paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
thetruth217 Wednesday, October 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann X-7, A-5, Alpha Black Tactical, Model 98, 98 Custom, Pro-Lite, SL-68 II, Spyder MR2, Pilot
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1 w/ Blackheart board, Invert Halo Too, Trinity T-Lock, Smart Parts All American Back with All American Apex Ready Front + Apex tip, 72/3000 HPA Tank, Remote w/ Slide Check
Recommended
Upgrades:
I always look to upgrade the barrel first with any marker.
The Invert Halo Too hopper is great for this marker, and is relatively inexpensive
If you didn't buy the SP-1 with the blackheart board...Get the Blackheart board!
HPA over Co2 (If possible)
Strengths: Inexpensive
Light
Fast (with BH Board)
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Leaked out of the box, tightened the screw under the trigger guard, works fine now.
Review: I purchased an SP-1 with the blackheart board already installed.

The first time I aired it up, it was leaking like crazy from around/behind the trigger. I took it apart to check the internals, and all seemed to be fine. I emailed Smart Parts, and 2 days later, still no response. Very disappointing. However I did eventually find (With help from X7OG.net) that the screw under the trigger guard was loose, and once I tightened it, the leaking stopped.

Once I got past that mess, the marker felt really good in hand. The grip was comfortable, and with an Invert Halo Too filled with paint, the marker was very light. The only paint I had was about 6 months old, but I wanted to test out the SP-1s low force bolt, and the Blackheart boards eyes. At 18 bps, the SP-1 was shooting amazing. Even better was that with about 500 rounds, not one chop, skip or break. I can't wait to take this marker to the local field and really test it.
Conclusion: Aside from the air leak problem and the lack of a response from Smart Parts to help me fix it, I am pretty impressed with the SP-1. I think anyone considering this marker should get the one with the Blackheart board installed. I've always owned and used Tippmanns, but I'm not regretting selling my X-7 for the SP-1 at all. The SP-1 is a great marker for the price, I would highly recommend it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

emg60vw Monday, September 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Shocker, Vibe
Marker Setup: SP1 w/ Brackheart Board & eyes.
Aluminum Freak Back w/ All American 12" front.
68/4500 pure energy HPA tank.
18v Spyder FASTA hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball Detents
barrel
stick with HPA even though CO2 works
Strengths: Reatively light.
Location of feed
Blackheart
Vision
Weaknesses: Ball detents
No screw in feed neck
Review: First off... this is basically an "Out of the Box Review"
With that being said, the SP1 is an amazing marker. I have played my fair share of both speedball and woodsball, and this is a gun that I would not hesitate using in both playing fields.
Smart Parts has made a sweet product. I had not major issues while playing with the SP1. The blackheart board is an excellent board for the SP1 as well. The vision worked excellent, and didnít chop a single ball, due to the low force bolt and vision. The SP1 shot efficiently, fast, and accurate. Even with the stock barrel. I play a few games with the stock barrel, and then tried out the freak on it. The freak was definitely better but the stock barrel was not much behind the freak.

I wasnít able to get my HPA tank filled in time, so I ended up using a 20oz CO2 tank for the day, and I was amazed at the efficiency of the SP1 of got over 2000 rounds out of that 20oz tank. And what amazed me was when all the others who were using Tippmann 98's and a5, when they were all running out of air, I will still going. When I finally ran out of air, I grabbed one of there tanks that would no longer work on their Tippmanns, and threw it on my SP1 and kept on shooting.

The Blackheart Board and vision are defiantly worth the extra couple bucks, if you are looking to get an SP1. The different modes and options you can do are great. I played most of the day on semi auto, just to be fair, but it still performed well. The ONLY complaint I have with how Smart Parts set up the board, is that there is NO on the fly mode switching (that I know of) to switch firing mode while in the middle of a game. You have to enter the programming mode, switch the firing mode, and then turn the gun back on. But it really isnít a big deal... Other than that, it works GREAT. And the board will cap at 20 bps (when set to it), but I could only achieve 15bps due the fact that my FASTA canít feed any faster, but 15bps was still fast. I would recommend adding a double trigger if you want to use the SP1 allots in the speed ball field. Being able to walk the trigger in nice.

