paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Geterdone07 Friday, July 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Pilot
Autococker

None compare
Marker Setup: I use the 09 Proto SLG, all stock so far with a vlocity jr hopper and 68/45 tank. Also i have a 14" barrel on it. If you dont have much money, this is a good gun that can stay stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, 09 has alot better upgrades then 08, such as clamping feedneck
Strengths: Eyes work well
Friendly user interface
Simple cleaning
Weaknesses: None
Review: Ive had this gun a week and its been nothing but successful. Its fast, effective, and though its not the UL its still very light. The stock performance of this gun can compare to and ghetto'ed out gun. Air efficient and very easily cleanable and easy to dis-assemble. Fun to use and fun to play with the settings. Dye does good work
Conclusion: I would not recommend to my friends because i want them all to myself. No really. All should have this gun!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dolando99 Wednesday, July 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, i have only used mechanical markers
Marker Setup: standard marker
view loader evlution 3
dye throttle 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" barrel
clamping feedneck
Strengths: Accuracy
Air efficient
Fast
Price
Lightweight.
Weaknesses: Very small feed neck
only 11" barrel
other than that, nothing that affects the performance.
Review: I have been using this gun for a few months now, and i must say it exceeds expectations.
for 120 pounds you definitely get what you pay for. it's accuracy is good however it would be a lot better with a longer barrel. the feed neck is very small (i had to file my hoppers feed neck down). the stock board features 4 tournament modes, semi-auto, PSP, millennium and NXL. it does not have an on/off ASA fitted as standard, but i don't find this a major downside. unfortunately this marker has been discontinued as the 09 models have been made.
Conclusion: If you can find one brand new or second hand, get one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

naterab Wednesday, May 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom-obviously not even close
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
14" Lapco Snapshot
New Designz Slik Trigger
New Designz Pro Clamp Feedneck
68 4500 DXS HPA
Eggy III
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Clamping feedneck
14 inch barrel
Strengths: Board
Regulator
Speed
Size
Accuracy
Efficiency
Quiet
No kick
ASA
Weaknesses: Trigger
Feedneck
Grips expose electronics
Review: Opening:

I ordered the Proto SLG off of actionvillage and patiently waited for UPS. A couple days later it arrived. This was my first electronic marker and an upgrade to a Tippmann 98 custom. I couldn't believe the package I received could hold a paintball marker it was so small. It came in nice packaging fit snug in molded foam. This marker was so small I couldnt believe it! Under the top layer of foam revealed a crappy Proto battery, a terrible barrel sock, some allen keys, a package a dye slick lube, and some spare parts.

Experience:

Unfortunately I got this marker in the middle of September in the Upper Peninsula, so I needed to wait until AFTER winter to actually use it :( Well after the snow had cleared up I got some HPA and tried it out on some 6 month old paintballs. I was very impressed with the speed and grouping. Kick was almost nonexistant. With the new trigger I installed (heard it was bad so ordered it with the marker) I could walk the trigger very well with it. A couple days ago I played my first games with it. In the woods I was very happy with the looooow sound signature. I love this for woodsball and scenario games because of the size. I also played some speedball with it, and it held up really well. Fast and tight. This marker is really good for both woods and speedball. One game of speedball I played a cage-match against one of my friends. He was suppressing my bunker so I took one quick snapshot went back, was going to take another, but his hand was in the air and he couldn't see anything because orange was splattered all over his mask =D VEEEEEERY accurate. I can't say too much for efficiency, it seemed pretty good and will probably improve when I break in the regulator.

Now for the review
Strengths:

Board: The board for this marker is absolutely phenomenal for $200. It has semi as fast as you can shoot, psp three shot ramping (BIIIIIG +) millenium ramping and NXL full auto. You can adjust the rate of fire from I believe 8-30 balls per second, but realistically you can expect max to get 25 or so.

Regulator: The regulator seems to have gotten me some VEEERY nice consistency so far. +- about 6 fps. Not bad for not being broken in. The reg is also a very comfortable grip. It has a very natural feel in either my right or my left hand.

Speed: As said in the board, the speed is definitely fast enough for ANY person's needs. Nobody needs to shoot 25 bps.

