paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tacamo Tacamo Hopper / Tacamo Tacamo Hopper / Tacamo Tacamo Hopper

Tacamo Tacamo Hopper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tacamo

Buy Tacamo Tacamo Hopper

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tacamo Tacamo Hopper
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $10

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This hopper can feed up to 11.6 BPS . No batteries to go dead, No electronics to go bad, No motor to burn out & No noise! This hopper works with dual feed ramps inside the hopper allowing the paintballs to feed into your marker without any down-pressure from the paintballs above, this also doubles the "catch area. Unique "Triple Secure Lock" lid Archon has incorporated into this hopper design. This is a new hopper lid design that latches on 3 sides for a much better seal.
Product Availability 
The Tacamo Tacamo Hopper is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
jbrwn13 Wednesday, November 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Hopper
Cyclone Feed
Marker Setup: Autococker Trology Tactical
Remote Line
PE 88/4500
J&J Elite Kit
Archone Hopper
Strengths: Well built and feeds well
Weaknesses: Can Jam if you fill completely
Review: I bought this product on a whim hoping it was at least decent. When I received it I didn't think it looked like much but after testing on the field I found that it was an excellent hopper. I will recomend it more for blow back markers since that helps keep it from jamming as well. My trilogy isn't timed to suction timing so this actually helps with this hopper.

The one weakness is filling the hopper completely. It will sometimes cause it to jam up. Its an easy fix as you just take a few balls out. The other small weakness is similar to all hoppers. I had a bad batch of paint and one broke in the gun but splattered into the hopper as well. It was ot the hoppers fault, but it was difficult to get apart without a little trouble because of the spring in the lid.
Conclusion: Want a good hopper as a primary without batteries or a backup for when the batteries die? Buy this one then.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unitus77 Thursday, October 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Normal gravity hopper, Spyder Fasta 18v
Marker Setup: Spyder RSX, Fasta 18v loader, 16' J&J full tilt barrel, crossfire nitro tank
Strengths: -Light
-No batteries
- Quiet
Weaknesses: -Still have to shake
- Not very consistent
Review: Ive been using this hopper for awhile. Its pretty good for woods ball because i don't like bringing my agitated hopper into the woods. Ive had pretty good success with this hopper but it doesn't work all that much better than a normal gravity hopper. still gotta shake it to get it going every know and then. But when i do its very fast. Its pretty much the same price as a normal gravity hopper so i would definitely go for this one instead.
Conclusion: Better than a normal gravity hopper but it your expecting it to replace your agitated hopper don't. If you want a good hopper spend the extra money to buy a agitated one.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wellstig1 Thursday, August 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
PMI
Evo 2
VLocity Jr
Marker Setup: Black Magic Autococker
Eclipse E1
Dye ultralite barrel
CP ASA
Nexus ram
2x eclipse qev's
Guerilla air 68/4500
Strengths: Different
Price ($5)
Durable
No Noise
No batteries
Weaknesses: Not a forcefeed
Review: Have played 15-20 matches with this loader. This loader works great on my black magic very well for a gravity loader. Cant be beat for the price. Does jam once in a while but i don't mark it down for that being that it is a gravity loader, you cant compare apples to oranges. Was able to hit 10-11 bps on my marker. Wont make tons of noise once your empty letting people know where you are as with an electro. Its fun to watch peoples faces at the range when they see how fast you are firing with a standard hopper. I cant help but grin.
Conclusion: If you don't feel like spending $70+ for a decent reliable electric hopper, this is for you. Best gravity loader hands down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jadall Monday, July 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity fed Tippmann hopper doesn't feed as well as the tacamo arc loader
Marker Setup: Customer Platinum pro 98 ACT with the 11" wurks style barrel has a double trigger and drop forward 48 ci 3000 psi air tank. No mods to gun Stock from factory.
Strengths: unique feeding I believe keeps pressure off the balls in the neck preventing feed jams
Weaknesses: Movement from recoil or moving gun is needed for flawless feeding
Review: I bought this for the same price a normal gravity hopper costs like 4 dollars. Yes it is pretty much a normal gravity fed hopper built out of 2 pieces of plastic screwed together with a snap down hinge lid. There is a ramp front and back where the balls sit they feed into the neck and into the gun this way which gives the hopper a unique space aged look. I believe it keeps the pressure from gravity off of the paintballs. . (the balls have to feed from one of the 2 ramps they can't feed strait down like the tippman gravity hopper) I have used it in battle with a lot less feeding problems than the stock hopper and is definatly an upgrade for someone who doesn't want an electronic hopper for a normal "slow" firing semi auto gun. it will still have feeding issues when it has like 5 balls left in it or if you don't move around for a period of time like a normal gravity hopper it just isn't as bad. I did fire it into the chrono not trying really hard and could get 6bps out of it. This was used in summer conditions 70-85 degrees with pretty high humidity . I have shot jt camo tactical paintballs stinger balls and another brand of really cheap paintballs from walmart. only problem i had with it was I had to put a bit of masking tape over where it connects to the gun it did not fit my elbow snugly. I was happy with that a nice tight fit and the hopper didn't move at all so when the gun recoils it shakes the hopper better I think a definate suggestion to try with any gravity hopper that is loose a bit.
EDIT!
I have been using my paintball gun more and upgraded to the rt trigger on my 98 still no major problems as in other reviews if it isn't feeding turn the gun upside down and give it a shake that will fix the jam. I managed to shoot my gun thru a chronograph and get 12 bps and can take the gun and fire good 35 to 50 round burst from the gun with no jams(at I'm guessing up to 12 bps but more than 8 bps.) I definatly still give this a good rating as it is working pretty good not perfectly with my RT trigger and the higher rate of fire. And also the ramp holds on both sides quite a few balls ready to drop down the feed tube it seems just that helps it feed faster.
Conclusion: For someone that just wants a better feeding hopper than a normal stock gravity fed hopper. I would not recommend it for someone with a speedball type gun setup and I have no experience with those kind of guns for my gun and my setup it works way better. me not giving it a huge expectation to feed 12 balls per second and not expecting it to never ever have feed problems I give this hopper a high rating. less than $10 well spent.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 27th, 2008 at 9:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

