paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
DeFinate Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann X7 - primary, the rest i've just tried out on many occasions
Tippmann 98
U.S ARMY/Tippmann Alpha Black
Smart Parts Ion
AutoCocker


Marker Setup: Tippmann X7-basic:
12" Lapco 'apex ready' barrel
Apex (tip)
Tacamo 416 shroud
all the TECH T upgrades (for slightly more air efficiency and for zero chopping problems)
Liberty Car-stock
UTG foldable grip handle
UTG rear sight
BSA 40mm Red Dot

Sp-1 (first edition, without select fire upgrade-YET*)
J&J 14" ceramic barrel
Double Trigger





Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel- the stock barrel is fairly good on its own surprisingly.. but J&J barrels are relatively cheaper and gives great results.
Strengths: Inexpensive
Light weight
Easy to maintain
Light Trigger

Weaknesses: -Flashlight mounting
-Rails on the markert.
-screws on the rails
-feed neck placement
Review: UPDATE- 07/30/08

Apparently, the price has gone up for the marker, the original price was $149.99, which was a great price for this marker.. HOWEVER, it is now being sold @ $174.99-179.99

Smart Parts reasoning is due to the cost of shipping and materials...

This slightly changes my review for the marker.

The one of the main interest and draw to the marker was the fact that it was a relatively inexpensive marker for what you are getting, compared to the others available.

I still stand by my review in most parts however, for the new price 179.99, you are pretty much getting closer to other markers which are just as great, if not better for the extra money. granted 25 dollar increase is not much, but in terms of tax, and marker worth... other marker alternatives seem a little more beneficial. - end update.




- I mostly play milsim and at one point was looking for an inexpensive alternative milsim marker. I checked out the Sp1 and after awhile of doing some research on it, i picked it up. I've had the Sp1 for some time now, and it has been a great back up marker for me. I usually run with a rifled Tippmann X7 and realized that my local fields are smaller than i can move around with, holding a X7. The Sp1 is perfect for those tight spots and CQBs you may encounter. It is a light marker, and fairly durable to sustain typical in game damage any marker occurs. The Rate of fire is only decent, the stock sp1 (no select fire) caps it at 11bps but the trigger pull is very light so rapid fire is only a matter of how fast your trigger finger is. It's also decent on air efficiency whether be Co2 or HPA.. it operates on low pressure.

The gripes i have with the marker is the fact that the feed neck for a hopper is right in the middle of your line of sight. If you feel like having a red dot/ scope.. you pretty much forced to get an offset rail. The rails itself on the marker is larger than most standard rails out there. So fitting could be a problem if your rail or scope/red dot does not have the proper screw length to clamp on the marker. Another problem, that is if you don't mind it.. is that the battery inside the handle.. rattles and shakes inside.

Since its a mil-sim marker, the marker itself is not very customizable. It looks like a pistol, something like the pistol from the movie ROBOCOP. It doesn't look bad, least thats open for discussion. You can't make it look like anything else, and accessories are few and far in between for the time being that is.

Its a great back up, i wont front. For 149.99 you get a solid marker. To be honest, 149.99 is the perfect price for what you get. Anything higher well.. thats definitely debatable.

8.5/10

Quick summary:

IS IT WORTH IT? for 149.99 it is.
WILL IT BREAK EASILY? not really, its pretty sturdy.. composite material, and less moving parts. Just be careful about removing those screws.. they tend to grind out its screw hole and become very loose.
SHOOTS OKAY? pretty much, stock rate of fire of 11bps w/ a very light trigger pull
CAN I ADD PERFORMANCE PARTS? well, not so sure.. it shoots great as it is stock
CUSTOMIZABLE? Nope.. it's not like the X7, A5.. so no G36c, M16 etc type sp1's unless you have a great imagination, talent and time to make one
WHATS AVAILABLE THEN? few Tippmann Stocks work, only with that adapter plate, a double trigger, and thats about it really... gotta wait for the rest of the stuff.
Conclusion: Its a great back up, i wont front. For 149.99 you get a solid marker. To be honest, 149.99 is the perfect price for what you get. Anything higher well.. thats definitely debatable.

Smart Parts actually did something good with this Sp-1 Marker. Granted it's an Ion in a milsim body.. but its only 149.99. All that matters for this type of marker, and for its market is that as long as it shoots great, won't break down, easy to maintain, and with a fair retail price... then thats all that matters. Fortunate enough.. the Sp-1 is all that. A very good marker for what its worth.

