paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Focus02 Friday, March 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TLR, MR1
AGD Automag
Tippman 98c, A5, X7
Marker Setup: 14" J&J ceramic, uag red-dot, richochet loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Slightly longer barrel looks better, but stock barrel is accurate.
Strengths: Shot to shot consistently
Very smooth, zero kick
Quiet
Light weight
Does not chop, ever.
Weaknesses: Battery from the factory is crap.
Preferred to have 45degree rails
Review: I feel this marker is even in the wrong section of this site, as it is not a blowback marker with e-frame, its is a full blown electropneumatic. Note the Vibe (speedball clone of SP-1) is listed in the 'high end electronic' marker, not 'low end'.

I bought one of the first SP-1 the week they were released. My very first impression worried me because I aired up the marker, and it wouldn't fire. The battery from the factory was no good, and when I replaced it.
Since this time I've put 8000+ rounds though the marker in varying conditions and have never once had any problems with the marker, and it never once has broken a ball in the breach..

I had a batch of paint that my spyder TLR with the ACS bolt was breaking about one in 20. I took the same loader and paint from the spyder and put it on the SP1, and ripped off 200 rounds as quick as possible and no problem. The electronic trigger on the SP-1 is far better than the mechanical of the spyder.

I use a 68/4500 hpa tank, without the wedge at the asa, and this makes the tank fall in just the right position as a stock.

When firing the marker is extremely smooth and consistent, which helps with accuracy, and allows very tight grouping of shots with no dropoff.

Maintenance is pretty easy with the bolt-out-back, as I find I spend more time cleaning rails than it takes to clean the internals.

Conclusion: I would highly recommend the SP-1 as it's one of the best mil-sim markers out there regardless of its ultra-low $150 price tag.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jps_cobra1 Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hard to say.
Marker Setup: 1995 Spyder custom (back when I was airsmithing).
WGP trilogy tactical, JJ s2 10" barrel, 14" 32 degree whisper, CP Flame drop foward, Shocktech superfly bolt, Empire grips, Palmer reg (older), adjustable trigger, lighter back block, nexus valve and Palmer ram.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel possible 12" to 14", and compressed air.
Strengths: Reliable marker, Comfortable grip and lightweight.
Weaknesses: The barrel, its accurate enough but not a tack driver.
Had problems with CO2.
Review: My overall opinion of this gun is good. I like the feel the looks and the wieght. The sound is a little loud, kinda reminds me of the old prolites. The marker was comfortable and handled well in the field, I had no problems moving around in the bunkers or around trees, vines and anything else out there. The rate of fire for me was to slow, this will not be a problem for the novice player, but for us with speed in mind and the trigger fingers to match will easily out perform this marker. A upgraded board would be needed for use in a tournament setting. This marker does not handle well of CO2, when the marker "freezes up" it will not even fire. This can be a problem if your being charged at the time it decides to do this. But for those who love CO2 it will do fine, I say this because we could not tell if the marker was on the CA seting or the CO2 setting (it helps when you test a marker if you have the instructions). We did not experience a chop in regular game play, so we made it chop a ball. We had ordered some spyder paint from www.paintball-online.com 2 bags had broken paint in them and had begun to swell (the company said they would send new paint asap, if they don't I will update this so ya'll know where not to shop). The paint was shooting just fine though, I was reloading and a couple broke in the hopper and gravity took it to the bolt. So we finally got the result we were seeking, its accuarcy suffered greatly. At 10 yards you would be lucky to hit an elephant let alone a person. But keep in mind we gave it "bad" paint and it didn't chop it, I broke it loading it. So this marker is of very good design and quallity in my book.
Conclusion: Good marker, good price, very reliable, go with CA over CO2 and buy one for a backup or scenrio marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tomongoose Tuesday, February 12th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first electro
Marker Setup: I have a 98 with m16 mods a 98 with a red dot sight and a 16 in jnj ceramic and a sterling stp for when i want to go old school
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel but the stock is pretty good. You might want an electric loader, although I have had no problems with out one
Strengths: Cheap, well balanced, hardly any kick
Weaknesses: Ugly, centre feed, lack of a real manual, loose battery
Review: I play woods ball and have always used mechanically markers sometimes I play stealthy and snipe at people some time I charge like mad all day so I wanted a marker to do both with.

I have never played with an electro before so I was really pleased with how quiet this gun was and how little recoil it had. After messing around with the trigger I got it to shoot pretty fast but to me this was not important I have beat players who have had tourney grade electros when playing with a pump, its not about speed its about accuracy.