burns130 Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Gravity Fed
Marker Setup: Wow...here goes
2 X A-5's (set up the same way except for barrels)
R/T (1/8 inch tubing)
Cippard MEV-2 (QEV)
JCS Jet Click
X-7 paddles
X-7 hopper
Palmers Stabilizer
Cabela's brand 30mm red dot scope
Allen brand aluminum front grip covered with black diamondback grip (fits perfect, feels awesome, looks downright mean)
remote with quick disconnect
Crossfire 70/4500 HPA with black empire stubby cover
Flatline with thumb screw kit (gun #1)
J&J Edge Elite Kit with 10/12/14 fronts (gun #2)

2 X ions
NDZ skeleton bolts
Clippard MEV-2 (QEV)
clamping feedneck
NDZ small rail
Empire Reloader B
CP on/off ASA
CP short regulator on one/stock on the other
APE board on one/stock on the other

Shocktech SSC bolt out back body (blue)
REDZ Ion Body (red)
Crossfire 70/4500 HPA with black empire stubby cover
J&J Edge Elite kit (10/12/14 fronts)

Autococker trilogy sport

Chrony A1 chronograph



Strengths: Looks Good
Weaknesses: Jams (a lot)
Review: I purchased two of these hoppers for my two Ions because our local field went to gravity fed/semi only for recreational play. I tested both hoppers and the results were exactly the same. These hoppers are capable of feeding 5 balls per second with little trouble but jamming is a chronic problem. Claims of 11-12 BPS are absolute horse crap. I own two A-5's with cyclones, one Reloader B and one Tippmann SSL-200 (the one with the sensor) and these do fire this quickly. My Ions have less than 2MM of trigger travel with my set ups and I can walk 10-12 BPS in Semi with no problem (with either the Reloader B or the SSL) . I wanted the Archon because I was hoping for 8+ BPS with a gravity fed hopper. THESE HOPPERS FEED ONLY AS FAST AS NORMAL GRAVITY FED HOPPERS. The problem is, they JAM A LOT MORE. When I test fired both markers and hoppers, I was able to get short bursts of 4-5 balls and then the hopper would jam requiring shaking. Even more irritating, the hopper would occassionally jam even when shooting a nice, slow sustained 3 BPS. I can only conclude that some of the other claims on the board are due to lack of experience with other hoppers. Even the Tippmann hopper that came with my first marker (a 98 ACT w/RT which I have since sold) could fire as fast as the Archon but it seldom jammed. Of course my electric hoppers shred on this thing. Don't buy the hype or the hopper...it is CAAA-RAP.
Conclusion: Jams more than your grandmother making preserves. It does, however, look good. Save your money and buy a normal Viewloader or Tippmann gravity fed hopper for half the money.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl 200
revvy
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
New right Side receiver (rt upgrade)
TACAMO Sight Rail
TACAMO Car Stock
TACAMO M16 Shroud
TACAMO Magwell
TACAMO 20rd Steel Mag
TechT Vortex Cyclone Mod
TechT Lightning Rod Cyclone mod
TechT Squishy Paddles
X-7 ported Cylinder
new style sear
Apex Barrel tip on J&J barrel (inside tacamo m16 shroud)
Black Braided hose with Quick Disconnect from Toombstone (remote style)
Unknown Drop Forward and ASA
CP bottomline mounting block for Drop
Palmers Stabilizer to remote (quick disconnect)
Polished Internals
Strengths: No jamming with blowback marker, very fast, never need to shake, less hopper breaks!
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this hopper in 2006 because it sounded interesting and i like to avoid anything electronic whenever possible in paintball. I was getting tired of my custom pro needing to be shook to get the balls down the hopper.

