paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
reverse edge Monday, October 8th, 2012
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Invert Mini
Dangerous Power Threshold
Angel A4 Fly
Ego8
Azodin Blitz
Spyder Pilot
Proto Matrix Rail 09
Tippmann Alpha Black E-grip (worked on & upgraded for a friend)
Marker Setup: GOG G1 (relaunch of the Smart Parts SP-1)
Black Heart board
Empire Apex 2 barrel (16")
50/4500 Pure Energy Stubby tank
Dye Rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop-down dovetail mount
A GOOD on/off ASA!
New Macro-line

Strengths: Quiet
Stock Trigger
Stock Barrel
Feedneck
Battery efficient
Weight
Plenty of rails
Reg
Weaknesses: Stock Dovetail
Air efficiency
Aftermarket trigger
Full disassembly is annoying
Review: The GOG G1 is the relaunch of the Smart Parts SP-1.
It retails new for about $250, and the G1 with Black Heart board goes for about $300.

Comes with:
- A nice hard-case and cut foam slots for the gun and all parts.
- The gun comes with a 14" barrel
- M16 style adjustable stock
- Center set & off-set feedneck (with elbow piece)
- All the tools for the gun
- Extra o-ring kit
- A CD-ROM manual


Pros***
- This gun is pretty quiet, especially in the woods. Although, in my opinion, the noise kind of ramps up if you use 3-round-burst, or full-auto.
- This gun shoots a pretty consistent grouping, but the grouping does widen a bit if you use the burst or full-auto setting.
- The stock reg is the same one that the DXL Luxe uses.
- This sucker is light! Not a problem to carry around for a long time in the wooded terrain.
- The stock trigger is a 3-point-adjustable magnetic pull, so it is super light! It blows away the triggers on other woodsball markers.


Cons***
- This gun isn't the most air efficient. If you keep the gun in semi, it gets average efficiency. But if you venture into 3-round-burst or full-auto, efficiency goes out the window.
- The dovetail is awkwardly positioned (the tank infringes when you try to aim with the stock to your shoulder), and I'm not sure what caused it, but my stubby tank was practically CEMENTED into the dovetail! It took me and a buddy about 30 minutes to work it off! But my other tank goes on and off with no problem.
- An on/off ASA is a good idea. Despite the above dovetail experience I mentioned, this gun loses quite a bit of air when you take the tank off. So I think putting a few dollars down for an ASA is a good idea. And a better macro-line is a good idea; it comes with a nylon-wrapped line, but I personally don't care for that type of line.
- This gun doesn't have a lot of upgrades, other than different stocks & barrels. It does have a double trigger upgrade, but the stock trigger is honestly better -- the double trigger is stiff, it hangs too close to the grip frame, and it's really cheap plastic.
- Taking the breach out of this gun is a PAIN!
- And as a personal peeve, I don't care for the butt on the stock. It's really rough on your shoulder, unless you're wearing a tac vest, or a thicker jacket.
Conclusion: All in all, this gun is really nice for the money! Aside from the upgrades I recommended, this gun works really great out of the box!
The Black Heart board is one of the simpler I've worked with, and the fact that you can buy it already installed is a plus.

All in all, I'd recommend this to anyone looking to up their woodsball game.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

danielrs386 Monday, February 13th, 2012
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR2 (heavier and louder and more expensive)

Marker Setup: Smart parts SP1:
Rap4 extendable M4 stock
16 inch JJ&Ceramic barrel
Hopper with eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper
new barrel
Strengths: Anti-chop bolt
Quiet
price
light
can run on Co2
Battery life
Weaknesses: stock barrel
on/off button
Smart Parts doesn't exist anymore.
Review: Basically: Got this thing when i turned 16

It is a very quiet dependable marker. Only ONCE have i had to run with a backup. This gun is virtually indestructible; its been rained on, dirt filled, and still shoots fine.

Accuracy: the stock barrel is okay, but if any paint is in it it will swirl around like nobodies business.