As soon as I got it I gassed it up, I put some blu tack in by the battery to stop it rattleing and took it to my range I was using some pretty cheap rec paint to start off with and it was ok with it I put 400 rounds through it no breaks but then the battery that came with it died so I swapped that over (the new ones still going after 1000's of rounds) from about 30-40 ft i was placing 50 shots all within a few inches of each. I switched to some draxxus later and it got better. During the day me and my friends put well over 1000 rounds through it with no breaks.

It handles well and feels light, It balances well with an air tank on, you can easily shot it one handed.

so far the only problem is Im not getting many shots of an air can maybe 400 or 500 but I might have it set up wrong (any advice would be appreciated) The manual is rubbish just a little piece of paper with a tiny bit in english on it. Its quiet an ugly looking gun but I bought it to shot not to look at.

The hopper is stuck right in the middle so it balances well but would get in the way of a sight ( but sights are just for show in paintball) i wouldn't bother with aremote or a stock as it handles well any way. Not sure how durable it will be i doubt it will take the beatings my tippy has had but time will tell. The main reason I got this gun is its so cheap.

UPDATE

Having played with it for a few months and played hard its still going great still quiet and accurate. The only down side is that the battery runs out something Im not used to having alwasy played with mechanicals. Still its an awesome little marker. I have got it set up to HPA now and its a bit more efficent and my friend just bought one and his actually had a manual of sorts. It has taken a right beating and still has not been marked
Conclusion: A great all round marker
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 5th, 2008 at 12:26 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballghost9 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
woods ball guns : tippmann 98 and A-5
electronic guns: Spyder vs 1
Marker Setup: Sp1
custom handguard (built by me)
folding stock.
modified trigger (shoots burst, auto and semi) not an aftermarket upgrade
Red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really.
Strengths: light strike bolt
can be submerged in water.
long battery life
short
Nice trigger pull
Weaknesses: Center feed neck
Review: not much i'm goign to write here...
But i used this and shot 200 balls pulling the trigger as fast as possible and the gun did not freeze or start shooting ice. (like 98 and my a5 did) You can program it to shoot for HPA or co2 i dont know what is for what but if you hold the power bouton while plugging in the battery it changes it to hpa (not to sure on that)
It has not chopped a ball yet ,for me (except for a barrel break) and i ahve put atleast 6000 rounds of paint though it with a mechanical hopper.
thats it i guess..
it is very efficient on co2 i havent tested how many shots you can get out of it exactly but i can say it uses way less air then the 98 or a-5 (comparing them cause they are both milsim markers)
Its nice and short 4 inches of your barrel is hidden in the body
The marker has no instructions on the full break down of the gun i had to figure out how to take it apart myself. It has a center feed neck int he way of rails... why? i dont know considering sp already made a milsim marker.
Rails cant be removed if damaged. and its pretty heavy about the same weight of an a5.
Conclusion: For the price of the gun it is really worth buying. You may find yourself making it your primary marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nick_t Friday, January 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, Tippys, Spyder MR-2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1, AIC Q-loader, SP Stock adapter Plate, Tipp 98 Car-Stock, 14" J&J Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel, and Compressed air
Strengths: Cheap, Reliable, Light, LP
Weaknesses: Stock barrel kinda sucks, Only semi, lack of ups, no threaded feed neck
Review: When I first saw this gun, I wasn't fond of it's styling, but it grew on me, and ended up liking it so much I just had to get one. When I got it, there were no regrets. I love it to death, mainly because my previous gun was a unreliable piece of junk. It's a great gun. It's LP so it will save air, it's very reliable, and quite simple on the inside so maintenance is a snap. The only thing that I don't like about it is that there's no threaded feed neck no you are denied the option of customizing your feedneck (makes it a little hard on us q-loader users). Also what I don't like is the semi only board, which is a turn off to many woods/scenario players.
Conclusion: Overall this is an amazing gun, and definitely the best bang for your buck
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Paragon5456 Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Custom 98
Invert Mini
Etec Ego
Automag
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Halo B with magna upgrade
68/45 DXS Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock
Foam to hold battery
Good loader
Strengths: Quiet
Grips Feel Comfortable
Price
Not bad out of box
Weaknesses: Loose Battery
Review: I got this marker mostly for winter play when i will need to be cleaning out my marker more often, or as a loaner to people who dont want to lug around a tippmann. Its a simple design and the price makes me not worry too much about beating it up a bit. I have to admit im impressed by its performance out of the box. The barrel wasnt perfect, but it was light years ahead of anything i would have imagined for a marker of its price.

