paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Ishii-kun Saturday, September 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Marker Setup: SP-1 with Trinity carstock, red dot sight, and remote line
Strengths: Small
Cheap
Reliable
Very upgradeable
runs off air or CO2 very well
Weaknesses: Feedneck location
Bolt isnt upgradeable
Review: I love this marker. It is light, cheap, and very easy to maintain.

The fact this gun is so upgradeable draws many people, there are a few aftermarket boards out there, some of which have an eye attachment, which I find useless, as the gun doesn't require eyes. the low force bolt will not chop a ball no matter what you do. I actually have the confidence to stick my finger down the feedneck and pull the trigger without having my fingers broken. Though that means the bolt cant be replaced by an aftermarket bolt without loosing this ability, and I dont think there are any aftermarket bolts out there for the SP-1.

However there is alot of other stuff out there for it, most of which wasnt even made for the SP-1. Anything that mounts on a standard rail you can put on this gun. plus you can even use a 98C stock on it (provided you have the right adaptor plate for it). The only down side is you cant mount a sight and a stock without a 45 degree rail and a sight riser, as the feedneck location isnt the smartest in the world. That is the only major downside, is the feedneck. It is in the worst position possible for such a marker.
Conclusion: All and all, this marker may have its downsides, but it is a very good gun. You cant find anything better in this price range
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tip203 Monday, September 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP VIBE
Marker Setup: 98 CUSTOM CAR STOCK RESPONCE TRIGGER ARCHON HOPPER
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,revi hopper.
Strengths: Efficient,quiet ,does not chop,compact and very solid.easy maintenence.
Weaknesses: Feedneck location.
Review: Very nice marker good feel to it.I have a 98 custom and i had the sp vibe but wanted a new marker.I had my eyes on this and finally got it istead of pouring more money in my 98.Out the box its a great marker for the price 3 firing modes effiecent and reduced kick it will sve you money in upgrades.Add a stock and your golden.Only problem is the feedneck position but after playing a couple games its not a problem
Conclusion: Good all around marker,great for beginers or advanced players,i would recommend it over some simiar priced markers for what you get out the box,3 firing modes low force bolt and a solid marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

war gex Friday, September 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
*Tippmenn A-5 with Flatline
Marker Setup: *Smart Parts SP-1
*Tippmenn Trimph SSL-200 Electronic Loader
*Co2
*Air
Recommended
Upgrades:
*A Stock would be nice
*Double trigger
*Remote Line

Over All you dont need to do any thing to this gun
Strengths: *Light
*Accurate
*No chop
*Quiet
*Performs fine on both Air/Co2
Weaknesses: *Feed neck position
*Red Light
*Battery Rattle
Review: Pros:
*Light
*Smooth
*Accurate with Stock barrel
*No chop
*Quiet
*Easy to mod, Take care of, and maintain
*Price 150$ I'm poor
*Performs fine on both Air/Co2
*When useing Co2 it dose not jump up and down (I have had my tank covered in ice and still shoot fine)
*Works submerged under water (so it wont brake if it rains)

Cons
*Feed neck position
*Red Light from button to change settings and turn on gun
*Battery Rattle (you can just rap the sides nothing you cant fix for under a 1$)

I love this gun I have used it for woodsball and speedball and I am still amazed
Conclusion: Cheap for whos wallet impared, I have not had one issue with my gun, I love useing it, and I dont brake paint. I could go on but all I have to say is -(BUY IT)- have fun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MFCT Wednesday, July 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
First electric marker. Past experiences have been with blow backs...A5, 98's, spyders mechanicals, etc
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1, BSA red dot, ION barrel, Trinity Wire stock, Tippmann Triumph SSL-200.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the hopper, barrel and a stock if you need it. Past that...nothing really special.
Strengths: Easy to clean and use.
Weaknesses: Battery access and firing mode select.
Review: My first electric gun. I was looking for something small, quiet, light, and fast. I had modified my A5 to a monster that was cumbersome, loud and heavy. It looked great, but during those game variations where I needed to be light on my feet, I was feeling the agony of "mil-sim". I didn't want a ray gun, however...I still wanted something that had tactical applications and looked somewhat like an actual milsim gun. This suit the need just fine.

It cleans easily, durable as hell, easy access to the bolt and just dependable. I always take my battery out after gameday teardown/clean up, so I don't know what the drain is like. I would have prefered an easier battery compartment. I went as far as to upgrade the bolts in the handle to remove them easier with an allen wrench (the oem ones were super tiny). That helps, but I'd like a compartment that perhaps had a clip to open, push pins...or a twist knob. Something that didn't require me to hunt down an allen wrench to remove it.

