certain things) the rating it gets for programming. 8/10

Accuracy: Is pretty good...from about 40 ft it is possible to shoot 10 balls within a 16 inch radius (If you are using a decent paintball, garbage paintballs will split or tail off). After using a stock bt-4 and an A5 (from my experience anyways) the Eos is one heck of an improvement (lucky to keep it within a 24-30 inch radius from 40ft with a bt-4). But if you chop a ball and shoot, it seems like it will stick to one side (this happened while I was using low end balls), hence the slicing/splitting. But once cleared and back to a decent ball it shot like normal. So if you chop a ball....squeegee it a.s.a.p., and get back in the game for some more fun. 8.5/10

Eyes: So far havenít been too bad. I've shot probably close to 3000-4000 balls (500 low end balls) and have only chopped 2 balls so far. 9/10

Air Usage: For me it seems like it uses quite a bit (much more then my brothers F8) So far I've seen about 500-600 balls per fill 48/300 tank. From what I've heard and seen, it seems like itís about average. (Bro's F8 will get about 700balls per 48/3000 tank) 8/10

Feed neck: Clamping feed neck is a little small for the Halo B loader. I had to sand down the halo b to make it fit. Now it does, it works flawlessly. To take it off it is a simple counter clockwise turn of the feed neck and itís off in a few rotations. It does its job 9.5/10

ASA: It works, I hate doing this, but in comparison to my brothers F8 it seems rather simplistic. It has an on/off switch...Great! But it doesn't tell you which way is on or off. The tank doesn't release pressure, so itís difficult to take off the tank under pressure. You turn off the air, shoot the gun, and it (the tank/A.S.A) still has pressure...so in that regards the A.S.A gets a 6.5/10.

Tools: From what I've taken apart all the tools are there necessary to pull the gun apart. It would be nice if they had a carrying case or something to hold everything. It also comes with a few o-rings if needed. 9/10

Rate of Fire: 17bps, isn't bad, I've used it a few times and was able to keep things within a 8inch radius from about 25ft. 9/10

Kickback: Very little 10/10
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any beginner or intermediate player who has done their research about paintball guns. It is much better than a bt-4 and a5 and does compete with the dangerous power F8. It is more reliable then the PMR. Not only is it accurate, its light, looks good, eyes seem to work well so far, simple bolt maintenance, and hasn't failed me yet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbhustler77 Wednesday, August 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ion xe basicly the same thing
Marker Setup: black on black eos, techt l7 bolt,killa detents,cp mini reg, newdesigns on/offasa,360qev, full freak back stiffi tip. dxs 68 4500. velocity jr hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off asa, board ,detents,360 qev.
Strengths: Firebolt, Bolt out the back for cleaning, Freak jr barrel,Qlock
Weaknesses: Asa , Detents, Board, Front screw is hard to screw in
Review: First thing is a new asa the sp on/off doesnt even turn on /off. New detents i tried spring detents from the ion they didnt work the rubber nub got stuck inside. The killas are great.*a new board if you want to play tournies if not the board is good. The reg is good but the cp is better .The firebolt is a nice bolt but i was able to lower my dwell down to 16 with the l7 and qev its much better on air now. The freak jr barrel is very nice shoots great i just wanted a different set up sounds lower now with the stiffi tip. I broke the post the front screw screws into bc i couldnt get it in straight . You need a angled hex wrench.
Conclusion: The gun shoots great and feels great in your hands doesnt brake balls its acurate its fast enough.If u have the extra 175 bucks get the eos in stead of the ion xe your gona spend the extra money upgrading the ion any way might as well save your self the trouble.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