I also really like how the feed is placed. YES... lots of others complain that they canít mount sights or what not because the feed neck in the way, but letís be honest, how accurate are your sights going to be with a paintball? It is more for looks thank anything. Anyways... the vertical feed neck, in my opinion, is in a great spot. The Way Smart Parts designed the bolt and internals allows for the feed neck to be place much closer to the grip, allowing for a shorter gun. I like this more than say tippmanns, because the feed on a tippmann is all the way at the front of the gun, which can throw the balance of the gun off, and then when you add a 12" or 14" barrel, the overall length of the gun is really long. But not on the SP1, where 6" of the barrel is behind the front of the SP1. This is a nice feature because now you can add a 12" or 14" barrel and run an overall shorter gun. The location of the feed neck also makes the SP1 balance out extremely well. I was using the gun one handed with a full hopper with no issue. Where with a tippmann, it will be extremely nose heavy.

The Reg in the Grip is also designed extremely well. This is the feature that allows you to use CO2 and not risk damaging the internals on the SP1. With built in bleed valves to let out any extra pressure in case some liquid CO2 ever got into the gun. This reg also is parts of what makes the SP1 air conservation so great. And it maintains your FPS extremely well.

One other thing I loved about the SP1 was how quiet it was. This gun is extremely quiet. Some of the others in the game said they could hear my hopper motor more than they could the quiet pop that came from my gun. That is a plus for avid woods ball players who want to be stealthy.

The only major complaint I had were the ball detents. They are designed for the base model SP1 without eyes, and a standard or low force hopper. The hopper some times would feed the balls too quickly, and it would push a ball to hard and would slightly move past the detents and out of the eyes sight, so then I would have to turn the eyes off and clear the breach. Only a couple time, the hopper would feed a ball past the eyes, and another into the breach, just above the eyes, and because the low force bolt work so well to keep you from chopping paint, it would just click, so I had to remove the hopper and clear the breach. But I noticed that as the marker broke in, those issues went away. But I am still going to replace the ball detents.
Conclusion: Smart Parts did an amazing job at designing the SP1. And for the same price you would pay for an A5 or 98 custom, you can get the SP1, and in my opinion, you are buying a much better product. I have owed a shocker for a while, and loved it, and i would say that this SP1 is just as good. Even if you dont want to get the SP1 with Blackheart (which i recomend) the base SP1 is still a great gun. I have owed a 98 custom and bt delta, and i think that the SP1 beats them in quality hands down.
And if you are worried that you can really mod the SP1 to look like a military gun, like you can to the tippmanns, dont be. there are many military looking mods available, and more to come.
The reason I rate the SP1 a 9, is becasue there is NO perfect marker, but i feel that it currently is the best woodsball marker out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

duffmann1221 Sunday, August 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
full techt cyclone upgrade
aluminum tube and star fire bolt
flatline
opsgear ump mag
opsgear ak47 stock
sight riser
6 in. commando scope red/green dot
w.a.s. egrip
polished internals