8.5/10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 30th, 2008 at 5:53 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ChurchTRPT Thursday, May 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag, Autococker Trilogy, Ion (teammates)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1
CO2 tank w/ remote
Tippmann Triumph SL200
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, as usual
Decent electronic hopper (stay away from any of the constantly agitating ones! save your money for something better)
Strengths: Durability
Ease of use and maintenance
CO2 efficient
Rails for customization
Weaknesses: Hard to sight down the side of the marker while shoorting (see body)
Review: I love this thing. You will too if you get one! I was one of those that would never buy an electronic marker because I didn't want to ruin it in the rain or have to put it away because of rain. I would only ever use mechanical markers. If you're like me, this marker is the electro for you! Just spend a few minutes on YouTube watching videos of SP-1s getting dropped into streams and shooting underwater. If you are considering this marker because of price, but are worried because of electronics, stop worrying and get it. You won't be disappointed!

I run it on remote with CO2 and the only problems I have had with that is my tank freezing up inside my tank pouch. (Not the marker's fault.) But it does work very well on CO2, granted it works best on anti-siphon or remote, but what doesn't? In a pinch if you broke your remote line in-game, you could screw the tank into the marker and continue playing.

It is surprisingly conistent with CO2. I picked off a friend from 20 yards or so through a hole in a smaller spool about twice the size of a paintball.

It is easy to use and tear down. Follow the instructions that come in the box. When the SP-1 first shipped a lot of boxes didn't come with much of a manual, but they do now. Don't worry about that.

It shares the bolt with the Ion, so easy upgrades there, if you want to.

The only down side of this marker I have experienced so far is I like to sight down the side of the barrel to aim, and with the rails in the way I can't see the barrel to aim with. But this is with the stock barrel that is like 10" or 10.5" long and a new barrel wouldn't hurt anyway, so get a longer barrel, say 12" or 14" and if you like to aim like I do you should be fine.
Conclusion: If you are thinking about getting it, do it. This marker, along with the Vibe which is the same thing in a different body, will convert a lot of A5 and C98 owners, I think. The price is right. The marker performs VERY well, especially considering the price. The only reason this should be in the "Low End Electros" is price.

Get it. You won't be disappointed.

I give it a 9 because nothing is perfect, except Jesus.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fernando8877 Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR series, Tippmann 98 Custom & Alpha Black series, PCS US-5.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1 w/ 14" J&J S2 barrel & Hybrid grips, Tippmann A-5 w/ flatline barrel, T6 adjustable stock & X7 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Best up grades: New barrel, clamping feedneck, & stock (for those who like).
Strengths: Able to use Co2 or Hpa, compact size, lots of rails for attachments.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel, other then that nothing else.
Review: I recently bought this marker (about 3 months ago) and it shoots great out the box. The thing I noticed first was that the stock barrel needs to be replaced with an aftermarket one. This SP1 does in fact shoot very straight and its pretty fast, even though its capped at 11bps. Another thing about it is that it weights a bit when you have it ready to play. That there is the only thing I can say thats bad about it. It makes a great starter marker for anyone thats new and wants a better marker to start with. Also more and more upgrades are coming out for it, which is great.

I'll update this review as I spend more time with marker.
Conclusion: I'd recommend this marker to any person thats new or even a seasoned person.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 10th, 2008 at 4:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Javus Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Strengths: Electropneumatic
Accurate
No chops or breaks
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Battery rattle
Review: The primary reason I bought this gun was for the electropneumatic internals. I played a scenario once, and the paint was extremely thin. Everyone with Tippmanns was breaking paint. The SP-1 offers a "more delicate" delivery of the paintball and I proved this by shooting the same paint from the scenario and not breaking a single ball. Mission acomplished.
As far as the markers performance: it is a great alternative to the A-5, and just as reliable, it has the potential for good woodsball upgrades, the grouping is nice, and because it lacks springs and cocking handles, it is easier to maintain than the A-5. The SP-1 is a solid performer all around. The only thing I don't like is the location of the feedneck. It's right on the centerline just like a speedball marker and aiming takes a little getting used to. The battery rattle is easily silenced by sticking just about anything in the grip.
Conclusion: If this is your first marker, you have made a great choice. I use it as a back-up and a loaner to new people playing paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

