paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
xyz123 Friday, March 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Extra, And does not compare.
Marker Setup: I use a SP1with a ,18'' evil barrel, double finger trigger, wire stock ,bipod, pure energy carbon fiber tank and a Dye Rotor.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: Price,endurance and looks.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: The Smart Parts sp1 i think is the is the best gun Smart Parts as ever made, It is a great gun for beginners and mid level players, It's not as fast as an EOS , Shocker or Ion EX but it is pretty fast stock, if you make it faster and not a hundred dollors or more on a new board than get a double finger trigger and set it on three round burst and walk it.
Conclusion: So if your thinking about getting in to paintball and you don't want to pay two or three hundred dollors than get a SP1, even if your looking to get a new gun and don't want pay hudreds then get a SP1.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spikespaintball Monday, March 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION, EOS, and Epiphiny
Marker Setup: Smart parts sp-1, Eveloution 3 loader, basic steelie tank, Freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak barrel, Select fire (free), electronic loader, blackheart if you want faster firing.
Strengths: very rarely chops paint, BOB, Accurate, great in rain.
Weaknesses: Non-upgradeable feedneck, slow ROF, barrel is too short.
Review: I first got the gun last year and went to sgt. splatters paintball to try it out, I got to the chrony and the field limit was 230, after a little adjusting i got, 228, 225, 229, 231, and 230. I have never gotten a string that good from any out of the box gun, but with it broken in it got slowly better. As for on the field play, it was fairly accurate out of the box and got better as it got broken in, and when I got a freak kit on it it was amzing. When I played in rain and everyone was spiking the sp-1 was almost as good as when your inside. It ia a fairly compact but not having a double trigger slows your rate of fire on semi.


Conclusion: Overall a great gun for a starter player that is looking to get a great gun for a very low price, only $150. with a few upgrades it will preform almost the same as an ION.

nothings perfect so I will give this gun a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Calculon Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts SP-8
Tippmann X-7
Marker Setup: SP-1 Blackheart board
L7v2 Bolt
Freak barrel with AA front with Apex tip; stainless inserts
CAR stock with stock adapter
Halo B V35 w/ Rip Drive
Tiberius raiser with BT offset rail; NC Star DP130 red dot
PE 72/3K steel tank with PE remote

Recommended
Upgrades:
SP-1 Blackheart board (only if you want to shoot above 11bps)
L7v2 bolt (minor upgrade)
Stock adapter with stock (personal preference)
Strengths: Accurate
Quite
Reliable
Never chops
Easy to maintain
Sturdy construction
Weaknesses: Stock board and solenoid eat up batteries
Center feed is not very milsim
Review: I got this gun as an afterthought, it was so cheap ($150 back then). I used it at first as a back-up and often as a loaner. The people I loaned it too always loved it. I started more and more to use it as my primary and I now take it everywhere with me.

The main strengths are :

-very quite, no kick. Even more quieter with L7 bolt.
-stock barrel is quite good
-stock regulator is very good. I tried my broken-in CP reg on it and saw no difference with the stock reg. I measured +/- 7 fps with fresh Draxxus Gold. I'm sure I could get +/-5fps or less with some extra tuning.
-no drop-off even at 11 bps
-comes with 3 firing modes stock: semi, 3-shot burst and full-auto. A great feature also is the ability to switch from one mode to another by simply pressing on the on/off button. Very useful during a game.
-Never chops, even with no eyes (stock SP-1s have none, only with the Blackheart upgrade) Very easy on the most brittle of paints. This is due to the "low-force" bolt. So even the stock bolt is pretty good. One of the main reasons why it won't chop is because the gun is capped at 11bps.
-Very easy to maintain. Has bolt-out-back system which gives a very easy access to the firing tube for quick cleaning and lubing. Use only Dow Corning-type grease (such as DC33) by the way. Such maintenance necessary after a couple of cases. Reg maintenance is also very easy, but more parts involved. Necessary only a few times a year.
-very durable plastic (unlike the SP-8's or even the TM-7's). I toss this thing around, play in the mud, the snow, drop it on rocks and there are even hardly any scratches on it; also no cracks anywhere whatsoever. Tough stuff!
-Plenty of picatinny rails to mount accessories.
-Comes with flashlight emplacement so a Mini Mag-Lite can be fitted in there without any modifications.

Weak points:

-The stock board is rather weak (common feature among Smart Parts guns). The 'noid eats up batteries badly. We're talking one per day of playing. I had the same problem with my SP-8 and when I switched to the Blackheart board the problem disappeared.

