paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
757eclipse Saturday, December 27th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Orion- doesn't even compare
Spyder Imagine- decent beginner gun
Smart Parts Impulse- old school heavy gun but mine was decently fast
Smart Parts Ion- great if you want to pay a lot for upgrades
WGP Autococker Prostock- great semi for first time high-end owners
Marker Setup: Black Proto SLG with a 32* drop, cp on/off asa, Dye Ultralite or Boomstick (don't know which one it is), customized trigger, halo b w/ rip drive.
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck, barrel, and take the spring out of the trigger
Strengths: light, durable, FAST (30 bps), low profile
Weaknesses: Reg leaks where it connects to gun
Review: So far i only tested this gun. I havnt even run air through it yet so this description will be a little biased. This gun is the lightest i have ever held. I read reviews on this gun and it seems like it will shoot good to. After i test it on my home field soon i will post results and maybe a video on youtube of it in action.

i ran air through it and it is insane! i was easily outshooting ions and mowing down a-5's and cockers. the only problem i had was at the end of a hopper it starts chopping. i can go about 180 shots out of 200 before it starts chopping and even then it's only like 1 or 2 that get chopped.
the hyper 3 reg leaks where it connects to gun (right sized oring can fix that if you put it at the bottom ot the threads)
when the tank starts getting low on air the bolt starts to get a little wobbly and looses a little consistancy but it still shoots very good and dead accurate.
Conclusion: GREAT GUN. awsome performance for the price.i would recommend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 17th, 2009 at 3:49 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ilovemypm8 Wednesday, December 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini, pm6, pmr.
Marker Setup: proto SLG
Pm8
vlocity jr
dxs 48/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, asa, trigger, barrel.
Strengths: sleek, REALLY small, REALLY light, fast.
Weaknesses: feedneck
ASA
trigger
Review: When i first got this gun i was SUPER excited, i even opened it on the drive home from the paintball store i go to. I first noticed this thing is very very light and very very sleek and has a cool look to it. So i went home gased it up and shot it in my backyard. It had NO kick but was pretty loud but who really cares this is paintball you dont play in a library. It was slow but that was just the trigger, if u get a new one it shoots awesome i had to buy a new feedneck the second day i had it because the feedneck is garbage, literally.
Conclusion: overall this is a good gun and it has alot of bang for ur buck ,i mean ALOT. So if ur a low budget paintball player look no farther youve found ur gun, hope this was helpful.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

knif Tuesday, December 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 Spyder Imagine
-apex barrel Spyder Xtra
-E-Grip
-MP5SD5 Mag to Bottle
-MP5SD5 Shourd
-Lighting Rod
-Vortex Mod
-QEP
Marker Setup: Cobalt SLG with DraXxus Pulse loader with RF Chip
PMI Nitro Tank 88ci/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Neck Feed
ASA
Trigger
Board ??
Ball Detents
Strengths: Light
Hyper 3 Reg
Easy Maintenance
Consistent
Air Efficient
Weaknesses: Can't change the debounce or the dwell
Board has dip switches
Review: When I first shot this gun I was very impressed how air efficient and how the stock barrel was with accuracy. Also easy maintenance the bolt and the plunger come right out of the back of the gun. With the stock board to change the settings was extremely easy,it was just like setting an tippmanns E-Grip. Since i have been playing with this gun i have not had the trigger spring stick.

Boards Settings
1. Semi-auto
2. PSP
3. Millennium
4. NXL



Conclusion: Its a very nice gun to have because of the price I payed $199.99 for it and I love this gun. This is a good gun that can come competitive with some upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 18th, 2008 at 5:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maverick777 Tuesday, December 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
used an ion for a few games and used a vibe which shoots the same
if you can compare a spyder vs1
Marker Setup: proto slg
vlocity
47/3000 nitroduck steel tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
right away a feed neck
if you play in tournaments a barrel kit
maybe an on / off asa
Strengths: Light maybe a little under 2 pounds
good stock board/ fast
Weaknesses: Feed neck
barrel if you can ont find paint to bore match
not many upgrades
Review: i was very pleased when i got this gun. it cme with a very nice manual. it was very easy to figure out all the modes and how the gun is put together. this gun is very light weight and with a light hopper and tank you can have a set under 5 pounds. this gun has an amazing regulator and a pretty nice asa. the trigger is ok for ramping kinda sucks for semi but i dont need to shoot alot of paint anyway. the gun is fairly quietbut not as quiet as other protos and dyes. the barrel is fine with me because i found a paintball that matches the bore size.( X Ball scenario series)the SLG is very easy to maintain degas the gun take the bolt out the back oil it put the bolt back in then you have to ocassionally clean the eyes.This gun is by far better then any gun i have used. (keep in mind i have not used many high end electros. This thing is way better than my vs1. I have used an ion before and this is how they compare. both shoot very well. they both have crappy stock feednecks. the barrels are about the same. the proto has a way better stock reg (hyper 3) proto has way better customer service. the proto has a far superior stock board and the proto is easier to maintain than the older ion (not the xe) one thing the ion beats the proto in is it is more upgradable (but if you upgrade the ion enough you will have a whole new gun)
Conclusion: if you are choosing between the ion and the SLG. i would pick the slg
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 10th, 2008 at 12:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madpaintballlov Monday, November 17th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Bob Long Vice
Ion
Marker Setup: CP Sling Trigger
Halo B w/ rip drive
Pure Energy HPA Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Feedneck
ASA
Bolt
Strengths: Nothing
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: All this gun has gave me is problems, since I put the CP trigger on it, it has had a mechanical bounce and its giving me problems with the solenoid and stuff like that. The board is pretty good its got PSP, semi, Millenium and another setting that is all about touneys. This whole gun is a joke.
Conclusion: This gun stunk I'm going to give it a 3 because it doesn't deserve a 2.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