Battery life: This thing will run forever on a battery. I've played literally three 4 hour days in 3 different weekends and never had to change my battery.

Air: This is a personal preference. For the type of paintball i play i really don't care about HPA it costs more and Co2 works just fine. I have it attached straight to the gun, and a 20 lasts me all day long.

Quiet: It is SO quiet. You will think you are low on air with how quiet it is. I have a 16 inch JJ and ceramic on mine and it is almost silent. Smart parts did well with this gun.

Body: It is small and durable, it's not heavy or anything so you don't have to worry about that. If you do have a stock and along barrel on it it can get tangled in brush, etc.


The one thing i don't like is i cannot tell when i'm getting low on air.just because it is a very consistent gun. I have NEVER chopped a ball with this bolt; i actually tested it by putting my finger in there and the MOST damage it will do to a CRAPPY Walmart paintball is DENT it slightly.
Conclusion: Great backup if you are a crazy mil simmer, and a great gun if you just casually play with friends in the woods. Very dependable; never chops, decent little gun. I recommend it to anyone as a backup, especially at this price. I guess now its a GOG gun, but same thing basically.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CKD 831 Monday, January 3rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A -5 with responce trigger/ this gun shoots faster but is much louder.....Spyder custom victor E-marker/ this gun also shoots faster but chops balls and is very much louder.....Spyder MR 1/ this gun is a semi only..no comparison
Marker Setup: Sp 1 with 16inch J&J ceramic barrel mini drop with smart parts on/off 70/4500 proto premo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel than stock /a on/off set up for HPA and a Carbon fiber tank
Flasc makes a really nice barrel kit for this marker with 9 inch control bores and fully interchangeable tip setups I.E. Apex and suppresers and milsim tips
Strengths: Light weight
No springs
Very quiet
Very upgradable
low battery/air consumtion
Weaknesses: Smart parts is gone :(
Hard to find some parts
Review: ok so i bought this marker used for 100 bucks and it has become my primary .
shoots so straight and quiet that it's ideal for woods balling.
Maintinance is a breez two bolt off the back and unscrew the bolt and it all slides out the back check the O-rings lube and put it all back together....no springs/ hammers/cyclone feed paddels .
I love how this gun shoots ...almost no recoil so your second shoot is very fast and so on and so on till the hopper runs dry :)
This marker looks cool ,very much a Mil sim Marker with so many upgrades that sky is the limit on what you can do it.
Smart Parts is gone now folks so take that with a grain of salt :(
GOG paintball now makes the Sp1 ...they call it the G1 and they changed the marker a little ....the feed neck mainly...check it out