Spyder mr3
jnj 16 ceramic
18v fasta

Spyder rodeo (very solid back up)
14 in razzor

Marker Setup: Sp-1 w/blackheart board
L7 7.1 TechT bolt
360 QEV
14 in freak kit
Dye 3 sticky grips
RAP4 stock
68/4500 nitro duck
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Extremely quiet
Light
Very efficient
Weaknesses: Comes with a lot of different sized hex screws, very annoying
Review: Ive played woodsball for awhile and started with spyders and then recently got an a5 that i fully upped and modded. Everyone kept saying how great they were and i tried it out. The a5 really didnt get me and i thought about going back to the spyder mr3 (way better than A5) but decided to try the sp-1, WOW, i will never go back to mechanical markers. It is so quiet and light compared to the A5, and only costs $175 ( mine with blackheart board installed cost $250 at smartpartsparts.com). Playing with this in the woods is amazing b/c people cant hear where your shooting from and playing against people with tippmanns is almost unfair b/c youll know where they are from their first shot. It is also very efficient. I got about 800 shots on my a5 from a 68/4500 tank. I havent been able to try out a full tank yet on my sp-1 but my brothers mr2 wouldnt shoot with a little air left in the tank while my sp-1 was firing full auto. As of now though its been sent in for repair after 1 day of use. Make sure when you buy it that you check the bolt sleeve and the threading in the back. My bolt sleeve was scratched and gouged from a small piece of metal sticking up and having sharp threads. It was kind of difficult getting the back to come out as well. But the smart parts customer service is taking care of it now and is reimbursing me for shipping it back to them. INCREDIBLE!!! They are very helpfull
Conclusion: Overall this is a great investment! Dont buy a woodsball gun for its looks(A5), buy one for its performance. Looks dont win games ( though they are cool), performance does.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 18th, 2009 at 7:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thomas.s Friday, August 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder kingman rs
98 custom
stryker
lots of JT guns
Marker Setup: collapsible car stock
BT flashlight laser sight
21 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Lots of rails highly customizable
Very gas efficient
Light weight
Low profile
Weaknesses: Feed neck.
Hard to clean paint out of some spots.
Review: The sp-1 is simply a beast of a marker beatin the competition in every aspect great air efficiency, great acrecy, high customizability everything u would look for in a marker. Straight out of the box it's proformance blows you away I dont regret this buy at all.
only once had a problem.
Conclusion: Get one simply amazing marker beats beats competition in every aspect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MisterDeadman Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
E-Spyders (similar in that they had no eyes)
Nothing else seems similar
Marker Setup: SP Ion - 68/4500 PE tank, Sly Dual Carbon Barrel, VLocity Hopper
Trilogy Cocker for backup
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,
Perhaps the blackheart upgrade depending on how much you want to get out of it
Strengths: Price
Reg
CO2 capability
Ease of use
Weaknesses: Lack of eyes (w/o blackheart)
Board isn't toogreat
Barrel choice limited
Review: My brother and my friend both got this gun recently, so I played a few rounds with each of their guns.

With the stock barrel the accuracy isn't anything to write home about, but it also wasn't a total let down. Definately get a barrel for this when you can. On the subject of barrels, the shroud makes it so some barrels will not meet the breech at all. My sly barrel has Impulse/Ion threads and the jewel on the base of the barrel makes it impossible to mount. My Evil Pipe also wouldnt fit (not that it matters since it's Spyder threads, just wanted to see if it would fit). So make sure you get barrels you know will fit down there.

The stock board is pretty lame. The gun's capped at 11 BPS with three firing modes, it has no eyes, and the tournament lock is absurd. If you have no interest in playing tournaments with this thing, the stock board does plenty. If you're toying with speedball, the blackheart board would be a good idea.

The dissassembly is very simple. Ion users know how much of a pain it is to clean an Ion, with the SP1 there's a few easily accessible screws, and a back cap... Pretty easy.

Also on the downside, I think the gun looks goofy. The feedneck, while it certainly does its job, could use some improvement. Furthermore, my brother's trigger has gotten jammed in the firing position at random. I don't know why, but I do know sometimes erratic firing (pulling the trigger lots and balls just kinda popping out whenever they feel like it) means you need a new batttery! :)
Conclusion: Overall, the gun works well. It shoots fast enough, has way easy firing mode switching, and has easy maintenence.

