paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Vibe / Smart Parts Vibe / Smart Parts Vibe / Smart Parts Vibe

Smart Parts Vibe Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Vibe

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Vibe
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Low price, high performance. Entry level used to mean low performance, but once again Smart Parts changed the game. The Vibe brings the smooth, accurate, fast shooting performance of true low pressure electropneumatic operation to even first time players with its unbeatable entry level price. The new Vibe works flawlessly with CO2, Compressed air, or nitrogen so if you only have access to CO2 then this is a great gun for you. Check out the long list of features below.

Smart Parts Vibe Features:


Hammer free design means that even beginning players can now afford a marker with tournament level performance, durability, and simple maintenance.
Protection provided by the Vibe's all-new Max Flow R Vertical Regulator means that it is safe from the dangers of liquid CO2.
Weight (marker only): 1 lb. 11 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 8.75 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto (11bps cap), Three Shot Burst (11bps), and Full Auto (11bps) firing modes
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock (Semi Auto)
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Aluminum receiver/bolt
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Vibe is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
epsballer Sunday, February 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion, Tippmann 98, Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe
14'' Progressive Barrel
Halo B W/ Rip Drive
68/4500 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, ASA
Strengths: Feedneck
Trigger
Weight
Bolt Out Back
On/Off Button
Price
Weaknesses: Plastic Frame, Body and Feedneck
Battery Moves in Grip
Review: Strengths Overview-
The feedneck is very good and fits all loaders like Halos unlike the Ions
The trigger has a good feel and is easy to adjust. I can max it out easily.
It is pretty light compared to spyders and stuff.
With the bolt out the back, cleaning is super easy unlike the regular Ions which takes like an hour to take apart, clean/lube and put it back together.
The on and off button makes it very clear and easy to know if your marker is on and to turn it on.
This thing is a figgin beast for the price.

Weaknesses Overview-
For me, a metal frame feels better and I do not have to worry about it breaking as is with all of the other plastic parts(can break easier than metal).
The battery moving in the grip isn't really horrible but it would be nice if it didn't.

Edit: I forget to mention that I put about a case through it so far and didn't have any breaks or problems. Also if you are so inclined to take off the grip frame (as I), if you are not carefull about the on and off button, you might break it or the light inside of it.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a very good gun if you are just staring or coming from a Tippmann or Mech. Spyder but for best performance you should not use a gravity hopper.(Rentals at my field only are given gravity hoppers)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 8th, 2009 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nato80 Sunday, February 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No electros
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with
16" smart part barrel
Remote
Archon 200 loader
Camo stickers

Spyder Rodeo
16" barrel?

Smart parts Vibe
14" j&j ceramics
Ricochet apache lcd
48/3k DXS compressed air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper

later on new board and bolt
Strengths: CHEAP!!
Quiet
NO chops!
BOB and noob friendliness
Good effiency
Weaknesses: Not fast
Sometimes acts up when you dont need it to.
Review: Well I bought this in a package off Ebay for $140 for the Vibe, Apache hopper, and CA. I wasnt disappointed. This thing was a beast. IT never, EVEr chops!. I fired in all 50-100 rounds without the hopper being on and all it did was few shots and misfires. The low force bolt works great. I did have a problem with the vibe though. Sometimes as I started to bunker someone and so fired on full(we were playing rec) it would just stop firing and then I got nailed. It didnt freeze up or anything so I will have to try and fix this. I also ran off just one 20 oz Co2 all day. That would be like 2000+rounds.All in all it lived up to my expectations and would recommend it to anyone.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to any rec-baller thats wants good elcetro at a great price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gotaro Thursday, January 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder Compact Deluxe
-Tippmann 98 Custom Rentals
The Vibe is on a completely different level than the mechanical markers I've used in the past. It is, by far, faster, quieter, and smoother.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe
14" CP One-Piece Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get an inexpensive 14" barrel, like the Custom Products one-piece (.693 bore) or a J&J Ceramic. They're both $30 and well worth the money.