r0zj0k3r Sunday, November 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ion, vibe
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck, trigger
Strengths: Ease of use
Accuracy
Simplicity
Weaknesses: Felt a little cheap at first
Feed neck is terrible
Gas hog
Review: I haven't had a lot of experience with this gun, I just got it a fews days ago, but it seems like a good buy for the money. I paid 200 direct fom proto, It is loud and as I said it felt a little cheap at first, but after I took it out and shot it i was more impressed. simple and reliable thus far.

It uses a lot of gas though, the last gun I used I could get away with about 700+ rounds with a 48/3000 tank but this gun requires 68/4500 for any extended use. I get about 400 ball with my current tank. not a big deal just need a little extra money for start up.

I just play rec ball, so that's why I went with this gun and it seems the right path. I can't really say why i didn't go with smart parts, it was really just a coin toss for me, I have heard and seen good things about both. maybe i was wrong... I almost bought the epiphinay for about 50 more.

So far so good though, the feed neck sucks, i had to jimmy rig the hopper I bought to fit in there correctly. Everything else i cant complain about though, decent accuracy, good price, and easy to clean and use, no chops yet, but I haven't put it to the test either.
Conclusion: I like it, not the greatest styling, and I can't say anything about its' competitors, but i would recommend it to any rec baller, total start up for me was about 350.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dioblo mongoose (it was a jock)
Smartparts (not nearly as nice)
Marker Setup: Stock Proto SLG
Veiwloader Evolutions 2
CP clamping feed neck
Smart Parts Freak Jr.
Carlton/Crossfire 88/3000 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A NEW FEED NECK AND A LONGER BAREL after that you are redy to rock and roll
Strengths: Light
$200
Bolt out back
Quiet
button keeps things safe
high quality parts
Weaknesses: The feed neck sucks.
Review: I used to us a Smart Parts Ephiphany before I bought the SLG. So I can testify to how nice the bolt system is on this marker. For those of you new to paintball the SLG has what is known Bolt out Back. this means that you unscrew the back of the marker and then just pull your bolt out with it. If you don't have this you will be spending the next 6 minutes disasimbaling your Marker to clean it.

This marker is phenomanly light is ways 1 pound 14 ounzes.

The stock barrel is verry well made but lacks something major on acriacy. I am a fan of the Freak Jr. from my days with an Epifhany.

A lot of people will complain that you triger is bad. all you have to do is slightly cut down the spring. You will have to slowly cut down and each time see if the triger feals the way you like it. If you do this you can save your microswitch

The button on the back of the bolt cap makes it imposible to take it out when the marker is gassed up. This pervents The back cap from becoming a rocket. Personaly I don't know why Dye does put this on all it's markers.

If you want a marker with some high quality parts for really low price The SLG is the marker for you. The SLG comes with the Hyper 3 regulator. This this the same regulator that that comes onf Dye's Matrix serius witch are a thousand pluse dollars. Also The SLG has the same board as the Matrix serious markers.

You really need to make sure the marker is well lubed.
Conclusion: I really like the SLG and It is the best marker fot the price out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 26th, 2008 at 8:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyballa07 Sunday, October 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ions
Shockers
DM5/6/7
Marker Setup: Slg, UL trigger, 14 In one peaice barrel, clamping feedneck, virtue eyes and switch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, trigger and switch, eyes, barrel
Strengths: Light
Fast
Great air useage
Stock board is very fast
Weaknesses: Bolt system
Eyes
detents
Review: Ok, this marker is very light, one of the lightest out there. The hyper 3 reg is great with a 68ci 4500 psi tank. when i removed the SLG from the box i couldent believe that it was this light. I added a 14 inch barrel from my autococker and slapped on a feedneck and my halo and went shooting, after about half a hopper the marker wouldent fire, i found out a ball had gotten pinched between the bolt and neck but hadent broke this astounded me, normally they would break like tooth picks but no, i used the purge system Proto added to the bolt system and kept shooting untill it happened again. i contacted proto and they gave me some instructions to remove and replace some orings and now i can almost out run my halo v35, this is the best reg setup i have very had.