corygoodspeed Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: SP1 with a 16" JJ ceramic Barrel, Aim Point Comp2 Sight, Mag Light, Reloader Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
Strengths: Reliable
Shoots Straight
NEVER EVER breaks paint
VERY quiet
very versatile
Weaknesses: Some barrels may not fit due to the shroud
Review: I have been one that has NEVER had good luck with guns. From the old CO2 pistols to the Autococker I had last none of my guns were very reliable. We play only woods ball and this gun was made for it! I have so far banged it against trees, cradled through the dirt, ran it all day at times with just CO2, its even dropped in a river once! With all the abuse this thing still runs like a dream. All my friends who have MR3's and mid range Autocockers are jealous of my gun. I know what you’re going to say about the Autococker players being jealous, but the truth is the Autocockers are incredible guns when your not beating the crap out of them in the dirty woods. My last gun was a cocker and it was killer at speed ball, and the accuracy was incredible. The problem was when ever it got banged up it wouldn’t cycle right. This SP1 never needs work and its always performing great when I’m sneaking through the brush. Between the price and the incredible reliability and performance I would recommend this gun to anyone who plays in the woods.

Conclusion: If your considering this gun - get it, you wont be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 29th, 2008 at 11:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

(12)cockermasta Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months58 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann's (Model 98, Custom 98, A-5), Smart Parts ION
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 E-Grip w/ 14 All American, soon to recieve Tacamo AK Kit

2004 VF Pro-Stock with ever-growing list of ups

Smart Parts SP1 w/ "custom cardboard chunk in the grip" lolz (to stop battery rattle)

Psychoballistics Lightning Cocker w/: Orracle 3-Way
STO RAM
WGP Hinge Frame

WGP Y2K RF "old school cocker" (brass ram and 3 way, slide frame)

Brass Eagle Talon and Tigershark from when I was like 9 (Can-Tire baby!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
As of now there isn't too much out for the SP-1
Stock Barrel is decent but has room for improvement. It does, however, match the look of the SP-1 very well
Scenario add-ons (stocks and rifle barrels)would be great, but are currently not very available due to the age of the SP-1
Laser Dots and Flashlights?
Not exactly an upgrade, but it's a modification for sure. Trigger Job...(find it in the review body you'll understand)
Strengths: $150
Speedball gun feel (Compact, Fast, Smooth)
Accuracy...WOW!
Looks
No chops, Period.
Weaknesses: Doesn't perform very well on CO2
Battery Rattle
Cold Weather=Affected Performance
Poor manual
Review: Let me start by saying that for the money, this is a great gun. Not good, GREAT. In this day and age of paintball, some prices have gone up, others down. When you're talking about the SP-1, the price of a high performing electro-pneumatic is definitely going down. The thing is $150, and these days you can get a 48 or 72ci 3000 psi tank (recommend 48ci for a small gun like this) for around $70, and then all you need is a basic agitated hopper like a Revy for like $30.

There are a number of choices for entry level guns. Tippmann Custom 98, Spyder MR1 and VS1, BT-4, and PCS US-5 are the names that come to mind for me, and the most I see are Spyders and C98's. Even though these are all quality markers, I really wish that everyone starting out, and even some experienced players looking for a backup, would opt for the SP-1 instead. Just shooting one was enough to convince me.

So here's the deal: Dropping only 150 and tax, I got my money's worth, and then some. Locking feedneck, ultra cool looking, ease of maintenance, and as you know, electro. The only thing I noticed was when I first aired it up (in which case I find you should actually turn the board on FIRST, and gas up slowly to be safe) and started firing, it sounded like the tank was OUT OF AIR or there was a MALFUNCTION, because pulling the trigger resulted in faint popping noises and very little air blow through the barrel. Neither were the case. The darn thing is THAT QUIET. When I added paint to the mix, the paint seemed it was going a little slowly, so I went and turned up the inline reg pressure a little (the only way to adjust the velocity) and then it was amazing. The paint was seemed to be going somewhere near feild limits, and each ball was going exactly where I wanted (just shooting in my back yard). Aiming can be an issue to those used to sighted guns due to the vert feed blocking your view, but walking it to the target is a dream. After noticing that, I decided to just let 'er RIP, and to my surprise, the gun shot as fast as I could pull the trigger and never skipped a beat. Adjusting the trigger so there is basically no post-firing point travel would make it awesome.