Don't get this and plan to upgrade the whole marker. You're wasting your money if you get a better board, bolt, regulator, etc. Just get a better marker! I would recommend a used Proto SLG.
Strengths: Low price
Entry-level
Runs on CO2
Fully electropneumatic
Gentle on paint
Water-resistant
Weaknesses: Low ROF
Cheap trigger
Freeze-ups with CO2 (unavoidable)
Review: First impressions:
(Solid) It's definitely solid. Nothing feels loose or hollow and cheap. The battery wiggling around is the only complaint here, but is easily fixed with a little foam/tape. That doesn't mean it feels like a quality-crafted work of art or anything, though.
(Basic) It's pretty basic. There are select firing modes (semi, 3-round burst, full-auto), but no ramping PSP/Millenium.
(Entry-level) As far as entry-level goes, I would never suggest anything I thought was below the Vibe for even an entry-level marker, especially for the money.
(Speed) When I first fired it, I was really amazed at everything: the speed, the quietness, the smoothness, the accuracy (with a 14" barrel), all of which are TERRIBLE on my old Spdyer Compact Deluxe and the rental Tippmanns I've used in the past. But after a day of practicing with the new trigger, I could already walk the 11 BPS (though not consistently) max ROF of this marker, which was disappointing.

So now I've gotten settled in with the Vibe and have been firing it for a few days, and have some thoughts. When comparing this to the Spyder Electra 08, which can also run on CO2 and is ~$20 more, I feel like I'm missing out, with things like: a more solid trigger, higher ROF, better firing modes (why the heck would I ever need 3-round burst when I can WALK faster than the 11 BPS "burst"?), eyes (low-force bolt > eyes, both = solid, but either will prevent chops 100% of the time), ASA on/off. The Vibe is fully electropneumatic, though, so it is significantly quieter and smoother, which is a big plus. =)

Still, the trigger feels like cheap, hollow plastic. I wouldn't expect high-class on an entry-level marker, but I wanted at least a trigger that feels solid. As for ROF, I won't really need >11 BPS on the field, but I would like to think that even as a beginner, a shot will be fired every time I pull the trigger. Regarding firing modes, I'd rather have ONLY semi, than also have 3-round-burst and full-auto that I can outdo with my own fingers. If I had any extra modes, I would only want ramping PSP/Millenium (like the Electra 08), because full-auto just feels cheesy. The other mentioned features (eyes, ASA on/off) are non-essentials that I only became jealous of when I considered the Electra 08 in the same category as the Vibe. Another thing to mention, though, is that the Electra comes with a longer stock barrel (which = greater stock accuracy), for those who don't plan to purchase that upgrade. Oh, yeah, but one thing the Electra probably doesn't have over the Vibe is water-resistance. I'm sure we've all seen the Smart Parts video where they dunk the SP-1 underwater and fire it.. ;)

And just for the record, I got the Vibe because I needed to use CO2. If I had an HPA tank and a fill station was nearby, I would have gone with something else, like maybe a used Proto SLG (~$200), which isn't really considered entry-level.

About CO2 freeze-ups:
CO2 will occasionally freeze up this marker. It's designed to deal with this by venting the liquid CO2 that made it into the marker as it expands into a gas. So yes, sometimes there is occasional downtime as it vents (5-10 seconds) if you are shooting very fast too often in humid conditions, which is admittedly annoying. If you want more constant high ROF, switch to HPA. But then you might as well get a different marker, like I said before. Also, I don't get the impression that other non-electropneumatic CO2 markers have problems like this (Spyder VS1, Electra, RS). I suppose it's a sacrifice for the Vibe's smooth and quiet, tournament-grade spool-valve technology.
Conclusion: I give this marker a 7/10, because there are much better, much more expensive, 8/9/10 markers. This is probably the best entry-level marker. For only $150, the Vibe should be the rental marker of choice for all fields, and on some it already is.