justin77 Tuesday, April 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Shocker
Marker Setup: EOS with Blackhear board, 68cu 4500psi hpa, haloB
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward
Strengths: Consistant
Good Ramping
Air Efficient
Weaknesses: None as far as I am concerned
Review: This is a great gun for people who are into speed ball, tournament, or just starting to get into any of that stuff. Its durable and reliable. I would trust this gun with my life. Ive used it in several tournys now and it has'nt let me down. In the 3 months i have been using it, i have not chopped one ball yet. It is an awesome marker and i totally recommend you getting it.
There is alot of thing to like about this gun, and the fact it is smart parts made makes it all the better. The mill on the gun looks sexy as hell. It is also very easy to Maintain as well.
Conclusion: Its a good gun for beginners and pros alike.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WearyCorpse Friday, March 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used spyders, this marker was a huge upgrade. compared to other high end markers it preforms very well. SIMILAR TO, EPITHINY, ION, SP1
Marker Setup: 45/45 HPA, Halo B rip drive, Freak
Recommended
Upgrades:
If player dose not have fast feeding hopper one will be needed. must use Hpa, anti siphen CO2, or co2 with remote line. if wanted upgrade to the board is available, i personally see no use for it.
Strengths: Firebolt, eyes, light weight, bolt out back, on/off asa, valve inserts, ajustable dwell.
Weaknesses: See below because extensive review did not fit.
Review: KEY WEAKNESSES: the outer body and the inner body have spaces that are incredibly hard to get paint out of. sanding down of the halo and other hoppers will be required to fit in feed neck. (force it in there once or twice and it scrapes off enough plastic to fit perfectly) battery is loose and wobbles around but can be easily fixed, instructions with the marker are very basic and the full 29 page manual will need to be downloaded for anyone newer to paintball. i got the black on black and the only problem with the colors is the inner black appears purple. (it really is not but compared to the other black it seems that way) the velocity ajustment is under the foregrip, making a drop foward and iffy decetion because velocity changing would be a challenge.
THE GOOD REVIEW: eos is light and compact. stock out of the box you will never chop a ball (unless using wrong freak insert) Because of wonderfull fire bolt. clamping feed neck, interchangeable valve chambers allow for diffrent styles of play, as with the ajustable dwell setting ( how long the bolt stays foward when shot). i could clean this gun in under a minuit due to the bolt out back system. The eos is quiet (when using HPA) and accurate. the trigger has no side to side movement and is fully ajustable. quiet and accurate. has wonderfull slots for fingers. takes some getting useto but is wonderful and relyable once set up.
Conclusion: For anyone upgrading from a lower quality marker or is looking for the new features in the newer models of higher end markers. wonderful marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdaw24 Thursday, March 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 Egrip- no kick, similar to the EOS
Spyder Xtra- non compareable- the EOS is in a different world
Marker Setup: EOS standard with a Freak insert barrel kit, Empire Reloader B, and Pure Energy 68/4500 fixed low output tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue Board
Freak Insert Kit
Strengths: No kick, amazingly accurate, astonishingly simple to clean and take apart, and adjustable volume inserts
Weaknesses: Grip Screws frusturating to screw back into place Thats about it....
Review: The first time I took my EOS out of the box and shot it I was amazed. Amazingly light, fast [17 bps max with stock board (Virtue Board highly recommended)], and accurate with no kick, thanks to the standard firebolt. It shot ropes! I played backman at a small indoor field and I was nailing everyone in my sights, no problem, with the reg not even broken in yet. And that was with the huge .693 freak insert with a terrible size match with Nelson Hemmorrhage paint.
Then I cracked open my freak kit... and I was astounded. I had NOT thought this was possible with a mid level grade marker, but the balls were chasing each other like tracers, one after the other every time. The Vision system works great, no need to replace it with anything else. I got just around 1200 shots with the Pure Energy 68/4500 low in place, just as Smart Parts said in their manuel.
The Q-Lock feedneck is great, just make sure you don't unscrew the tightening knob all the way (I learned this the hard way) or else the friction holding the feedneck together will collapse and you will have to take it to someone to wedge the little pin back in. Last but not least the trigger is one of the finest stock triggers I have ever fired- no side to side slop, it just goes back and forth wrecking havock with you opponents.
Conclusion: Overall a great gun at an even greater price (I got mine for $329.95, sorry but that sale ended a while ago) at $389.99 at most retailers, it is a must have for both tourneyball and woodsball players alike.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 29th, 2008 at 8:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media