Soon after I took this to the field. On a cold day where everyone's gun's velocities were spiking, the SP-1 showed what it could do. I never had to adjust the speed, my previous instincts may have been fluke, but were dead on. That fields limits were 285, and the SP-1, without any adjusting, shot mostly at 282, fluctuating no lower than 280 and no higher than 284. Absolutely amazing, and probably could be even better in warm weather and when the gun is broken in, hmm?. In the first 2 games it was especially cold, and the accuracy of the paint was obviously affected, but perhaps a little more than normal? Who knows. By 3rd and 4th game it grew a little warmer, and the SP-1 seemed to have "broken itself in". Compared to a fully upped 'cocker, it shot true and as smooth as ever. To put it plainly, I was spanking even experienced players with milsim Tippy's, and was always confident to run the entire field with the little SP-1. I lost count of my kills that day. I was also getting almost a full bag of 500 rounds out of a little 48/3000 tank, which is rather decent efficiency for a such a low pressure gun. The only problem was that I forgot to turn on my hopper one game, and when I went up to bunker a poor soul, I shot air about five times right on top of him, alerting him to my presence. I was barely able to shake the paint around and shoot some more before he could shoot at me. Needless to say this was pretty embarrassing. But it makes sense, since there is pretty much zero recoil, therefore nothing to make the hopper shake.

After this day I stripped the gun down (I'm a huge tinkerer), cleaned out the bolt housing and the bolt itself, lubed the bolt, and put it back together with no problems (although the screwing in of the bolt is a little catchy, you have to get a feel for it and push it slightly, or it will just sit there and spin) . All I noticed is that I couldn't manage to get the battery into that special place where it sits comfortably and doesn't rattle, so later on I put a slice of cardboard in the bottom of the battery housing in the grip to fill in the empty space (I know, some pretty heavy custom work right there lol). And then, like the manual says, I aired it up after this strip down to do a "test dry fire" (and I also did this because with only one major moving part, you don't really know you've done something incorrectly, like not put the bolt in all the way, until you air it up and something goes wrong) and it turns out there was a problem, it would turn on, but not shoot or anything...(UH-OH!) but it turned out the battery that it came with was dead. Hey, the things been sitting in there for a while slowly draining power, it happens. Threw a brand new Energizer in there, no biggy. Shot flawlessly again after that.

Another day I went to a different field with my cocker, and brought the SP-1 just in case there were any big problems encountered throughout the day. After a few games, a 13 year old or so kid's "high end JT" (please just get the SP-1 instead people) was severely jammed and just totalled it seemed. Instead of watching him fix it all day, I gave him my SP-1 and he gladly used it with his hopper and my spare tank. The velocity was now high 280's (who knows, but no big deal) and the same great consistency of +/-2 fps and at one instance 3 fps lower, so he just left it right there and went and played. Just after shooting it, he commented about how there was no kick, aswell as the accuracy, he couldn't believe it. We compared shots pre game on a huge dirt mound field that was very long. At distance, it stayed more true than my cocker which has upgrades costing more $ than the SP-1 itself (it came down to a slightly smaller barrel inner diameter than my cocker's All-A). After that game, the kid told me that it was the BEST gun he had EVER shot. We exchanged e-mails, and days later he wrote me saying he had a pball store gun tech tear down his JT, get it shooting, sold it for more than I thought it was worth, and with the money, was able to purchase the SP-1 with a 48/3000, and he loves it more than he can express. This really made me smile.

Writing this now, April 18th of 08, I am for sure bringing the SP-1 as my main next weekend outing to the field, or any other time I'm looking to have a gun-hassle-free day of woodsball (this winter for some reason I feel like playing in the snow, and what better gun to use than the SP1???). Upgrades I'm considering are a laser dot on the front-lower picatinny, tac-lite just for looks, and sending it back to Smart Parts to get it reflashed for Select Fire, since I got this back in December and it's considered an "early model". In the future, a new barrel is a good thought (even though the stock one looks perfect for it and is quite good), and maybe even a stock. The main thing I'm focusing on is tweaking it; getting an ideal velocity to operating pressure setup, and adjusting the trigger pull to only go as far back as it needs to hit the actuating point, and if possible make it snappier, even though stock this thing comes with a pretty short and snappy pull and set at an ideal pressure, I thrive to make things better.