Also, the firing modes. I worry sometimes the flashing light would give me away, but I have yet to encounter anyone saying they see it. However, changing modes requires me to to look down at the marker to ensure I pushed the button correctly. Perhaps a MP5 style firing mode selector. Or at the very least, something with a tactile feel...a click to let you know you pushed the button. Also, the marker doesn't have a safety...I have to turn the unit off to ensure no shots fired. Again, looking down at the marker to ensure the light is off.

Past that, it has been very dependable, damn near self regulating, easy to clean and take care of, looks great and I'm very happy with it.
Conclusion: $150 electric milsim marker? Oh hell yes. No reason not to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Saturday, July 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom: Gravity feed body, Stock Class body, standard barrel (14 inch) 45 degree grip frame. And Bottom line setup.

Smart Parts Sp-1 w/ 14in. progressive barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Accurate, very quiet and fast ROF for a single finger trigger. price $150
Weaknesses: Air efficency
Review: I purchased this gun on a whim not really doing any research. when i brought it out i had the following.

1 case of podium gold paint

eggy2 hopper

48ci. 3000psi. airtank

fresh batteries on everything.
---------------------------------------------------------
I began the test by shooting semi auto at a target while standing the accuracy of the gun was excellent at approx. 25ft i hit the target everytime dead on. at 50+ i was hitting the target still with ease but not everytime (everyother shot hit). the gun was quiet my friend who was shooting on the other side of me could barely hear it.

the only problem I found was the gun didnt really have air efficency. But this may have been becuase of the small tank. I only got 573 shots out of my tank (yes i counted every single shot) where on my spyder xtra i get about 700.

this gun really impressed me. especially for the price $150
Conclusion: Excellent gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

taylorcraft07 Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Sp-1
CMI 14" Truflight Barrel
Viewloader Evlution III Hopper
48/4500 HPA DXS Stubby Tank (w/NXE cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I haven't really shot it with the stock barrel but a barrel upgrade is almost a must on any marker. I'd recommend either a CMI truflight or J&J ceramic, RPS stinger has been working well for both for me. An electronic hopper that can do 12 bps+ is also a good bet. Maybe the double trigger if you like the feel better.
Strengths: Price
Noise
Accuracy
Durrability
Cleaning
Weaknesses: Upgrades
Center mounted hopper
Bad Packaging *see review for more details
Review: FIrst of all I got my current set up for an unbelievable price. The marker, hopper, and barrel were all obtained from hustle paintball for $210. I e-mailed them for a price and within a day they cam back t me, needless to say I jumped on it. Now I've only shot about 400-500 rounds through the marker so far but thats because I was missing 2 screws to hold the grip casing closed. NOTE here's the weekness were there was bad packaging. I searched the entire area were I opened up the packaging and couldn't find any. After some investigating I discovered the likely fell out of the bag they came in at the factory (it had ripped on the bottom). Now props to smart parts, when I contacted them about this. They shipped me two replacement screws the next day. I emailed them after their business hours, and when they replied ( I compared there business hours to when I received their email) they had only been open 9 minutes. So far though no breaks, but thats only on semi-auto. No leaks, the guns been working flawlessly. I'll update this when I get the screws and really let it rip.

EDIT: Screws arrived quickly, 2 days, great service no charge. Heres the data I've got for you now:

On 3000psi fills I've been getting 550-600 shots.
No ball breaks for 3000 rounds of paint shot off. That includes extensive shooting on 3-round burst and full auto modes.
Tight groupings at close ranges, 50-60 ft, 2-5 inches in 10 chot groups, marginal groupings at 100+ feet,8-10 in.
Decent noise level, quieter than my A-5.
No real recoil
Fairly lightweight setup.