Once I got this hopper i never had to shake at all, not once, I have heard of people getting jams and break with cheep seconds but then what do you expect with seconds covered in paint from a broken ball in the bag, if they stick together i dont care what hopper you use. anyways I never tested this over a chrono with an electronic marker so the best I coudl verify was 7BPS with no shaking needed and no misfires, but it handled it very easily so I dont double 11 bps for a second. since the design takes all the weight of the paintballs off the tube I can see how paintballs would load very quick, its a great design and i love teh self agitation. the reason it wont work on mechanical cockers for example is because there is no blowback moving up the hopper neck to self agitate, so you will need to shake every now and then, it will still however work MUCH better on a cocker then a vl 200 or anything else on the market thats not electronic.

Also the hopper lid is on very tight (improved a bit since they were archon and zap branded) you wil never spill your paint out the hopper as long as you have the lid secured on all 3 sides!

I was so happy with the hopper I outfittied all my rental gear at my field with these hoppers, I dont have to clean hoppers nearly as often since teh change, people have less breaks and chops so marker mantinence has also dropped conciderably, now my most time consuming mantinence is cleaning off spray, almost never internal problems. (I use bt-4 on my field as rentals)
Conclusion: Awesome hopper! works fantastic, id take it over any grav hopper any day of the week, there is nothing a vl 200 can do that this cant do better!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hongkongcavalie Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3
16" J & J Ceramic Barrel
Pure Energy Remote
Pure Energy 20oz. CO2
SpecOps Brand 3-point Mamba Harness
Strengths: Appearance
Weaknesses: Lid is not secure
Shoddy construction
Jams a lot
Review: In theory, this should be an awesome gravity fed hopper, but when put to practical use it's a better looking version of the VL200.

I bought two of these, thinking the design was perfect for woodsball (quiet and 12 bps) but sadly, this was not the case. The construction is shoddy-- there is a 1/4" gap down the middle of the interior where the two halves fail to match up, which could possibly break a ball (I've had 3 hopper breaks). Closing the lid takes two hands to secure the latch-- it's so hard to get this thing to close you have to hold the hopper to force the lid to latch.

This hopper jams more than the VL200. On average, it jams at least 2-3 times per 200 balls, which seems to be more than the VL200. When it jams, you can't just shake the hopper, you have to completely turn it upside down-- and sometimes that doesn't even work.

When you get down to 20 balls or less, good luck getting any of them in you marker. Gravity doesn't seem to want to work with the dual ramps.

The only thing this hopper has going for it is the fact it doesn't look like a wienerschintzel. I have to admit the bold, angular lines are the only thing keeping me from going back to the VL200.
Conclusion: The concept was good, but the execution isn't there.

Don't waste your money. If you have a VL200 right now, it is actually a simply superior hopper.

A "4" for being a better looking hopper than the VL200.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008 at 9:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quick_2 Monday, December 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL200 : Not As Fast, Dosn't Look As Good, Less Consistent
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
14" Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Hybrid Gen 7 Grips
Alamo City "Low Blow" Bolt
Empire Fast Pack 5
3 Smoke Dye Lock Lids
JT Flex 8 Full Coverage
20 oz Co2
24 oz Co2
Strengths: No Batteries
Speed
Looks
Dual Ball Channels
Weaknesses: A Little Bigger Than A Regular
Review: This hopper is amazing for a gravity fed hopper... at first i was just testing it with crappy big paintballs and i'm like this is almost slower than a VL200... but once you put it on your gun it is amazing, i can shoot as fast as i can and this thing keeps up... it looks pretty good on a gun... its a change-up from all the regular VL200's, if anybody is still using a regular gravity fed i would definatly reccommend this to them... the lid closes tightly... almost ot tightly... i made mine magnetic so it's alot quieter and easier to use when opening and closing... dont get down if you drop test it.. because the real performence only works on the gun...
Conclusion: If Your still using a VL200 then get this... if you cant afford electro then get this... i owuld say thta if your using a mechanic gun then this will keep up...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dudeofpaint Saturday, December 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200- Other similar gravity fed hoppers
Marker Setup: Totally upgrading Spyder Sonix Pro
- Electronic trigger
- 16 inch spyder sniper quiet barrel
- custom drop forward to fit my shoulder
- Maddog low-rise feedneck
- ACS Delrin Bolt