And oh yeah, the low force bolt works alright. I've yet to chop a single ball, and have personally put my finger in the breech and pulled the trigger (although I wouldn't try this with my tongue). It gently stops on it and retracts, just like Smart Parts says it does.

Sidenote: (Update) Set it to run specifically on HPA after seeing how on the Smart Parts website (its very simple!). Haven't really noticed a difference in performance, but it feels really good. Also adjusted the trigger to almost zero pre-firing point travel. It rips. I've yet to find the screw to adjust post-firing point travel though.

Sidenote (Problem Encountered): One day out at the field I turned it on to make sure it was all in working order before I chrono'd, and the solenoid would not activate when I pulled the trigger. By the way it felt when I pulled it I knew that it was locked at the half way point and would not return to the forward resting position. Originally I thought it was because I have the trigger adjusted for a very short pull (which I now have to readjust because I screwed around with it, thinking that was the problem. ARRGH!!!!) but the real reason was the grip frame screws were a bit tight and somehow put tension on the trigger spring. I put them on a bit more loosely and it worked flawlessly, but this was a very strange problem, one of the most bizarre I have ever come across.

The last things I've got to say:
1. If you have the means, get HPA instead of C02 and you'll thank yourself.
2. I really don't recommend using a non agitated loader/a "shake and shoot". You can get away with these on Spyders and Custom 98's and such, because the high level of kick does the agitating for you. A standard Revy or the new Revolution Force/Eye-Force will easily keep up with it and aren't too pricey.
3. Go ahead and stick something in the grip to stop battery shake.
4. Read the manual knowing it kinda sucks (I've experienced leaks when I air up without it turned on, even though thats what the manual says to do)
5. You don't really need to strip it down, just clean and lube the bolt and the inner body after every 2nd or 3rd day's play, and make sure that you screw it in all the way and correctly, this is the only problem I can see possible with the SP-1.
6. You might want to replace the original battery right off the bat or after the first field outing or something like that. I wouldn't have been a happy camper if I took it out to the field and ran out of juice, although this is bound to happen sometime to everyone.
7. If you want to put a flashlight in the housing, take off the lower picattiny on the front, remove the silver set screw. (Not sure on whether you leave it in to set the flashlight in place though) It doesn't say anything about this in the manual.
8. Sorry about this whole schi-bang I wrote up, I'm a bit of a story writer :)
9. Oh yeah, buy it...

Thanks for reading!
Conclusion: Whether you're a beginner or an experienced player, this is a great gun and anyone can find a friend in it, as a backup or a primary. For 150 bucks and maybe soon to be even lower, you can't go wrong. I hate to say it but it totally smokes the C-98 or MR1 out of the water in terms of smooth operation, maintenace ease, accuracy and efficiency, and is in a whole different league in terms of operating pressure (200 psi max! definitely a full blown low-pressure gun). Pretty soon it will have a great milsim appreciation. Don't hate the SP-1 just because you may dislike Smart Parts (I feel the same way, this is my first Smart Parts gun). This marker is an amazing performer in every way, at a price I find very hard to comprehend.

Without doubt, an Ace in my books.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 6th, 2008 at 12:53 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Valaska Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month36 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, SP-8(Same internals lol), Epiphany, Shocker, Nerve, Impulse.
Marker Setup: SP-8
Orange Nano Unicorn Bolt
14" .689 Stiffi Barrel
Adjustable Stock
Laser+ Tac Rails
Aimpoint RedDot Scope
Remote Line
360 QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, FireBolt, Select fire(Free), Air through T.Stock or, 98c Stock. FLASHLIGHT lol kidding.
Strengths: Light
Maneuverable
Strong
Reliable
Maintenance
Rails
Fore Grip
Efficiency
Sound
Weaknesses: Vertical Feed blocks chance of using a sight without .45 or offset.
Review: Ok! I just got this thing I've shot it a few times last week and I JUST had a game with it.. Usually I (literally) wait a year, or more, to review something but this gun.. I have to review now, the SP-1 is culling me to review lol.


First of all, I might be biased due to the amount of, pardon me for this, kickass baddasery the gun magically imbued on me for the day.. But hell this is ONE HECK of a gun and gosh darn it I am going to slap anyone with a fish and a half if they say other wise!