I would recommend this marker to anyone who needs to use CO2, and isn't going to be too bothered that they can't fire over 11 BPS, though the most recent official PSP regulations cap the ROF at 10 anyway. If you're just getting into the sport and want a first gun, this is definitely a baseline. Don't steep down and get a cheaper mechanical marker (like a Tippmann 98 Custom or Spyder Xtra).
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 13th, 2009 at 11:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuzzman70 Sunday, January 4th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
a rental.
Marker Setup: All stock, accept the tank, which is a PMI hpa.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None that i can think of. If you're going to upgrade, just save and get a better marker.
Strengths: Cheap
Effective
Works on HPA and CO2
efficient
Weaknesses: Only 11 bps, but if your good at walking you might get a little more.
Review: Awesome marker. Ive had mine for about a month now, and used it once.(sadly not too many people i know play paintball).
For its price, it is an incredibly effective marke, at $140 retail, its insanium in the cranium! NOw when you sompare it to a $500 marker, it actually matches up incredibly well. I went all out walking the trigger, im guessing i got maybe 11 to 13 bps, not a single chop with a gravity fed hopper.
Conclusion: Freakin great marker for the price. Light (under a puond), cheap, works, efficient. Just an awesome marker. Actually meets up with some of the higher class markers out there. Just amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jaba45 Tuesday, December 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom. The Tippy doesn't even come close to this in both accuracy and low maintance.
Marker Setup: Vibe= Everything stock. besides hopper. i bought a brand new Invert electric hopper.
Just got it for x-mas
Recommended
Upgrades:
When i used my tippy i had to use co2.
But when i tried it on the vibe i had to buy a ANTI-SIphon Kit.
so i decided just to use a HPA tank.
So if you use Co2 buy a Anti-Siphon Kit.
Maybe another Grip.
And Barrel.
Strengths: it's fast, cheap, and easy to clean.
What else can i say?
Weaknesses: I can't think of any right now
Review: Very nice gun. Easy to use. Cheap. The only problem i had was i had to either buy a $60 HPA tank or a $45 Anti-Siphon kit for Co2. So i went ahead and bought the tank except only $10
Needs a better Barrel. Maybe a Freak kit.
it actually has a feedneck unlike the ION.
sometimes i get a lil trigger happy with it.
but the semi-auto, 3 shot burst, and Fully auto is an awesome feature.
Very light weight. And if im correct it only weighs 2.2 pounds without hopper and tank.
i think it needs a better grip.
Conclusion: I would deffinently recommend this gun to new comers, and to pros as a back-up gun.
this gets a 8 out of 10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duckspwn Monday, December 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various Tippman Models
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe
12" Custom Products 1-Piece Barrel

Recommended
Upgrades:
I haven't done a huge amount of testing, so I can't really say.
HPA is probably the biggest requirement, and a decent barrel is always a step up from stock.

Strengths: - Price
- Simple Design
- Ease Of Use
- Quiet and efficient
- Never Chops
Weaknesses: - Stock barrel = slightly larger bore than normal
- Battery (See review below)

Review: I recently bought this marker, and I have to say although I have had some problems (my fault, understandable for a noob) I'm impressed with the Vibe.

------------

Appearance - 8/10
First off, this marker looks good. It has a nice black body, and even though it is made of plastic it is extremely durable; basically it is just as strong as most metals but lighter. My only complaint is that the black finish on the metal components seems to get minor scratches easily, but that is no big deal, and is dependent on how rough you are with your markers. It feels nice in your hand as well and is compact. The grip is good, no complaints.

Performance - 8/10
For an entry level marker, this little guy performs great, and is a lot of fun to shoot. Most players should have no complaints, and even the RoF isn't the greatest (Max 11BPS) it will still be sufficient for most. There is literally almost no recoil, it's amazing compared to a Tippman. Also, the Vibe is extremely quiet which is a nice stealthy plus. Accuracy is decent to good with the stock, great with an aftermarket barrel, and this is using cheap Vapour paint. The bad paint causes me to get the occasional curve shot, but good paint solves this problem. The trigger is very sensitive compared to most guns in this price range, and I have more than once accidentally grazed it with my finger and nearly shot myself or others in the foot. I have never had a chop caused by the Vibe as well, which is always a huge plus. Oh yeah, almost forgot, it has a semi-auto tournament lock mode and 3 RoF selections (changed by pressing the power button quickly) - semi-auto, 3 round burst, and full auto. Locking the marker in tournament mode is as easy as holding down the trigger while reconnecting the battery.

----------------

Problems

- Always keep this gun well lubed. When I first got mine it was leaking since there wasn't enough lube on the bolt, but that was easily fixed by lubing the bolt.

CO2 Performance - This can be a big problem for CO2 users in the winter. The Vibe will freeze up from liquid CO2 in some cases, and you must wait for the gun to warm back up before you can fire. In my case, the combination of cold and a weak battery would cause my Vibe to completely stop working for up to 5 minutes (trust me, this REALLY sucks when you are in game, I lost more than 1 kill and got out many times because of this problem). After completely taking apart the marker and putting it back together again, I was still having problems with the gun freezing. However, after checking my battery and replacing it (it was low), the problem seems to have been solved. Keep a fresh battery in the Vibe. I will update this review later to see if the battery was the root cause of my Vibe freezing up, although I have a feeling it was just a noob mistake on my part to not check the battery first.