The inaccessible breech, lack of eyes, and mediocre stock board make give it some weak points.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wylie Monday, August 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION
There isn't really many simular to the SP-1 aside by the ion and vibe.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1 . 48 /3000 Pure Energy . LAPCO Bigshot . Evolution2 .
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Inexpensive
Accurate
Consistant
Nice Stock Feedneck
Adjustable Trigger
Lower Operating Preassure
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Single Finger Trigger
Only 3 Modes
Review: Great gun overall. I bought it as soon as it came out, for a cheap $170. The gun is waterproof, (Can be shot under water without harm), it can be run on C02 if nessicary, but I would reccomend going to HPA as soon as possible. It is a micro-switch single finger trigger, but that isn't a big deal because I rip pretty fast with it anyways, its adjustable as well, so you can move it back, and if you want, you can buy a double trigger for it for about $40. When I first got it, I was running C02 because my field didn't fill HPA. On C02 it messed up a bit for me, but it was just becasue I was shooting downhill normally, so liquid C02 got into it and would make me wait about half a minute before it started working again. It has great efficiency, operating on 180 PSI. As soon as my field got HPA I bought a crappy little steel tank and a new barrel and the SP-1 was preforming amazingly. It is almost perfectly consistant, and shots that I would of been scared to try before were now easy. Lots of one shots as well. It has some good distance with the LAPCO, I would reccomend a new barrel right away after you buy it to save some trouble. (ION thread). Buy a decent hopper for it and you will be set, the stock feedneck isn't clamping, you tighten it with allen keys, but it is definatly a nice feedneck if you don't need to take your hopper out mid game. I had a problem with the front plug not coming out so I cant mount a flashlight, but thats not too big of a deal, so i gave up fast. Aside by that, the gun is very very nice. I made sure I used it for at least a year before I put up a review so I could state any problems with it. At one point it started to squek a bit for me when I shot, but after I cleaned it and lubed it up again, it was doing fine again. The bolt is very easy to access and maitnence as well. Just open up the back plate and unscrew the bolt out the back, and grease it. Its very easy. I wouldn't of minded a nicer board, but you can't expect that out of a busahball gun, so I'm not concerned about that either. It has never really broke down on me, and the velocity stays pretty consistant. I think an off-set feedneck would of been a nice addition, so the sight rails on top could be used for a red dot or something of that sort. Its not super upgradeable, but check this gun out, its nice for sure, and well worth the price.
Conclusion: This gun is great. Smart Parts gave us a beautiful price on it, and it really has a lot to offer. Buy a nice barrel for it, and your set up with an amazing working gun, that won't break on you. I give it a nine out of ten only due to the dusty stock barrel, and it messing up when shooting down hill on C02. But if you have HPA on it, the gun is amazing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jghicks28 Friday, July 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bushmaster, promaster, angel led (though not similar, electric...)
Marker Setup: invert mini with a freak barrel
SP1 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA
Strengths: Reliable, adjustable feedneck, great regulator, awesome trigger, looks amazing, very accurate because it's stable.
Weaknesses: It does not come with a tournament ready board...
Review: I normally don't like to review a gun I have only shot a case through, so keep that in mind, i've only shot a case through this gun, will update if my opinion changes.

The reason why I am writing this review is because I have been so impressed with the SP1. The SP1 is rugged looking and feeling. It does not feel cheap despite being made out of composites. My experience so far with this gun has been playing renegade ball, and some round about testing, as well as breaking it down. 1st, during game play the trigger felt great, light yet snappy on the return, and It was easy to fire very quickly. I used a gravity hopper and my Reloader B. Shooting quickly with the gravity hopper wasn't a problem due to the low force bolt. Their were a few occasions where a paintball wasn't quite loaded with the gravity hopper, however it didn't result in soup in my breach, but rather a great shot just after the misfire. With the reloader B I did not have any instances where balls were double fed, so the detent system is very effective. when shooting the sp1 it is very easy to aim with your gun cocked sideways using the tactical rails and the guns body as your sites. I found this to be a very accurate and consistent method while shooting. The Sp1 shoots very consistently, I wasn't able to chrono it during renegade ball but I could see it in the resulting accuracy of the shots that followed. One of the reasons the gun is allowed to shoot accurately is because the SP1 has very little travel or "kick" during the shot. I was very impressed with this and it is one of the features that really motivated me to do this review so early in owning it. You are easily able to point, aim, and shoot, keeping your aim on the same location with almost negligible deviation, which compared to the promaster and angel I had toted in the past was amazing(not that these guns travel much, but this one almost doesn't at all). I still have to try it on Co2 however that will be coming, and another great advantage of the SP1 is that it really is Co2 capable due to the exhaust valve built into the regulator, I am excited to see the results. The gun is very quiet when shooting, making just a brief audible pop. Maintenance is a breeze, with the bolt out back feature of the sp1 It is very easy to clean and maintain, yet secure enough requiring hex wrenches(I feel this is an advantage) an it's not loosy goosey or anything either. The gun feels solid in your hands, looks very cool, woodsbally, can be adapted to speedball with a blackheart board upgrade and a double trigger upgrade(I like it just the way it is though) and it shoots phenomenally, which is something you just need to try out before you buy. Oh an adjustable feedneck out of the box too!
Conclusion: I would recommend testing this gun out to see if it offers what you are looking for, however I love this little thing. I like all the features which come with it, make sure you read the manual before attempting to mount the flashlight, but everything is their. Its a nice rugged, fun little gun that can meet a diverse amount of needs, whether mil sim look, or if your willing to upgrade it and want a mil sim type gun that you have the diversity of bringing on a speedball course you can purchase the subsequent upgrades and let it rip. It shoots magnificently. Try it out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OMG its da FONZ Monday, May 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Vibe
Marker Setup: Gotta use this thing stock to really see how it is, so thats how i rolled? STOCK right out of the box, w/ remote and don't forget the lil cardboard to stop the battery from rattling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you want a good barrel and for cheap i would for sure recomend J&J Ceramics barrel.
Stock
Remote
E hopper of sorts
if you really wanna lay some paint a blackheart board(22BPS)
Strengths: ACCURACY!
light
sturdy
Rails
compact
11 BPS - never chop. ever
Looks awesome
4" Shroud
Weaknesses: Only thing might be the select fire lock was a bit hard to change.
Review: ok, so i just got back into paintballing after a 5 year break. After a little bit of research I came across the SP-1! as soon as i saw this thing i knew that i was going to get it. with each new thing about it, it gets better.