Conclusion: Great marker get them if you can find them
Woodsball and mil sim must have
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dracolyth Wednesday, March 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar to the sp1 but the other markers i have used include
Tippmann 98 custom
and most of the Spyders
Marker Setup: Except for the ion barrel it is bone stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
First and foremost...the barrel. The stock barrel just dont cut it!!!
If your using Co2 i would use a remote line
A piece of cardboard in the battery compartment
A stock of some sort
And just for fun....a blackheart or virtue board
Strengths: THE PRICE!!!
The ability to use Co2 or HPA
Weaknesses: Five min shut down* see below
Review: I would still buy this marker if it cost twice as much!!!
It can be used on Co2 and i do use it on Co2 wthout a remote line, If I stand ontop of a hill and unload a half of a hopper pointing down hill it might get some liquid in the reg on occasion which takes about 10 seconds to self clear and during that time the marker wont fire. That being said if you where to put a remote line on you would be just fine. as far as the 5 min shutdown....i have been hiding in a pile of brush for more than 15 min and when i jumped up to shoot found the marker off....
Conclusion: I would recomend this marker to anyone imho its the best bang for the buck you can get!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilaqualad123 Friday, January 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion, ion xe, vibe, tippmann 98 custom, tippman a5, tippman alpha black etc.
Marker Setup: trinity sp1 tactical barrel with aim point 14"
pinnokio hopper
co2 20 oz/ 90/4500 hpa tank
virtue sp1 board
trinity sp1 car stock
1x30 red dot sight
sp1 T-lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
better board
trinity barrels (sp1)
sp1 T-lock feed neck
Strengths: Very consistent
Durable
Good looking
Weaknesses: Slow shooting
Feedneck
Review: Having previously used only tippmann woods markers the sp1 was quite a change of perspective to me. Tippmann markers have the classic clangy bolt technology to them while the sp1 had the same as the vibe low force bolt. The gun is very quiet and also utalizes even more of the co2/ hpa in your tanks so you get even more shots than you did with the tippmans. Also when liquid co2 got into tippman makers the gun was fried. Slowed down and could no longer shoot straight. while the sp1 comes with a max-flo vertical regulator so if liquid co2 got into your gun the regulator would vent the liquid off the bottom.
The sp1 is not perfect however. As in most guns, stock items usually are not that great and the same goes for the sp1. The board is slow, only shoots 11 bps. While 11 bps is almost legal on full-auto the gun can still become better if you install better boards like the virtue sp1 board or the blackheart. I also hated the stock feedneck but as I said before most things are bad stock. I highly recommend using any gear for the sp1 that trinity paintball has like I am. The T-lock is a good feedneck to replace the stock one. The stock feedneck requires an allen wrench in order to tighten/ loosen it so it is difficult to put it back on if it falls off.
Conclusion: The sp1 is probably one of the best woods markers I have ever used and eventually plan on getting an sp8 to get a better gun. If you want to get into woods ball buy the sp1. It's cheap and simple to clean and so on.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kokoklownanr Sunday, January 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
BL 2K5'd GZ Intimidator
Friends ION
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP1
Crossfire 68/4500
Viewloader Revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Maybe an A.S.A. stock one is good though
Strengths: Smooth
Light
Easy to maintain
Easy to use
Simple design
Weaknesses: Requires good paintballs
Doesn't have eye's
Made of Composite
Review: Well I finally decided to get one of these puppies after hearing alot of good stuff about them. Well It kinda sucks that i got Serial #1080 because, it is a non-select fire version :P Well I used it once so far, and noticed it cannot handle delicate paint as Smart Parts claims. I was using WPN's grade (taiwan made) and the shell was incredibly thin and almost 5 times per game i would have to whip out the swab. But when it did not break a ball, it shot PERFECTLY!!!!!!! I have never shot such a smooth marker in my life!!!!!! With quality paint, this marker will RIP!!!!!! It is light and fast...just the way I like it :D Overall a perfect woodsball gun, and may do well in Speedball, but anyways this gun is better than any gun I have ever shot in my life, out of the 17+ guns I have previously owned :D Once I get the Select Fire board I will be a happy camper. So my tip as a fellow baller, is to use Good paint....don't go cheap like I did........trust me it's not worth it :P
Conclusion: Looking for the PERFECT woodsball gun, then the SP1 is for you.....just be sure you get the Select Fire version :P
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coozman Thursday, December 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1,16" J&J ceramic Dye Rotor, Alamo City low-blow delrin bolt, HPA
Spyder MR2,16" J&J ceramic, Dye Rotor, Alamo City low-blow delrin bolt, HPA
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP1 Select Fire
Smart Parts 14" Linear barrel
Dye Rotor hopper
HPA
RAP4 remote
TASCO Red dot sight
Trinity stock on order
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
45 degree offset rail
E-hopper
remote
clamping feedneck
Strengths: Light weight
Cold weather ops
11Bps
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Cleaning
TOO MANY WRENCHES
Review: Got this marker and with almost no time firing it, played in a scenario in relatively cold and damp weather. 40 degrees and dipping close to freezing late in the day, the SP1 was consistent thoroughout the day. Out of the box, it chrono'd at 309 and brought it down to 290 with a small adjustment. Now that I think about it, should've taken it down below 280. We were using Red Legion field paint and I had absolutley no problems . Another guy with a Tippmann A5 chrono'd at 270 was breaking paint in the barrel constantly and his cyclone break put him out for a long cleanup. Weather, paint, operator? Don't know. Anyways... The light weight of th SP1 is incredible. Only after 4 hours in the scenario did the marker start feeling heavy. The SP1 stock and a remote is really light and easy to maneuver with. Rate of fire was plenty for woodsball and I shot burst only all day long. Test fired with an Empire Reloader but found that my Dye Rotor was better even though it was heavier. The feedneck was solid but would like a clamping with a little offset so that I won't need to buy a 45 degree offset rail for my sight. I didn't test battery life... maybe next time I'm out. Used Cheapy batteries and had no problems as reported by some. Changed out after goig through a box of paint.