The feedneck isnt too bad. Atleast its more solid then the origional Ions. Im not too picky about feednecks though, as long as my loader doesnt shake im happy. Trigger has an odd, but smooth feel to it. I dont think i will be replacing it since i dont need another marker with a double trigger, if i need more firepower i wont be using this marker anyway. All in all, externally its a very nice marker.


Taking it apart is easy too, you can completely strip it in only a few minutes and put it back together no problems. For a newer person to electro its as easy as it can get. The battery is very loose though, when i opened the box i was actually worried the marker was broken because of how much rattle there was. I plan on just getting some foam tape to make it a little more snug. No eyes, but thats fine for the price, i would just recommend to have an aggitated feeder so you dont end up dry firing

When i used it the first time it was just to test it to make sure it funtioned properly and see what upgrades i might need. I chronoed to about 260 since it was cold and was shooting about 75-90 feet away at a tree 2 feet wide. The spead was easily within the ability to mark someone. My only comment was that i didnt like the feel without a stock. With my speedball markers its not as much of a problem because my grip is closer and if i need support i can use my tank, but i will def be getting a stock to help my stability when playing woodsball/scenario.

Conclusion: A good solid gun. I would def recommend this to anyone looking for a cheaper back up or who wants to get into paintball and buy an electro. Simple to maintain, decent out of the box, and im sure people will jump all over mod making for it in the next few months.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 8th, 2008 at 10:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Steel Jester Thursday, December 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The only other marker I have used on a long term basis is a Tippmann 98 w/cyclone. The only thing the Tippmann has on this gun is they cyclone feed.
Marker Setup: Sp-1stock
Crossfire 68/4500 w/remote.
Ricochet AK hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
This is totally up to you. The marker shoots great out of the box so mod it how you want it.
Strengths: Solid
Comfortable
Quiet
Sturdy
Weaknesses: A bit heavy, and is picky when not using anti-siphon co2
Review: This marker is a great into level marker, and with all the future upgrades it should be a fierce marker for anyone to get.

The trigger is a single-trigger (which I prefer), and it is the most comfortable trigger pull of any gun I have ever shot. All the guys on my team agree that the trigger is amazing. The new style regulator handles CO2 well (although I recommend anti-siphon or use a remote line).

I plan on adding a stock and new barrel somewhere down the line but other than that this baby is staying stock.

All in all this marker is probably the best value on the market.
Conclusion: Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rader89 Thursday, December 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Tippmann 98c, A5, X7
Autocockers
Proto Matrix Rail
Marker Setup: SP-1, Dye Ultralite 14'' Barrel, HPA, Egg III hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel

"Depends on your style"
Soon to come: Double Trigger, Blackheart board, Eyes, New Feedneck (not needed really)

Already Out: Tippmann 98c Stock Adapter( the SP-1 can accept (most) tippmann 98c stocks). Trinity Paintball has made a stock for the SP-1 also.
Strengths: Accepts HPA/Co2
Light Weight
Quiet
Easy to Clean
Has Rails
Weaknesses: Rubber Ball descents (wear out over time compared to other decents)
Review: Overall, out of all the markers I've used, this is by far my most favorite. Personal preference, but also performance wise. It's pretty darn consistent, it's very light I think, easy to clean, the stock feedneck is clamping. The trigger is just so smooth and light. I can put sights, bi-pods, flashlights, anything that has a weaver mount, I can put on this marker. Buy the stock, or the adapter and a model 98 stock, and you're ready to rock out in the woods.

(Note: The electronics will not get damaged by rain)

(Note: for the rails, they're weaver, sights that are made for .22 caliber rifle or 7/8 inch rails will not fit at all)

Important:
(Note: There is a DWELL settings!!! The SP-1 has two preset settings, one for Co2 and one for HPA. In order to change, take the battery off, hold the power button down, while holding the button down, put the battery back in. The light will either flash once or twice and then turn off. One flash is for Co2, Two flashes is for HPA)