Size: This thing is absolutely by far the lightest marker I have ever held, but maybe that just shows that I haven't seen many markers. It's slightly under two pounds with the stock barrel and battery, right around two pounds with my lapco snapshot barrel and battery. Great for scenario games, because who wants to lug around an eight pound marker for 24 hours? Great for speedball because the thing is light and tight around bunkers.

Accuracy: I believe this to be a veeeery accurate marker. Regulated HPA beats unregulated CO2 every single time.

Efficiency: Already said, I can't say a lot with how many shots exactly this gets me, but it got me through a little less than 3 bags of paint with one fill. Pretty solid.

Quiet: In a wooded environment, it is veeeery hard to hear this from anywhere farther than 20 yards away. In the woods if you wanna go ambush sniper, this might be a good marker for you.

No kick: Literally, there is just about no kick. Ripping at 13 bps, I could feel no discernible movement of the marker in any way. Very impressive for a sear-tripper.

ASA: A lot of people don't like this ASA, but I do. You can adjust this ASA to where it feels most comfortable to you. Personally, I don't see a need for an on/off.

Weaknesses: This marker is not perfect, obviously, at $200.

Trigger: The stock trigger is absolute crap. If you are looking into purchasing this, do what I did and buy a new roller bearing trigger with the purchase. It is very hard to walk with it.

Feedneck: The feedneck is a stove-pipe style feedneck, and is too small to even fit for my eggy 3, that's saying a lot. Again, just buy a clamping feedneck with the purchase of the marker.

Grips: I like the grips, they are extremely comfortable, but I wish they didn't expose the electronics in the back. I haven't had any issues with them so far, but I can forsee possible problems in the future.
Conclusion: All-in-all, this is a superb marker for the price. It's not perfect, but for $200 it will serve the user well. I love it for both woodsball and speedball because of it's lightness. I would recommend this to anybody interested in upgrading from a tippmann, or as a dominant backup to the more serious players out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

johnthemon29 Wednesday, May 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98-does not compare
Marker Setup: proto slg
ner trigger
new feed neck
Halo v35
Guerilla air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
trigger if you dont like it
new board after awhile
Strengths: Almost everything
light
Weaknesses: dip switch #2
Screws on grip.
**see Review**
Review: Well i just got my gun in. right when i got it i went to my backyard and started ripping. At first i could tell it was lacking in a little bit of speed. but i fixed that by turing the rate of fire up. So that fixed that. When i went to change that my dip switch number 2. was very sticky i dont know what is wrong with it but it will barely move i dont know if this is a usuall problem or not(if you know please leave a comment). Then when i went to put back on my grips the screws kept on going in sideways. i fixed that by just pushing them straight up and down and then they would go in allright.
But this gun has many strenghts to. I was able to start shooting very quickley. it is easy to maintain and keep clean. The board is what you get for a $200 dollar gun its qucik enough to get you by but after awhile you might want to get a new one.
Conclusion: Overall this is a terrific $200 dollar gun i would recommend it to anyone that wanted a cheap good gun. anywhere from new people jsut starting out. to pro's wanting a backup gun.

***the ultralight version is only lighter that is it if you dont want to spend the extra $100 GET THIS A MUST HAVE!!!!!***


i give it a 9 because nothing is perfect but this is pretty damn close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

12gage Tuesday, April 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto PMR7
DPF-7
Marker Setup: 08 Proto SLG
nds slik trigger
bob long ASA
hybrid low feed clamp
68/3000 Carbon fibre tank
Halo B

Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck
Strengths: Light!
Small
Fast
Cheap
Accurate
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I bought this gun about 3 months ago, opened the box and everything was there.
Tested it out in my back yard, shoots like a dream for 220$
Next weekend took it up to a field, put my gear on and played; it's a really accurate gun will not chop any balls. So far i have fired about 20000 rounds and only 1 chopped, but still thats amazing.
I get about 900 shots off my 68/3000 CF tank and still have 500psi left.
This marker is the one you want if you are a young player and dont have lots of money to blow on guns.
For 200-250$ this is great, shoots fast, its accurate, does not chop, and the gun you want!
Conclusion: This gun is good for anyone who wants a mid-range marker for a cheap price, got mine for 220$, and i love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 14th, 2009 at 9:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Disaster Theory Saturday, March 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix
Game Face vexor
Spyder Electra
Spyder Sonix
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Barrel: J&J barrel Auto Cocker
Trigger: new Designs trigger ( slik )
Hopper: Spyder Fasta 18v
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feed Neck
New Trigger
New Barrel
Strengths: Very light
Easy to clean
Accurate
Rate of fire
Very Cheap for what you get!
Weaknesses: Feed Neck (to smaill) look at review
Trigger
Review: Good gun for its price! Its a must buy.
Upgades I suggest is:
Trigger: Any New Designs that fits are good
Feed Neck: CCM Matrix Heli Clamp No Pro Feed Neck