The SP1 is a solid marker in the hands of a novice player and appears to work well in all weather conditions. no regrets in buying this marker
Conclusion: I would buy this marker again if I had too. Solid and reliable. Will have to see how it works in February!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

keifer1021 Friday, November 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Pro ACT
No accessories yet, but likely a new barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Looks great
Nice size and balance
Accurate out of the box
Quiet
Weaknesses: Build quality on my example is subpar. Gun has failed in multiple ways.
Review: I started this hobby with an A5 which I mostly liked, but I didn't like how it was such a gas hog. I especially disliked that as tanks became low, I would have to cycle the cyclone hopper manually with each ball. This was annoying to me and I found myself lusting for the SP-1 due to the reviews and the very convincing marketing videos on their site. The SP-1 arrived and I sold the A5 to a friend.

Unfortunately, this marker has not performed once in the field. Details to follow.

When I bought it in the spring, I test fired it and everything was great. I took it to my first game and it worked for about 1 hour and then stopped firing. If I waited 30 seconds, the gun would fire a few more shots and then "freeze" again. I was running CO2 with a remote line. I borrowed a buddies marker and continued to play.

After getting home, I contacted tech support who immediately chalked this problem up to bad solenoid. They said it was a known issue on some markers. I returned it to them, on my dime, and they repaired it and had it back to me within 10 days which include shipping in both directions. Not bad for time and very accommodating overall. I test fired the marker and it seemed fine.

Fast forward to the next time in the field a few months later (I don't play too much). I pulled the marker out of the bag and pressed the button to turn it on. The button fell under the housing. It become stuck in a depressed position and the marker would not turn on. I borrowed a friends marker and played.

When I got home I called tech support and they told me that I could fix this myself. They were very nice and I was able to make the fix, but I was now starting to wonder if I made a good decision about dumping the A5. I brought the button back to decent working order, although it was still a bit "crunchy" to turn on and off. Still, the marker was functioning and so I was thinking that this would be fine.

Fast forward to last week, which was the third time bringing this marker into the field. I took the marker out of the bag thinking to myself that I hope it works this time. I turned it on and fired a few shots - terrific. Sigh of relief. I celebrated too soon. That was it. No more shots came out. The marker fired 4 balls total and then started "freezing" in exactly the same manner it did during my first outing. This is embarrasing now. I borrowed my friends marker for the third time (thank goodness he always brings two) and played.

So the marker has not worked in the field one time. To make matters worse, Smart Parts will only repair the marker again, not replace it. I have had numerous exchanges with a manager at Smart Parts, all very friendly and he was, in fact, very nice to deal with. Ultimately though, they will just continue to fix the marker and not do anything else for me.

I understand that this is their policy, but I feel taken advantage of because I paid 174.95 for the marker plus shipping it to them and I still have a broken marker. Now I will ship it a second time, on my dime, and hope it works when I get it back. I just want to sell the darn thing and be rid of it, but it will be at my loss because I essentially have a refurbished unit to sell which ultimately cost me MORE than the brand new unit due to shipping it for repair. Smart Parts will not exchange the SP-1 for a new unit under any circumstances. I would take a loss on the new unit too because of repair shipping, but at least I could sell it for retail (hopefully) to minimze the loss.