(Note: If you do shoot too fast with the Co2 bottle attached to the asa, the internals will freeze, and your marker will not fire for like 30 seconds until the internals are not frozen anymore. Dont worry, this wont destroy your marker, just something you should be aware of.)
Conclusion: I love this marker, I love the 11 bps, I love the single trigger, I love the weight, I love everything about this marker, I like it way more than the PMR.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 13th, 2007 at 12:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cosmonaut Sunday, December 9th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various spyders
Tippmann 98 and A-5
Smartparts ion
Marker Setup: SmartParts SP-1 with 16" J&J ceramic barrel,
Remote line running on compressed air.
Empire II sound activated hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, and a remote line unless You are using a carbon fiber tank,
compressed air.
I would also recomend getting a stock.
Strengths: 1) Light.
2) Easy to disassemble and clean.
3) Fire rate.
4) Very quiet.
Weaknesses: 1) HARDLY WORKS WITH CO2.
2) Velocity adjustment.
3) Has a berrel shroud.
Review: When I first got the gun I was impressed with its weight and feel. The gun wasn't too heavy and the grip felt nice and sturdy. The stock barrel was very small, only 10" which is why I ordered a new one with the gun. I didn't like the fact that it doesn't come with any allen wrenches for disassembly.

The first time I fired The gun I used CO2 which didnt work at all. I thought it was primarily because it was about 30 Degrees outside. So I took The gun inside and let it warm up a bit and tried to dryfire it, and after about 10 shots the gun froze up again. The solonoid can't take the freezing effects from CO2 and simply freezes up after a few shots then you must thaw it out before you can fire it again. Also if You adjust the velocity too high the gun sprays air out of every nook and cranny. So I had to go out and buy a compressed air tank (72 cubic inch 3000psi) for the gun so it would work right. When I used it for the first time with compressed air it began to perform like I wanted it too, Unfortunately I only had one compressed air tank and that lasted me only about 600 rounds which I think was from my remote leaking. So I ended up using my spider VS1 for the rest of the day running it on CO2.

during the time i did use the gun it performed pretty well even know it was 35 degrees outside with snow. The compressed air did the trick but I'm going to have to buy another compressed air tank to use it all day because I don't have the option of refilling after every game when I'm in my friends woods.

UPDATE-

Alright, I'm giving the gun a little more credit as I have used it more I have come to trust the gun a bit more. But I still say to give this gun time and don't just jump on buying it. Wait a few months (at least until it gets warmer out if you live in the north-eastern US) give companies time to release upgrades like the stock adaptor plate and double trigger kit that recently came out. I still think I would have preferred something like an
A-5 but This gun will have to do because I'm not ready to go out and buy another gun yet.

UPDATE II-

I just got my gun back from SmartParts after they did some repairs, (great customer service), and the gun seems to be working fine. I would recomend this gun to people just starting out at the sport of paintball or people looking to get a good gun at a low price. After I got the gun back It didnt delay between shots like it was doing before and I am getting a good fire rate out of it, thank you SmartParts
Conclusion: I would have to say don't buy this gun because there aren't enough upgrades for it yet, and unless you are only playing paintball in 90 degree temperatures you better have a good bit of extra money to buy compressed air tanks with because if the temperature is any lower than 90 the gun is just gonna freez up on you with CO2. Plus for 50 more bucks you can get an A-5 which runs fine on CO2 and has more upgrades than just about any gun on the market.

P.S. Yes I know that your not supposed to use CO2 in a Electro Pneumatic, But when Its all over the internet that you can, why use HPA?
Yes I also know that CO2 is bad bad in cold weather, but if it still works in all my other guns, why not this one?
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 12th, 2008 at 7:02 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Crewchief Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month65 of 72 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts ION, Tippmans, and a variety of other markers.
Marker Setup: My primary is a SITH ION tactical with a 98 Pro-E as a backup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rail covers maybe?
Strengths: Smart Parts quality tactical marker for a low price.
Weaknesses: Flashlight mount plug is hard to remove. Limited upgrades and limited compatibility with existing products.
Review: The S1 is a composite, high-impact, plastic shroud covering a smaller base marker. The feed neck is part of the external body. The internal body can be removed. The internal body consists primarily of a metal tube. The rear portion of the tube houses the bolt. The barrel threads are near the middle of the tube and the front of the tube covers 4-5 inches of the barrel. The board and removable solenoid are housed under the bolt section of the tube and held in place by bolts that also serve as the air line attachments. The board no longer extends into the trigger frame like the ION. The battery is still housed in the pistol grip. The outer body is largely cosmetic with a compartment to house a flashlight just below the barrel.