-Center-feed only. It is rather annoying not having the option to mount an off-center feedneck. To be able to mount a red dot scope I had to get a BT offset rail.

-Very limited choices of looks, unlike Tippmanns which can be turned into a great variety of look-alike real guns.

I must say I find the weak points very minor compared to the great benefits of its major points.

Get the Blackheart board ONLY of you want to shoot in the 12-20bps range. Otherwise there is absolutely very little reason to. The Virtue board only has the higher ROF settings, without the QEV and eyes of the BH for the same price, so you will get horrible drop-off and chops if you get the Virtue without adding eyes or a QEV. Both the Virtue and the Blackheart use the same stock solenoid which can't handle anything past 11bps.

With the L7 bolt and a Freak barrel, my set-up is even more quieter than a stock SP-1. Even when set at about 290fps it makes very little noise and no kick whatsoever. It was as if I had a silencer on! When I show this to other players, be they recball, milsim or even seasoned speedball players they are usually very amazed.
Conclusion: Awesome gun for such a low price. The kind of gun you buy as a back-up or a loaner but then end up using as your main gun. The perfect recball gun. Simply that amazing. I also cannot believe how cheap it is for all that you get.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 25th, 2009 at 11:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bataangpinoy Saturday, February 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder mr3
Marker Setup: smart parts sp-1
48/3000 cu hpa tank
proto 16 inch barrel in matte black
q loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
the q loader and a longer barrel. i put the stock adapter on it and i fit the g36c stock for the 98.
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: Center feed neck.
Review: Strengths
Between the spyder mr3 and this, i choose the sp1 because i feel its lighter, has a better trigger feel, more range with a 16 inch barrel and it is more accurate over longer range. I think that this is way more quiet and with a supressor, is virtually invisible.
Alot of places such as rockstartactical, special ops and usmilitarygear carry alot of upgrades for this gun. It is a beast.


Conclusion: Buy one. For 150 bucks, it is the best woodsball gun under 200.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gunderson Thursday, January 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
A5
Spyder E99
Marker Setup: sp1
Remote Line
View Loader Hoppper
Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Paint it, the black is sooooo boring.
Barrel upgrade.
Stock if your playing in the woods.
Strengths: Select fire.
Extremely Durable.
Easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Hopper is in the center of the gun.
Can not remove all rails.
Review: I have owned a few guns including tippmann 98, A5, Spyder E99, autococker, stingray, BT4, and now two SP1s. I believe that this is the by far the best marker I have ever owned. I have droped this marker alot, more then anyone should I think, and it keeps kicking. This marker is very easy to maintain, you remove the bolt lube it up and stick it back in, done and done. The videos on the website is what sold me on the SP1 in the first place. I recommend if you are looking for a new very reliable, durable and good marker check out the website and see for yourself. With the SP1 you can choose between semi, three round burst and full auto, that is great for anyone who dosn't really know what they are looking for in a marker cause you can keep up with anyone on the field.
Conclusion: I definitly recommend this marker to a player with experiance or somone just starting out. I would love to see more fields getting rid of the 98s as rentals and change to the SP1s.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XSiv Force Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
NO MIL-Sims
Marker Setup: TL-R Sniper
16" & 12" barrels
20 oz. CO2
Richocet Apachce LED

Smart Parts SP1
C.A.R. Stock
Trinity 45* rail
Red Dot Sight
BSA Laser
Richocet Apache LED
Remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Non other then things for looks
Strengths: Good weight, 11 bps capped board, stock barrel is silent
Weaknesses: 11 Bps Stock Board
Review: Very nice gun for 150 would love to get another just so i can have a CQB and a "sniper". Very nice for both tourney and scenario/ woodsball games. Can share some parts with ion....but not many. Vibe upgrades arent very numerous so neither is the sp1. As of 1/21/09 Double finger trigger, Trinity FeedNeck (WHAT A SHOCK), Virtue/ black heart boards, Stock adapter, Trintiy SP1 Stock
Conclusion: Nice for 150........best 150 spent
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kragshot Wednesday, January 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AGD Minimag
Worrgame Minicocker
Palmer Pursuit Stroker
Sheridan VM-68
Sheridan PGP
Tippmann 68 Carbine
Tippmann SL-68 II