These circumstances do not feel consumer friendly. I would emphasize caution to any person considering this marker. I do understand that numerous users have an SP-1 and have had no trouble. That has not been my experience. I think I received a lemon, which isn't the end of the world, but since Smart Parts refuses to exchange it, I am stuck. This is lousy.

Conclusion: I cannot recommend this product based on my experiences. I have found that the company seems responsive and friendly, but their "no exchange under any circumstances" stance on their products really hurt me in this case. I feel slighted and this marker has taken some of the fun out of paintball for me.

I gave it a 3 based on some redeeming qualities that the marker does possess when working. A marker that failed me 100% of the time, doesn't deserve more than this rating in my opinion.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

WilliamShattner Monday, November 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag rt pro
Massively customized Tippmann A-5 (e trigger-plamer stabilizer-low pressure kit, polised, ect)
98C
Marker Setup: pinokio loader
pmi 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mine is stock
Strengths: Size is just right
zero kick = accurate
Shoots great stock
Upgradable
great trigger
Weaknesses: Build quality isn't as high at some standards (automag)
Power button
Review: This is a great little marker. I love the size and how it feels.
I have played with a lot of woodsball markers and this really is my favorite. That includes a completly upgraded a-5 (about $500 in gun and upgrades) and a very nice Automag rt pro, I feel like a idiot saying that, but its true.

Completely stock the sp1 is very accurate. The two primary factors that determine if a MARKER is accurate are consistent velocity and low kick. Barrels and paint quality also make a huge difference in accuracy, but as a far as a marker is concerned, all it needs to do is be consistent. The sp1 has shown to be very consistent with almost zero kick making it clearly the most accurate marker I have used.

The standard sp1 has 3 firing modes which is nice. The trigger is great. I bent the tang on the micro switch just a hair down which really makes the trigger perfect. If you want a do a double trigger go for it, I like the look of a single.

The low force bolt seems fine (never stuck anything in it), but having a pinokio and only shooting as fast as my fingers go means I don't have to worry about ball chopping anyway. The blackheart upgrade gives you eyes if you want that- I prefer a mechanical low force bolt.

The only real knock would be build quality. The marker works fine, but there are little gaps here and there where pieces meet. Not a lot, but a few. Coming from an Automag, which has fantastic build quality, you really notice those little things. Build is probably on par with Tippmann and other markers in the price range. The power button also should be longer as I have to use a fingernail to actually push it in all the way.

There is a nice upgrade path with the blackheart board and new bolts out now. Which is nice if you want to be able to want some new stuff. But really, if you are playing in the woods against people with standard blowbacks, a stock sp1 will easily already be a far better marker.
Conclusion: I would fully recommend this gun to anyone looking for a woodsball gun. I would say 9.5, but there is no option for half points.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moodyman117 Saturday, October 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SmartParts Ion-Similar Performance
Invert Mini- Aside from the Infrared Eye system, the only difference is that the SP-1 seemed more accurate and smooth.
Tippman A-5 with E-Trigger-In comparison, very heavy, very loud, VERY clunky performance, less accurate, more complicated and less reliable.

Marker Setup: SmartParts SP-1 w/ Select Fire and Flow Max R Vertical Regulator
SmartParts 16in Tactical Barrel
Invert Reloader II sound activated Hopper
Pure Energy 50ci/3000psi HPA tank
32 Degrees coiled remote
CAR-M4 Stock for Tippman 98c with adapter plate
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you are into scenario/woodsball, I recomend getting a BT Apex barrel
MUCH better performance on HPA
Select Fire trigger-Free from smartparts and generally included in new markers
Really needs a good hopper- a $3 one wont cut it if you plan on firing more than 2 rounds before shaking it.
Strengths: Light
Durable
Fast
Ergonomic
Easy Maintenance
Accurate
Very Smooth
Low-Force Bolt
Relatively Cheep
Air
Weaknesses: Screw-in Feedneck
Stock Barrel
Vertical Feedneck

Review: Ok, time to explain the strengths/weaknesses, plus add a few more:
-Pros
Light- Holy Cow this thing is like a feather! You could defiantly use this for speedball, and its easy to lug around for scenarios

Durable- The SP-1 is made out of high impact plastic polymers, the same used in Glock handguns. This means that you can drop it, throw it, knock it on a tree, step on it etc, and it just keeps firing. Rain isn't an issue, and with the added plus of being able to support it on a wooden bunker without worrying about messing it up. Mine doesn't have a single scratch on it.