im glade that i bought this marker and for only $200 on ebay you cant beat that, this marker beats a ion and even a shocker in my eyes( some believe it to be far fectched) even though proto made a cheap marker it does show though. the grips and trigger feel cheap, plan to buy a new UL trigger and grips(maybe some stinger designs ??) my detents went to crap on me after a case, i contacted proto again and they sent me 2 free pair which havent gone out on me yet.
Conclusion: I would recomend this product to anyone, it may change your mind. Even though the SLG's went through some trial and error with Proto I still love it and couldent hope for any more. Go to your field/shop, test it for a day, buy it or dont, this marker is light, fast and great for anyone to use to improve their own skills.

im giving the marker a 9/10, only because i had small problems with it at the start.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Legacy Rage Friday, October 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various E and mechan. Spyders- can't compete
Various Cockers- not even close
Ion-close but still owned
Various Tippmanns-can't compete
07 Ego-rofl...$1000 marker vs. $200...
many others
Marker Setup: stock Proto SLG- Black
Evo 2- z board comming soon
N2 P.E. 48/3k tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Ultralite Trigger frame
barrel-i suggest Dye UL, Dye Boomstick, or Stiffi 16"
Virtue or Hater board
Featherlite solenoid
trigger-CP or NDZ
ASA-CP or NDZ (on/off)
Feedneck-CP or NDZ
Strengths: Fast
Price
accurate
air conservative
Reliable
small
Weaknesses: Small feedneck
Polymer frame and trigger
Bit hard to walk
Review: My first impression wheneve I got it was," Not the nicest box I've ever seen but it is much better than what my tippmann came in. I'll store in here" so I take it out of the box and screw on the barrel. i instantly realized that this was one small marker; the second lighest I've ever held before (the 07 ego being first).

i had already bought batteries for it so i run out to my shed to grab my allen wrench set just to come back and realize it came with a battery and wrench set. So I decide to dig through my box to see what else came with it: Dye lube, spare parts, crappy barrel condom, manual, and A 1 Year Warranty. very nice so far. I open up the grip, pop my battery in, and turn it on. I turn off the eyes and dry fire it for a second and then start adjusting the trigger to my likings. i had this urge to try the other modes, so i open the grip up again and see that it's a DIP switch marker. i quickly found out that I HATE DIP switches; I couldn't figure out how to change modes even with the manuel. so i get on to pbnation and poste my delima on there(I did figure out how to swap modes =p)

One of my friends was having his b- day party that weekend so then was my perfect time to try out my new marker. after them seeing it, they decided to play a 1-on-6 game. i was the 1. they all had Spyder Victors or Spyder Pilots. I ran circles around them. It shot very nicely and I had no breaks using Impact paint. i got about 500 shots of my N2 tank. not the best, but then again the reg isn't worn in just yet. I can't wait to see the damage I'll be able to do with it once it's worn in.
Conclusion: In it's price range, it's number 1. but it can't compete against the very high end markers like Egos, DMs, or Timmies. 10 out of 10 in my book.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyle1976 Saturday, October 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto matrix
autococker
evil minion
automags
spyders
tippmans
Marker Setup: New Designz back cap
New Designz blade trigger
Smart Parts 14" all american 2 pc barrel
Proto Air Port On/Off
Virtue featherlite microswitch
empire reloader b
virtue eyes (green)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I went and upgraded pretty much everything to my slg but the only upgrades that this gun needs is
A. new barrel
B. clamping feed neck
Strengths: Very light
Efficient on gas
Shoots fast
Weaknesses: stock barrel not accurate+to short
needs On/Off
A bit loud
Review: overall straight out of the box all stock its a great marker. but lets be realistic here. ive seen some other reviews that this gun keeps up with dye dm8s cmon now dont be that naive. a dm8 is in a league of its own and the price shows it. but i can honestly say with the upgrades i put on mine its fairly close to the performance as a dm8 but still not quite there. but lets talk about price.

my SLG after upgrades = $500
dm9 = $1400ish

all your spending is $500 dollars and your getting a gun thats almost comparable to a dm9. choice is easy.

all stock =$199 and it will perform better than a lot of high end markers out there as well.
Conclusion: Like I said on my review for the price you cant beat it. best bang for your buck. after the upgrades I put on it , it will clearly keep up with super high end markers at a fraction of the cost. the only reason why im giving it a 9 is because you need to upgrade it a bit. if it came from factory with a 2 piece 14" proto barrel, a clamping feedneck and a on/off it would easily get a 10. but im a bit picky when it comes to paintball guns. to someone just starting out its a perfect 10.

now stock straight out of the box it is still a incredible shooting marker. for $199 there is nothing out there that can touch it. this is a hidden gem which should cost $400.

i would highly recomend this marker to anyone and with a few tweaks and upgrades you got yourself a high end marker that keeps up with anything on the market quite easily and at a fraction of the cost.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 26th, 2008 at 5:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media