Ok, strengths in depth;

****** Body******

This things body is tough nuggets, it took a few tumbles and trips with me and lasted fine, so did my SP-8 and apparently some people say the body is weak lol, but this thing is solid solid, feels like a glock almost, and the body and internals are VERY light!
I like how it looks when you paint it up camo, and it looks spiffy, turns some heads towards it, some away, it's personal tastes so it can't be worked into a reviews score lol, but I mention it because this is the SP-1 review, not vibe lol.

The body has quite a few rails, this leads to.. So very many possibilities you can literally put 9 lasers on this thing with a couple .45 degree's lol. Unfortunately you have to get a .45 to put a site on it though, or mount it directly side ways, which the more and more you tip a red dot, the more difficult it is to set for omni ranges. Thats the only complaint I have, other than that the vertical feed is really solid, a long with the rest of the gun.
And there's also a flash light mount, when I bought the gun I got the Mag Light mini with it, so I figured to put it in the slot, it holds it strong and it looks pretty neat lol. I actually used it to signal people a few times.

And it's compact too! Small and can fit places, and if you want you can get 98c stocks, or this one Trinity makes special for the SP-1 now, or air through stocks on the bottom, or an Air through T-Stock like I got. I kind of want a folding stock on this but it's nice either way.

****** Maintenance******

This thing is bloody easy to maintain, 3 Allan head screws, and the bolt is out.. And thats that, you lube up the bolt, and you're good.. It's basically fine to lube it after every time you play its so easy. I don't understand how to take the body apart yet (in 2 halves) and the manual online doesn't say much, but usually you don't have to touch a board period for maintenance so this doesn't count for anything heh.
The regulator has a lot of pieces to it, but it vents off which I'll cover later. This thing simply gets props for maintenance! No springs etc, and god.. Springs are effing annoying.

****** Efficiency******

Ok this thing is great on HPA, I have a 48/3000 tank and it lasted me 5 hours of play, and I still have 1000 PSI left in the tank lol, it's real great, I probably shot off about, oh, 200 shots, but I started off at about 2600 PSI seeing as HPA tanks cool down and loose PSI after filling, plus I checked the reg lol. Might be because I have the SP Firebolt, but honestly the fire bolt isn't that much of an improvement over stock, it came with it because I bought mine off a friend.

On CO2 it's a monster, it's efficient, you can freeze it and it barely looses velocity. It actually went hot for my friend and it was 4 degree's Celsius after freezing the tank and gun over lol.

****** Noise******

It's silent! Very quiet! It's not as quiet as my SP-8, but with the Stiffi barrel it matches the SP-8 in sound, not the stealth barrel shroud of course.. That thing with a stiffy is ridiculous you can actually hear balls dropping louder than your output sound lol.

****** Accuracy******

The stock barrel is good, it's pretty accurate but I have a Progressive 16" on it, and just with an upgraded barrel this thing is damn accurate and my 14" Stiffi.. Oh gosh it is barely just below the SP-8 in accuracy, and thats because I have a better bolt in my SP-8 than my SP-1, so this thing can be very accurate upgraded barrel, but with the stock, unless you get good paint match, it's gonna be oh about.. Above average slightly. The stock barrel is good, but its bore is a little on the large side.

****** Price******

A HUNDRED AND FIDDY, not fifty, FIDDY. This thing out performs, and I am gonna get disputed or flamed for this, clearly, and obviously out performed every A5 and 98c (2 A5's and 1 98c on the field today) that was there, and those markers are a good bit more than 150, FIDDY. You, just can't beat this as an entry marker.. And it might become my main marker.. From back up to main, not too shabby huh?


Weaknesses;

This is hard for me to say anything, so I am trying VERY hard to squeeze out some weaknesses.. Here's what I came up with.


****** Body******

Vertical Feedneck. This thing is a HORRIBLE idea for milsim/woodsball I mean hell you can't use the rails behind or in front of the feed neck for a red dot, you need a .45 degree offset or a direct flat offset from JCS.. I don't buy from JCS after I seen their ebay listing for "Chink Stocks"..

****** Umm******

Um... Oh, not many upgrades.. Yet, well you can use a few of the Ion made bolts from other companies.. There aren't any boards yet, but they are already making the blackheart.. And it's an entry marker for now so standard board is just fine, people will want to upgrade them later anyways.. Well it JUST came out lol, so this isn't really a weakness it's common sense, scratch that.