So the very first time i used this bad boy i decided it would be a torture test to see if this thing really can hold up to its name. I got paint from a buddy of mine that was about 4 years old, absolutely HORRIBLE paint. The SP-1 handled it like a pro, no chop/break. out of about 1000 rounds there were a few stray shots but hey, some of the paint was shaped like an egg. from about 30 feet with trash paint there was about a 1 foot grouping.

Now for when i used this out on the field with some actual paint. it shot great, i never really found my self at a disadvantage with this gun the whole time. 11 BPS for sure kept the fire on them and kept their heads down while i rushed them. AWESOME.

This is not a large bulky gun, you can maneuver great with it, especially with a remote, this gun will not hinder you what so ever. its low operating pressure keeps this thing pretty quiet even with the stock barrel so you can flank someone and they wont know it unless the are looking right at you.

--ooh and another thing that HAS to be mentioned is that this gun has a 4 inch shroud which obviously cuts the barrel length by 4 inches, allowing you to get a bit longer of a barrel and still keep it somewhat compact. (uses Ion/Impulse threads)
Conclusion: im sure i missed something i was going to say about this gun....oh well, ill keep it as simple as this.
Affordable, Light, Fast, Accurate, Compact, and quiet.
This gun is a beast you will not be disappointed by it. next thing im planning on getting is a J&J Ceramics barrel and a stock, get a Ceramics barrel for only $30 and you will be untouchable.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 4th, 2009 at 9:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

westdakota Tuesday, April 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts vibe. Good gun but i'd recomend the SP-1.
Marker Setup: I use the SP-1, I also have a RAM combat pistol.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend a stock and a longer barrol.
Strengths: Easy to use.
Weaknesses: Runs on baterie
Review: A nice gun you can use it for up close action or in long range. IT has three firing modes semi-auto, 3 round burst, and full auto that fires 11bps. The gun never has problems so if you don't want to have to waste your time trying to fix your gun this is for you.
Conclusion: You will be suprised on how great this cheat gun is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Irlectrician Saturday, March 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, A-5
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1, Bone Stock.
Strengths: Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Many Flaws, Finicky
Review: I bought this gun and wish I hadn't. After getting it out of the box and airing it up I had to fix the airline running into the regulator, as it leaked like a sieve. I unscrewed it, put teflon tape on it and put it back together, thankfully it worked. The marker works well when it works but there are quite a few quirks. Screws in the grip can jam the trigger if they are tightened too much. I also had a problem where when I unscrewed the bolt to apply a coat of Sl33k, much to my dismay there was a small fitting in the gun where air enters the chamber that had cut grooves into the bolt sleeve leaving metal filings and basically wrecking the bolt sleeve... another problem. I could send the gun back to SP but then I have to pay shipping To and From the factory just to get the gun into the shape that it should have been in when I originally purchased it.. hardly something that I should pay for. It also likes fresh batteries. Sometimes while you are playing and it seems like the gun is shooting intermittently or 'freezing' a fresh battery should get things rolling again! It's really a gun that you have to get to know.
Conclusion: I probably got a lemon but I have heard that others have had some problems with them as well. I have a friend with an SP1 as well and he's had 2/3 of the problems I've had too. I guess it's an ok gun for the price but it seems that there are bugs to work out. You really have to work on this gun quite a bit, more than any other I've had before.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media