I know none of these are even remotely similar to the SP-1, but they all go splat.
Marker Setup: J&J Edge Elite barrel kit
Redz Pepper Sticks barrel kit
Trinity T-lock feedneck
Invert Reloader II
BT 45 degree mount
Barska 50mm red dot sight
modified gas thru T-stock
CP coiled remote
Crossfire 88/4500 HPA tank (LP reg)
Hogue finger groove 1911 grips
Gear Sector sling mount
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit with multiple bore sizes
Invert Reloader II (plenty fast for this gun and the narrow battery/motor profile leaves room for a sight)
BT 45 degree mount (if you plan to use a sight)
rechargeable 9.6v NiMH battery
Strengths: Price
Simple Operation
Light Weight
Accurate
Low Recoil
Quiet
Trigger
***Relatively Low ROF
Weaknesses: Owners Manual Lacking Important Details
Top Dead Center Feedneck
Weak Mounting of Side Rails
Review: To be honest, the main reason I considered the SP-1 when I started shopping around was that it was one of the few current markers offered with a conventional single trigger.

The price at $150 almost caused me to dismiss it entirely. I was using the Minimag with about $400 in accessories at the time and was still in the "if it costs more, its got to be better" mode of upgrading. So glad I was wrong in this case.

To adjust your settings only requires the trigger, power button, and the battery. No need to remove anything more than one grip panel. No need to access the board and no DIN switches.

Weight - After lugging around a fully loaded Minimag for 12 years, no comparison

Accurate - The stock barrel was much better than I expected, but even with my old Redz Pepper Sticks and red-dot this thing will pull headshots all day long out to about 25 yards.

The barely perceptible recoil came as a nice surprise. For down and dirty speedball and CQB it becomes a huge advantage.

With a 14"-16" ported barrel it's extremely quiet. Using the stock barrel, not so much.

The trigger pull is crisp and light without being overly sensitive.

***Relatively Low ROF is a plus - I know most of you are already spinning up to call BS on this one, but for anyone who started off with single shots, pumps, or simply makes an effort to aim, 11 BPS is more than enough to get the job done (ROF is usually inversely proportional to the shooter's skill level). It also means your old loader can still keep up with your new gun. Not necessary to spend an additional $150 to run at peak performance. When playing recball it helps to minimize overshooting and keeps things friendly. Makes it a LITTLE easier to keep your paint bill lower than a car payment.

The four mounting rails on the sides of the marker are almost a cosmetic add-on. They're glued to the body and the screws only go in about 1/8" into plastic. I would avoid attaching anything heavy or loadbearing (like a sling swivel or big scope) to anything other than the top rail. The position of the feedneck (I've always used a red-dot) is my only other gripe about the SP-1 itself, but several key subjects were not included in the owners manual. Like an exploded diagram, parts list, or how to change between:

-HPA / CO2 settings

Disconnect battery
Press and hold power button
Connect battery
-One flash = CO2
-Two Flashes = HPA


-Tournament (semi only) / Select fire modes

Disconnect battery
Press and hold trigger
Connect battery
-One flash = locked semi only
-Two Flashes = select fire (semi, tri-burst, and full auto)

To change either setting repeat the process


Tips:
A flap of dark tape over the power button will make you a little harder to spot, especially when in burst or full auto modes (blinky blinky).

Some closed cell foam or some other padding in the grip will take care of any battery rattle.

Get some extra grip screws (6-32 x 3/8" button head socket cap) for your tool kit. If you ever change a battery at the field, sooner or later you're going to lose one.
Conclusion: Excellent all around marker. Good for the woods as well as the speedball course. Seems to be more rugged and durable than other more expensive electropneumatics.

New guys, spend a little more and pass on the flashy junk.

Experienced players, don't be fooled by the "entry level" price tag.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2010 at 5:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marvelboy_04 Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Tippmann 98c (garbage, but probably just because it was used so much.)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1
14 inch J&J ceramic barrel
68/4500 HPA tank
Vlocity jr.
trinity sp-1 clamping feedneck (ordered)
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA tank
Electric Hopper
Barrel
Clamping feedneck (i had to loosen the stock feedneck alot to fit the vlo jr. into it.)
Strengths: Looks!
Accurate
Decently Fast
Relatively Quiet
Price
Low Force Bolt