What I am getting for it:
- LP Setup
- remote coil
- new hopper, don't know what yet
- internals (bolt, springs, etc.)
Strengths: Speed for a gravity hopper
It's looks
Sturdily built
Weaknesses: Jams a lot, see review.
Review: I got this from eBay for a total of $12, so no matter what It did, I wouldn't waste that much money.

I was attracted to the ad, which was claiming 11.6 BPS. For a gravity hopper, that would be phenomenal, but, it doesn't quite get that fast.

First of all, the hopper does feed adequately, about 9-10 BPS. For a gravity hopper to do that is really good, but not what I expected. For my use (hardcore woods playing), this was ideal because it gave me some speed, with no batteries or noise, a big plus. However, the hopper does jam frequently. It is still better than all other gravity hoppers, but has its share of jams. But if you run, slide, or do whatever, that jam will clear very soon. That wasn't a very big problem for me. Also, the hopper's construction was good. It is made pretty well, very hard black plastic with a 1-point-seal lid, as opposed to the advertised 3. In my hopper, and this may just be a isolated defect, there is a large gap inside the hopper, splitting the two feed ramps down the middle (about 1/4 inch). It didn't affect the performance, but I am wondering if all of the hoppers are like that.
Conclusion: Overall, you can't go wrong with this hopper. If you are just a woodsball player, this would be ideal. However, I would not try it with any markers that shoot over 15 BPS, obviously.

A very good hopper for the price.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 30th, 2008 at 3:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redneck_76 Saturday, November 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
Extreme Rage
Ricochet AK Rhino
Marker Setup: Tippmann pro carbine
32 degrees expansion chamber
20inch J&J ceramic barrel
Archon Tacamo hopper

This is my marker. There are many like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my marker is nothing. Without my marker, I am nothing.
Strengths: No batteries
Durable
Secure lid
Cheap
Fastest gravity fed hopper I've ever seen
Weaknesses: Hard to find, only available on a few websites. Have never seen in store
Review: First of all, I only play woodsball so I don't really care about high rate of fire in a gun or hopper. Plus where I play when batteries go dead it is a 45min drive to the nearest mini-mart to get new ones. I'm not made of money so I try to shoot as little paint as possible, after all if you buy decent paint it costs about $.03 per shoot depending on how much you drop on the ground while filling your hopper. My pro-carbine has a supper low rate of fire but even standard gravity fed hoppers would jam up leading to chops and misfires. My brother even said I should get something other then the VL200 I was using cause he could hear the misfires and me shaking my gun from across the field. I came across this hopper on Ebay. It boasted all about how great it was 11.6 rounds per second, but what caught my attention was it said no more misfeeds. It is designed to use the blow back gases that are expelled thru the feed neck to agitate the paint as an electric hopper would. I did not want to pay $10.00 for shipping from Ebay so I found the same hopper from I&Isports.com with much cheaper shipping. I bought two just for testing and was blown away by the performance. Not a single misfire or chop all day and I shot about 2000 rounds. The channel design not only holds about 10 shots coming from two different directions but it also keeps the weight of all the other paintballs off the feed funnel. Even if one side jams the other side is feeding and you have ten shots worth of blow back gases to agitate the paint and clear the jam before a misfire. If you want to test how it might work on you gun, take your hopper off a put a couple rounds in feed neck, once you pull the trigger the paint should fly out of the feed neck. If it does not fly out, this hopper might not work as well for you. I was so impressed I sold all of my other hoppers, gravity feed and electric then bought six of these that I use not only on my pro-carbine but also the other five guns I have. I cannot verify 11.6 r.p.s. but my e-rex shoots about eight on full auto and this hopper can easily keep up.
Conclusion: Can’t beat the performance for the money and simplicity. Spend the four bucks and try it yourself. Even if this wont be your primary hopper it makes a great backup.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 22nd, 2008 at 8:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media