Pros:

- Upgraded regulator which should be an improvement over the ION. This should be better at using CO2 but an anti-siphon, remote, or secondary regulator should still be used.
- Milsim body with flashlight mount.
- Rear accessible bolt for "easy" cleaning.
- Adjustable single finger trigger. (Upgrade to double trigger available soon)
- Small to medium sized 45 pistol grip.
- ION style electro-pneumatic design with similar electronics caped at 11 balls per second (Correction: Semi-auto fire mode only on stock board)).
- Easy-on button and audible sound for programming.
- Comes with a 9-volt battery installed.
- Air line has been painted black, nice touch.
- Barrel opening is larger than the stock barrel for more compatibility options.
- Box includes barrel, marker, instructions, registration card, and new barrel sock.
- Bolt action is supposed to be light enough to prevent or reduce chops without an electronic eye.
- Nice pistol-ish feel and feels lighter than it actually weighs.

Cons:

- Flashlight mount plug is hard to remove. Apparently there is a locking screw hidden under the lower rail...I don't think this is in the manual.
- The marker uses a wide variety of hex head sizes making full disassembly a little difficult.
- The internals are not ION compatible so ION boards, bolts, feed necks, triggers, etc. are not compatible. (Based on comments a solid ION bolt may work)
- The feed neck is integrated and cannot be upgraded.
- The marker may not be compatible with some IONImpulse barrels. The stock ION barrel fits. The barrel inserts 4-5 inches into an opening. Freak backs should work but you may have to remove the freak stickers on the sides of the barrel.
- The bolt requires a rather large hex tool to remove. I think the easy of cleaning the marker has been slightly exaggerated. (Still easy to clean with the right tools)
- No tools are included and the instructions are a multilingual foldout poster that is hard to use and provides only limited information.
- Some rails are glued in place so they can't really be removed without creating an eye soar.
- Board is capped at 11 balls per second and no electronic eye is included.
- Upgrades and replacement parts are unavailable at the moment.
- The pistol grip covers are held on by hex head bolts making battery access difficult.
- Despite the plastic body it weighs only slightly less than a stock A5 (less than a pound difference).

Dispelling rumors:

- The marker is not Tippmann stock compatible. Update: Compatable stocks and adapters are now availabel. (I'm still a little sceptical about the attachment points though)
- There have been rumors of an aftermarket electronic eye upgrade. I don't see any openings in the feed neck or internal body to indicate that this rumor is true. Update: This is rumored to require an upgraded body
-Updated: It sounds like at least two board upgrades will be available soon!

Tips:
- Make sure the regulator is turned all the way down before airing up for the first time and increase to desired pressure. I blew out my internal air lines shortly after airing up for the first time. (See dwell setting info in the following reviews)
- If removing the board from the body be very careful not to strip the hex heads. The two bolts that attach the board to the main body are made from a soft metal and can easily be rounded out.
- If you round out or strip any of the hex head bolts, use a rotary tool to cut a groove in the head so a standard screw driver can be used.

Conversion Considerations:

Using the S1 as a conversion marker does provide some interesting advantages and disadvantages over the ION.

Considerations for using the ION:
- The ION board extends into the pistol grip and can be difficult to relocate.
- The internal base of the ION is smaller than the S1.
- The ION is easier to completely disassemble.
- The ION has a wide variety of upgrades, replacement parts, and feed necks available.
- The ION feed neck screws into the internal ION body and no additional work is needed for the hopper attachment.
- The ION has the ASA for the regulator built into the lower receiver. Relocating the regulator requires some sort of ASA.

Considerations for using the S1:
- The S1 regulator ASA it bolted to the bottom of the barrel cover and could easily be relocated.
- The S1 internal body can be cut down to a much smaller size if needed, basically remove part of the barrel cover.
- The S1 board is more internalize making it a better fit for M-14 or sniper rifle conversions where a pistol grip isn't present.
- The biggest challenge with using the S1 as a conversion marker will be the feed neck. This is an integrated part of the outer body. If you want to transplant the internal body of the S1 to another body a feed neck solution will need to be devised. The internal body only has an unthreaded opening for the feed port.

Conversion Recommendations:

For an internal body transplant conversion I'd recommend the ION over the S1 primarily due to the feed port though the boards configuration does make the S1 a likely candidate for rifle conversions.
Conclusion: Overall I definitely recommend the S1. The price alone is a great selling point. If you need a good marker and a super high rate of fire isn't required this is a great buy! I think this will be a solid primary or backup and definitely a good beginner marker. I'd recommend this over a 98C, MR1, and any other similar priced markers.

Update: The price of the ION is dropping fast. You can get a new ION for $165 online. Something to keep in mind since ther price difference is so small.

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 10th, 2008 at 9:24 am PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media