---------------------------

Ok, keep in mind the SP-1 I have is used, it's been in the CSPO, SPPL, and it's so it's not brand new it does have a lot of use! And this thing was amazing, let me tell you bout the game I had with it;

The first game was Semi's VS pumps 6v6, I snuck up a long the left of the woods in a ditch, 2 very experienced pump players caught wind of me, all I had for cover was the lip of the ditch (I was in it keep in mind) and some little shrubs that exploded any paintball trying to get through them, I was covered in splatter, but as soon one moved to flank me to my right I quickly flicked over and took him out in 2 shots and then stood up and pegged the next guy right in the chest, I squeazed up in behind 2 more guys eventually, down further in, I took both out 1 shot each and this is without a sight. Finally it was 1 on 1 and I was shooting at the guy for awhile we got into a fight, he took me out eventually but man it was one heck of a fight lasted about 10 minutes between the two of us, I bounced a couple of them off him, and I took a big tumble with it getting caught on a root lol, the SP-1 took some beating when it did too lol.
With this gun I got 14 kills the entire day by shooting.. 5 barrel tags but 4 of them was when I had no battery lol, my fault for not changing the battery.. It was the same one I used on my SP-8 for about a week lol.
Conclusion: Buy it, hands down, buy it... It will surprise you, I might make it my main marker but I just don't want to give up my SP-8.. Been using that gun for 2 years lol, loyalty issues. It's great, it's tough there's nothing wrong with it, it out performs your standers 200 dollar 98c (at least in the store here but they charge 170 for the SP-1 here too), out do an A5, the only problem I can see you would have is just no front shroud yet.. Big whoop lol. Honestly with the light plug area and the rails, it's going to have a shroud eventually.

This gun is the only entry marker anyone should purchase from now on, I've used basically everything else, it out performs mid range, etc.. This deserves a 10, they market it as an entry, and its performance is stellar. 10 it is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

hudsonnhawk Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
First Electro-pneumatic, previous marker was Spyder MR-1
Marker Setup: SP-1 with remote line, Empire Re-loader Hopper, and Spyder 4+1 Pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (maybe)
Strengths: CHEAP PRICE! Value for money, very efficient CO2 usage, small and light
Weaknesses: needs 6-7 different hex keys to fully take apart, but that is NOT recommended
Review: Body is nice and compact for CQB and with the recessed barrel, it keeps the barrel from sticking out. The nylon outer covering feels like plastic but it is pretty tough, taking a few beatings. Cleaning between the weaver rails with a Q-tip to get rid of paint can be a bother. I think that a few of the earlier complaints have also been resolved...

1) the battery no longer rattles, atleast mine does not
2) Select Fire mode and tourney lock out mode works great and is intuitive
3) Comes with full instructions in multi-languages
4) backed by a one year factory warranty
5) bought mine from Badlands.com and has lifetime warranty

One aspect that I am waiting for is upgrades. I hope that the manufacturers are going to realize that this will be a popular marker and to start making more scenario mods for it. Currently there is a stock and a board and barrels available.
Conclusion: I personally beleive that this could be the marker that could bring Smart Parts into the scenario realm big time, in the leage of Tippman. However, more mods will have to be made for the product
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ngineer Tuesday, April 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. This is my first electropneumatic marker.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5: Remote coil, HPA, CAR stock, Red Dot sight w/ JCS offset, ShockTech drop forward, Special Ops foregrip, J&J Ceramic Barrel, BT-4 Apex Barrel, Tippmann Werks Barrel, X-7 hopper, gun sling

Tippmann X-7: Remote Coil, HPA, Egrip, all barrels from A-5, gun sling

Smart Parts SP-1: Remote Coil, HPA, VL hopper, gun sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Agitated hopper if reaching 11bps is a definite must.
Maybe a new barrel, but stock is fine so far.
Strengths: Value Proposition
Tactical rails galore
Flashlight mount
Low force bolt
3 Internal moving parts
Weaknesses: Feed neck position
On/Off button location
Flashlight mount
Front grip position
Battery rattles
Review: I've played about 13 games (woods and speed) in a two-day spread, and here are my first impressions:

The Good:
Compared to my other mechanical markers, the SP-1 is 1/2 the weight @ 2.2lbs (dry). However, I think the weight catches up once the SP-1 is attached w/ the VL hopper w/ two 9V batteries (old school).
There are many, many, many strips of picatinny rails throughout the marker, including a flashlight mount as standard feature. The flashlight has to be limited to certain brands that will 1) fit the diameter of the receiver, 2) have a tether hole so that the securing pin can go through, and 3) the tether hole position has to align w/ pin position. The Maglite definitely fits, I'm not so sure about other brands. Besides, I haven't played in any enclosed (dark) urban combat scenario where this feature would be useful.
I have not chopped any paint on this marker. My compliments on the low force bolt, it works "as seen on TV". I had a paintball break in the chamber, though - read more below in "The Incompetent" section.
The marker is extermely easy to clean and maintain. There are only 3 moving parts that need to be disassembled. One minor shortcomming from Smart Parts is that they do not include a tool to reach the inside of the marker from the barrel end. The use any non-metallic rod (even wooden chopstick) is suggested in their site.

The Bad:
I am used to having a Red Dot sight to estimate where the marker is shooting, but since the feeder neck is right on the line-of-sight, I could not mount one as of yet. A rail offset will resolve this issue in the future. The marker was shot during one of the games right where the on/off button is. I could not turn the marker off as I was walking out the field. SP-1 does not have a "safety" button other than turning it off. I placed the barrel bag and walked out. The marker was "live" for the rest of the day until I disconnected the battery for the trip home.
Beause the front grip is attached to the Max-Flo regulator, the position cannot be adjusted, leading to minor discomfort since I am used to grips being farther apart. Regarding the battery rattle - any home remedie can fix this: foam wedges, 3M double stick tapes etc... not a huge showstopper.

The Incompetent:
Time for confession: I read the manual as soon I opened the box at home, but it did not register in my head during the play day (blind-sighted by euphoria?). The SP-1 comes from the factory set up for use w/ CO2. I was running air that day. Thus, during fast triggering, one of the paintballs broke inside the gun. Cleaning the barrel did not help, and most of the shots were curveballs from that point. I diassembled the gun and cleaned off the gunk inside (again, standard cleaning tool would have been helpful), and the marker performed flawlessly again. Lesson learned!

The Interesting:
Even after the marker has been discharged of air, it will sometimes shoot when trigger is pulled (is it due to residual air trapped in the internals?). I am not sure if this is common on electropneumatic markers, or SP-1 or it is just me.

Reliabiltiy:
Only time of use will determine the longevity of the marker. Currently, I do not have any data to establish any claims.
Conclusion: I haven't taken the opportunity to make any scientific measurements in terms of accuracy vs. distance vs. ambient temperatures vs. propellent, but the marker shoots true. To reiterate on the strength, this marker offers a lot of features for relatively low price. I am extremely satisfied w/ my purchase.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 1st, 2008 at 1:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shortshooter Tuesday, March 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first electropnuematicmarker that i have purchased.
Marker Setup: Other mechanical markers: Tippmann A5, Tippman 98, WGP autococker, VL triad.
Tippmann Triumph SSL 200 hopper
a Whole bunch of barrels
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Carbon fiber wrapped HPA or if sticking with CO2 a remote line with slide check.
Electronic Hopper that feeds up to 15 bps.
The factory barrel is better than most that come with a marker but leaves room for improvement.
MOST IMPORTANT: Lots of rechargable 9 volt batteries
Strengths: The marker is extremly light, No ball chopps , Very efficient
Weaknesses: The standard gravity feed hopper drains an alkaline battery after about 3-4 hours
.
Review: I live in the northern half of Illinois and play a lot of woods ball. I had always been reluctant to purchase an electromarker for fear of the abuse it would receive would cause failure. Also after years of reliablility from my Tippmanns I did not see a large advantage with electronic markers. I first saw a video of the SP-1 on Youtube and began trying to learn more about it. I decided to give it a try and have been thoroughly impressed. The SP-1 has many desireable features but the greatest are the gas efficiency and lack of chopped balls. The weight is not noticible when using a remote line. After I unveiled my new SP-1 two of my friends went out and got theirs. One is a lower serial number and the other is a newer one above 6000. The newer serial has the selectable fire modes while the others dont, but Smartparts will upgrade it if you ship it to them. Over all I think that this will become my primary marker and my A5 will be a backup.
Conclusion: Don't the price fool you this marker is great. Everyone thinks you get what you pay for but this is a great product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media