Conclusion: For a decent entry marker, upgrade marker, or backup marker its hard to beat the SP-1. Put a decent barrel and a mid level hopper on this and you've got yourself a great setup. Plus with the smart parts marker you get exception customer support. I've made this my main marker and am likely going to sell my A-5 because there's no real reason to have a backup gun when your main one works so great and is so dependable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BIGBOY#14 Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom with colapsable stock, cyclone feed, 16" barrel, star bolt, and red dot sight.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1 tactical.....No additional add on's.....YET
Strengths: Fast
Light Wieght
Strong and Durable
Reliable
Simple
Non Blowback
Customizable
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: None yet.......
Review: I bought this gun thinking is this gonna be like my last 98 custom???? NO..... It's not....But i LOVE it! This gun is very reliable light wieght; almost like a woodsball/speedball gun! And that's exactly what i wanted. I was always looking for a gun that would work good in the woods as well as on a speedball field and this gun is it. Im a big guy at a hieght of 6 foot 8 and i have some BIG hands and this gun fit me like a glove it's perfect. What i really like is how on automatic mode it only goes 11 bps.......to me thats not to slow and not to fast! Its perfect for a wreck player. Plus its affordable at only 150$ thats a lot of bang for your buck!!!!
Conclusion: I would HIGHLY recomend this to any paintball player its cheap and really reliable!!! Get it its a good gun!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintman161 Sunday, June 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar to this type of gun but i have used, spyder, matrix, Autocockers
Marker Setup: Smart parts SP1 w/ 14" progressive smart parts barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Lighweight, very simple.
Weaknesses: Some of the screws hole do not line up correctly
Review: At first i was hesitate to buy this marker, then i watched the videos and reviews. I bought the gun and was kind of uneasy about it, almost thoght about returning it because it felt cheap to me. I put some air on it and shot it, shot great try all 3 modes. I decided ok maybe i will keep the gun and try it on the field. But before it did i toke the whole gun apart cleaned it all up, made sure everything was tight, and relubed the bolt. Which brings me to the internals, ver simple and easy to maintain, the boult with only 3 parts to it is very easy to assemble and disassemble.
Ok so onto the field i go with the gun and was kind of nervous about playing with it. But the horn blew and i was off shooting an kickin butt. After the game someone asked how it shot, and i said " It was great"!
So onto the final results the gun is alot sturdier then it looks and feels. It shoot very nicely and is very easy to switch from right hand to left hand. this gun is accurate. (i was using a 14" SP progressive barrel) Now the air consumption i was not happy with, I was using a 45/3000 psi tank. and would only get about 500 paintballs off a fill. But i have not even shot a case through the gun yet so i am sure there is a break in period.
Conclusion: Final thought, i would say if you are in the market for a nice woodsball gun or even a speedball gun buy this one. Its got the performance for the marker and at 150.00 its woth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirfester Tuesday, June 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion, Dragun TES - Similar
Marker Setup: Now I use the SP-1. I have a mini-Mag flashlight, 48ci/3000psi HPA tank, Revolution 18V loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is short. A nice barrel kit would be nice. Also, a stock adds a lot to the looks of this marker.
Strengths: Reliabilty, no chops, quiet and refined, consistency
Weaknesses: Flashlight hole too wide, battery loose inside
Review: I purchased this gun a few weeks ago and had the opportunity to play with it this weekend. I was very surprised how smooth and consistent this marker is. My step-son has an Ion and I actually prefer the feel of this gun! I think its the woodsball player inside me wanting to come out!!! Anyway, the gun shoots very consistently and I have yet to chop a ball; and I have shot various brands of paint through it. The barrel is extremely short and I wonder if that affects the accuracy to some degree. This gun does hit the target but not as consistently as I would like. But, I guess thats why they sell aftermarket barrels. This is a very stable gun. It does not kick like my Dragun and I do not get fatigued using it like I did with my old blowback markers. I'll keep my TES because its not worth anything to sell it. However, this gun will be my "main" weapon of choice from now on. BTW - I won the first game I played with it by firing into small holes in bunkers and hitting targets my teammates could not with their blowback semis. For the $150 pricetag of this marker, there really is no better choice for the entry level to intermediate player. Happy hunting!
Conclusion: Markers have come a long way over the years! This marker is an example of that. If my Dragun is a Camaro, the SP-1 is a BMW M3; refined and exciting! Go get it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

priceman3 Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: SmartParts SP-1
16" SmartParts Progressive Barrel
SP-1 Stock Adapter
Model 98 Carstock
Remote Line
Adco Hotshot
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new Barrel
A remote or HPA
Strengths: Light
Compact
Good Price
Accurate
Weaknesses: Not that many upgrades yet
Vertical Feed
Wierd Shroud prevents a lot of barrels
Review: This gun is the best bang for the buck its very reliable,compact, and accurate. the stock barrel it comes with is better then many. This gun is great for front players in woodsball. I wouldnt buy this gun if your the camping type. if you looking fo that go with the 98 custom. i think every backyard woodsball player shuold purchase this gun if they dont have a million dollars.
Conclusion: Read body
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media