Weaknesses: Feedneck
somewhat the stock barrel
power button location
Review: So, ive played a few times in the last few years with crappy rentals, and finally really got bit by the paintball bug and opened another expensive pandoras box. i wanted a good woodsballish marker, and my friend has one of these and he, along with reviews on this site and elsewhere convinced me to go with it. the price is very justifiable (even with the 25$ increase) when you consider how in my opinion it is better than similiarly priced woodball oriented markers. (*cough*tippmann*cough)

so ive played with it for about a month now, and other than me accidentally stripping my asa screw, its been great. i did stick some cotten into the battery assembly though, so it wouldnt rattle. also, i just ordered a clamping feedneck, because this gun needs it for my vlocity jr. otherwise id be constantly unscrewing and rescrewing the feedneck. also, a word of warning, this gun does not like gravity hoppers, since because it has so little kick, it doesnt want to feed very well with gravity hoppers. my first couple of times i played with gravity, and it was so annoying having to constantly shake my gun to get it to feed, but then i bought a used vlo jr., and it fired pretty amazing, accurate streams of paint (with new barrel, mind you)

overall, i highly recommend this to woodsball players. if youre going speedball, i wouldnt. (maybe check out proto slgs, ions, and used invert minis)
Conclusion: overall, i highly recommend this to woodsball players. if youre going speedball, i wouldnt. (maybe check out proto slgs, ions, and used invert minis)

I give this marker a 9, since it still is a cheap gun, but is a great value.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xeenan Wednesday, December 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98c, Autococker Trilogy
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1, Empire II reloader , 14'' Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Strengths: Easy Cleaning and maintenance
Weaknesses: None
Review: All together its a great gun, has lots pf picatinny rails for accessories like tac-lights and lasers. Also love the operating pressure of only 180psi. You can get about 1400 shots out of a single 20oz C02 tank. There not many mods out for it yet but definitely have the potential for some good ones.
Conclusion: Great gun for the money, durable, easy cleaning.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 31st, 2008 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brian dyas Thursday, December 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipmann 98c,a5,x7,jcs launcher,spyder pilot all fall short in comparison
Marker Setup: i only insist on the sp-1 now. 98c stock adaptor, carr stock, clamping feed neck, pinokio loader, virtue board, tech t upgrade bolt, c-series stiffi barrel with apex adaptor,apex head, custom paint job
Recommended
Upgrades:
techt bolt, virtue board
Strengths: Great price low pressure accurate!!!
Weaknesses: Eats alot of batteries with the stock board, but not with the virtue board
Review: i was having alot of trouble with my many tippmanns,and was brlieveing i was victim of a gypsy curse when i said to myself, its time to try somethingnew. i went to my local p b retailer intending to buy another spyder, but the dealer showed me the sp-1.i was very skeptical, knowing how idiosyncratic the ions can be but he let me take it out to the speedball court and give it a try.the first thing i noticed was how comfortable this marker is compared to my enormous x7.he showed me the different firing modes and i smirked while putting it on auto thinking, here goes theaccuracy. but holy moly,it stayed right on target!! he took an air tank off of a 98c that cycled down, put it on the little sp-1, and continued to shoot. never saw anything like that before!!!so needless to say i didnt walk out of there with a spyder, i bought the little sp-1.i have had no problems with it since i took it out of the box, i cant say that for my tippmannsi have since put a clamping feedneck on it, a halo loader(kinda heavy for it) a virtue board, and a tech t bolt upgrade in it,a tippmann stock, ar15 swat scope mount, and of course a red dot scope on it. im firing 20 bps and its a holy terror now. i spent over 1000 on my x-7, and it still doesnt even compare to the stock version of this marker! oh,did i mention that i am so HAPPY with this marker that i bought two more? UPDATE- I bought a Trinity fake supressor barrel for my sp-1 ( I even named it Maybeline!). This barrel does not have the best range, but it is extremely QUIET on the marker!! I usually will play a stealth game, but with this I can unload and people still can't tell where the sound is coming from!!!! One of my friends is upset that his automag longbow is no longer the quietest gun on the field!!!!
UPDATE: I have added a Pinokio loader since initially writing this review, which works SO much better with my high rate of fire due to capacity. Also, in front of the regulator, I have added a Metadyne Havoc launcher. While these two items make the sp-1 heavy, there's still nothing quite like my dreaded "Maybelline" at my local field. The havoc creates alot of confusion when combined with the sp-1, as the silenced barrel of the sp-1, and the loud boom of the havoc screw with those who hunt by using sound signatures. I guess my overall point is that the sp-1 is such a small gun for woodsball, that you can add onto it and it is still not cumbersome. It is only two inches longer with the launcher, so squeezing around corners is still a snap.
Conclusion: You are not going to find a better marker for this price! Add another 200 bucks and you have a high end tourney gun as well.It is quiet, accurate, and perfect for those tight places commonly found on the woodsball field. I doubt that you will find better even in a higher price bracket.buy this gun and you will not be disappointed!!! Add a better barrel, and a blackheart/virtue board, and get ready to sow some chaos!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 22nd, 2010 at 7:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media