What Works on the Proto SLG
Barrles: any auto Cockers
Hoppers: Spyder Fasta is so far the only hopper I 100% know that fits! But you will need to take out the O-rings out of the Feedneck

Cool specs:
Can be setup to shoot 30pbs
Can set trigger sensitivity very low
Got four tournement settings: semi Automatic mode, Millennium mode, PSP mode, NXL
Conclusion: If you want a good gun for a low price this is the gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 8th, 2009 at 11:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyle shew Thursday, February 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive had an ion xe a spyder vs2
Marker Setup: i have a freak Jr. on it and a virtue board and looking for a new trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feed neck
new trigger
Strengths: Speed of the gun
The weight
Weaknesses: When you get shooting up to 20-30 balls a second it starts to blowback.
Review: the gun is just amazing. this is my fourth gun and if i just customize a few more things then it might be a decent back up gun to a dm7 or dm8. this gun i traded in for my ion xe because i realized that they where only selling it for 130$ so i went ahead and got it and since then i havent had one regret. this gun is really worth the price and i would compare it to a smart parts NXT shocker or a mini. its just that good. dont listen to all that crap people talk when they say they got a angel or an bob long. its the player that makes the game not the gun.
Conclusion: You got the money buy it you dont then dont play paintball..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noob slayer43 Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
only tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: proto slg
stock
halo b hopper
(clamping feedneck on the way)
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck
Strengths: Fast, accurate, easy to take apart, runs on high and low pressure air.
Weaknesses: Feedneck, stock battery was dead , a little picky with air
Review: i got this gun for christmas this year and this gun was awesome we had a war a few days ago and i was makin kills left and right the only problem with it is really the feedneck my halo B wouldnt fit in very good so i had to duct tape it to the feedneck other than that it was very good the instruction manuel is good (better than some ive seen) very nice reliable and fast good for all u trigger happy people out there.
Conclusion: Very nice gun, I would recomend it to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tyranny11 Saturday, January 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS2, Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Proto SLG, dye rotor hopper, empire 56/4500, 14" 2-piece proto barrel, Dye on/off, silver body kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New EYES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, new feedneck(for 08 models the UL is pretty nice)
Strengths: Price, easy to upgrade and personalise.
Weaknesses: Stock eyes, feedneck suck
Review: First i have to state that this gun is only $200 so any miner upgrades are worth it. When i got it out of the box it looked amasing, i got a new barrel and feedneck then tested it on my cource and it worked flawlessly. when i play for the first time with it i chopped but thought it was the paint i was using so cleaned it and kept going. When I got to the local field and started shooting ropes it was like all hell broke loose in my gun and i started chopping 2 out of 10. i went to the proshop and got new eyes put in (only $20) and it worked flawlessly and it was able to compete with Epiphannies,e-teck and bob longs.
Conclusion: In the longrun I recomend this gun as a first or second gun but not as a replacement because out of the box my VS2 worked better than the SLG.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 10th, 2009 at 8:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyleman824 Thursday, January 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman
spyder pilot
spyder electra
not nearly as good
Marker Setup: 08 proto slg
Pure energy 72 ci tank
eggy 3 hopper
redz pepper stick barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Stock barrell is decent but prob should upgrade barrell
Strengths: Light!!!
Fast
Accurate
Consistant
Weaknesses: Allen bolts are small and asa and regulator arent the best
Review: the proto slg is good for both a begginer and intermediate play. This gun is great. I love it good gun for the price. Money well spent. Just get a new feedneck and in the futre a barrell is a good upgrade for this gun. Also this gun can get very light if used with a vlocity hopper and a good crossfire or pure energy tank.
Conclusion: Buy this gunn
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media