On a more positive note, the Vibe is consistent with velocity while running CO2, and although I haven't used HPA yet in mine (no places to fill up near by) it should be easy to convert over to HPA, as changing the marker over is as simple as holding down the power button while reconnecting the battery.

-----------------

UPDATE: Just played a few games in the cold recently. It turns out the battery was the problem, as I didn't freeze up once during the 2 hours I played (before I would freeze up after a few minutes). Once again, I have to say the Vibe is a great little marker.
Conclusion: All in all, I am impressed with the Smart Parts Vibe. It is an excellent marker for the price, and I definitely would recommend it to others. A nice electropneumatic step up from a traditional beginners mechanical marker. Cheers, and happy paintballing! :D
Duckspwn
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 5th, 2009 at 5:33 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mtnbiker95 Saturday, December 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 ion
Marker Setup: vibe stock, 3000 psi 48 ci tank with red dye tank cover, extreme rage overdrive hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitrogen tank, electronic hopper, barrel
Strengths: Very light, small, accurate, looks good, price, and bolt out back design.
Weaknesses: Doesnt operate on co2 very good.
Review: I bought the gun for $140, hopper for $30, and tank w/cover for $90. I probabley got about 500 shots from my tank (not much) fast gun if you know how to shoot. Semi auto works good, 3-shot burst: every 6-7 pulls instead of shooting 3 balls, a 4th a skip out, full auto is great, espically with an electric hopper. Trigger is very sensitive, you barely have to touch it to shoot!! Great gun!!!
Conclusion: This gun is great gun for beginners, i would totally recommand this gun to any person who is getting into paintball, best gun priced under $150
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

i use a mini! Monday, December 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: invert mini,ape rampage board,empire reloader b, 68/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel, a new hopper (hc tourqe or reloader b)
Strengths: Pretty consistent, accurate, can be made really good.
Weaknesses: Lots of problems.
Review: This gun is great for begginers, people on a budget or if you just want one. It's cheap price may make you think it sucks but it's a solid gun. You should buy it as a backup gun also if, like me, have a better gun. This is just to fill up the rest of the 50 words: lalalla lal l aa a a a a a a akgj
Conclusion: Get it as a backup or starter, it's a solid shooting gun, i like it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cgrknight Sunday, December 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Spyder Pilot, Tippman A-5 and 98, Autococker trilogy Pro, System X autococker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe with new ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel maybe? but i find the sock barrel to be very accurate for the type of playing i do.
Strengths: Quiet,plenty fast, accurate, weight!,looks,feed neck, grip
Weaknesses: Its kind of an air hog. but problem fixed when you use remote coil.
Review: Over all i am very happy with my purchase. I got the vibe used off ebay so i was alittle iffy when i got it. But took it out the next day it arrived and it wok great. I was playing with C02 in about 35 degree weather. The regulator did its job great and vented when needed. If your going to use C02 with this marker. I found out using a remote coil works alot better then hooking your tank straight to the gun. The less liquid you put thought the gun the less the regulator needs to vent off and the more you can keep shooting.
The gun its very very quite. Im use to the spyders, it has that low pitch sound like your about to run out of air but your not. thats just the way it sounds. I would suggest this gun for anyone on a low bugget, dosnt have asscess to HPA and likes speedball, or like me and Plays speedball and woodsball this gun is the happy medium.
Conclusion: Electric loader... I was doing the shake and shoot all day when i played with gun. gravity loader just isnt going to fly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shatters88 Monday, November 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: stock barrel
Extreme rage hopper
HPA tank(used to have a 20oz CO2 tank)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
HPA tank
trigger
Strengths: Price
Feedneck(clamping)
Bolt
Weaknesses: Barrel(not bad for the price)
Trigger
No allen keys in the box.
Review: this is a pretty solid gun for $150. I got this gun a while ago and so far i havent had many problems. one thing i suggest is to switch to HPA or nitrogen immediatly. the co2 will freeze your bolt and make it stick. i have to say smart parts did a good job on this gun. the clamping feed neck is good and this gun is really easy to clean. a down side is that it only shoots 11 bps and has 3 firing modes but a solid gun for $150
Conclusion: I would recomend this product to anyone who is just getting into the sport or someone who doesnt have much money. Over all this gun is fairly good and i would suggust getting one.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media