Fast- Although the advertised speed is 11bps, i personally think it is closer to 13. This may not be accurate, but it is pretty frickin fast man.

Ergonomic- This gun feels like it was molded to fit your hands. The regulator/forgrip is a perfect fit, and the rubber hand grip clings to your hands. The trigger pull is very crisp, as it has a magnet inside it, so the trigger basically has just two positions, on and off. Great feel. Also, the trigger is very adjustable to your preferences.

Easy Maintenance- Disassembly is very quick, just two screws and the bolt. The body is one piece, so you don't have to have a work bench to do field work.; you can grease/clean it on a paper towel. Takes maybe 5 min to clean.

Accurate- Well, as accurate as a paintball gun gets. It fires consistently, and there is absolutely no recoil, so all your rounds go to the same spot without you fighting the normal rise of the gun.

Very Smooth- As I said before, there is no recoil to speak of, as there are no springs or blowback parts. The only moving part of the gun is the bolt, and that is aircraft grade aluminum and isn't even noticeable. The gun fires as soon as you tap the trigger, and there is very little gas discharged form the barrel, and if you are using HPA, there is no white discharge of gas at all. Also, this marker is extremely quite. These two factors, the lack of discharge and the low noise level, make this unbeatable for scenario games.

Low Force Bolt- The low force bolt system is excellent; I have never chopped a single paintball. This is saying something as I have gone to scenarios and sent over 6000 rounds through the barrel. In the life of the gun, I have fired upwards of 25,000-30,000 rounds, and every one made it out the barrel in one piece.

Relatively Cheep- I got a package and spent around $330 on this gun. I have spent more on upgrades. However you can find them for much cheaper. I personally Believe that this is much better than anything on the market for a similar price. You would find it difficult to find a better gun for under $500. I have used both tournament and milsim guns such as the Tippman X-7 and the Invert Mini, and i will always go back to this one.
As an added bonus, you get a gun that is excellent for both woods and speedball. You might get some odd looks if you had it in a 3 or 5 man series, but it can easily compete with speedball markers. Plus it has a tournament semi-auto lock for real competitions.

Air- It is compatible with both HPA and CO2 without any modifications. Use CO2 for starting out or long scenarios. USe HPA for consistent accuracy and velocity. The included MaxFlo regulator is excellant. It protects the gun from liquid CO2, and it gives a very high number of shots per fill, HPA or CO2.

And now the negatives:
Feedneck Feedneck Feedneck!- The included feedneck is a screw on. This takes time and the screws can come out and be lost. Also, the feedneck is vertical, so sighting or mounting a sight (not at all necisary, but cool for milsim) is difficult. On the plus side, you dont have to worry about your hopper sticking far out and being shot.

Stock Barrel- the included 8in, although it looks cool, is not good for long range engagements. The 16in Tac Barrel is much better.

This may be just my fault, but i have had a problem with the screws rusting slightly. This is not really bad at all, as they are still completely intact, but it just looks annoying.

Getting really picky, the pica-tinny rails are a pain to clean.

The gun doesn't have a strong blowback, so grav feed hoppers don't work AT ALL








Conclusion: I STRONGLY recommend this marker, not just to people starting out, but to anyone. It is a great gun, with strong sturdy engineering and great looks as well. I never play a game without someone commenting on how cool, or scary, my gun looks. It is enjoyed by players of many skill levels. The local paintball dealer ( who i am not allowed to mention) owns and uses one, and he is a retired pro paintballer. All the complaints i listed are really nitpicking, and are just minor inconveniences. Exceptional Marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media